Vidit

Vidit

India

Reviewed on January 5, 2020

Hi Mark,

Happy New Year to you as well.

My responses in the trailing mail.

Regards,

Vidit

Date of Experience: December,21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Mark
Ken and Perola Noble

Ken and Perola Noble

UK & South Africa

Reviewed on December 31, 2019

Hi Wonder

We are now back in South Africa after one of our very best holidays,ever so again very many thanks for making it so.

Listed below are responses to your appraisal--

1)Wonder was incredibly quick at answering our e-mails and super efficient when dealing with any queries I had both before and after the tour.Nothing was ever too much for him.

2)Tour arrangements were fantastic! Drivers were always available to meet us at train stations or airports to take us to our hotels. Also guides often arrived earlier than planned in the morning for our daily tours. Guides also very helpful and informative. (Minor point but Guilin Hotel was a bit out of town and did not offer facilities of the others—Chengdu hotel was magnificent)

3)I certainly am very willing to speak to anyone who is interested in travelling with you in the future

And recommending your company.

4)General opinion—10 out of 10—it couldn’t be better

5)I think overall the tour was very well organised-maybe the guides could promote evening events more in the different cities.I did attend a Sichuan opera eve.in Chengdu which was good.

6)Have lots of photos which I can send—let me know-panda cubs attached

Please use any of my comments on your web site

7)Certainly –future/potential customers can contact me for advice

OVERALL A SUPERB HOLIDAY—MANY,MANY THANKS

Very best wishes

Ken and Perola Noble

 

Date of Experience: December,17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Lee

Lee

Australia

Reviewed on December 28, 2019

Hello Riley

I have just submitted a review to trip advisor.

Here is a bit more information than I posted in the review.

Firstly, I want to thank you for your assistance and perseverance in organising our trip. We appreciate your listening to what we wanted and fitting in our requests as best you could. As a result the holiday was fabulous and included things we like to see and do and didn’t include the ‘normal’ mass tourist things.

Your guides are excellent. We appreciated all guides, but we would especially like to mention Zhouma (Lhasa), Jessie (Kunming) and Tutu (Zhangjiajie), they have a wealth of knowledge which they are able to impart in an enthusiastic manner, and they are also very very helpful. Zhouma and Jessie’s assistance with firstly my Ipad and then my clay colours was exceptional and truly appreciated.

We had many highlights along the way but if I have to name a few I would say Muslim Street in Xian (I had previously been to the Terracotta Warriors, so it was a repeat trip – though still amazing), the Potala Palace and walking the circle around the Jokhang Temple in Lhasa, Green Lake Park in Kunming, the Impression show in Yangshou, just about all the mountain activities in Zhangjiajie.

We will certainly be recommending you and China Discovery to anyone who is interested in travelling to China.

Regards

Lee

Date of Experience: December, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Martin

Martin

Ireland

Reviewed on December 26, 2019

Hi Riley,

Thank you for your help in organizing our holiday in Guilin.  Below is our feedback as requested.  Apologies for the delay as life has been very busy since we returned from Hong Kong last week.

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Riley was an excellent consultant who went beyond the call of duty to stay late in the office to respond to time critical queries as we were a bit late booking our trip to Guilin and we needed information for our Chinese Visa application.

2. How do you comment your tour arrangements?

The tour was excellently organized from the time we arrived in Guilin train station until we left the same station 6 days later.  Accomodation was excellent and our guide Daniel was extremely patient in taking into account our food requirements in organizing our meals for us.  The tour activities were well balanced to our abilities and interests.  We especially enjoyed the hiking and the rural atmosphere in the Longji Rice Terrace area and also along the Yulong River.

3. Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?

We would highly recommend China Discovery and their guides to others visiting the Guilin region.  Our guide Daniel was enormously helpful in describing the history of the area as well as the sights and went well beyond the call of duty in helping us.  We especially liked the fact that there were not frequent visits to "shopping experiences".

4. Your general opinion on us?

China Discovery provides an excellent service.

Regards,

Martin

Date of Experience: November,18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Wing

Wing

USA

Reviewed on December 25, 2019

Hi Lily,

Thank you for your help with our tour planning.  We had a great time and enjoyed all the food & places we visited.

Have a Merry Christmas and happy New year!

Wing

Date of Experience: November, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Lily
Rob

Rob

Australia

Reviewed on December 24, 2019

Thank you Lily!

We had a wonderful holiday, thanks to you!

Happy New Year to you too!

I had trouble posting on the link you sent me, because of difficulty with Chinese language.

But I have posted a review today on trip advisor on the Australia site. If there is anyway to link this to your home page I will help however I can.

This is what I wrote:

Heading: Thanks Lily

I can’t praise China Discovery enough. Lily Xu put together the perfect holiday for my wife and I. Two nights in Guilin, a boat tour to Yangshuo, and two nights in Yangshuo. Everything was better than we had hoped for. Lily did a fantastic job. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Our guide, Alma, was fantastic. An interesting story teller who was fun to travel with. Our driver was first rate. Safe, friendly and helpful. We will definitely use China Discovery again and have recommended then to friends and family.

I hope that helps Lily. We will definitely be in touch again for a holiday in Szechuan and Yunnan.

Regards,

Rob.

Date of Experience: November,17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Lily
Alice

Alice

Malaysia

Reviewed on December 09, 2019

Hi Wing,

Please see below my comments...

1. The tour arrangements were excellent, I like that there was sufficient time for every location and we enjoy the easy going pace throughout the tour. First of all, a big thank you to Ms Wing Zeng, the Travel Consultant who has provided us an excellent service in organising the tour that suited us best. The tour guide, Mr. Lee was outstanding and trust-worthy. He is definitely knowledgeable about all the places, and I like how he always came out with Chinese poems to describe the places that we visited. He took the extra mile to help s to take a lot of great photos and videos throughout the tour. The driver was very pleasant and the vehicle provided was in superb condition which made our tour very comfortable. I would highly recommend to my friends and relatives, and in actual fact, I have already recommended to a few friends.

2. As our last 2 days were free and easy. Mr. Lee, the tour guide has suggested us to go to Xianggung Mountain to have a panoramic views of the river and the surrounding karst peaks which was not a disappointment to us. I would highly recommend that Xianggung Mountain be included in your itinerary for your potential customers at all times.

3. I would not hesitate to use your service again when I go to China again.

Date of Experience: November, 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wing
Gary

Gary

Ireland

Reviewed on December 07, 2019

Hi Wendy,

Replies to your questions below. You are welcome to use the attached photos on your website if you wish.

Regards

Gary Mc Guinn

Was your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Yes. Communication from my travel consultant was excellent. Wendy was very helpful in setting out options for the tour, answering my questions and helping me make the right choices. She was always responded promptly and with clear, concise information. 

How was your tour? Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you?

Yes. I was very happy with the tour. The guides and driver were great. My girlfriend and I both had a good time. We saw a lot of unforgettable sights in 6 days but we also had opportunity to rest and to do our own thing.

Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

No. I only hope that Tibet can become easier to visit in the future while at the same time being protected from overdevelopment so it retains its unique charm and heritage. I think managed tourism is good for the local economy for everyone’s benefit.

Date of Experience: November,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Blaise

Blaise

USA

Reviewed on December 05, 2019

Hello Wendy,

Yes, I would be happy to provide you with some feedback on our experience with your travel services. My answers to your three questions are below.

1. Was your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Wendy provided timely and professional travel services to us for our Li River cruise, and answered all of our questions quickly and accurately. We particularly appreciated the confirmation emails and giving us needed advice, such as notice of road delays due to a biking event which might impact our arrival time at the boat. We also appreciated the clear email communications in English, which was easy to understand.

2. How was your tour? Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you?

The tour was very well organized and was one of our favorite experiences during our 2 week trip to China. It actually exceeded our expectations and I have already recommended it to others. The taxi driver was on time, and was polite, and took care of getting the cruise tickets also.

3. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

No suggestions for improvement, as we are very satisfied and everything went perfectly.

Thanks for your travel assistance, again,

- Blaise Barney

Date of Experience: November,19, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Jamie

Jamie

Australia

Reviewed on November 26, 2019

Hi Wendy,

Thanks so much for following up, I'm absolutely going to send you some reviews of the tours we did - they were all amazing. I'll hopefully get the chance to do this shortly, we've just returned from China and are so busy with work. As soon as I get the chance to I'll email you back with some comments :-)

Thanks again!

Jamie

Date of Experience: November,14, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Sharon

Sharon

Australia & Malaysia

Reviewed on November 21, 2019

Hi Johnson,

Hope this email find you well. 

My family and I have returned to Sydney after 6 weeks of travelling! I want to thank you for arranging our 25 days China tour which we have really enjoyed. The itinerary was good although a bit tiring! 

China was amazing and your service in organizing and trouble shooting while we were there was greatly appreciated.

On reflection, we realized the highlights during our tours were the cities where we had a good guide and driver.

FYI the guides in SuZhou (Sarah), Guilin (Summer), Kunming (Jessie) and Lijiang ( Susan) and Chengdu (Jane) were all amazing. Their English and knowledge were very good. They made these cities/ places come alive for us.

Alan in Hangzhou took us to the best restaurant and ordered the best lunch we had in 25 days. Again a memorable city for us

On the flip side, Dali which was a beautiful city but we did not enjoy mostly because our guide ( Shirley) does not speak English well. We could not understand her narrative or explanation most of the time. The guide in Wuhan ( Jennifer) was very unhelpful, was on her phone most of the time unless we asked her questions. For e.g. The highlight of Wuhan to us was the yellow crane tower but she did not even bother to walk up with us  ( and gave us 20 min to go up and come down) As we all could not read Chinese , it made all the beautiful artworks, poems and historical significance a complete loss to us! At the Eastlake, again a beautiful area she rushed us in and out because she said we did not have enough time but we ended finishing the day around 4 ! As you know she also ignore us during lunch so I had to send you the complaint myself! So Wuhan to use was the least enjoyable day.

For your reference, I think you have to ensure the guides you provide to any group you organize speak good English and are experience and helpful.

Overall, I think it was a great tour and your service is excellent from start to finish. I will certainly recommend you to my friends and hope to organize a Silk Road tour with you  in the near future !

Thanks again

Regards

Sharon

Date of Experience: October,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Candy & Laurie

Candy & Laurie

Israel

Reviewed on November 14, 2019

Hi Wendy,

We have just returned home today from our month away and, rather belatedly, I wanted to thank you so much for the lovely scarf and gifts you sent us to Chengdu.

Our Chinese trip was absolutely perfect and we loved it.  For your information I will give comments on the guides:

Chengdu – Yijia

What a lovely girl, a pleasure to be around, incredibly innovative and helpful, beyond the calls of her job. She helped us get SIM cards for our phones, told us about the Opera near our hotel, even joined us for the panda workday.  Am not sure about how much knowledge she has but it was certainly enough for us.

Chengdu – Shani

First whole day in Chengdu.  She was very nice and knew her history.  Very informative about the Temples.

Xian – Vivien

We didn’t get off to a good start with her unfortunately as, although the driver was waiting for us at the station, she had been delayed with other clients and was 45 minutes late.  After our initial anger and seeing how upset she was we all settled down and I have to say she was incredibly knowledgeable and most informative. The next day, when we went to the Terracotta Warriors I don’t think we could have been with a better guide.  She was excellent.

Guilin & Yangshou – Lona

What a pleasure this guide was and so informative.  She certainly knows her history of the sites she took us to.  Very dedicated and we thoroughly enjoyed being with her.  I think she was the absolute best.

Shanghai – Tracy (I think)

A different caliber entirely.  Arrived late but with lots of excuses and no apology!  She was fine when we got going but her English wasn’t up to that of the others, nor was her knowledge I think.

Beijing - Kai

Probably the most well informed of all the guides we had, and a charming person.  He was most caring and happy to share his knowledge of all the sites as well as impart information about life in general in China.

Pick-ups were all excellent, with good and careful drivers. All in all we had a wonderful time in China and thank you so much for arranging it all so well for us.

We will certainly recommend you to our friends and if you need us to give recommendations to future clients, we shall be happy to do.

All the Best,

Candy & Laurie

Date of Experience: October,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Edita

Edita

Italy

Reviewed on October 31, 2019

Dear Yanny He,

We just came from Hong Kong. We would like to thank you very much for the organisation. We had wonderful trip to Guilin . We enjoyed every moment of our trip. Our guide  was very professional and wonderful person! Thank you.

Best wishes

Edita Conte

Date of Experience: October,23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Yanny
Rosetta

Rosetta

Australia

Reviewed on September 28, 2019

Hi Yanny,

Thankyou. Fantastic Xi’an was magical, you have some really great staff there, Bruce Johnny and Mary really know their stuff and know how to keep people engaged... well done

Guilin is the icing on the cake, the cruse was sensational and the hotel right near the lake is a great location, beautiful view from window 

Thanks again for keeping in touch.

Rosetta

Date of Experience: September,10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Yanny
Martin

Martin

Ireland

Reviewed on November 1, 2019

Hi Echo,

I just wanted to drop you a line to say a huge “thank you” for organising our wonderful trip to China!

Both myself and Claire had an absolutely fantastic time and seeing China of today was awe inspiring.

We were delighted with the itinerary – although tough, (hotels, trains, planes and cars), it was worth getting to see every iconic site and more besides!!

We met the wonderful guides and drivers on our travels, and although it is very difficult to single any out one, I thought Danny, who looked after us in Guilin and the surrounding areas – was incredible.

The other guides were equally fantastic and they ensured we visited every site and more, to really make our trip to China a fantastic and memorable trip of a lifetime!

Thank you again for all your assistance and help you have provided over the past few months – you made this a trip to always remember.

If you could pass on both Claire and my thanks to everyone involved in making our trip very special, I would really appreciate it!

Best regards always,

Date of Experience: October,27, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
Marc

Marc

Canada

Reviewed on October 31, 2019

Good morning Mark,

Thank you for all your support. Here are the answers to the questions:

1. Very good service: Patient, good arrangements, great hotel suggestion in Yangshuo (Li River Resort), answered all questions. Would recommend!

2. Drivers were all perfect. Tour guides were too, and Dickson had been very flexible due to rainy conditions, appreciated.

3. Guilin/Longsheng/Yangshuo is outstnading.  Jinshanling Great Wall should be one of the 7 wonders of the world.

4. All was great. A suggestion for hikers like us: Offer either optional lunch or take-out lunch as we often want to hike/explore on lunch time and not spend 1 hour in a restaurant in the middle of the day, especially when sunny.

I will plan to do the TripAdvisor recommendation when back at home.

Many thanks and best regards,

Date of Experience: October,21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
Helen and Adrian Wild

Helen and Adrian Wild

Australia

Reviewed on October 31, 2019

Dear Lily,

We have now returned to Australia after the holiday you organised for us in The Guilin and Hunan areas and are happy to provide some feedback on the service you offered.

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Lily was efficient and polite and always got back to us within 24 hours of our contacting her.  She was very patient, particularly when the first trip we planned had to have major changes made due to our personal circumstances.

2. How do you comment your tour arrangements? 

The tour was everything we expected.Timing was excellent and the attractions we visited were beautiful. Your country has spectacular scenery.

Some things are worth mentioning:

  • The Guilin Park Hotel, while comfortable, was not really 4-star. The bathroom was very old, with mouldy wall tiles.  We would not recommend this hotel to others, although the location was perfect and the exterior and foyer looked beautiful.  The restaurant was uninviting, and the bar was not operating at all.
  • The One Art Hotel in Ping’An was superb, and the family operating the business were very friendly and welcoming. This hotel is highly recommended.
  • If we had our time over again we would have liked 2 nights in YangShou.  It was a lovely town and small enough for us to wander at our leisure
  • The bike ride along the Yulong River and then to Moon Hill and The Banyan Tree was great fun
  • There were long car trips involved in our visit to Fengshuan.  Perhaps we could have made a return trip from Zhangziajie by train and then flown from Zhangjiajie to Shanghai.
  • Steven was an excellent guide and he provided advice as to where we should eat for our evening meals. He also suggested things for us to eat.
  • Kevin was good, but perhaps not as helpful as Steven. He tended to rush us past things we wanted to see and we often had to ask him to slow down. 
  • It was difficult for us to order from restaurants in the Zhangziajie area.  There was very little English spoken – and I had not downloaded a translation service to my phone before I left.  I was not able to access this once I was in China as access to Google was blocked

3. Are  you  willing  to  recommend  our  service  to  your  people  who  also  have  an  interest  to  visit China?

We certainly are. This is the second time we have used your service and have no complaints whatsoever.  It is an excellent service and Lily is a pleasure to deal with.  We only wish we could have met her personally to thank her.

 4. Your general opinion on us?

5 star!  Well done

5. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

2 suggestions: 

Perhaps you could advise future customers to download translation app before they arrive.

Your guides could have with them a simple menu in Chinese/English that customers could refer to when in a non-English speaking restaurant. 

6. Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

See attached photos

7. We sometimes have requests from potential customers who would like to inquire from or our ex-customers. May they contact you for advices?   

Yes, of course.

Thank you once again for a wonderful itinerary,

Warm regards,

China Travel Photos

Lovely Villages and Beautiful River in Hunan and Guilin

Date of Experience: October,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Lily
Margarita

Margarita

USA

Reviewed on October 27, 2019

Hi, Jack, that what I want to put on Trip Advisor, please read and let me know if it is something you expected.  Also if you can advise me what was that place in Xi’an I am writing about I will put it there.

10 days semi-private tour

10 days tour with the group of 6 friends was totally amazing, it was perfect combination of physical activity, information to process and just moments to enjoy.  Out of all included and optional activities I want to highlight just two special moments in Xi’an and show on the Li River in Yangshuo.

Whith basically all-time rain our visit to Xi’an was bright, interesting and full of surprises thanks to our wonderful guide Timo.  It started late in the evening when we arrived in the city and was taken to…I don’t remember name of that place, but it was a long street filled with lights, decoration, different activities, lots of people, some in traditional cloths and etc.  And the next day, after seeing the Terracotta warriors, City wall and other place of interests there was another surprise for us. One person in our group had a birthday and what he got as a gift from our tour company was creative, unique and above our best dreams (don’t want to go into details in case somebody else wants to celebrate birthday in Xi’an).  The only thing I regret about is we did not tip our wonderful guide enough. Tip recommendation was at the very end of our confirmation letter and none of us bothered to read it to the end until the mid of the tour.  We used our best judgment, and as it turned out it was not that good, he deserved much better. 

And show in Yanhshuo – I have no words to describe it, have never seen anything like that before, definitely worth seeing it even under the rain (theater does not have a roof).

So many great picture, so much great moments to remember!

Date of Experience: October,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Jack
Sofia

Sofia

Mexico

Reviewed on October 18, 2019

Hi Wonder!! How are you!!

Sorry for the late response, it has been a bit more time demanding coming back home than I expected!!

We will gladly write a review in trip advisor. Actually Rubi and I worked on a review for you that you can find below, it is written both in English and Spanish if that helps you with the Spanish speaking countries. Also for your information we are sending you our comments of hotels and guides, but that is for you only.

Wonder Wang was fantastic since day 1, he always replied very quickly to our multiple emails and questions. He worked in record time to provide us with a perfect itinerary that adjusted not only to our wishes, but as well to our budget.

As many customers have pointed out, thinking of paying for your trip to a chinese company many miles away could be nervewracking. Nevertheless, you have nothing to worry about, we did the payments through paypal and Wonder and China Discovery fulfilled all our expectations, always going the extra mile.

As an example, once our itinerary and plane tickets were booked, the Chinese government informed that the Forbbiden City was going to be closed in order for the 70th Anniversary preparations. That was very sad, but Wonder informed us right away appending the official communication and with lots of new proposals for us to choose from. Kudos Wonder!!!

Both the guides and drivers were fantastic, they took us to really nice places for lunch with plenty of food and gave great recommendations for our dinners. The vehicles were impeccable, and they always greeted us with water bottles. Thank you Jack in Beijing, Lucas in Xian, Lee in Guilin and Nini in Shanghai.

We have nothing but gratitude to Wonder and China Discovery they managed to make our trip a hassle free no worries holiday, in a challenging country. Definately we will be booking our future China trips with them.

Wonder Wang fue fantástico desde el día 1, siempre contestó rápidamente todos nuestros correos y nuestras dudas. Trabajó en tiempo record con nosotras para poder lograr un itinerario que fuera perfecto, que no sólo se ajustara a nuestros gustos y deseos si no también a nuestro presupuesto. 

Como todos lo han dicho, el pensar en pagar vía paypal a una empresa china a tantos kilómetros da nervios. Sin embargo, no tienen nada de que preocuparse, Wonder y China Discovery cumplieron todas nuestras expectativas!!! y siempre fueron más allá atentos a nosotras y a lo que pudiera pasar. 

A modo de ejemplo, cuando ya habíamos organizado todo nuestro viaje, el gobierno de China informó que la Ciudad Prohibida estaría cerrada por preparativos para el 70 Aniversario. Wonder inmediatamente nos comunicó esta triste noticia, adjuntando el comunicado oficial y con miles de propuestas de visitas. Muy bien resuelto!

Los choferes y guías fueron espectaculares, los lugares a donde nos llevaron a comer deliciosos y sus recomendaciones de lugares de cenas muy buenos. Los vehículos siempre estuvieron bien cuidados y limpios. Todos los días nos recibieron con botellas de agua. Excelente atención!! Gracias Jack en Beijing, Lucas en Xian, Lee en Guilin and Nini in Shanghai.

No nos queda más que agradecer a Wonder y a China Discovery por permitirnos disfrutar inmensamente de nuestras vacaciones, resolviendo todo lo necesario. Definitivamente para nuestros siguientes viajes a China buscaremos a Wonder Wang de China Discovery sin dudarlo.

Now Wonder about your questionnaire, yes you can give our contact details to customers. And finally here are our personal comments on hotels and guides for you:

Beijing:

Jack was a fantastic guide, he knew a lot, he always had great information to talked about. He took us to great places to eat and gave the most wonderful recomendations for dinner. We had a great time with him! 

Sunworld hotel: excellent location, rooms are ok, it is true it is a bit old hotel, but staff was great, the room was clean and of good size for 2 people for a couple of days is good. For this hotel our only concern was the restaurant, it is not big enough for the amount of guests, so unless you wake up really early, it will we difficult to find a place to seat at rush hour. Food choice was good and ok for a couple of days.

Xian:

Lucas was really funny, he had cool fun facts and made the visits were interesting. He also took us to really delicious restaurants and was very attentive to us and our needs. He knew the museum was going to be crowded so beforehand he showed us lots of great pictures and information of the most representative pieces on his ipad so we could appreciate them calmly. We loved that!

Xian Park Hotel, was one of our favorite hotels, room was large and clean, staff was really attentive and the breakfast was great with lots of options to choose from.

Shanghai:

Nini was really sweet and kind, she explain lots of interesting things about the chinese culture and about her and her family. She was our first guide so we didnt know what to expect. We found it odd that on the museum she took us to the top floor, explained to us one jade piece and then left us on our own to explore the museum. We didnt know if this was what we could expect from the guide, but Lucas did it different because he stayd with us through the whole visit to the museum and explain the most important pieces which was nicer than us going alone. The restaurant she took us was nice, clean and with lots of food although it wasnt the best of our trips the other restaurants were tastier.

Sunrise on the bund: our first leg of the trip we thought the hotel was great, the room size and bathroom were great, the breakfast was amazing and the staff very attentive. We thought it was a bit far away, although metro station was close. What shock us the firs time was that one of the beds had holes and hairs between the mattress and the sheet. But our last day the room was better situated and had no problem with the linen. 

Guilin:

Lee was such a nice guy, he was very attentive, he taught lots of cool things and took great pictures of us!! he took us to really nice restaurants and was very helpful with everything we needed.

Guilin park hotel: from our perspective it is not possible to compare the Guilin Park and the Sunworld as the same category 4 stars. We think the Guilin park must be a 3 stars or less. Or maybe it was just bad luck for us the room we were in. The staff was attentive and the location was good. For us the problem was the room, the carpet was dirty, the wallpaper was coming off on several places, the bathroom had damp and mold on ceiling and on the shower, the tv only had 1 channel in english. All the corridors and the room next to us smell awful of cigarette. And the breakfast had very little options and was not nice in taste, we actually bought some food and decided to have that as breakfast for the second day instead of what was offered in the hotel. 

We decided not to bother you with this during our trip, because at the end we knew that we had a tight budget and the first thing we decided to do was to pay less for hotels, and because we could survive it for 2 days. But if we were going back to Guilin we now know that we will be willing to pay more for a better hotel.

If we were to go back to all the same places we will certainly stay at the same hotels except for the one in Guilin, as we say for us it is very far from a 4 stars.

Finally Yangshuo Mountain retreat: was everyhing we wanted and more, rooms were great, food was excelent as well as service!!!

Well Wonder I hope all of this information is good and useful for you.

Once again thank you for everything and we will keep in touch!!

Did you like the mezcal??

Regards

Date of Experience: September,25, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Gerhard

Gerhard

Reviewed on October 14, 2019

Hi Wendy,

I now had some time to put some pictures and a map of our journey together onto a travel blog page. You can see them (optimal on computer display, not so good yet on mobile) at:

http://www.gerhardbechtold.com/Home2/travel.html?trip=China2019

And in general about my journeys at:

http://www.gerhardbechtold.com/Home2/traveloverview.html

Thanks again for the wonderful trip organized by you.

Kind regards

China Travel Photos

Traveling Beijing, Longji, Yangshuo, Guilin, Shanghai and Having a Cruise

Date of Experience: September,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Christina

Christina

India

Reviewed on October 13, 2019

CHINA DISCOVERY (CHENGDU CHINA): chinadiscovery.com Highly recommended.

The itinerary ; 16 days private tour in Shanghai Hangzhou Guilin Zhangjiajie Xian Beijing and group tour Yangtze Cruise (13th Sept to 28th September 2019)

If there is one word that best describes the flow of our 16 day long tour to China , the word is SEAMLESS. Our tour operator China discovery (based out of Chengdu China) were simply awesome. Right from the time we landed to the our last day they ensured we were cared for and made all efforts to make the trip memorable. It all started with an email to Leo Li (Representative at China Discovery). I’m sure he practices meditation coz he never lost his cool answering the several questions we had and innumerable changes we made before landing. He replied to my queries even whilst on his personal leave….that’s dedication. He guided me on the dates. We would have landed during golden week and that would have been a challenge with the local holiday crowds. Leo was also empathetic when we lost our perfumes, hairspray and swiss knife to security at the railway station in Xian (bear in mind you cannot have these if you are taking the bullet trains). He arranged to pick the confiscated items from the railway authorities and ship it back to us in Dubai. The level of service is par excellence. Having travelled extensively I can vouch for China discovery for the extra-efforts they put in to make it a great experience.

All tour guides spoke good English (Trust me you need one). I would like to mention KAI (Our guide in Beijing). He is an excellent story teller. Got us hooked to the history of China (Wish I had someone like him teach us in School). Then there were the other guides who gave us enough time as required, never overdoing the information bit. Answering the never ending questions we threw at them.

Our only setback during the trip was missing The forbidden city tour. The site was closed earlier than expected; as preparations were on for the 70th National Day. However we were re-imbursed by the tour operator.

China has something for everyone. We chose the more scene route. Avatar mountains of Zhangjiajie are surreal, the rice terraces of Guilin, the Li river cruise , the lake city of Hangzhou and the Yangtze cruise were all a delight to experience. We insisted on a no-shopping tour.

Food can be a bit of a challenge to a few . Chinese food although popular may be quite different than how its made in a foreign land. If you are a vegetarian , pls specify this to your tour operator to help them guide you.

Hotel rooms were comfortable and locations were perfect. We could wander around the happening streets in every city and enjoy a dinner and a drink whilst taking in the local experiences.

People of China love to take pics with foreigners and its fun to share a smile , a laughter or even a hug with well-meaning individuals. Chinese parents encourage their kids to speak in English. So do indulge in a bit of a chat with the little one’s .

Tips :

When visiting China , ensure you give it at least 2 weeks. It’s a huge country, with every city/town/village offering different experiences.

Keep an eye out for what you cannot carry on train journeys or risk prohibited items getting forfeited.

VPN : Buy it to stay connected.

Have an offline app to translate your language into Mandarin (This is a BIG help)

Do not take offence if the Chinese don’t smile back at you. They are not being rude. It’s just my understanding that they do not know what to make of your smile. They do not understand your intent or it could be that they simply don’t smile often. They are lovely people if you get to know them .

Do not pack in too much for the day. Every location has lots to see, so a lot of walking. Shortlist your choices and finish the day at around 5 or 6 p.m . This way you are ready for the next day.

China will surprise you in ways you weren’t expecting.  This middle kingdom is indeed a sleeping giant as Napoleon Bonaparte rightly put. The country has had a remarkable growth economically. They have adapted to change .The transportation systems are super-efficient , the development in tourism is surprising and all these changes while keeping its traditions and culture alive.

China fascinates.

Date of Experience: September,10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Malvika

Malvika

USA

Reviewed on October 12, 2019

Hi Wonder, 

The tour was very good. We managed to cover a lot of places in a short period of time, thank you for arranging it. 

Here are the answers to your questions: 

1. Yes, very prompt with detailed replies. 

2. Tour guides were all good. 

Christy in Guilin was good, however, she could have done a better job in accommodating our food preferences as she preordered all meals for us without giving us the options from the menu or choice of vegetable/meat. She took us to many interesting places and did a good job of that. 

Eben in Chengdu was very good. His command over English was really good, and shared a lot of knowledge about Chengdu and China with us. He managed to get us into the Panda reserve without waiting in line at all. Food options from him were very good, and he helped us order even for dinner. 

Phoenix in Xi'an was also very good and showed us a lot in a short period of time. 

3. Yes

Thank you for all your help over the past few weeks!

Best,

Date of Experience: October, 3, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Helen and Adrian

Helen and Adrian

Australia

Reviewed on October 11, 2019

Dear Lily,

We are having a wonderful trip. Thank you for your organisation. 

Kind regards,

China Travel Photos

Beautiful Autumn Scene in Longsheng

Date of Experience: October, 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Lily
Cartha

Cartha

USA

Reviewed on October 6, 2019

Lyn,

We had an incredible experience in China!  Your planning made everything go so smoothly and our guides were so informative and helpful. Please find attached four pictures taken from some of our favorite places.  Take care 

China Travel Photos

Family Tour in China

Date of Experience: September,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Dawn

Dawn

Australia

Reviewed on October 4, 2019

Dear Lyn,

we have now arrived home and I would like to thank you for a truly wonderful trip - we have so many amazing memories to thank you for.
Your help and organisation from beginning to end was excellent - thank you for being so responsive and patient with all my queries - I am amazed the whole trip ran so smoothly, which is a credit to you!

Our personal favourites:

Our favourite hotels were Longsheng Lian Lodge, Yangshuo Tea Cozy, St Regis (Lhasa). Our least favourite hotels were Grand Soluxe hotel (Dunhuan) and Huangshan Xihai hotel.

Our favourite guide was Ms Tu Tu - Zhangjiajie - she was amazing at negotiating long queues and tourist buses. 

We really loved all the amazing locations - Dunhuang was our least favourite - more time in the Mogao Grottoes would have been nice.
Thank you again Lyn for showing us your amazing country.

Date of Experience: September, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Felicity

Felicity

UK

Reviewed on October 1, 2019

Dear Ashley

We arrived home in one piece - thank you!

Yes, we had a wonderful time in China - thank you for the effort that you put into making our tour excellent.  I have sent you a few photographs by a separate email and I give you permission to put these and my evaluation on your website, provided my email address is not included.

1.  Our travel consultant was very quick in replying to everyone of our emails. An email sent one day would be replied to the next.  Given the 7 hour time difference - we were delighted with this aspect of the service. Every question I asked was immediately answered to our satisfaction and we were left in absolutely no doubt that all our requirements would be met. 

2.  All our tour guides were excellent.  They were informative and knowledgeable and easy to get on with.  We would particularly like to mention that Candy (Beijing), Timo (Xi’an) and Smiley (Guilin) were exceptional.  However, all our guides looked after us very well.  After I fell over badly (in Xi’an) Timo and Smiley went out of their way to ensure that I was able to get about easily, offering support where necessary.

3.  I would absolutely recommend your company to anyone.  The service we received from the date of our first enquiry was exceptional.  I cannot recommend China Discovery highly enough.

Thank you Ashley, for arranging everything so thoroughly - David and I really appreciated your efforts.  As stated in my email attaching the photographs - I give you permission to include my evaluation - but would appreciate it if you ensure that my email address is not published.  Should anyone wish to contact us to ask any further questions, please could you ask them to direct any enquiry through you and you could then forward their query to me.  

Best wishes

Date of Experience: September,18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Ashley
Caryn

Caryn

Australia

Reviewed on September 26, 2019

Hi Vivien

Here we are!

I definitely want to tell you about our holiday but we are a bit busy in Hong Kong at the moment. Will contact you again soon. Thanks so much for organising it.

China Travel Photos

Our China Trip in Chengdu, Suzhou, Guilin, Shanghai

Date of Experience: August,21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Rajani

Rajani

USA

Reviewed on September 22, 2019

Dear Lyn

We would like to thank you for arranging such a wonderful tour of China.

We commend you for having taken great pains to arrange such a magnificent tour, by providing all the comforts and needs in a foreign country.

The tour was memorable in quite a few aspects. Sight seeing and the services of the guides were superb.

The accommodation was first class except for the Sheraton in Guilin.

The food was exceptional. We were very much worried about the availability of vegetarian food, but whole group was totally gratified with selection of restaurants by the guides.

Regarding the tour guides we would like to single out three exceptional ones. Yo yo in Beijing, Wady in Xian and Maria in Shanghai. All three were very informative, friendly, fluent in english and took care of all our needs in superb manner. We wish we had an opportunity to meet with you in Chengdu and express our gratitude to you in person for arranging this wonderful tour. We will definitely recommend you and your company to all our friends.

Thanking you

Sincerely 

China Travel Photos

Beijing, Shanghai, Xian, Guilin...

Date of Experience: August,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Lindy and John

Lindy and John

Australia

Reviewed on September 10, 2019

Dear Ashley,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful text message of 9 Sept.

which we received on arriving home.

I am a little unsure just how to start to thank you enough for the manner and way that you have worked and the kindness you have shown to us to make our brief visit to your magnificent Country so enjoyable and one we shall always remember.

However I will begin by saying I was greatly impressed with the manner and honesty in which you displayed in the detailed planning stage of our trip. 

I want to thank you again for the gifts which you gave as at our only too short but enjoyable meeting in Chengdu. I don't know how you learned (or guessed) what Lindy favorites were: but you got them all. They were unexpected and a lovey surprise.

Every thing organized for the trip went off well. We did not encounter any problems and so were able enjoy are brief trip to the 4 cities. Although having done a lot of research on the internet prior to departing, the tours and sites visited at each city exceeded my expectations.

The guides and drivers were also great and the system of drop of and pick works well up saved us countless hours.

Each of our guides were very helpful, polite and most knowledgeable, and showed quite different strengths, character and personalities.

Kai in Beijing: a born teacher who is passionate about and loves his subject and was keen to impart it to us. A very intense personality, inclined to repeat himself a little, but with excellent fluent English and an easy accent easy for us poor mono-linguist Australians to understand. Lindy would have liked a few more coffee stops (what's new) but understand that they was not available at many of the sights we visited.

Ben in Xi'An: very knowledgeable about the Warriors, items at the Museum and the city, friendly and accommodating with a very good and easy to understand English. He also arranged every thing for us to see the Tang Dynasty Theater show at night.

Sandy in Chengdu: ensured that we were able enjoy the visit to the Pandas a real highlight of the tour. He was most accommodating to our every wish and Lindy's like for Starbucks coffee.

Danny in Guilin: The real friendly family "county" man. Out to do every thing possible to show us what we wonted to see on some-wot tiring hot days.  The country views here are breathtaking.

The two fast train rides were very pleasant and comfortable but the crowds at stations were a little overwhelming.

The two short domestic plane rides were uneventful (similar to ours)

The two Hotels you booked were great, The Bamboo Leaf, very friendly, quite and a nice change from the somewhat impersonal international chains. Thank you for getting their signature room for us, Lindy loved the country outlook.

The Hilton Capital suite was also a welcome surprise.

Although you may not have much to do with it, the weather was favorable with the only rain we experienced for the whole trip being a very light shower on the morning we visited the Pandas which they seemed to enjoy.

We are still in awe at the skill, patience and tolerance of your car drivers, but were in fear of the silent scooters every time we crossed the road.

You and your associates have helped China Discovery to earn the excellent reputation it has on the many Internet review sites.

So summing up, well done and thank you so very much.

Date of Experience: August,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Ashley
Ian

Ian

UK

Reviewed on August 26, 2019

Hi Mike,

Here are my answers below.

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Mike was excellent with communications through out the whole process of deciding and finally accepting the proposed tour. He was very good with the questions we asked and provided excellent and thorough information at all times. Very quick at answering our questions.

2. How do you comment your tour arrangements?

Tour arrangements were excellent. Everything was as expected from the confirmation letter. Guides were there to meet us at the correct places and times. Drivers were fantastic to cope with the amount of traffic on the roads. Hotels were top class and in areas that were easily accessible to what we wanted to do at nights or in spare time. Flights and trains were very good. The service that the guides provided was excellent. All guides communicated clearly and were easily understood and they understood our questions. Their knowledge of subjects on the tour and on China was outstanding and they were willing and able to give us a personal view of China as well. Drivers were very safe and provided us with safe transport where ever we went.

3. Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?

Would have no hesitation in recommending your service to any body who is contemplating a visit or visits to China. Your service is outstanding.

4. Your general opinion on us?

Very professional, easy to communicate with, exceptional guides and drivers, travel consultant provided us with first class service. Booking a service online sometimes comes with thoughts of what if things go wrong or do not work as easily as they should, especially with a language barrier. However, we had no worries with your service as it was very professional even down to communication with us and the guides when something needed changed. We were fully informed.

5. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

From a personal point of view, we would suggest that train rides are all booked with first class seats as the added costs would not be great in the overall cost. We believe that most Western travels would appreciate the little bit extra comfort and room. With your guide evaluations, you could easily email forms prior to tour starting so that we can fill them in and return email at completion of each segment of the tour. Sometimes getting the form just before you finish with the guide does not give you much time to fully think about the feedback especially if it was only for transfers from train/ plane to next boat.

6. Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

We have no problem with you using our comments or images if they suit your needs.

7. We sometimes have requests from potential customers who would like to inquire from or our ex-customers. May they contact you for advices?

We would be happy to offer our advice if needed.

China Travel Photos

China Travel in Beijing, Xian, and Guilin

Date of Experience: August, 5, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mike
Boonshan

Boonshan

Thailand

Reviewed on August 21, 2019

Dear Zoe,

How are you doing? I guess you are occupied with other customers. As usual, upon return from the latest trip, my time has been very tight with several commitments and tasks. Nonetheless I would like to write and thank you once again for organizing a wonderful trip for us.

We are so happy and keep looking at our photos of memories again and again. It is a perfect travel plan; it is not too tight or hectic. We do not feel too exhausted at the day end or the end of the tour. The last day of our tour in Guilin is so impressive and unforgettable from our bicycle trip along the scenic river and mountain ranges. We made lot of efforts in walking up to the top of the Moon Hill. It was tiring but we love it and enjoy it so much.

Throughout the entire tour program is fantastic, though there is a small mishap in Zhangjiajie but it is not really a big issue. We appreciate your spirit and will in making effort to correct it through the reimbursement which we really appreciated it.

Still we do not expect any perfection. We only want to share it with you what we think or feel. I believe it is useful for a planner like you. Should you have any specific issues to ask me, please feel free to do so.

Thank you so much again and again.  

Best regards.

Date of Experience: August,12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zoe
Ravi

Ravi

Canada

Reviewed on August 20, 2019

Dear Lyn,

Frank

Shirley

South west China

Guangxi

Guangzhou

Gullin

Guangzhou

Lijiang

All were spectacular

Shirley was patient to teach me even Chinese

She took me to an ancient 400 years old legacy house

I could pick up enough Chinese words and culture

I could learn about Mio Tang and Druam minority tribes 

It was heavenly

Thanks

I am longing for my next visit to China

Date of Experience: August,12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Prashanth

Prashanth

USA

Reviewed on August 15, 2019

Hi Leo,

Thanks for your email. We had a great trip in China and thank you for meeting us in Chengdu!

Of the various guides, the best guides were Laura (in Shanghai) and Smiley (in Guilin / Yangshuo). They both chose excellent restaurant, great ambiance, very good selection of food and also gave us choices. They both made us fell very much at home. I would highly recommend them. Smiley’s English was excellent and very much fun to talk to. She even made an effort to take us to clean rest rooms as she knew my wife was very particular on rest room cleanliness.

Eban in Chengdu was good as well, but it was a short meeting with him. 

Willy was fine in Xian and was helpful during the trip. His English was excellent! One area of opportunity for him is to become a better listener. He has great communication but sometimes does t listen. 

Lily in Beijing is an excellent person, but her English can be improved. Many a times we could not understand what she was saying and we had to keep asking her to repeat. She was very good with the kids. She gave us local Beijing candies (very kind of her) and the kids loved it. Also on the food in Beijing, I wish it was as good as other places. The quality of food was not great compared to the food we got in Shanghai/ Guilin/Chengdu which was great! Also the restaurant ambience was not very good. But lily was great. May be this is an area for improvement for Beijing section. Better selection of restaurants. 

Overall an excellent and memorable trip

Also thank you for taking the time to meet with us and for the great time we had chatting with you! Also thanks for the gift. 

Thanks

Date of Experience: July,13, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
John

John

USA

Reviewed on August 11, 2019

Hi Leo,

Here is my review. I will likely post it on TripAdvisor to help other tourists out so they know what to expect. Let me know if you would like anything edited (such as the Wire Transfer vs PayPal part) if you find it harmful for your business. My intent is to describe my experience to other Western travellers that may have similar fears about booking a trip like this.

Thanks for all you did. The trip was both flawless and amazing.

I took a 2 week personalized vacation with Chendu Bamboo tours through China. I wanted to put some thoughts down to the TripAdvisor community as I had a lot of reservations going into it, and I hope my review will help clarify some of the items that I was uncertain of.

First, while I researching, I determined that I wanted to do a custom tour as none of the packages that I saw had everything I wanted. The towns I chose were Beijing, Xian, Dunhuang, Chengdu, Guilin and Shanghai. I submitted inquiries to multiple companies and ChinaDiscovery came back to me promptly with a very comprehensive tour that was detailed and in line with my expectations. The scary part of communicating my requirements was that it had to be done mostly through email, although the company was also quick to Skype call me to handle some of my more advanced questions.

If you decide to book a tour like this (and you are firmly in the middle class) this is and expensive endeavor. For you to pull the trigger, you can expect 4 big expenditures. First, you will need to put 1/3 balance down on the trip to reserve the reservation. That 1/3 was placed through PayPay, and the Paypal account that I placed it to did not look anything like the business I was dealing with. It was scary sending the money to such a strange account, but in the end, the transaction was fine. One point of confusion...you may research and book through ChinaDiscovery, however the invoice then turned into (in my case) Chengdu Bamboo International Tours Co, Ltd. I don't fully understand the relationship, but it was legitimate, although a little confusing of why the website said one thing, but the actual contractor that was doing the work said another. Another scary thing came later when I was asked to pay the remaining 2/3 balance, I was requested to do so via wire transfer. Again, a scary endeavor which I felt I would have no protection if the company was not legitimate. So fearing loss of funds, I reached a win/win compromise to use the Paypal account again (with Visa) to submit the funds. Once I received confirmation, the company executed the hotel, train and plane tickets flawlessly, communicating the reservations about 1 week later.

In short, my fears were unfounded.

You will also have to handle 3 other expenses. First, and not surprising are your international plane tickets, which I handled shortly after the deposit. But the 3rd and 4th were not known. As a US citizen, I needed to get Visas for myself and the family. A Chinese Visa costs about $160 per person, and to get it, you must carefully submit a form to the Chinese consulate in a designated region of the country. Because I delayed doing this, I needed to do expedited service. And because the form is brutal and requires you to send your passports to the Chinese consulate, I enlisted a visa expert (CIBT.com) in order to get in processed. Long story short, about $1K later, I received the last of the passports back from the consulate with about 2 days to spare. 

The other warning, since all the trips have drivers and tour guides that take you around, you are advised (not mandated) to give them tips. Unfortunately, there are no guidelines given or direction of how much to give. I spent time researching on the internet what were fair tips for always outstanding service. Now, 1 week after the trip, I still have no idea if I tipped fairly, generously or cheaply. But, calculate 2 weeks and 2 persons a day, you can calculate that it will cost you hundreds of dollars or thousands of Yuan.

Last warning to give about going to China...you'll need cash. Only some (not most) banks and stores are hooked up to the Visa and Mastercard system. This means, (1) you may need to search for the right bank to get cash in China in order to withdraw funds and (2) the vendors that you'll see only will take your cash. This caused some stress the first couple of days as I had trouble finding a bank that worked.

Now...for the good stuff. Once prepping for all that, the trip that was designed by Chinadiscovery (or Chengdu Bamboo Tour Company) was pretty spectacular. The guides were beyond great, and did a truly amazing, amazing job of being everything you would want as a tour guide. Prompt, flexible, funny, sometimes motherly, sometimes brotherly, open, honest, kind, insightful, human, knowledgeable and ...simply great. Each one in each town was different...but each of them took such pride in their cities/country that you are given a great gift.

The hotels were as good as it gets as well. Breakfast was included in all hotels...some food good, and other food great. The hotels were within walking distance to all the good things. For Beijing, 15 min walk to the Forbidden City. Shanghai? 5 minute walk to the River and 20 minutes to The Bund. I could go on, but the accommodations were really good. Combine that with flawless execution of all travel arrangements, it made for a stress free trip. The lunches were all Chinese and again, and food ranged from good to great. They always gave our family of 3 too much food for one sitting, and I felt embarrassed about leaving so much food behind.

In Beijing, our guide took us through Tienanmen Square, Forbidden City, Summer Palace, The Great Wall, and Temple of Heaven (among other places). When she took us to the train station, she insisted in walking us down to our seat on the High Speed railway car. When I asked if that is the company policy, she said 'that MY policy' (to ensure her clients get to where they are going). Amazing. We reached Xian for a day and Zoe gave us great insights of the growing city, the crowds, and life in China. Then onto Dunjuang, where Lily and her driver rearranged the schedule to ensure that we saw all the Silk Road sites. The schedule changes included her and the driver starting at 6AM (after we were picked up at the airport 10PM the night before) in order to ensure we saw everything. Then in Chengdu, Cherry helped so patiently with my wife's shopping at the Panda sanctuary. And in Guilin, Kennedy was awesome describing the land and China's ethnic minority. The insight for the rice fields and rivers were wonderful. We ate probably the best Chinese food of the trip in the fresh country air. Then finally, to Shanghai, where Zack was truly a joy, and one of the friendliest and enjoyable people I have ever met in my life. The city of Shanghai was amazing, and my son enjoyed it tremendously.

Two things I would do over if I could. First, I would plan to take it in June, not late July. We had to compete with the rest of China, which has summer break at this time. As a result, the places were packed with China tourist going to the same sites, which made the crowds a bit much. Second, I would have also altered the trip to spend 1 less day in Guilin and 1 more day in Shanghai. Other than that, I would not have changed anything.

China Travel Photos

Our Customized China Trip

Date of Experience: July,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
FieFie

FieFie

USA

Reviewed on August 7, 2019

Hi Wonder,

I will email you some of our pictures when I get back to US, so I don't have to use too much data in China.

1.     Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Yes, most definitely. Mr. Wonder Wang is very responsive and patient. He even answered my questions at night time China time. He is extremely helpful, even helped us extended our hotel in Shanghai. I highly recommend Mr. Wonder Wang.

2.     How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour?

All of our tour guides were very good, especially Smiley in Guilin. She was very friendly, knowledgeable and flexible. She went above and beyond her duty. I recommend her highly. Bailey in Shanghai was also very friendly and knowledgeable. Even after her duty was completed, she wanted to help us looking for a taxi. 

3.     Would you like to recommend our company?

Most definitely. 

Thank you for all your help, Wonder.

You are very helpful.

Date of Experience: July,14, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Roger and Deidre

Roger and Deidre

Australia

Reviewed on August 6, 2019

Hi Vivien 

We have not had enough time to answer emails but we have received. Have had a wonderful few days with Kennedy and enjoyed Guilin and Yangshuo. Looking forward to Chengdu. Now to pack for the train.

Date of Experience: August, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Anthony Tamer

Anthony Tamer

USA

Reviewed on July 31, 2019

Dear Wing Zeng:

We recently just arrived back home and back to work again.

Thank you once again for all of your time and support with our travel to Kunming and Guilin.

Here is some feedback that you requested.

Question 1.

The tour arrangements were excellent and our family is fully satisfied with the visit you arranged for us at Kunming and Guilin.  Yes, I will definitely recommend your company to other family members and friends who would like to visit China.

Question 2.

Your service is top notch, because from the beginning, you provided excellent options, travel flexibility arrangements, and very good communication.  Please keep up your excellent work.

Question 3.

Not if I return to China, but when I return to China, I will definitely contact you for some more tour arrangements.  It is nice to know that you operate with several tour guides and locals at all of your major travel destinations throughout China.

Once again, thank you for all of your time and support.

Sincerely,

China Travel Photos

My Family Traveling Guilin and Kunming

Date of Experience: July,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Daniel

Daniel

USA

Reviewed on July 31, 2019

Hi Wendy - I'm sorry for the late response.

Everything went perfectly during our trip and we had a great time. The train connections you booked for us were ideal and timing worked out great. Guilin and Yangshuo were well worth the trip. We even made it out to the rice terraces in Longsheng. 

Your help is much appreciated. I will definitely reach back out if we plan a next trip to China and will recommend you to anyone else who needs help with travels to China.

Review on tripadvisor was just posted, too.

Thanks again!

Date of Experience: July, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Tim Crowe

Tim Crowe

Australia

Reviewed on July 10, 2019

Hi Mark,

Thank you for your email. The Yangtze cruise was wonderful. The staff on board were very helpful, accommodating and positive. The food was lovely, and the weather held up well for most of the cruise. 

I will be back at work from tomorrow (Thursday) and will discuss further with colleagues who are interested in coming with me. 

Thank you again for all of your assistance booking the Yangtze trip (my first ever organised tour inside China, usually I just travel on my own) and I look forward to your assistance with my Tibet trip. 

I’ve included a few photos from the trip below. 

Regards

China Travel Photos

Take a Cruise Tour

China Travel Photos

Sites on Chinese Currency

Date of Experience: June,22, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Mark
Yannick Maes

Yannick Maes

Reviewed on June 13, 2019

Hi Wonder,

Sorry for the late reply.

The tour was very good, sadly the weather gods were against us.

As for our trip to Xian, we were very satisfied with the arrangements made for us as well as the tour guide. We particularly appreciated the fact that we could deviate from the planned schedule to accommodate the tour due to the bad weather conditions.

Attached a picture of us three, feel free to put it on your website.

I am reaching out to you because we are potentially planning a week-end trip in July to Guilin.

Note that the flights have not yet been booked. So we could return on a later flight if needed.

Please provide us with a fee quote for 4 Persons in 4 and 5 star hotels.

We would like to do Longji Rice Terrace Hiking as well enjoy the Lush Guilin Li River Scenery.

Many thanks in advance for your reply.

Best regards

China Travel Photos

The Three of us Having a Cruise Tour

Date of Experience: May,27, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Ronit and Josef Cohen

Ronit and Josef Cohen

Israel

Reviewed on May 22, 2019

Livia,

The company China Discovery provided us two professional tour guides for Zhangjiajie and Guilin.

They had good English and knowledge.

They always tried to satisfy our requests.

The places we visit were amazing.

We send many pictures to our friend through the Face book. We got a lot of wwooww's

You ,Livia, were always available for us and immediately solved all our questions and requests .

Big thank you for your devotion.

We will recommend your Company to our friends.

Best regards

 

China Travel Photos

Li River, Reed Flute Cave, and Zhangjiajie

Date of Experience: May,13, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Livia
Jim and Robyn Nuttall

Jim and Robyn Nuttall

Reviewed on May 20, 2019

Dear Johnson:

I am writing to sincerely thank you for organising such a wonderful trip to China for my wife, Robyn, and I.

We returned from our trip a couple of weeks ago and we both have wonderful memories of your beautiful country and we feel so privileged to have had the opportunity to see the wide and diverse aspects of China from the towering cities, the scenic rivers to the small villages and farms. We were so impressed at the friendliness of people and their willingness to help us even though we couldn’t speak any Chinese.

The tour was comprehensive and it included all the key sights that were on our “to do” list and we thank you for collating such a wonderful tour.  We found all the arrangements from hotels, planes, sights and bullet trains to be organised so well that it was a seamless operation and we had no problems at all.

All the Hotels in which we stayed were excellent and more than met our expectations. The locations of the Hotels were very good and quite central to main roads and sights; they all were very comfortable and the breakfasts provided were, once again, very good.

The lunches provided as part of the tour were also very good and we always had plenty to eat and the service in these restaurants was excellent.

The transport – planes and bullet trains – were very comfortable and easy to navigate especially with the assistance of our Guides.  We were thankful that we upgraded to First Class on the bullet trains as our luggage was no longer a problem. The vehicle transport in each city was excellent.  The vehicles were generally quite new, roomy, very clean and comfortable.  All the Drivers were excellent and very skilled in driving and they often assisted my wife in getting in and out of the vehicle and with our luggage and this was greatly appreciated.  We also appreciated the access to bottled water which was always available.

We would like to make a special mention and thank you to all of our Guides.  We remember each and everyone of them – Mary and Becky in Hong Kong; Summer in Guilin and Yangshuo; Tina and Melody in Shanghai; Nancy in Yichang; David in Chongqing; Vivian in X’ian and lastly Lindsay in Beijing.  To each and every one of them we wish to say ‘thank you’ for making our trip to China so wonderful.  Without our Guides we would not have had all the information and history about the cities and the sights – they all have a comprehensive knowledge of their area and they were able to present this to us.  Their command of English was excellent and they were always ready to answer the many questions we had.  We are also very grateful for their attentiveness to my wife’s special needs and we know that without their help my wife would not have been able to enjoy the sights and the trip.  Each Guide we had would go out of their way to ensure that our holiday was special and one we would remember.

And lastly, many thanks to you, Johnson, for the excellent service you provided in organising our tour of China.  From our very first contact with you by email, we found that you were very responsive to all our queries and issues.  There was never any delays in responding to our emails and your answers were always comprehensive and covered all the issues.  Your organisation of the tour was excellent and we felt very confident in dealing with you via the emails. You and your company provided an excellent service in arranging our visit to China and we would not hesitate to recommend the China Discovery Tour Company to our family and friends when they are planning their China trip. We would also be happy if you wish to share this email with your future customers or on your website.

Once again, many thanks for all of your hard work in ensuring that our trip to China was wonderful and it will be remembered for many years.

Regards

Date of Experience: April,28, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Amanda

Amanda

Reviewed on May 19, 2019

Hi Lyn, I had a great time!

Here are some of the pictures I took.

Thank you for all the support and I hope I can come back to China some day!

China Travel Photos

Beautiful Guilin & Huangshan

Date of Experience: May, 6, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Nidhi

Nidhi

India

Reviewed on April 29, 2019

Hi Vivien, 

Sorry for the late reply. 

The tour was overall good. The cruise on Li river was very nice. 

I suggest the evening cruise in the 4 lakes and 3 rivers in Guilin should also be included as part of the package. 

Rest it was okay. Thanks for organising it. 

Sharing couple of pictures below

Regards, 

China Travel Photos

Guilin at Night

China Travel Photos

Beautiful Rice Terraces

Date of Experience: April,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Kathy Nicoll

Kathy Nicoll

Canada

Reviewed on May 13, 2012

Hey Laura,

We all enjoyed our trip very much. The arrangements for guides, places to visit and travel within China went very smoothly. The highlight of the trip was our visit to the Longsheng rice terraces outside of Guilin: beautiful scenery!

Our guides, Sophia (Beijing), Ivan (Xi'an), Qian (Guilin) and Laura (Shanghai) all did wonderful jobs for us. The visits to the silk, jade, tea and terra cotta pottery shops were fine with us.

Thank you for your help in arranging this once-in-a-lifetime trip for our family.

Kathy Nicoll

Date of Experience: March,13, 2012
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by:

See all reviews from our guests See all reviews on Tripadvisor



Amazing Travel Stories from Our Customers

Our dear customers have shared many travel stories, feelings and stunning pictures after finishing their trips with us. They are glad to share everything with you and you are warmly welcomed to read their photo stories. Or, you can click 2012-2020 Customer Travel Stories" for more stuning stories. Get inspired now!

  • Couple’s 69 Days Private China Journey
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - Datong - Pingyao - Luoyang - Xian - Jiayuguan ... Chengdu - Yangtze - Zhangjiajie - Yunnan - Guilin... Hangzhou - Shanghai
  • North American English Teachers’ China Trip to Visit Their Students off Internet
    North American English Teachers’ China Trips to Visit Their Students off Internet

    We customized three big group China trips for tens of VIPKid English teachers and their family members to visit Xian, Shanghai, etc. from Beijing and meet their students off Internet in China in 2019!

    • VIPKid Teachers (USA/Canada)
    • (9-21 Days) 2019
    • Beijing - Xian - Shanghai - Suzhou –Shanghai - Hangzhou - Huangshan... Yangtze Cruise...Chengdu - Beijing
  • Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities all around China plus Yangtze Cruise
    Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities around China plus Yangtze Cruise

    Winston and his wife have traveled to many world places during the past 21 years and experienced the best vacation this time to explore China's west and east, north and south parts!

    • Winston (USA)
    • (22 Days) 2019.05.17~2019.6.07
    • Beijing - Xian - Lhasa - Chengdu - Guilin - Longsheng - Yangshuo - Chongqing - Yangtze River Cruise - Yichang - Shanghai - Suzhou - Beijing