Sam

Sam

USA

Reviewed on August 6, 2021

Hey Zeva,

My trip to Napa Lake today very nice, driver very nice.

Sam

Date of Experience: August 6, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zeva
Claire

Claire

USA

Reviewed on August 6, 2021

Hey Zeva,

Everything is fine, we had a good time and saw a lot of new areas.

Claire

Date of Experience: August 6, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zeva
Claudia

Claudia

Spain

Reviewed on May 24, 2021

Hi Rita,

It was amazing! Thank you so much for everything

Date of Experience: May 16, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Rita
Lars

Lars

Germany

Reviewed on May 6, 2021

Good afternoon,

Yes, everything was ok. Thank you.

Date of Experience: May 6, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Sophia

Sophia

USA

Reviewed on May 1, 2021

Hi Wonder,

It was great. I really enjoyed it. Jack was wonderful. We really loved how accommodating he was. We randomly asked to go to a tea shop and he helped translate all our questions so well. He also helped us get a random horse ride while we were in the village to a beautiful lake we didnt know was there. I really enjoyed the embroidery museum as well.

Date of Experience: April 24, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Norma

Norma

Mexico

Reviewed on May 8, 2021

Hello Lyn,

All was great, excellent, fantastic, amazing, thanks for all

The tourist guys were great.

The driver were very good

Thanks again

Date of Experience: April 22, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Yusuke

Yusuke

Japan

Reviewed on April 15, 2021

Hi Echo,

Sorry for my belated feedback. That travelling plan was very good and basically I am satisfied for that. I made sure Lijiang and Shanglira is the great places we should visit. If I have to say some improvement points for that, the time arrangement may be so affordable. I wonder I could have visited more places in Lijiang and Shanglira rather than relax time with my guides. But basically it was no problem.

Date of Experience: March 15, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Echo
Syafid

Syafid

Malaysia

Reviewed on April 10, 2021

Hi Wendy,

Sorry, i forgot to reply you. Yes the trip was wonderful. And i have a great time, all thanks to nancy. Hotel provided were great and nearby the place i wanted to visit.

Date of Experience: March 28, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Amanda

Amanda

Australia

Reviewed on April 10, 2021

Hi Rita - we are back now. Just wanted to say thank you so much. We had a wonderful trip. All the guides were amazing.

Date of Experience: April 2, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
Jennifer

Jennifer

Germany

Reviewed on April 7, 2021

Good morning Riley! It was very good and the driver did a good job.

Date of Experience: April 3, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Adrian

Adrian

Philippines

Reviewed on April 5, 2021

Hi Rita.

Good morning. The weather is great. It’s sunny. Maria will pick me up at 9 this morning. Thanks for checking.

Good evening. I got back to Chongqing. Thank you. I will send the feedback soon. But until the feedback, please know that I enjoyed the itinerary you prepared and Maria was very professional tour guide.

Thanks, Adrian.

Date of Experience: April 2, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Rita
Mario

Mario

Australia

Reviewed on March 1, 2021

Hi Wonder,

Our trip has ended and it’s time to complete the evaluation form.

We found China Discovery on line while looking for a reputable company in China to plan our holiday.

After contacting Mr Wonder Wang ( through online email and WeChat ) we found his level of support, information, communication, patience and understanding to be very professional. He was quick to respond to all our questions and accommodating in all our requests.

The tour arrangements were to our liking. Wonder worked closely with us to determine our touring preferences. The transport schedule was not too strenuous, the tours we encountered were interesting and our accommodation was to the most very comfortable.

As far as recommending China Discovery, we would be happy to introduce anyone keen in touring China to this company.

Our tour was conducted in the early part of the year under the curtain of COVID and in the midst of Chinese New Year. Wonder and the guides helped us with all our medical requirements and arrangements and a holiday that could have been disjointed flowed with out any problems.

Wonder gave us contacts to all our guides and they were accessible and helpful.

The drivers who accompanied the guides were also friendly and safe.

The guides were all good - supportive, jovial, attentive and knowledgeable.

The best in our opinion were May, Michael and Steven.

Our accommodation The Gran Melia was very good in Xian and the nearby area was interesting to explore by foot in our free time - the park area across the street from our accommodation and Grand Tang Mall nearby.

The Sofitel in Chengdu was comfortable, the breakfasts were wonderful and the assistance we received from their restaurant manager for dinner one evening was exceptional. The only negative was that the hotel was a little dated.

Our stay in Le Meridien Emei Mountain Resort was very nice.

Our stay in Old Town Lijiang at The Ivy Garden was located well. The hotel had a traditional appeal. We arrived at night so we were surprised at how cold the room was. There was a heater on but not adequate and extra linen should have been available.  There was no choice given for breakfast and it was not to our liking.

The Gurong Boutique was very comfortable and breakfast was minimal but nice.

The Cachet Hotel in Kunming was kind enough to change our room because of ‘smoke odour‘ and it appeared to be an upgrade.

Their kitchen staff were helpful and made us a basic breakfast pack to take on the fast train to Guilin.

The Shangri-La in Guilin was a wonderful stay with a beautiful view. The breakfast and dinner selections were vast and very tasty.

The Amari in Yangshuo was comfortable and well placed. The small ‘fairground attraction’ outside our window was slightly noisy up till about midnight.

All in all, the entire trip was an amazing experience we both enjoyed immensely.

We found it helpful when the guides would initially state what our plans were for the day ahead and go through the itinerary so we were reminded and understood.

Occasionally we did not do something on the schedule and it wasn’t clearly explained to us why not, for example the Pearl Museum and also the option we had to make a terracotta soldier.

We understand that some venues were closed because of COVID / Chinese New Year and in these cases we were informed and alternative arrangements were made.

We were blessed with good weather, good organisation, wonderful guides, good drivers and a beautiful and interesting country to explore.

Thank you to Wonder and your diverse team, we would definitely look at using your company’s services in the future.

Kind Regards

Mario and Angela Crivelli.

Date of Experience: February 1, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Nancy

Nancy

USA

Reviewed on January 27, 2021

Hi Zeva,

Lijiang was lovely.

The driver is wonderful and extremely knowledgeable, so after I checked in he brought me to Songzanlin Monastery.

I'm enjoying the Monastery.

Date of Experience: December 31, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Zeva
Drummage

Drummage

USA

Reviewed on January 2, 2021

Dear Wonder,

We have made it back to Lijiang safely The driver to Shangri-la was more talkative. The driver back was more focused on getting us back to lijiang.

Date of Experience: December 30, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Dianne

Dianne

Australia

Reviewed on January 2, 2021

Dear Rita.

We have arrived back in Suzhou today. I just wanted to thank you so very much for arranging a wonderful trip to Yunnan for me and my friends. I’ve had the best experience. The guides, drivers, hotels and places we have visited were all amazing. Thank you again.

Date of Experience: December 21, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Rita
Marcus

Marcus

Singapore

Reviewed on December 29, 2020

Hi Vivien,

I have a wonderful trip thanks to you and the guides.

Date of Experience: December 23, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Shreeja

Shreeja

India

Reviewed on December 28, 2020

Hi Tracy,

Thank you for checking in. yes, all well and good. The driver has safely reached us to our final destination @Lijiang.

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Anne

Anne

Germany

Reviewed on December 23, 2020

Hi, every thing is fine;) the first days the weather was nice. Yesterday it was very foggy, but we did the hike and enjoyed so much, we have good clothes and then the weather doesn't matter;) the nature is breathtaking. The driver is very kind and the guide was very good. You did a great job. Thanks.

Date of Experience: December 15, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Erika

Erika

Canada

Reviewed on December 19, 2020

Hi Tracy,

Everything is going well! We really like Dali so much.

Yes the trip has been really good.

Date of Experience: December 14, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Alexander

Alexander

Netherlands

Reviewed on December 10, 2020

Hi Wonder,

All good, thanks!! Just finished the train and village visit!

Date of Experience: December 6, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Christina

Christina

UK

Reviewed on August 14, 2020

Hi Jack,

I’ve already filled in four feedback forms so far, and have been given a fifth to do!  My first bit of feedback is that there are too many forms to fill in..... I’m still on holiday! I’ll get you some reflections next week, but not before. I don’t want any images of us being used, so all I would send you is photos of locations - and probably not very good ones at that given how bad the weather has been. 

Thanks again for your help in coordinating. I’ll try and put some more considered thoughts together next week.

 

Christina

Date of Experience: August 12, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Jack
Ranjan Kurian Periakottil

Ranjan Kurian Periakottil

India

Reviewed on August 10, 2020

The trip was good today, the guide is also nice. Thank you.

Date of Experience: August 9, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita
Keena

Keena

Reviewed on July 26, 2020

Hello, Wonder!!! 

We did greatly enjoy our trip! It was wonderful!  I'm sorry about taking a little bit to respond. .. I had a little stomach trouble and then very busy work to jump into! :)  

We loved the tour.  We definitely enjoyed the trip under your arrangement.  We hope to be able to take many trips in the future.  We are also happy to note that we can reach out to you specifically, as well.  :)  

Just for our planning purposes, we were wondering if you could give us some ideas?  For instance, we were happy to note that Guilin/Yangshuo is open to foreign tourists now.  What is the best time to visit the rice terraces and the Li River?   We have already seen (now) the "summer rice terraces/ green terraces," and we were hoping to see additional rice terraces at a completely different time/for a completely different "look."  

Also, when would the best time of the year be to visit Dali and surrounding areas?   

What is the best time of the year to visit (once it becomes safer to do so) Xian and Beijing?  

Are there any places open during Golden Week (early October)?  We know this time is a national holiday. With our work, we get both US and Chinese holidays, so we were curious about whether there is a good potential location to visit inside China during a Chinese national holiday (that is not too crowded and also still open).  

Thank you for any ideas.  This is not time sensitive -- as we cannot book right away.  But if you happened to have some ideas, it would help with our planning.  China has so many beautiful locations, we are hoping we can see them. :) 

We loved the trip!!!!  I wrote as much on the survey that Tom gave us at the end of the trip.  The only thing I wanted to let you know is that our experience with the Jianshui Linan Hotel was not the same as the Oness Resort Hotel. 

The Oness Resort Hotel was fantastic!!! At the Oness Resort Hortel, we experienced beauty, comfort, and polite/courteous staff.  Never once did we feel like we were treated differently from being "foreigners."  They asked for our passports and our health codes, and after that, they were satisfied.  

Our experience with the Jianshui Linan Hotel was different.  It was very obvious that they did not want foreigners staying there, and they gave us a hard time.  They took photos of every piece of identification we had.  This included Chinese government identification that we have been issued.  It was surprising that this didn't even convince them.   They took photos of every passport entry/exit stamp.  They had Tom write down on paper, after seeing our passports, every place we visited in China, including the night before at the rice terraces.  They took photos of letters we had indicating why we were in-country. They saw our health-codes and then took pictures of those -- while also making us do another QR health code.  Tom tried to argue on our behalf, highlighting that this was all pre arranged, but they were persistent. (we really appreciated Tom's attempts) Through every step of the way, they made us feel like they did not believe what the prior piece of documentation had stated -- that we had been in China for 6 months.   When they finally gave us a room, we believe they gave us a room that they felt no one else wanted: it was heavily a "smoker's room" [they did not ask us if we wanted smoking or not], next to construction (drilling, hammering).  The fridge was unplugged, so it appeared that, because it was next to construction, this room was designated as a "do not put people in" room. . . which is why we received it.  I do realize that we live in a sensitive time, but the experience was so drawn out, and so different than the Oness Resort Hotel experience, that I wanted to highlight it to you in case you have any other foreigners booking a hotel in Jianshui.  We were just thankful that we stayed two nights at Oness, and therefore, our hotel experiences were mostly good! :) 

I am answering your survey questions below.  We are okay with you posting our survey response (the italicized text below), if you would like.

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Wonder of China Discovery was exactly as his name implies "wonderful!"   When we first contacted China Discovery via the information provided on their website, we did not know what to expect.  However, Wonder provided thoughtful and immediate responses to our questions and concerns.  He followed up to ensure we were satisfied.  He explained what the tour entailed. He gave us solutions when original plans did not work.  He was up front about what the payment of the tour included and the payment policies.  When we paid, he also immediately followed up to let us know that payment had gone through and was well received -- which is always an important and nervous thing when a foreigner is paying a foreign company in a different country for a future trip.  During the planning of the trip, he was always in contact with us at least every two or three days, just to "check in" and let us know what part of the itinerary he was working on. We were very satisfied with Wonder. We hope to plan more trips in the future and we hope to be able to reach out to Wonder to do so.  He left us feeling very confident and happy with our experience!!  

2. How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour?

We absolutely loved our tour!!!  Tom and our driver were amazing. From the very beginning when we arrived at the airport, Tom and our driver, Mr. Han, were always on time, always knowledgeable about roadways/etc to stick/meet our itinerary (there was a lot driving on our particular itinerary), and flexible.  Mr. Han was a most-impressive driver: he always drove alert with fast reflexes. His skill around the switchbacks up in the hills cannot be matched.  I always felt like we were in safe hands.  He was also always courteous and respectful.  Tom, our guide, was a great conversationalist.  He gave us multiple cultural and history lessons, which is what my husband and I enjoyed and hoped for.  He was also flexible, so he always helped us adjust to whatever predicament came our way: bad weather, road construction, etc.  When a particular hotel was closed in a town that hosted the best view of the rice terraces, he wanted to make sure we had the best experience possible -- so he personally called the hotel owner so the owner could open up the hotel's terrace and we could have the most magical view.  The hotel owner then made us some breakfast: one of the best bowls of rice noodles I've had.  That is just one example of how impressed and happy we were with Tom.  For the meals that were identified as part of our itinerary, we were always more than well fed.  We feasted!   The stops on our itinerary gave us insight and experiences that could not be matched.  We came away from our experience feeling like we really had the opportunity to take a glimpse into people's lives.  We saw small towns that we would never have stumbled upon otherwise.  Tom never took our photo without asking.  He never forced us into a shopping-stop.  He talked to locals at every stop to give us more insights and used his skill as a tour guide to make sure we could get into sites, get little tastes of a variety of foods, not stand overly long in lines, and learn little extra cultural tidbits along the way.  He always asked us if we needed restroom stops.  Actually, one time, he called and asked another hotel owner in another small town if the owner could open a closed hotel so that we could use the nicer restroom.  He never did anything that made us feel uncomfortable and he always made sure we were in agreement with a plan before he pursued it.  He also made sure we had every minute possible to enjoy all aspects of our itinerary.  If given the opportunity, we would go on a tour with Tom again!   It was fantastic.  Thank you to Mr. Han, Tom, Wonder and China Discovery for such a wonderful and positive experience.  

Thank you, Wonder!

Have a wonderful rest of the weekend and we hope to hear from you soon (about the potential future ideas for trips)

take care, 

Keena

Date of Experience: July 20, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Elmira and Nick

Elmira and Nick

Reviewed on March 31, 2020

Dear Wing!

We are very glad that everything is OK with you and hope all your colleagues and families are healthy!

Thank you so much for your kind attention and very useful information, which will be shared with our relatives and friends. 

We are OK but at the moment we are in self-isolation at home because of the quarantine measures and looking forward to coming back to normal life.

Keep safe and healthy.

Have a nice day,

Elmira and Nick

Date of Experience: December 10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wing
Carlo

Carlo

Reviewed on March 18, 2020

My very Dear Wing Zeng,

I very often thought to You in the last months…but I was afraid to write to You. So now I AM VERY HAPPY TO HEAR AGAIN FROM YOU !!!

How do You do? Are You well? And Your Dears, and Your Family are all well?

What all You Chinese People did in this period  is something heroic …and now that You are almost free from the virus, and You almost won this terrible

battleou already and immediately started to help us: THANK YOU, You are GREAT ! !

Thank You as well for Your attachment, now I will forward it to all the people I know, and we all will follow Your advices.

Here in Italy we are in a very bad time, specially in the North of Italy : we Italian are a strange Nation : most of us are following strictly the advices of the Goverment,

and stay home in order to avoid the contagion, but someone goes around the streets like nothing happened….

Well, let’s look to the future, hoping to see it!

Grazie, mia Cara Amica Cinese,

I and my Family just love You and Your People.

Carlo

Date of Experience: April 25, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Sandra

Sandra

Canada

Reviewed on January 30, 2020

Lily,

You were definitely correct in getting us to leave China right away. We did not want to leave as we were really enjoying the trip you had arranged for us.But it was correct to leave.

I am now trying to claim part of our flight back to Canada. To make this claim could you please send me:

1) A letter stating that our trip was terminated on January 25 when we were in Tiger Leaping Gorge and the reason why ( Because of coronavirus and the towns of Lijiang and Dali our next two stops were being closed and other parts of China were going to close soon). So we were advised to end trip, get back to Shanghai and leave China immediately.

2) Letter should include both my husband's and my full name

3) Letter should include our itinerary number

4) Needs to be on official paper

5) Include your name and contact information

If you could send this as soon as possible, it would be appreciated.

Again thanks for getting us out of China and also for arranging a great trip.

Date of Experience: January 17, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Dominic

Dominic

Singapore

Reviewed on January 6, 2020

Hi Wonder

Thanks for organising our 8 day Yunnan tour in Dec 2019. We were impressed with your prompt response, efficient service in planning the itinerary and acceding to all of our requests.

The itinerary was very well thought out and was at an easy pace. The 2 drivers we had (Mr Zheng in Kunming and Mr Yu for the rest of the journey) were very friendly and most importantly, safe drivers.

The tour guides were also very informative and spoke English well. Special mention goes to:

1) Mr Wang in Kunming, who guided us all the way from hotel pickup to go through customs and check in at the high speed rail. He even kept my Swiss Army Knife for me when I couldn't bring it onboard the train and returned to me the moment we arrived back in Kunming. He also helped us take very nice pictures while we were in the Stone Forest.

2) Alice in Dali was a breath of fresh air, she was always smiling, high-spirited and checking with us if we wanted to do certain activities she'd planned for us. We really appreciate the initiative taken to show us how the locals live and work (sipping tea, embroidery school, Dai dye, local market etc). She was genuine, honest, open and was very informative and knowledgeable in the local culture and the historical facts about the places we'd visited. 

3) Aten in Shangri-La was very friendly, well-spoken and communicated very well in English about the places of interest we'd visited. He was thoughtful, attentive and ensured that we were safe every step of the way as it had snowed and the floors were slippery at certain places. We really appreciated that he executed the itinerary there seamlessly without rushing through anything. We particularly enjoyed the 3km walk in the Potatso National Park, even though the lake was iced over, it was one of the most beautiful snowscapes we've seen and Aten kept it interesting with stories and facts about the place.

4) Mr Yu, our driver for Dali, Lijiang and Shangri-La was one of the best drivers we've had. He drove well regarding safety as the most important. He was also very friendly and kind and had our best interests at heart: one day in Shangri-La, he noted we were tired the day before and he actually suggested that we start the following day later so we could rest. That touched our hearts :)

All in all, we had a wonderful time in Yunnan and of the many provinces we've visited so far, this is now our favourite. We will visit again.

Thanks Wonder for the beautiful memories we've garnered on this trip.

 

Cheers

Dom & Guy

Date of Experience: December 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Quah

Quah

Malaysia

Reviewed on January 3, 2020

Hello Riley,

Happy new year to you! We had a great time in China. Everything was very well organised and the tour went very smoothly. The guides Tom in Kunming, Carey (?) in Dali and Jack in Lijiang were excellent. Very knowledgeable and went out of their way to make us comfortable.  Aten in Shangri La was ok but not to the standard of the other three. The only negative would be that the heating in the hotels were slightly inadequate so we were cold! Otherwise we had a great trip and would definitely recommend your company to others. 

Thanks and regards.

Date of Experience: December 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Lee

Lee

Australia

Reviewed on December 28, 2019

Hello Riley

I have just submitted a review to trip advisor.

Here is a bit more information than I posted in the review.

Firstly, I want to thank you for your assistance and perseverance in organising our trip. We appreciate your listening to what we wanted and fitting in our requests as best you could. As a result the holiday was fabulous and included things we like to see and do and didn’t include the ‘normal’ mass tourist things.

Your guides are excellent. We appreciated all guides, but we would especially like to mention Zhouma (Lhasa), Jessie (Kunming) and Tutu (Zhangjiajie), they have a wealth of knowledge which they are able to impart in an enthusiastic manner, and they are also very very helpful. Zhouma and Jessie’s assistance with firstly my Ipad and then my clay colours was exceptional and truly appreciated.

We had many highlights along the way but if I have to name a few I would say Muslim Street in Xian (I had previously been to the Terracotta Warriors, so it was a repeat trip – though still amazing), the Potala Palace and walking the circle around the Jokhang Temple in Lhasa, Green Lake Park in Kunming, the Impression show in Yangshou, just about all the mountain activities in Zhangjiajie.

We will certainly be recommending you and China Discovery to anyone who is interested in travelling to China.

Regards

Lee

Date of Experience: December 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Dr. Vincent

Dr. Vincent

Canada

Reviewed on December 12, 2019

Dear Riley,

I agree to allow my answers and comments below regarding our China travels arranged by our Tour Operator Ms Riley Guo be put on your website.

1.Did your travel consultant of our company quickly reply to your E-mails and were they patient enough to answer your questions?

- Yes, Ms Riley Guo assisted me in planning our entire tour from beginning to end (from Kunming to Beijing) months before our trip, patiently guided me through every aspect of our journey making good suggestions and provided alternates.

- She always replied to my email inquiries promptly, answering all questions I had for her.  She is extremely patient and courteous throughout the "developmental" stages of our planning.

2.Do you have any comments concerning your tour arrangements?

- The tour arrangements were exactly as planned, with the only exception when we encountered a problem where the original plan had to be modified, see answers to Q 4 below.  The Tour Operator handled our problem in a timely fashion to our great satisfaction, in face above my expectations. When we encountered other minor problems during our tour, we received prompt attention and assistance from Ms. Guo promptly via WeChat and phone calls, often outside of regular office hours.  

3.Are you willing to recommend our service to anyone who also may have an interest to visit China?

- Definitely "Yes".  I have no hesitation of recommending your services to anyone interested.

4.What is your general opinion of us?

My opinion regarding:

- Advice and guidance provided in planning stage: Excellent!

- Ms Riley Guo our Tour Operator: Very knowledgeable, paid attention to details.

- Cost: I found your cost very reasonable and easily affordable.

- Efficiency: You run an efficient operation.

- Accuracy: Ms. Guo's suggestions and plans were accurate.

- Honesty: My travel team and I are particularly impressed by the honesty and integrity of your approach to business and in treating your customers when problems do arise.  I will cite the following Two Examples:

(1)  When Ms Guo made a minor error in our planning, she offered to take $100USD off from our final fees.  When I found out that the fee reduction would come out of her commission I was so impressed with her honesty I declined to accept the fee reduction.  I would suspect many operators would not even inform the client of such errors.

(2) You were not able to book the high speed train ride for us from Yichang to Beijing after the Yangtze River Cruise.  Instead your company put us on a flight for that, and you arranged for a guided day tour of Yichang while waiting for flight time at NO EXTRA costs to us.  It was a surprise and pleasant tour.  

5.Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

- I think you are already proving a reliable and trustworthy service to your clients as experienced by me and my travel companions.

- The fact that Ms Guo has such a superb command of written English would no doubt be an invaluable asset to your company in helping non-Chinese speaking clients from overseas who want to explore China.

Date of Experience: November 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Wai Nam

Wai Nam

Singapore

Reviewed on December 10, 2019

Thank you Wonder for everything.

The tour arrangements are great. As always, you are very prompt and patient with all our queries. I am a repeat customer so this concretely shows much more than what words will ever mean. I have already recommended you to one of my associate. I am planning for the trip next year and you will hear from me soon enough. Keep in touch!

Date of Experience: November 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Sharon

Sharon

Australia & Malaysia

Reviewed on November 21, 2019

Hi Johnson,

Hope this email find you well. 

My family and I have returned to Sydney after 6 weeks of travelling! I want to thank you for arranging our 25 days China tour which we have really enjoyed. The itinerary was good although a bit tiring! 

China was amazing and your service in organizing and trouble shooting while we were there was greatly appreciated.

On reflection, we realized the highlights during our tours were the cities where we had a good guide and driver.

FYI the guides in SuZhou (Sarah), Guilin (Summer), Kunming (Jessie) and Lijiang ( Susan) and Chengdu (Jane) were all amazing. Their English and knowledge were very good. They made these cities/ places come alive for us.

Alan in Hangzhou took us to the best restaurant and ordered the best lunch we had in 25 days. Again a memorable city for us

On the flip side, Dali which was a beautiful city but we did not enjoy mostly because our guide ( Shirley) does not speak English well. We could not understand her narrative or explanation most of the time. The guide in Wuhan ( Jennifer) was very unhelpful, was on her phone most of the time unless we asked her questions. For e.g. The highlight of Wuhan to us was the yellow crane tower but she did not even bother to walk up with us  ( and gave us 20 min to go up and come down) As we all could not read Chinese , it made all the beautiful artworks, poems and historical significance a complete loss to us! At the Eastlake, again a beautiful area she rushed us in and out because she said we did not have enough time but we ended finishing the day around 4 ! As you know she also ignore us during lunch so I had to send you the complaint myself! So Wuhan to use was the least enjoyable day.

For your reference, I think you have to ensure the guides you provide to any group you organize speak good English and are experience and helpful.

Overall, I think it was a great tour and your service is excellent from start to finish. I will certainly recommend you to my friends and hope to organize a Silk Road tour with you  in the near future !

Thanks again

Regards

Sharon

Date of Experience: October 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Tara

Tara

Malaysia

Reviewed on November 19, 2019

Hi Wing Zeng,

Yes, everything is fine. The itinerary was well organised despite we only have 5 days 4 nights to spend in both Shangri-La and Lijiang. The tour guides are knowledgeable and helpful. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.

Regards,

TARA ENG

Date of Experience: November 13, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Business
Tour Customized by: Wing
Ilona

Ilona

Reviewed on October 25, 2019

Hello Vivien,

First ...many thanks to my amazing travel consultant Vivien Li. Actually this was my third times joint her arrangements’ tour , she always available to help us during times of trouble and attentive to our demands. I applaud her for her quickness in finding routes and alternative destination. She also are quick to respond & responsibly, if there is a problem or anything that inconvience us as a grouble.

I would like to also say that despite our large group size of 20 people and the majority of them are eldery tourist Vivian aptly provided them with access to convinient wheelchairs as well as arranging the easiest possible routes for the eldery. I commend Vivian for her great job because our group is difficult to manage and she made our trip enjoyable and convinient.

We also like to thank you Moon (Kunming) and Nyama (Shangrila) our tour guides for helping the tour going smoothly and make it less stressful for our tour members. Thank you for the clear and concise explanation of the landmark and famous place of the tours. We also like to thank you to Mr. Deng our driver who take us safely to our destination despite the difficult terrain also his friendly & helpful attitude. 

Finally I would say that this tour is great and beautiful. It worth your every penny to go to Yangtze River cruise, Zhang Jia Jie and also Kunming , Dali , Lijiang & Shangrila.

Date of Experience: October 16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Robert Cervero

Robert Cervero

USA

Reviewed on October 11, 2019

Hi Wonder: 

We enjoyed our tour of Yunnan.  For the most part, things went fine and our tour guides/drivers were quite good. 

My responses to questions are below:

1.     Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Yes.  Very prompt an informative responses to email inquiries. 

2.     How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour?

The guides were good, some better than others. 

3.     Would you like to recommend our company? Because of the high elevation, the tour guide in Shangrila should have recommended purchasing supplemental oxygen before the hike; we only discovered it was possible to buy oxygen when we were on the hike and saw many others had oxygen canisters.  Also recommend booking non-Chinese tourists like ourselves in hotels suitable to foreigners; some of the hotels were not well suited for foreigners because the staff did not speak English and there were no international TV stations.  Lastly, we recommend the tour guides ask us for lunch preferences and let us choose meals among a menu of options; several times the tour guides ordered our food and we did not like what was ordered.

Thanks for your help with organizing our enjoyable and memorable tour of Yunnan province.

Kind regards,

Date of Experience: October 3, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Angela

Angela

Hong Kong, China

Reviewed on August 29, 2019

Hi Wendy,

I'm so sorry for the very late reply, I’ve been very busy after my vacations to back up everything.

We had a wonderful Yunnan tours. All went smoothly and you did a wonderful job!

The guides were extremely helpful, quickly adjusted our itinerary to fit our requirements, have a lot of passion and knowledge for their cities. A special thank you to all of the guides: Cherry, LEE, Sophie and the 3 professional and courteous drivers. They were friendly, nice, really welcoming, very attention and very patient to us.

The hotels were very nice located for us in Dali and Lijiang.

We're very satisfied with our experience with China Discovery and would certainly recommend your company to our friends and family.

Best Regards.

Date of Experience: August 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Fion

Fion

Taiwan, China

Reviewed on July 2, 2019

Dear Rita,

I just back to Taipei this week, it was good with the tour in Kunming & Dongchuan. 

The Driver and Tour Guide are both excellent.

But the hotel in Dongchuan is there any better standard hotel?

I don't think it's qualified for Westerners.

Thank you for the arrangements.

Date of Experience: June 18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Vilma and Henri

Vilma and Henri

Australia

Reviewed on June 10, 2019

Hello Jack

Thank you so much for organising our tour in China. The tourists destinations, tour guides and drivers as well as the hotels your company organised for us were very very good and comfortable.  We enjoyed all the places we had been and it exceeded our expectations. 

There were only two hotels we stayed (Zhangjiajie and Aba Songpan) that did not really cater well for breakfast during our stay. However the overall experienced we had were all valuable ones.

Lijiang Show was spectacular and was the highlight of the optional shows.

Driving from Songpan to Chengdu throughout the old road was an interesting journey, thanks to our very good driver.

Once again thank you for your professionalism, your prompt reply to our emails and making our stayed in China a memorable one and easy. We really felt that during our stay there we can easily access you together with our tour guides and drivers that were assigned to us we feel very much looked after, Thank you Jack and China Discovery Tours.

Cheers!!

Date of Experience: May 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Jack
Elizabeth

Elizabeth

Reviewed on May 23, 2019

Hi Wonder,

I am sorry I have been a little delayed in sending this feedback. It took us several days to get all the grass cut in the garden and to check that everything was still O.K. The plants in the greenhouse have grown a lot!

Anyway I will begin with the guides, who we thought were all very helpful and also interesting people to talk to. Their English was excellent and they provided exceptionally tasty lunches. Michael and I agreed that the food in Yunnan was much better than we had on the first trip. Some of it was a bit spicy, but I loved all the fresh fruit and variety of vegetables. Both drivers were good, but the one in Kunming was really impressive and very friendly as well.

Cherry was a lovely woman, whose company we really enjoyed. We had many conversations on all sorts of topics. She was very informative with a great sense of humour. She was very conscientious and we always had great confidence in her. Her English was clear and easy to understand. We came to think of her more as a very friendly and pleasant travelling companion rather than a guide. The day we shared on Jiaozi Mountain was very special and one I will never forget. I didn't get her email, but would very much like to write to her direct.

Frank's interest and enthusiasm for plants was obvious. He had even named his two daughters, Camelia and Azalea. Frank made great efforts to ensure we saw as many plants as possible on our walk on Cangshan Mountain. He was also able to provide a perspective on the Bai Community. Again he was friendly and interesting company.

Evan was a very kind and thoughtful man and we really appreciated the efforts he made on our behalf.  He was informative but also concerned to focus on our interests. I liked Evan and had considerable respect for what he had achieved.

Tenzen was another interesting character and he also was concerned to try and ensure we saw the azaleas and rhododendrons that were in flower. The highlight of our day with him was definitely the walk around Shudu Lake. The Tibetan lunch was a novel experience and I actually liked the Yak butter tea.

The hotels were all of a very high standard in terms of facilities and décor.

The Mengjiang in Kunming had a lovely courtyard just outside our room which was a comfortable place to sit in the evening. Michael very much liked the breakfasts (pre-ordered from a picture menu) but I found them rather too much and would have preferred a more conventional buffet style. None of the staff spoke English and given the potential for confusion over breakfast this was an issue. I think their menus needed to contain information in English as to what the different options actually included.

The Oness Resort in Yuanyang was set in a pleasant garden with modern but tasteful décor. The breakfast was very good although Cherry did have to help us choose the evening meal as the menu was only in Chinese.

The Jianshui Hanlinyuan Hotel was set in the most beautiful gardens. The room was gorgeous and it was quite the most perfect hotel in terms of accommodation. I will send you photos of the gardens later. They were exquisite. Strangely the breakfast was rather limited and disappointing, but I was less bothered about that than Michael.

The Dali Yunxi Hotel was a much more modest establishment, but still very comfortable with all the facilities you needed. The roof-top terrace was just outside our room and was a restful place to retreat from all the bustle of Dali. The hotel was run by extremely friendly people who served the option of a Western style breakfast of muesli, fruit and yoghourt, a welcome treat as far as I was concerned.

The Jan Bo Xuan in Lijiang was probably our favourite place to stay. It did have a very tastefully furnished and comfortable room looking out on to a pretty courtyard garden. The staff could not have been more helpful and the breakfasts were tasty. The hotel itself was set in the old town of Lijiang which was incredibly picturesque. Lijiang reminded me very much of Suzhou.

The E-outfitting Hotel in Shangri-La was the strangest place we visited. The accommodation was of a high standard with attractive rooms and the bathroom was fine. The roof terrace was a lovely place to sit and enjoy the evening sun. However the organisation of the hotel was very peculiar. It is on three sites and they didn't know which building we were in when we arrived, and so we walked round the old streets for some minutes before they finally worked out where we were. We were then told breakfast would be on a different site but someone would show us in the morning, which they did. Breakfast itself was alright rather than good.

In terms of places visited. I will group them in terms of how much we liked them.

Jiaozi Mountain was my favourite place. It was exactly as I had hoped to see the flowers. I know they were rhododendrons and not azaleas but that did not matter. They are very similar and often get confused. I am still sorting the photos out from the day and a little disappointed that they do not do justice to the magical beauty of the place. I can't understand why the people from Kunming only visit it in the winter. Cherry was really  surprised by how lovely it all was and said she would be recommending it to her tour company, as well as visiting it again herself with a friend in a few weeks. I think Westerners would love this place if it was promoted more.

The rice terraces in Yuanyang were Michael's favourite place. We both thought the day we spent walking with Cherry through the rice fields was delightful. Again I found it strange that the Chinese are more taken with the place in the winter, simply because of the reflections on the water. But I think the beauty of the place is in the abundant life and all the wonderful fresh green. We were less bothered about the sunset and sunrise, but just enjoyed being in such verdant countryside.

The next group of places are ones which we also really liked but didn't rank as favourites.

I have already said that walking around Cangshan Moutain with Frank, and Shudu Lake with Tenzen were memorable experiences. Michael is not very good with heights, but didn't mind the chair-lift to get us to the higher level of Cangshan, which then meant we could walk on the level. Again we were impressed with China's ability to process large numbers of people visiting rural beauty spots without spoiling the natural environment.

We were very pleased with the visit to Ziu Shan Park in Tonghai. Cherry said she had never been there before and the staff on the gate said they hadn't had Westerners before. Cherry was again surprised at how beautiful the place was and will be recommending it to her tour company. I do have some good photos which I will send you. The Temples are set in beautiful courtyard gardens, but it is all surrounded by wooded hillside so that it all feels very natural. Again I think more Western visitors could be encouraged to visit especially as it breaks the journey to the rice terraces.

The Joseph Rock Museum in Yuhu Village was a very evocative place. I loved looking up at Jade Dragon Mountain and longed to go up there, but realised that would have been difficult.

We also very much liked the Confucian Temple and the Zhu Family Garden, the temple was interesting as a contrast to the other religious temples we visited. We found Tuanshan Village fascinating and it was encouraging to see the old buildings being restored. The Botanical Gardens in Kunming and the first bend of the Yangtze provided wonderful sights. Lijiang was probably our favourite town with all its pretty rivers and streets with their profusion of flowers.

In the third group are the places that we were quite happy to visit, but didn't rate as highly as the others. Erhai Lake was beautiful but I could see Frank's point that it's real beauty was when you could see the mountains clearly behind the lake, which was more likely in winter. For us the mountains remained in a misty haze. The Three Pagodas were impressive, but it was a little like Black Dragon Pool, in that it seemed more like a rather busy, but still very nice park. The Songzalin Monastery certainly did give a very good insight into Buddhism in China, but our interest in religious practices is limited. The Dongba Cultural Museum was interesting, but what really caught our eye were the gorgeous orchids in one of the courtyards. I guess we are just really enthusiastic about plants. We didn't bother with the Ethnic Minorities Museum as it wasn't something that was a priority and we had already learned a lot about the minorities during our trip. It was preferable to have a more relaxed morning on our last day.

The disappointment for me was Tiger Leaping Gorge although Michael liked it more than me. There is so much construction going on in the whole area with the new road and rail link between Lijiang and Shangri La, not to mention all the new hotels going up, that it all feels like a large building site. Also Tenzen said that as they were putting a new elevator in to take people down to the gorge, it was not possible to walk very far along the gorge at the moment. It did feel like we walked a very long way down and then only a few metres along the gorge before walking all the way up again.

But apart from Tiger Leaping Gorge everything else was really amazing and we had a wonderful trip thanks to all your careful organisation. As before the connections and travel arrangements worked very efficiently. We only wish public transport in the UK worked as well.

It is going to take me a little while to sort out the photos. I only have a little camera and as I have said the quality of the photos is not as good as I'd hoped. We have some family visitors this week-end and so I don't expect to be able to do much work on the photos until next week, but will try and sort out the best ones for you.  I assume you have plenty of pictures of the well known sights and it will be Xiu Shan Park and Jiaozi that you might be most interested in.

Thanks again Wonder for a memorable trip and as I said in my previous email I am very keen on the idea of helping to develop an interest here in the UK in Chinese garden tours.

Regards

Date of Experience: May 12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Elizabeth

Elizabeth

UK

Reviewed on May 18, 2019

Hi Wonder

I am back in the UK on Saturday afternoon. I couldn't use my email while in China as Hotmail were blocking me as a security precaution after I had been hacked a couple of weeks ago by someone in Nigeria.

Anyway this is just to let you know that we had a truly memorable holiday and the trip to Jiaozi Mountain was amazing, with the whole mountainside covered in a glorious profusion of rhododendrons which are very like azaleas, only bigger. The scenery was breath-taking. It really was the highlight of the trip and Cherry and the driver were delightful company on what was a perfect day.

I am still quite jet-lagged so will write more in a day or two, with more detailed feedback. All the guides were great, as were the hotels. I have lots and lots of photos to sort out but will send you the best ones for you to use in your publicity.

Thank you again Wonder for all the trouble you have taken in organising another fantastic holiday for us. I have some ideas which I would like to share with you about whether we could maybe work together in the future to try and look at how a tour could be put together and marketed in the UK and Europe, highlighting Chinese gardens and the Chinese landscape. I would be happy to do some research at this end but I really do think there could be interest amongst people in the UK for such a tour. Anyway it is just an idea at the moment and it would be fun to develop something like that with you. 

Regards from a very tired but happy Elizabeth

Date of Experience: May 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Bill

Bill

USA

Reviewed on December 18, 2018

Dear Tracy,

Our tours in Yunnan were great. Our guides Jack and Linda were wonderful. We saw and experienced many great things while in Yunnan. We even kidded Linda that she was able to make thick fog magically disappear so that we could see rice terraces near Yuanyang. Thanks again for all your work on these two tours.

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Hill Holden

Hill Holden

Reviewed on July 14, 2015

Hi Ian,

You need to know that our trip went smoothly and we had a fantastic time in China. In particular, we must tell you that Nima in Shangri La and Carina in Guilin were both OUTSTANDING guides and come with our utmost recommendation - we trust that they are well remunerated for their friendliness and skill by their employers.

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by:
Boonshan Sangfai

Boonshan Sangfai

Geneva

Reviewed on May 5, 2015

Hi Ian,

We are back to Geneva! Please find below a short summary of our trip which you may feel free to edit or shorten it as you deem appropriate.

We have so many photos to share, though you may decide which one you would like to publish it.  I am going to forward those photos to you by different emails.   

Many thanks again.   Best regards.

“Quote Unstoppable WOWs for our Amazing China Discovery Tour!

As orchestrated by Ian Wei of Chengdu Bamboo International Travel, two of us were wandering from one natural wonders to endless wonder spots of China. We were wandering from the soft fertile earth of red land to multi-formed stone forest and strolling in the village of diverse ethnic minority of Yunnan. Our journey continued to nonstop amazing historical heritage and nature beauty in the land of world roof in Tibet.  Worldly cute panda and Giant Buddha as well as Luodai and Jinli ancient places plus shopping spots of Sichuan made our visit simply unforgettable. We were following the track of silk road and visit numerous wonder places in the Gobi desert of Gansu province, for example, climbing up sand dune mountain and circling the crescent lake of Dunhuang, walking inside mogao grottoes, Yardang geopark, western great wall, Jiayuguan fortress, reclining buddha of Zhangye.  Every view point in the area of rainbow mountains gave us no chance to brink our eyes and kept exclaiming Wows!  Lastly 4000 steps of stairs plus a double downs to tops ride of cable car to reach the peak station of Huashan in the outskirt of Xian was such a stunning and challenging trip.  

The above merely captures the essence of our 18-day (1-18 April 2015) trip organized by the impressive services of Chengdu Bamboo International Travel. Ian Wei is our host who stood ready to track/follow and response to our request throughout the tour. I have a full confidence and offer a big applause to the second to none service of this travel agent. Many thanks to Ian and his tour guides and superb drivers who made our trip every possible and so memorable.    

Cheers.  A couple, residents of Geneva, Switzerland ”

The following are some of the photos shared by Boonshan Sangfai

Yunnan Dongchuan Red Land

Lhasa Potala Palace

Glacier Tibet

Yardan Geopark

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by:
Tan

Tan

Reviewed on May 3, 2015

Dear Tiger!

We arrived safely in Lijiang this evening.
The guide in Shangrila was excellent! The guide in Lijiang is also very good. All the logistics with the car and guides is functioning very smoothly. And finally many thanks for the repayment of our unjustified expenses in Huanglong! It is very generous of you a d your copany!!!!

Keep in touch and express our thanks to your management.

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by:
Yuri

Yuri

Israeli

Reviewed on April 13, 2015

Hi Tiger,

Our trip to Sichuan was fantastic, we enjoyed every minute. The organization was perfect and we will recommend you and your company to all our friends, who are planning the China trip.

Special thanks to Zach, So young, but very professional, intelligent and talented guide. We, from our side, tried not to make him troubles and let him do his job. 

After Chengdu we moved to Lijiang, Dali, Kunming and Beijing. Without the local guide, the trip became more challenge. But everything was ok, excep  the bus trip from Dali to Kunming, that took us 10 hours instead of 5.5 because of the construction works. Everywhere attitude to us was very friendly and local people tried to help us especially those speaking English. (Taxi divers are the only exclusion). We felt, that Chinese people are proud of their country and wanted we also like it.

We took thousand of pictures. It will take time to classified them. I will share some of them with you, when they are ready. Do you want me to upload the pictures to any server?

I left to Zach this my mail address, and he sent me some message, but I got nothing. Can you, please, ask him about his mail. I'd like to send him some pictures too.

Thanks a lot.

Yuri and friends

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by:
Kim

Kim

Reviewed on March 30, 2015

Hi Isabel,

Thanks for the follow up. Overall, we enjoyed the trip and below are some of my feedback.

Guides and driver
All the guides and driver are very professional and knowledgeable about the area we visited.  Their level of English is very good and they make the trip very enjoyable. We highly recommend all the three guides to other future guests of you.

Itinerary
In Kunming, the stone forest was interesting. Dali was a quite rush and deserve two nights stay, in our opinion. Quite an interesting town and its surrounding. LiJiang is the highlight and definitely worth a second trip again.  The itinerary was quite tight as we were quite exhausted from seeing so many towns and villages within the 1.5 days. Shuhe is probably a better place for foreign tourist to based in and stay (eg banyan tree resort) as it is less crowded with local tourist and able to enjoy the ancient town. There were just too many local tourists at Lijiang, even at night.

Chinadiscovery
Highly recommended and especially I have to make so many changes.  Really thankful for your service and promptness in your response.  Will contact you again in our future visit/trips to china.

Again, thank you for everything.

Regards

Kim

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by:
Paul Hamill

Paul Hamill

Malaysia

Reviewed on March 20, 2015

Hi Ian,

We have a wonderful time during the Yunnan Tour that you have arranged for us. Your tour guides and drivers are very nice and good person. There are very experience and cheerfull. They really take care of us during our tour with them. I experiance few time tour in China, the tour guide are very demanding and not freindly. May be becuase the past I join group tour instead of private tour.

So far I am very sastify with your services. I already recommended to my friends who interested.

I can share some photos of the scenery that I have taken. You can tell me how to share with you.

Again, I will like to thank you for all the afford and time that you have spent to organise and arrange this trip for us.

Thank you.

Regards,

Me Me

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by:
Paul Hamill

Paul Hamill

Australia

Reviewed on March 17, 2015

Hi Wonder,

Sorry I have taken so long to get around to writing to you to give you our feed-back.

Firstly, let me say that we were very happy with the way you organised our China trip for us.  Your service to us was of the highest standard and we thank you sincerely for that.

GUILIN:

Guide - Linda - a very pleasant young lady with very good English language skills.

Hotel - Bravo - good quality, clean, comfortable, good location.  Breakfast - both western and chinese was quite awful.

Driver/Vehicle - both very good - no improvement needed.

Guilin to Kunming (soft-sleeper train) - I realise that this is outside of your control however I will still advise you of our experience.  Our compartment was used and dirty when we boarded the train.

KUNMING:

Guide - Wayan - very personable, friendly, and knowledgeable young man.  We very much enjoyed his company and the information which he shared with us about Kunming, its surrounds, and China in general. Wayan chose good restaurants and local dishes for us to enjoy.  He made us feel that he was always doing his best to ensure that our time with him was the best he could make it.

Hotel - Jinjian - good quality, clean, comfortable. Although the hotel was handy to the railway station it was not a particularly good location. Breakfast was the best that we experienced during our time in China. 

Driver/Vehicle - both very good - no improvement needed.

LIAJIANG:

Guide - Sophie - very personable, friendly, and caring young woman.  We enjoyed her company and her bubbly personality. 

Hotel - He Xi - clean and comfortable in an excellent location.

Driver/Vehicle - both very good - no improvement needed.

JINGHONG:

Guide - Mike - our least experienced guide but by far our most enthusiastic.  Mike is an outstanding young man who with experience will prove to be a major asset to your company.

Hotel - Tai Garden - good quality, clean, comfortable, with OK location.

Driver/Vehicle - both very good - no improvement needed.

All in all a very satisfactory experience.  One suggestion might be, for groups such as ours who are responsible for finding their dinner each evening, you might provide a list of suggested local restaurants. Perhaps a short tour of the city area would help your guests to orient themselves with regard to their hotel and its locale. We found Guilin and Lijiang relatively easy for this but Kunming and Jinghong were more of a challenge.

Thank you for all of your assistance.

Kindest regards,

Paul Hamill

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Michèle

Michèle

Switzerland

Reviewed on March 15, 2015

Hi Tiger !

We just spent 2 nights and one whole day in Yanshuo more precisely so we had not much time to visit, but now we arrived in Sanya for a little rest and I have also more time to answer your mail !

We had a wonderful time in Yunnan. Everything went perfectly, from the moment we landed in Kunming to thé one when we left for Guilin.

The guides were great - especially the one in Lijiang (Anna, a Naxhi woman) and in Shangri-La (a Tibetan). Reliable, nice, open-minded and smart. Great people !

Visits were great. Although low season, the potatso park was beautiful ! 

While we were again in Kunming on our own, we visited the Bamboo temple and it was a fantastic place. Quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Also the Golden temple was worth a visit.

We appreciated you calling to make sure everything was alright !

I will keep your contact for a next trip to China ! Why not Sichuan and Lhassa ?!? We'll see.

Thank you for everything!

We stay in Sanya til Thursday before we fly back to Hong Kong for 24 hours and then back to Switzerland.

Kindest regards and have a nice week-end !

Michèle

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by:
Zane

Zane

Canada

Reviewed on December 17, 2014

Hi Ian,

Thank you for organizing our trip in China; this was a great experience and we enjoyed the trip very much. My overall impression of the services provided is excellent. We had no issues with hotel reservations, flights, guides, etc. 

All our guides, especially those who we had a chance to spend more time with (Guilin, Chengdu, Lijiang, Zhangjiajie) were great. Always very accommodating, punctual and attentive. The drivers were good. The hotels in the big cities (Chengdu, Chongqing, Shanghai) were excellent.

Chongqing - Dazu Rock Carvings were a great suggestion. It was a little far, but well worth the trip.The Yangtze River Cruise accommodations, cruise and tours were great. The only letdown was that we passed one of the gorges in complete darkness so could not see anything at all. I am still glad I chose this cruise and got to see the Three Lesser Gorges. Also, on the cruise we paid extra to dine at a smaller dining room and based on what we heard from other travelers, this was a good option. The tours in Chengdu were great. We did not get to see the sunrise on Mt Emei, but the night we got there, it was crystal clear and no people. It was one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen. Lijiang tours were great. I highly suggest Tiger Leaping Gorge for those that want a more active vacation - it's beautiful and peaceful. In Zhangjiajie we were able to visit Tianzi Mountain and Huangshi Village on the same day. We had enough time, but I suspect it was because we did not have to wait in long lines anywhere.

I also appreciate your prompt e-mails and your answers to all my questions during the entire time you were planning this trip and I appreciate you checking in with us a couple of times during our trip. It's been a pleasure working with you and I look forward using your services again some day when we visit China. I hope you find my comments useful. Please let me know if you would like me to go into more detail about any part of my trip.

Thank you and take care,

Zane

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by:

See all reviews from our guests See all reviews on Tripadvisor



Amazing Travel Stories from Our Customers

Our dear customers have shared many travel stories, feelings and stunning pictures after finishing their trips with us. They are glad to share everything with you and you are warmly welcomed to read their photo stories. Or, you can click 2012-2021 Customer Travel Stories" for more stuning stories. Get inspired now!

  • Couple’s 69 Days Private China Journey
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - Datong - Pingyao - Luoyang - Xian - Jiayuguan ... Chengdu - Yangtze - Zhangjiajie - Yunnan - Guilin... Hangzhou - Shanghai
  • 14 Days Well-organized and Dreamed Tour to Yunnan
    In Search of Shangri-La to Yunnan, China

    We received an inquiry from Mr. Marcin in April. Marcin thought April sounds like a fantastic month to search for Shangri-La. He found one in Yunnan China. We made an itinerary of 14 days suitable for his interests and needs.

    • Marcin (USA)
    • (14 Days) 2019.04.15~2019.04.28
    • Kunming - Dali - Lijiang - Lugu Lake - Lijiang - Tiger Leaping Gorge - Shangri-La - Kunming
  • 12 Days Yunnan Vacation
    12 Days in Yunnan - Retreat to the Serenity of Life

    The China Yunnan landscape is spectacular. We enjoyed the dynamic Yunnan performance in Kunming which artfully encapsulated the beauty and colours of the various tribes in Yunnan.

    • Pang (Singapore)
    • (12 Days) 2018.02.25~2018.03.08
    • Shenzhen - Kunming - Stone Forest - Yuanyang - Jianshui - Dali - Shangri-La - Lijiang - Kunming - Shenzhen