What Our Travelers Say

Still deciding if a China Discovery is for you? Many of our travellers have experienced a lifetime changing trip and now more than happy to share their stories with you. Check out their memorable travel trip reviews and experiences in China.

Hi Wing,

The trip was really awesome! Thanks to Sonom, Tensow and you, who made all this possible. Yesterday I reached Nepal, here the roads are really bad.

Frank‚ Germany‚ September 30, 2019

Hi Wing,

First of all thanks a lot for everything.

1. The tour arrangements were very well planned and organized. Everything was very good and we will surely recommend you service to colleagues and friends.

2. Actually i can't remember anything. Everything was very good.

3.Yes we would.

Thanks for everything,

Best Regards,

Eduardo Lima‚ Portugal‚ September 27, 2019

Dear Wing Zeng,

We had a great visit in China, due to you and your company. Everything was as promised: transfers, sightseeing, very nice guides, excellent hotels and meals. We will certainly recommend you to our friends. We have no suggestions for improvements. Next time in China we will certainly use your services. 

We are looking at our photos from the trip, I will come back you with photos which may be used on your web site. 

Best regards,

Magnus Trygve Roeger‚ Norway‚ September 26, 2019

Good Morning Lily

Thank you for your email on Tuesday.

Yes, we are back safe and sound in our own country after spending a most exciting time in yours.

We wish to make the following acknowledgments:

  • Your contribution to the itinerary and to the attention to detail was flawless. You are the best!
  • The Invitation Letter from Karen Wang was a work of art and I could see by the expression on her face that the China Embassy official was impressed. I had no difficulty with our visas.
  • Every schedule with tour guides and drivers was met and we did not have one anxious moment. We would like to mention in particular the cheerful, non-English speaking driver who took us to the Zhangjiajie airport for the flight back to Shanghai. His service was especially noteworthy. We are very grateful to all our guides and drivers.
  • All the hotels were excellent - better than expected.

Thank you again, personally. Without you, and your excellent service the thing would not have happened.

With our best regards

Don and Shirley.

 

Sorry Lily I made a little mistake...

That non-English speaking driver who who deserves special mention was the one who drove us from the Bullet Train at Chongquin  to the cruise ship.

He made sure that our bags were secure on board and saw us safely installed on the ship before he said good-bye to us. Top marks to him!.

Best

Don and Shirley‚ Australia‚ September 26, 2019

Hi Leo

Thank you so very much for an outstanding your the guides we had were all exceptional. Our gifts were lovely thank you. Yes we want to leave a review can you tell me where on your website you do this? And also if you can convey to all the tour guides how wonderful the all were and so very kind.

Thanks Leo it was truly the best time of our lives.

Haley Moore‚ New Zealand‚ September 26, 2019

Hi Vivien

Here we are!

I definitely want to tell you about our holiday but we are a bit busy in Hong Kong at the moment. Will contact you again soon. Thanks so much for organising it.

China Travel Photos

Our China Trip in Chengdu, Suzhou, Guilin, Shanghai

Caryn‚ Australia‚ September 26, 2019

Hi Leo

We are now safely home in Canberra after our Cruise from Shanghai to Sydney. Thank you for your help in organising this tour and for your ongoing assistance and communication during the tour. It was much appreciated.

We enjoyed our time in China but did find some of the places hard going. We did not realise that it was the School holidays which made places of interest so very crowded. We did however book to coincide with the cruise so that was our problem and could not be helped.

I have provided feedback on each stage of the tour as per your request as follows;

Beijing

Our Guide Linda was excellent. She was very attentive and caring and had a lovely personality. Nothing was too much trouble. She was very professional and knowledgeable and took great care of us, even walking us to our seats on board the train, we were very happy with her.

Our Driver Mr Tang was a very good driver and a very cheerful man. He made sure we were comfortable and went out of his way to be helpful.

We tipped them both extra for their great service and friendship.

The accommodation at Sunworld Beijing was sub-standard. The location was good but as you know we were not happy with worn/stained condition of the room or the uncomfortable bed.

The attractions we liked the best were;

  • The great wall – (It was awesome being up there on the wall but at Mutianyu I found that it was a long hard walk just up to the cable car in the heat and the queues were horrendous for the cable car coming back down)
  • The Summer Palace
  • The Hutongs
  • The Kung Fu Show

Xian

Our guide Vivian was very knowledgeable but softly spoken we had trouble hearing her when travelling in the vehicle. She was helpful and friendly and did not leave until we were safely though security at the airport.

The Driver Mr Leo was a good driver and his vehicle was clean and comfortable.

The accommodation at Courtyard by Marriott was excellent, very clean and comfortable and had a great buffet breakfast.

The attractions we liked the best were;

  • The Terracotta Warriors and Horses
  • The Muslim Quarter &
  • Da Cien Temple

Guilin/Yangshuo/Longsheng

Our guide Daniel was very knowledgeable and very attentive, making sure we took advantage of every sight and photo opportunity. He was most insistent that we see the light show in Yangshuo and we were grateful and thankful that we did, it was certainly most spectacular. Daniel also made sure that we saw the Longji Terraces at sunrise and met us at 6:30 am to walk us up to the top of Pingan Village. He went above and beyond our expectations.

Our Driver Mr Zhu Ge was an excellent driver and was very helpful and flexible. He carried our overnight bag up to our Hotel in Ping An, which we did not expect him to do.

We tipped both Daniel and the driver extra for the extra effort they put in to make our time in this area interesting and enjoyable.

The accommodation at Guilin Park Hotel was terrible. The rooms were not Non Smoking, it was old and dated and all rooms they offered us smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The bed was also rock hard and uncomfortable. We were thankful that we were there for only one night. We did not have time to look around outside the hotel as we arrived so late at night.

The accommodation at New West Street Hotel was reasonably comfortable but we had an odd experience at breakfast in the morning. When we went to the large dining room where everyone was having breakfast but were turned away and ushered to a separate room where they had only a very limited western menu of eggs, bacon, fruit and pastries. We were the only two guests in the room. We felt segregated, it was very odd.

We enjoyed our accommodation at the InYue Hotel in Ping An. It was a unique experience for us being in the middle of the village. The room and bed was comfortable but the food was a little strange for us. I had an upset stomach the following day but nothing too serious.

The attractions we liked the best were;

  • The Li River Cruise
  • Walking around Yangshuo Town
  • Impression Liu Sanjie
  • Reed Flute Cave
  • Everything about the Longji Terraces – it was hard going with the uphill walking in the heat but we are so glad we did it.

Shanghai

Our guide Frank was most helpful as an interpreter for the Tailor Mr Ding and was there for the fitting and delivery. By the time we got to Shanghi we just wanted to shop and had had enough of history and museums. I conveyed this to Frank and he was flexible and still took us to all the planned sights but allowed us time alone at the museums to just see what we wanted to see. He then waited while we spent a couple of hours shopping in Nanjing Road. We were happy with his flexibility but he did not come across as professional as the other guides.

The driver Mr Shao was a good driver and his vehicle was comfortable and clean.

We gave Frank extra in his tip for his assistance with Mr Ding.

We were really happy with Reg’s jacket and we highly recommend Mr Ding. Thank you so much for organising it for us.

The attractions we liked the best were;

  • Yu Garden and Yuyuan Bazaar
  • Shanghai World Financial Centre Tower
  • Nanjing Road
  • Shanghai Planning and Exhibition Centre
  • Jade Buddha Temple

All the lunches provided in all of the tours were very good and most enjoyable. The only problem we had with food was the dinner at the InYue hotel as I mentioned before. The family was lovely and did their best.

I hope this review helps. We enjoyed our time in China despite the crowds and heat but were both exhausted from such a packed itinerary.

We did boost the Chinese economy with our purchases and left with our luggage much heavier.

Thank you once again Leo.

Kind regards

Glenda Rogers and Reg Rathmann‚ Australia‚ September 25, 2019

Hi Vivien,

In short, our entire trip and experience with you and your company has been superb; beyond expectations.  From the very beginning stages of planning we felt we had made the right choice in choosing China Discovery.  A big part of this was due to your quick and thorough communications.  Whether it was about the locations, places of interest, accommodations, etc. you were always prompt to answer our questions or inquiries.  This made a major impact on our decision to use your services.

China is a huge country and our itinerary definitely had us traveling throughout the land.  Of course, this was necessary in order to visit the places we had in mind such as those cities/towns which were part of the Silk Road along with the usual tourist cities like Beijing, Xian and Shanghai and also Zhangjiajie National Forest which was spectacular.  All had their own uniqueness and character. 

The guides in each of the locations were excellent.  All were fluent in English although I had to listen carefully due to their accents.  Their explanations of the historical and cultural significance of the places they took us to were both interesting and educational.  Although all guides were excellent and thorough, I have to say the last guide we had in Shanghai, Andy, was exceptional.  He was extremely conscientious and  made it a point to be sure we were having a good time and was very flexible with any of our requests.  He stayed late with us on two nights even after the driver left.  We felt bad because even after accompanying us back to the hotel he still had to ride his bike another 40 minutes to get home.

The only criticism I have regarding the guides  pertains to both male guides we had; Andy in Shanghai and Ben in Xian.  They had a habit of walking a little too fast for us old guys.  The walking pace of the guides should take into consideration the age and physical abilities of the clients.

Transportation at all locations were fine.  The driving in China can be somewhat chaotic, but we never felt unsafe or uneasy.  There are some things that need to be pointed out for future improvements. 

The SUV we were traveling in Dunhuang had seat covers in the rear where we were sitting and the seatbelt buckles were partially covered which made it difficult to buckle our seatbelts.  Also, the rear leg room was a little cramped.

While most all vehicles had water for us, the one in Shanghai did not.  It would be helpful to have water available.

The items just mentioned are not complaints.  They are provided for you for feedback.

Again, our time in China has been marvelous thanks to you and your company.  I will also submit a shorter version of feedback on TripAdvisor.

Thanks again.

Regards,

Martin Leung‚ USA‚ September 25, 2019

Top Recommended China Vacation Package Deals

Following are our most popular vacation packages which take you to visit featured destinations, experience authentic Chinese culture at lowest price. You can also contact our travel specialists to DIY a unique tour package for you.

Witness the countless Terracotta Warriors
8 Days Best of China Tour

Beijing / Xian / Shanghai

Relaxing Yangtze River Cruise
13 Days Classic China Tour with Yangtze Cruise

Beijing / Xian / Guilin / Yangshuo / Guilin / Chongqing / Yangtze Cruise / Yichang / Shanghai

Tibet Potala Palace Visit
15 Days China Tour with Tibet Discovery & Panda Visit

Shanghai / Guilin / Yangshuo / Guilin / Chengdu / Lhasa / Xian / Beijing

Start planning your tailor-made holiday to China by contacting one of our specialists. Once enquired, you’ll get a response within 0.5~23.5 hours.

Customize a Trip

Want a Quick Question?

Our friendly, warm and professional China travel consultant is here working for you at any time. Feel free to ask a question or customize a tour with the help of him/her. You will get an efficient reply within 24 hours.

*Please double check it! Your email address will be kept strictly confidential.