CHEN

CHEN

Malaysia

Reviewed on September 14, 2020

Dear Wonder,

How are you? Hope you are well. You organised a very nice trip for me to Chengdu and Jiuzhaigou way back in 2014. 

You requested a review from me but I loaded to the wrong website. I came across the review today unexpectedly in my computer system and I would like to send it to you, to be used by your website. This is because I was very pleased by the trip that you organised for me. I was a lone female traveler but I still remember the lovely tour guides you found for me, especially the one at Chengdu.

I truly had a wonderful holiday and great memories.

I am now back in the UK. I certainly will use your tour service again if I ever travel to China the next time.

Take care in the pandemic.

 

Best wishes

Siang

( Dr Yih Siang CHEN)

 

6 Days/ 5 nights Chengdu/ Jiuzhai Valley Tour

I went on a 6 days / 5 nights private tour to Chengdu / Jiuzhaigou in October 2014.I spent 2 days in Chengdu and the rest in Jiuzhaigou valley.

Since it was my first trip to China and I was a single female traveller, understandably, I was initially apprehensive before the tour. However, all my initial reservations disappeared once my tour began. I have decided to go on a private tour because I could not find a group tour which can come up with the itinery that I wanted.

From the onset, it was a pleasure to deal with Wonder. He made me a detailed itinery, specific to my wishes , down to the hotels that I preferred. I must say that he has honoured and stuck to our contract throughout my tour. He also phoned my tour guides on a daily basis just to make sure the itinery went on as planned and to make sure that I was ok.He was contactable at all times and any problems were sorted out very quickly and efficiently. He was also very accommodating and was willing to make changes in my itinery at very short notice whenever possible.I have found him to be reliable and trustworthy.

The tour guides were all very professional and knowledgeable. I was very happy with them.They spoke fluent English and were very knowledgeable about the places that we visited. They took care of everything, from meeting me at the airport, check- in into hotels, arranging for meals, transport, tickets for shows and checking in for my return flights. I was impressed that they would go out of their way to make my tour comfortable, hassle free and really tried to give me a memorable hoilday. They were prepared to work till late evenings. As a matter of fact, they would wait for me while I watched some shows in the evenings and one of them was even so kind to buy me an adaptor which I had lost in a hotel.

In Chengdu, I visited the Panda Research Centre, Jinli Street,Sichuan Museum and a silk factory at my request. i was not obliged to visit any factories throughout my tour.

Then, I flew on to Jiuzhai Valley and had another 3 days of private tours; 1 day in Huanglong Park and 2 full days in Jiuzhai National Park.I was glad that I flew return to the valley because the roads up there are really winding and being prone to travel sickness , it would have been a disaster for me to be sick.

I was met by another tour guide there. I am really glad that I took a private tour because I had my personal tour guide who walked with me at my pace throughout the Jiuzhai National park. She knew all the scenic spots and pathways by heart and made sure that I did not miss any important spots.Because she knew all the places so well, we could cover most of the scenic spots on foot in detail.She would walk with me and explain every lake, waterfall and other spots. She explained in detail all about the history, myths, customs and religion of the tribes there. It was an eye opener for me.I am sure I would not be getting all these explanation if I had gone in a group tour.Most group tours tend to be rushed but I was not rushed at all. I had ample time to take all the photos that I wanted , time to have meals and some shopping for souveniers and even short rests at beautiful spots where I could linger and just soak up the magnificent natural beauty.

Jiuzhai Valley is an extraordinary , beautiful park. It is my personal opinion that 2 full days are required to do the park justice. It is difficult to rush through the scenic spots in a day especially when there are massive crowds and queues everywhere.It was worth it to pay the hefty entrance fee for 2 days. Because I had 2 full days, I could do a hike with my guide who accompanied me throughout the trails to the 3 major valleys. I came away feeling satisfied and had lots of marvellous photos to show.

I was especially pleased that on one occasion, my tour guide took me through a small path , away from the tourist crowds. We walked at our pace and saw some smaller lovely waterfalls and lakes. I did not have to jostle with the typical crowds and could take my time to take some truly picturesque photos and videos. I am convinced that if I had joined a group tour , I would not have been able to see and explore the national park as much as I did.

My advice to travellers is to go on some fitness training before the tour. You have to be prepared to do a lot of walking for this is the best way to see the best views. Taking the bus to just the best scenic spots would be cheating and would not do the park justice.The only downside of the trip was the crowds. Be prepared for massive crowds, they can get unruly at times, especially when it rains, so do bring a raincoat or umbrella.Also be prepared for the less than ideal toilet facilities. Bring lots of tissues as handwash and tissues are not provided.

Due to my excellent and friendly tour guides and Wonder's meticulous planning, I had a fabulous holiday and a great time in China. I would highly recommend Wonder Wang and his tour agency to all my friends and family. If I return to China, I would certainly go through Wonder and his agency again. So, a big thank you to Wonder and all my lovely tour guides for making my holiday a truly memorable one!

Dr YS CHEN-PELFRENE
London, UK

Date of Experience: October,11, 2014
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Christina

Christina

UK

Reviewed on August 14, 2020

Hi Jack,

I’ve already filled in four feedback forms so far, and have been given a fifth to do!  My first bit of feedback is that there are too many forms to fill in..... I’m still on holiday! I’ll get you some reflections next week, but not before. I don’t want any images of us being used, so all I would send you is photos of locations - and probably not very good ones at that given how bad the weather has been. 

Thanks again for your help in coordinating. I’ll try and put some more considered thoughts together next week.

 

Christina

Date of Experience: August,12, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Jack
Sanne

Sanne

Denmark

Reviewed on July 16, 2020

Hi Echo

We had a great tour in Sichuan. The room in the last hotel in Chengdu was fine although breakfast wasn’t. But I guess that’s because that they didn’t have a great selection of western foods and you cannot expect that everywhere in China.

Overall it was a really great tour and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great tour to Sichuan. Jason was a good guide and my youngest son Anton really liked him immediately.

If something needed to be changed that would be an extra night at Emeishan. After driving up and down the mountain the kids were tired and would have loved going straight back to the hotel and the pool and the playground. And then done the drive back to Chengdu the next day. I know it wasn’t possible due to the flight time the next day but if there were flights a bit later that would have been perfect. 

The driver was also friendly and service minded. If the car had autopilot the ride would have been more smooth - setting the seed to a certain limit - but that is a minor thing.

Thanks for all your help.

 

Sanne

Date of Experience: July,11, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
Simon

Simon

UK

Reviewed on May 25, 2020

Hi Wonder

I hope things are returning to normal for you and that the impact in your business of covid-19 has not been too depressing. Please forgive my tardy response, for which there is no excuse!

I flew from Shanghai to Saigon just 3 days before the flights were banned and managed to spend a great 4 weeks travelling through Cambodia and Thailand as well as re-entering Vietnam in Hanoi and touring back to Saigon for a week returning to UK on 22 February, where I completed 2 weeks of self isolation with my wife. As you will know we have been locked down for 9 weeks now so life is very different to how it was before I left for China back on 12 January! I have inserted my answers to your questions below and hope they are helpful to you.

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Wonder Wang, at China Discovery, was very helpful and responsive to my questions and needs and I felt supported and safe in a strange land, especially during a period of uncertainty when I lost key documentation and needed to ensure its replacement before I left China, and also during a time when many around us were conscious of the emerging coved 19 pandemic (Mid to late January 2020).

2. How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour?

Very attentive and knowledgeable. Maybe it’s my age (67) but at times I found understanding their English a challenge but they were all patient with me and would repeat their explanations when I asked them to. 

3. Would you like to recommend our company?

 I have no hesitation in recommending China Discovery to anyone looking for a bespoke trip to the land of Wonder that is China.

Thanks again for all you did for me during the China leg of my trip. I had a wonderful time.

Take great care and best wishes

Simon

Date of Experience: January,13, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Deborah and Steve

Deborah and Steve

Reviewed on March 31, 2020

Dear Wing,

We have been wondering how the wonderful people we met are getting through this crisis. We are glad to hear that you are well. We hope that you and your family and friends can stay healthy.  

We are well and are living near our son and his family who can help us. My sister in California said that no one is allowed out of the house except for food shopping or something necessary in order to live. Last week 3.3 million people applied for unemployment benefits in our country. So many businesses are closed.  

We hope to travel again and will contact you when it is again possible to see other countries.

Sincerely,

Deborah and Steve

Date of Experience: April,15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wing
Chris & Jude

Chris & Jude

Reviewed on March 24, 2020

Hello Vivien,

Thank you very much for your warm wishes and for sending this information. It is an interesting read and it does very much agree with the advice we are getting here in the UK. Yes, we are well but as we are in the early stages of the pandemic here in UK it remains a worrying time.

Of course, we have also been watching the situation in China and are pleased that things seem to be moving back towards normal. Our daughter Stephanie who works in Fuzhou was at home in the UK for a month following the outbreak and the closure of public schools in China after the New Year celebrations. She intended visiting for just one week but while she was home the outbreak spread around China and so she remained here. Her school have started teaching on-line and she has been able to do that.

Hearing that the situation was starting to get better in China, she was anxious to return and so she left home on the 15th of March. Unfortunately, she arrived in Haikou, en-route from Hong Kong to Fuzhou, and was caught by the 14-day quarantine for passengers arriving in China that started last Monday. She is now one week into her enforced stay before she will be allowed to fly to Fuzhou. However, although obviously a bit lonely, she is well and quite comfortable in the hotel, and is able to continue her on-line teaching. She is due to continue her travel next Tuesday, 31 March, and is now looking forward to re-joining her colleagues. And it does seem that she left here just in time as we are now starting a period of lockdown.

We do still have flights booked for a future visit to China in May but we have not made any plans yet because we do not know if we will be able to travel. If we can travel then we will contact you nearer the time to help with bookings – no doubt it has been a very quiet time for you recently.

It is a very difficult time for everybody. We are doing our best to heed the advice, as no doubt you have done. Thank you again for your message and we send you our very best wishes for the future.

Sincerely,

Chris & Jude

Date of Experience: August,31, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Nana

Nana

Reviewed on March 24, 2020

Hi Vivien,

Thank you for your kind letter. I hope that you and your family are well. 

I can imagine how difficult it is for travel industry to go through this crisis. 

How long Wuhan has been under the lockdown? Are there any effective medication against the virus? 

We are now in a total lockdown. We’ll see how the UK will be effected by that. It is difficult for everyone. 

Stay well and healthy.

Best wishes, 

Nana

Date of Experience: April, 9, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Tamesha

Tamesha

Reviewed on March 24, 2020

Dear Wing,

So sweet of you to get in touch. It's a very difficult time for everyone. I'm glad you are returning to some normality in China. We are so lucky to have taken and enjoyed our trip last year.

Wishing you continued good health and luck for the coming year.

Kind regards

Tamesha

Date of Experience: August,12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Say

Say

Reviewed on March 21, 2020

Wing,

Thank you for asking about our well being and providing the attached information. 

Family is well here and I assume your family and colleagues are well too. It is just a mess globally and the initial wave of infection is just hitting the US. The US is very unprepared and being the most powerful country in the world it is a shame.

All our travel plans are on hold until this all clears up but just dont know when? There are so many places to visit in China, we will contact you when the time is right and hope to see you again in Chengdu. 

Till then, take care and stay healthy
Say

Date of Experience: March,30, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wing
Kris

Kris

Australia

Reviewed on January 28, 2020

Hi Wendy,

If I get a chance I will put something on Tripadvisor but I can give you the responses to your questions.

1. Was your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions? 

Yes very happy with the contact we received and the booking of tours.

2. How was your tour? Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you?

I was very happy with the tour. I think in Shanghai the hotel was in a poor location and didn’t have the services the other hotels had. If I had known I would have paid extra for a better/ better location hotel.

Date of Experience: January, 2, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Tang

Tang

Malaysia

Reviewed on January 21, 2020

Hi Catherine, please see comments below. Happy for you to publish this. Cheers.

“The travel consultant, Catherine is highly professional and competent in organizing our china tours. This is the 3rd time Catherine has arranged/ managed my travel itinerary.  She is highly capable, understands our requirements and tailor made an itinerary that suits us.  I would highly recommend china discovery as we had enjoyed our tours very much and will definitely go back.”

Cheers

Ms Tang

 

Date of Experience: January, 6, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Karla

Karla

USA

Reviewed on January 9, 2020

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for arranging our tour. We had a very nice trip to Chengdu and enjoyed all of the attractions and food. The tour guide was extremely helpful! I also appreciated the driver and his non smoking vehicle. 

Many thanks,

Karla

Date of Experience: December,28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Feisy

Feisy

Indonesia

Reviewed on January 6, 2020

Dear Rita,

Welcome New Year 2020 , I hope we all become more successful and always healthy ...

I will write the comments soon

Tks Brgds/ Feisy

Date of Experience: December,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Anastasija

Anastasija

UK

Reviewed on January 2, 2020

Hi Mark,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for being so patient with us on providing feedback.

We shared immediate feedback at the end of every stop we had, but here are se add ns below.

1. How’s the hotel and meals?

Hotels were very good.

Only complaint would be hotel in Emeishan, as a window didn’t close and curtains were a nightmare to close – we had an issue with wifi, but its also on us as we did not go down to ask reception, thankfully it was only for one night, so not a big deal.

Food everywhere was very good with loads of options between local and western selections. I fell in love with the breakfast noodle soup, so was having that everywhere we went.

2. How’s the tour guides’ service and drivers?

Cant fault the drivers and guides on this trip. We learned a lot about the culture and the places we visited. Always had timely pick ups, cars were clean and very good. Sandy picked up all of our onward train tickets in one go, so we didn’t have to waste time on following days to get to train station, that was very helpful!

One comment that I’m not sure how to address is lunches, we really enjoyed our experience in China, and are open people and want to try local food in a sharing environment, we asked in all places if the driver and the guide will eat with us.

-        With Sandy when we could (as one day we were up the mount) both guide and driver ate with us, the restaurants were local and of very good quality and plenty of food to share and try as there were 4 of us on at the table, despite the language barrier it was very nice to eat all together.

-        In Xi’an, Vivian ate with us but the driver did not. We had to request specifically (as our friends recommended) to try Biang Biang noodles – they were awesome. The driver was very lovely and even bought us apples to have on the journey.

-        In Beijing, we ate alone, as Candy said that its company policy that driver and guide eat separately to guests when we were together. Was a bit strange for us to sit at 2 different tables, it wasn’t a big deal, just a different experience to the start of the trip.

We really enjoyed our time at all the places, saw and experienced loads of new places.

3. What do you think of your travel consultant’s service?

Its been a really well organized tour, we’ve seen loads in such a short period of time.

Everything ran smoothly with no hiccups (at least we didn’t see any).

4. Will you recommend our office to people around you?

For sure, already have been, if anyone is planning a trip to china they should definitely use your company to organize everything.

Kind Regards,

Date of Experience: November, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
Liddy

Liddy

USA

Reviewed on January 1, 2020

Hi, Mark,

Thanks for the follow up. The tour went well and we had a great time. The panda volunteer program ended earlier than expected so we asked if Cindy would be willing to take us to Dujiangyan irrigation/dam. Both Cindy and the driver were flexible enough to take us there even though it meant longer hours for them. We really appreciate it. We went to the panda breeding center the next morning because we wanted to see baby pandas so we only spent half a day for the city tour. Cindy took us to a few places that we thought were very interesting.

The tour package says B, L included, which is perhaps a mistake as breakfast does not seem to be included. Cindy bought us a small breakfast (soy milk and steamed buns) on Day 1 as we thought we would get breakfast and we left the hotel at 7:30 am.

Overall, the tour is great! 

Liddy

Date of Experience: December,28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mark
Monica

Monica

Philippines

Reviewed on January 3, 2020

Dear Riley,

We just arrived in Manila. Thank you again for sending us a gift. We really appreciate it. Also, thank you for organizing our wonderful trip. This trip is one of our unforgettable and great trips. Will surely recommend you and will surely book another trip with you. Martin and Mary is very insightful and detailed in every area where we head to. They really know what to share with us. Hotels and Foods are all fit with us. Our tummies and body were happy. haha! Also the roadtrip was smooth. But the van in Chengdu gives me a little headache due to the smell of smoke inside the car quite strong. But everything is OK. Thank You again. 

Kind Regards,

Monica

 

Date of Experience: December,27, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Patrice

Patrice

Indonesia

Reviewed on January 2, 2020

Dear Lily,

Happy new year!

Hopefully this whole year will see you & your entire family in blessings and happiness! 

Kindly find here attached our evaluation form of the trip.

Many thanks again and hope to keep in touch with you!

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

* Yes. Lily was very quick to respond all my inquiries by e-mail or WeChat. She was flexible, accommodating, and informative too. We had quite a lot of requests and changes on our itinerary, and she managed to give us best services. On our last day there, she even came to see us and sent us off at the airport :)

2. How do you comment your tour arrangements? 

* We enjoyed the arrangements in general. Our activities stick to the planned itineraries.

3. Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China? 

* Yes, sure.

4.  Your general opinion on us?

* We enjoyed your services overall. No major complaints whatsoever. The guides were patient too. Shout out to Mrs. Tutu who accompanied us until late night! :)

5. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

* Maybe you could try adding more variations for the meal menu. On our last days we found ourselves bored with the same menu servings. In Chengdu we also requested for a Japanese dinner recommendation but in the end we didn’t manage to get any (there was one Japanese restaurant near our hotel but it was too small to accommodate the 17 of us).

6. Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

 * Sure. You may use our group photo pictures (if you have none, Lily can ask me on WeChat).

7. We sometimes have requests from potential customers who would like to inquire from or our ex-customers.  May they contact you for advices?  _______

* No problem. They may contact me on patricetan@outlook.com

Warm regards,

Patrice

 

Date of Experience: December,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Lily
Julia

Julia

UK

Reviewed on January 1, 2020

Hi Echo

Just wanted to say a big thank you for arranging an amazing trip it absolutely exceeded our expectations

Julia

Date of Experience: December,26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Echo
Ken and Perola Noble

Ken and Perola Noble

UK & South Africa

Reviewed on December 31, 2019

Hi Wonder

We are now back in South Africa after one of our very best holidays,ever so again very many thanks for making it so.

Listed below are responses to your appraisal--

1)Wonder was incredibly quick at answering our e-mails and super efficient when dealing with any queries I had both before and after the tour.Nothing was ever too much for him.

2)Tour arrangements were fantastic! Drivers were always available to meet us at train stations or airports to take us to our hotels. Also guides often arrived earlier than planned in the morning for our daily tours. Guides also very helpful and informative. (Minor point but Guilin Hotel was a bit out of town and did not offer facilities of the others—Chengdu hotel was magnificent)

3)I certainly am very willing to speak to anyone who is interested in travelling with you in the future

And recommending your company.

4)General opinion—10 out of 10—it couldn’t be better

5)I think overall the tour was very well organised-maybe the guides could promote evening events more in the different cities.I did attend a Sichuan opera eve.in Chengdu which was good.

6)Have lots of photos which I can send—let me know-panda cubs attached

Please use any of my comments on your web site

7)Certainly –future/potential customers can contact me for advice

OVERALL A SUPERB HOLIDAY—MANY,MANY THANKS

Very best wishes

Ken and Perola Noble

 

Date of Experience: December,17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Say K. Lim

Say K. Lim

Singapore

Reviewed on December 28, 2019

Hello Wing,

Sorry the late response....see response in Italic below....

(1)  How do you like our tour arrangements and are you willing to recommend our service to your friends?

 The tour arrangement was perfect and I have already recommended to my friends, etc

(2)  Do you have some suggestions for us to improve our service?

 It is better and easier for us to provide survey feedback for the individual tour guide and driver online, right now it is paper based and sometimes we hold back comments knowing that the tour guide get to see the comments.

(3)  If you come to China again, would you like to use our service again?

 YES

Date of Experience: March,30, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wing
Fiona

Fiona

Singapore

Reviewed on December 27, 2019

Hi Riley,

Thanks for your email! We had a nice time at the panda enclosure. 

Our guide’s service was good at jiuzhaigou and huanglong though we did expected more walking at jiuzhaigou instead of taking the bus on and off all the time.  Tickets could be bought beforehand as well at jiuzhaigou so less waiting? But apart from that, everything was smooth sailing. Thanks!

Happy holidays!

Cheers,

Fiona

Date of Experience: December, 9, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Riley
Thong

Thong

Singapore

Reviewed on December 25, 2019

Hi Wonder,

Thank you and have a Merry Christmas and a Happy new year.

Thanks again forour smooth running of our tour. And your dedicated and responsible staff like Ruby, tour guide liu and driver luo...

Also we are impressed by Emei mountain resort.

Thank you

Mr Thong

Date of Experience: December,18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Nishthal

Nishthal

South Africa

Reviewed on December 25, 2019

Hi Rita

I hope you're well. I just wanted to say thank you for putting together an exceptional holiday in Chengdu for my family. We had the most amazing time! Everything has been perfect! Thank you for the upgraded hotel on the mountain as well, it far exceeded our expectations! Jason has also been a wonderful guide.

Thank you again. We will definitely be back!

And thank you for my lovely gift as well!

Kind regards

Nishthal

Date of Experience: December,21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Molly

Molly

USA

Reviewed on December 18, 2019

Hi Leo!

My apologies for taking such a long time in getting back to you. We had a wonderful experience, and I have told my friends back here in the US to take the tour the way we did if they ever decide to go to China.  I think the only helpful note to possibly relay to future tourists is to have Apple Pay set up.  It is not too used here in the US, so I do not have it set up and a lot of the local places only took Apple Pay.

Otherwise, the tour stops were great, we really enjoyed all of our guides - I want to be friends with all of them!

Please let me know if you have anyone that needs to reach out to me that is considering the trip. I would be happy to share my positive experience.

Thank you,

Molly

Date of Experience: December,12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Leo
Quah

Quah

Malaysia

Reviewed on December 18, 2019

Hi Leo,

Upon arrival at Chengdu, we were greeted at Airport by the guide and driver and driver to Hotel. In it our next 2 days itinerary was explained and confirmed . After day 1, it was decided that instead of climbing Leshan Budha, we should consider taking the boat ride which is less demanding and we opted for that. Day 3 was our free day and I googled for things to do and end up going for Global Mall & one old tourist street within the city vide subway. Day 4 was our trip vide train to Xian and we we were taken by our guide to the station and after some 4 hours plus we were greeted by another guide in Xian. Our itinerary in Xian only involved one day guided tour to the terracotta warriors and Muslim quarters ( which we spend almost every day as our hotel is within walking distance) . All in all, it was a good holiday . Chengdu is modern and clean and Xian is historical , I wonder why there is very little organized tour on both cities .

About the guided tour, both our guide in Chengdu and Xian can speak good enough English but we converse mostly in Mandarin , I guess the only reason I ended up with China discovery was because I search tour sites in English as my chinese is not good enough to web-search and write in chinese  and I guess that most of the customer would be non chinese speaker.  I am an experience traveler and I always took my family to new places on my own and prior to my holiday I would plan all the logistic . In places like Japan and Korea, I usually opt for  separate day trip to  places where public transport is logistically troublesome , I either hire guide for a day or limo service for certain trip or  took the single day package , usually vide Viator.

My only reservation is the costs, all in all,  china discovery charge me RMB 12k plus for 3 days of guided tour and 4 transfers (hotel to air port of train station) , I am not sure how much saving I would get if I attended all transfer myself although I think getting the train ticket can be troublesome for outsider like myself. Anyhow, I think it is better to make contact at Air-port compare to meeting at Hotel Lobby the next day. For the record, this is my 3rd time using China Discovery. I was on my own in Beijing (private guide)  - Tianjing (taxi driver as guide)  and Xiamen holiday.

Quah

Date of Experience: December,12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Leo
Rob

Rob

USA

Reviewed on December 14, 2019

Wing - 

Thank you very much for the emails and I apologize for the delay. First off let me say that we have traveled to over 30 countries with our children and this trip was among the best organized we have experienced.  The people were extremely welcoming throughout China and it all started with us working with you at China Discovery.  We knew that November is not the ideal month to travel due to the colder weather but that did not detract us from a wonderful vacation.  Here are some additional answers for you below:

 (1)  How do you like our tour arrangements and are you willing to recommend our service to your friends? 

Your services were exceptional! I appreciate your prompt responses to our questions and you were always willing to help. Since I have returned from China, I have already spoken with someone who is interested in touring China next year and I have strongly recommended that they ask for you: Wing Zeng at China Discovery for support. 

(2)   Do you have some suggestions for us to improve our service?

That is difficult to say. All tour guides we experienced spoke English very well and we enjoyed their company. Typically the tour guide is vital to the success of the vacation and we liked all them all which made everything great - Special thanks to our guide in Yichang who found an incredible restaurant on the way to the Yichang restaurant / The food we had was wonderful.

(3)  If you come to China again, would you like to use our service again?

Without a doubt! I will always recommend China Discovery and recommend they specifically ask for Wing Zeng. 

Please send this to the leaders of your company.  Thanks again and let me know if you have any further questions. 

Rob

Date of Experience: December, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Luis

Luis

Brazil

Reviewed on December 12, 2019

Hi Rita!

Today was a little colder, but everything is fine and the baby is doing well! We spent the day in Xian today also. We thought our tour yesterday was going to see the Terracota Warriors (our mistake!),so we took the day today to do that.

Thank you for everything! And also, I'd like to say that both our guides, in Chengdu and Xian, were great! They took very good care of us, were very patient and understanding, and helped a lot more than expected! As usual, the service was top notch.

I'm sending some photos attached. And be sure that we will post good reviews!

Sincerely,

Luis

Date of Experience: November,25, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Donald

Donald

Singapore

Reviewed on December 10, 2019

Thanks Wonder.

The tour was very good. Sandy was very professional and knowledgeable, and made sure everything ran like clockwork.

Please feel free to use my endorsement above.

Best wishes,

Donald

Date of Experience: December, 3, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Alanna

Alanna

Canada

Reviewed on December 04, 2019

Hi Echo,

Just wanted to thank you for an amazing trip to China. We LOVED it! The itinerary we planned was perfect, the hotels were fantastic and really 5 star! The food was terrific, we ate everything. We were also so happy to find our parents villages.  

What really made our trip was the fantastic guides we had in all our locations! We learned so much from them not only about the sights we saw but also what their lives were like.  Please send my deepest gratitude and appreciation to Jack (Guangzhou), Shannon (Chengdu), Timo (Xian) and Mark (Beijing).

Our drivers were also wonderful and on time every where we went. My only concern was the driver at Chengdu.  He was very tired driving us back from Leshan and I caught him a couple of times closing his eyes.  That was a bit scary.  

I would definitely give you and China Discovery 5 stars! Our only complaint (more of a surprise) was the difficulty in getting our Shanghai Disney tickets, but in the end it all worked out. I have included some photos for you. I will be recommending you and your agency to all my friends.

Thanks again for a wonderful trip!

Regards,

Alanna Wong

Date of Experience: November, 6, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Echo
Teresa

Teresa

USA

Reviewed on December 03, 2019

Johnson,

Just wanted to let you know that we arrived home, safe and sound and to let you know what a Fantastic time we had in Chengdu, Chongqing and Tibet.

Everything went perfect, we are so impressed with you, your company and the 3 guides and drivers that we had.

All our requests and questions over the months of planning the trip were answered promptly. We couldn’t be more pleased with the service we received from you and the quick help received in a Tibet when we had to make a last minute change. My husband and I were disappointed that we were not able to make the trip to EBC, but you made the extended stay in Lhasa easy. My husband is still fighting his cold, but the rest and walking around the 4 days in Lhasa helped him to start recovering.

Our guide in Chengdu made our day at the Panda Research Center and cooking experience a day we will always remember.

Our guide in Tibet was Fantastic, he was very interesting and fun and easy to be with for the week, we enjoyed our visit to Tibet very much.

Our our short time in Chongqing was wonderful and we appreciated the last minute tour that we booked our last afternoon and evening.

All the guides and drivers were very helpful and were where and when they said they would be at all times which made all the train stations and airport experiences easy.

We would definitely use you and your company again if we ever get the opportunity to return to China.

Thanks again for all your help and making this a very memorable trip for the 4 of us.

Date of Experience: November,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Teo & Lily

Teo & Lily

Singapore

Reviewed on November 29, 2019

Dear Mark,

I have submitted my review to Trip Advisor. I have to apologize for the late reply as I was very busy last few days. 

1. How's the tour arrangement? And your travel consultant's service?

Overall it was an excellent arrangement by Mark who meticulously planned every detail and religiously monitoring our schedule throughout and had it executed by the caring and helpful guide Carrie. 

2. How's the hotel and meals?

The hotel in Zhangjiajie was good as it is expected of Pullman 's branding. The one in Fenghuang is not as good but Mark had forewarned me so I was prepared that the accommodation and breakfast would not be good. The meals are alright as Carrie had given us the liberty and good recommendation to order the food that suits our pallet as we cannot take spicy ones. Good advice by Mark and well executed by Carrie.

3. What do you think of our guides and drivers?

The drivers are all good and pleasant especially Mr. Du who was careful and polite .He drove at the right speed and I was impressed by his driving skill on a wet day. 

We would like to place on record our heartfelt thanks to Mark and the team in Chengdu, Yichang & Zhangjiajie. 

Regards 

Teo & Lily 

Date of Experience: November,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
Jamie

Jamie

Australia

Reviewed on November 26, 2019

Hi Wendy,

Thanks so much for following up, I'm absolutely going to send you some reviews of the tours we did - they were all amazing. I'll hopefully get the chance to do this shortly, we've just returned from China and are so busy with work. As soon as I get the chance to I'll email you back with some comments :-)

Thanks again!

Jamie

Date of Experience: November,14, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Jerry

Jerry

Britain

Reviewed on November 24, 2019

  Lily

Just a quick line of thanks for your time today and sharing your wealth of knowledge about the Pandas and the Chinese culture. My wife and I had a fantastic time and we really enjoyed our day.

We leave your fine country with so many great and fond memories.

 谢!

Jerry & Cheryl

Date of Experience: November,12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Lily
Sharon

Sharon

Australia & Malaysia

Reviewed on November 21, 2019

Hi Johnson,

Hope this email find you well. 

My family and I have returned to Sydney after 6 weeks of travelling! I want to thank you for arranging our 25 days China tour which we have really enjoyed. The itinerary was good although a bit tiring! 

China was amazing and your service in organizing and trouble shooting while we were there was greatly appreciated.

On reflection, we realized the highlights during our tours were the cities where we had a good guide and driver.

FYI the guides in SuZhou (Sarah), Guilin (Summer), Kunming (Jessie) and Lijiang ( Susan) and Chengdu (Jane) were all amazing. Their English and knowledge were very good. They made these cities/ places come alive for us.

Alan in Hangzhou took us to the best restaurant and ordered the best lunch we had in 25 days. Again a memorable city for us

On the flip side, Dali which was a beautiful city but we did not enjoy mostly because our guide ( Shirley) does not speak English well. We could not understand her narrative or explanation most of the time. The guide in Wuhan ( Jennifer) was very unhelpful, was on her phone most of the time unless we asked her questions. For e.g. The highlight of Wuhan to us was the yellow crane tower but she did not even bother to walk up with us  ( and gave us 20 min to go up and come down) As we all could not read Chinese , it made all the beautiful artworks, poems and historical significance a complete loss to us! At the Eastlake, again a beautiful area she rushed us in and out because she said we did not have enough time but we ended finishing the day around 4 ! As you know she also ignore us during lunch so I had to send you the complaint myself! So Wuhan to use was the least enjoyable day.

For your reference, I think you have to ensure the guides you provide to any group you organize speak good English and are experience and helpful.

Overall, I think it was a great tour and your service is excellent from start to finish. I will certainly recommend you to my friends and hope to organize a Silk Road tour with you  in the near future !

Thanks again

Regards

Sharon

Date of Experience: October,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Royee

Royee

USA

Reviewed on November 21, 2019

Hi Wendy - Tara and I just got home last night. Thank you again for arranging a great trip for us. Here are are a few comments:

What we really appreciated:

the great guides…while we weren’t able to submit a feedback form for Mamie in Changsha, we felt she was very experienced, and enjoyed her thoroughness

the way the guides accompanied us into the airport to make sure we got our tickets. the flights you booked for us, particularly the great seats at the front of the plane. the hotels were also good - we recommend the Crowne Plaza in Changsha (over the Pullman), which has a fabulous breakfast. we had a great, experienced driver in Chengdu, who put in a long day getting us back to Chengdu from Emei Shan

What could be improved:

it would be nice to include evening entertainment in the itinerary (or at least offer it as an option) - we were interested in seeing the evening performance in Chengdu and the ethnic minority show in Zhangjiajie, and the guides were kind enough to help get us tickets

the cable car at Zhangjiajie was closed for the month of November, so we were not able to visit Huangshi Village or the Golden Whip Brook - as a result, the day’s activity was very short, and we ended up arranging a separate tour of the glass suspension bridge (at our own cost)

the last day in Zhangjiajie was short; to fill up the time, the guide was kind enough to take us to a shopping mall

the van in Zhangjiajie was not as new/modern as the vans in the other cities (however, we really liked the driver)

In addition to Mamie’s experience, we loved Ruby’s exuberance (in Chengdu) and Tony’s vitality and personality (in Zhangjiajie).

Tara may have additional feedback. By the way, she had problems using her gmail account for email in all the cities (except for Guangzhou). 

Thanks again for working with us.

—Best, Royee

Date of Experience: November,10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Peggy

Peggy

Canada

Reviewed on November 15, 2019

Hi Lyn

We received all the lovely pandas. Thank u very much. We enjoyed our trip very much. Jason is very pleasant and helpful.

Peggy

Date of Experience: November,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Candy & Laurie

Candy & Laurie

Israel

Reviewed on November 14, 2019

Hi Wendy,

We have just returned home today from our month away and, rather belatedly, I wanted to thank you so much for the lovely scarf and gifts you sent us to Chengdu.

Our Chinese trip was absolutely perfect and we loved it.  For your information I will give comments on the guides:

Chengdu – Yijia

What a lovely girl, a pleasure to be around, incredibly innovative and helpful, beyond the calls of her job. She helped us get SIM cards for our phones, told us about the Opera near our hotel, even joined us for the panda workday.  Am not sure about how much knowledge she has but it was certainly enough for us.

Chengdu – Shani

First whole day in Chengdu.  She was very nice and knew her history.  Very informative about the Temples.

Xian – Vivien

We didn’t get off to a good start with her unfortunately as, although the driver was waiting for us at the station, she had been delayed with other clients and was 45 minutes late.  After our initial anger and seeing how upset she was we all settled down and I have to say she was incredibly knowledgeable and most informative. The next day, when we went to the Terracotta Warriors I don’t think we could have been with a better guide.  She was excellent.

Guilin & Yangshou – Lona

What a pleasure this guide was and so informative.  She certainly knows her history of the sites she took us to.  Very dedicated and we thoroughly enjoyed being with her.  I think she was the absolute best.

Shanghai – Tracy (I think)

A different caliber entirely.  Arrived late but with lots of excuses and no apology!  She was fine when we got going but her English wasn’t up to that of the others, nor was her knowledge I think.

Beijing - Kai

Probably the most well informed of all the guides we had, and a charming person.  He was most caring and happy to share his knowledge of all the sites as well as impart information about life in general in China.

Pick-ups were all excellent, with good and careful drivers. All in all we had a wonderful time in China and thank you so much for arranging it all so well for us.

We will certainly recommend you to our friends and if you need us to give recommendations to future clients, we shall be happy to do.

All the Best,

Candy & Laurie

Date of Experience: October,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Robb Hennessey

Robb Hennessey

USA

Reviewed on November 9, 2019

Hi Rita,

Thank you so much for the return of funds I left in the Hong Kong hotel. I really appreciate your efforts on my behalf.

Additionally that you for the lovely gift, reflecting the Panda, Gand Chinese opera. It was most thoughtful, and very much appreciated.

We were treated most wonderfully by our guide Cherry.  She was helpful, flexible, informative and kind

Date of Experience: November, 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita
Sylvie

Sylvie

France

Reviewed on November 5, 2019

Hello!

Sorry for the delay, 

We really enjoy our day at Bifengxia. Even if the weather was rainy and cold. And even if the road was just a nightmare. We were only the two of us, and it was perfect : this journey was my daughter’s birthday gift. 

So, thanks for all, Echo. 

I will just suggest for the next travelers to wear warm clothes. And be aware that there’s work on the road : may be it’s not the good time to go to Bifengxia, you should check when the road will be ready.

Best regards.

Date of Experience: November, 3, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
Oh

Oh

Malaysia

Reviewed on October 29, 2019

Dear Tracy,

Just reached home this morning. Yes, we do have excellent vacation with a good guide and excellent driver. Billy is a good and helpful guide, he took care of us all the time and make sure we enjoy the trip. The driver is very skillful in driving because he is local from Jiuzhaigou .

Thanks for everything and let us have a good memorial time in Huang long and Jiuzhaigou .

By the way do you handle Muslim trip to Jiuzhaigou ?

Thanks and regards

Date of Experience: October,23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Annette

Annette

UK

Reviewed on October 28, 2019

Hi Lily

Thanks very much for organising the refund of admission fees for us.

We had a great time with Jim and really enjoyed our two days with him. The driver was very good too. We are pleased that we made the trip to Wulong.

Thanks again

Date of Experience: December,18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Peter

Peter

Malaysia

Reviewed on October 28, 2019

Hi Rita,

Yes, it’s was cold but after seeing Jiuzhaigou the lifetime experience is definitely worth it!  Maybe we are just lucky in that day of visit rather than the snowing day just the day before at Huanglong.

Jason is a great guide.

China Travel Photos

Lifetime Experience in Jiuzhaigou and Huanglong

Date of Experience: October,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Rita
Faye

Faye

UK

Reviewed on October 28, 2019

Hi Jack,

Sorry I meant to message you but I’ve been suffering a bit from jet lag! My whole family had a wonderful holiday. Every tour guide was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed every experience. Thank you so much for everything you did to make it such an amazing holiday! I will be leaving an excellent Trip Advisor review shortly. Also thank you for the note and gift we received in Chengdu it was very kind of you and we all loved them. Thank you again for everything.

Kind regards, 

Date of Experience: October,24, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Livia

Livia

Italy

Reviewed on October 26, 2019

Hi Lyn,

Please ignore this mail. We’d a great time with Caroline today, yesterday we just had some misunderstanding. 

She was very nice with us, considering that we wanted to change the program in Shanghai.

She made her best to satisfy our needs, and we’d a wonderful time togheter.

I want to thank you because our trip was wonderful in China!

Everything worked perfectly, and we sastified all our desires.

Unfortunately we didn’t receive your present in Chengdu.

We’ll prepare a wonderful review for China Discovery and your job.

Thank you so much for everything!

Best

Date of Experience: October,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Cecilia

Cecilia

USA

Reviewed on October 25, 2019

Wing,

We had a great time in China. Thanks for such a culture packed itinerary 

Below is the evaluation sheet from the confirmation letter

There is one thing in shanghai I need to bring up. I paid 720 rmb each for our Disneyland tickets. It turns out the shanghai tour guide bought 1 regular (standard) and 1 senior (selected) ticket for us. The senior ticket is 200 rmb cheaper than the regular ticket. Should I get a refund? I found that out at the entrance when the ticket checker keep checking my birthday on the passport and not my daughter’s. I asked her why and she said I have a senior ticket.   Please let me know

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions? Excellent. Ms Zeng responded to all my requests in a timely manner during the planning phase and during our trip

2. How do you comment your tour arrangements? It was more than expected. The trip to Chengdu introduce us to Chinese culture that we were not aware of. We are still talking about the face changing performance we attended. 

3. Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China? Absolutely. I have been telling my co-workers about the private tour we had.

4.  Your general opinion on us? Very responsive and very familiar with the Chengdu area.

5. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services? better tour guides in Shanghai. however Ms Zeng was able to re-mediate the situation

6. Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail? I am sending a few pictures of the pandas. A baby, an older one eating lunch and the forgotten red panda. These are pandas that we actually saw

7. We sometimes have requests from potential customers who would like to inquire from or our ex-customers. May they contact you for advice?  yes

Thank you China Discovery for an excellent tour

If we decide to visit other areas in China we will definitely engage your service again.

China Travel Photos

Giant Panda and Red Panda

Date of Experience: October,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Lou

Lou

USA

Reviewed on September 30, 2019

Echo,

I finally have the time to say how thankful Valerie and I are to you for putting together a wonderful excursion.

Everything went very smoothly and we would certainly recommend you and China Discovery to our friends.

Ruby and Waldner were very knowledgeable about Chengdu and Xi’an and the places we visited. Both spoke very good English which made Valerie and I very comfortable. They were particularly very helpful at the airports and train stations.

The drivers also were very helpful and skilled.

You did a great job in selecting the Hotels and setting up the logistics of meeting with the guides.

I would like to let your supervisor know what a wonderful job you and the guides did.  If you send me a name an email address I will let them know 

Sincerely

Date of Experience: September,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
Lorna

Lorna

USA

Reviewed on October 2, 2019

Hi Mark,

Please see our feedback below:

1- Yes, he was fast to answer my emails. Mark answered all my questions until it was clear for me.

I felt very comfortable with all his answers He would let me know in advance if there was a festive day or he was going to be out of town.  Excellent service!

2: all our tour guides were amazing! Made every moment extra special!!  I liked all a lot specially our guide from Chengdu and Beijing

All were terrific and they know where to take us, the explanation of everything

I felt very comfortable with all of them. Kevin was great watching that I wouldn’t fall or get to tired

Increíble guides and choferes too!!

3.  I am going to recommend your company with friends and family

Excellent service!!! We felt save every moment in China

4. Of course I will send pictures

I will write in Trip advisor and recommend specially you mark

You were so kind with us all the time

Thank you so mucho for all your work and keeping us safe and happy

Increíble increíble trip!!!

China Travel Photos

Enjoy Our Time in Beijing and Xian

Date of Experience: September,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mark
Ramniklal Varu

Ramniklal Varu

UK

Reviewed on October 13, 2019

Dear Jack 

I would like to thank you for arranging a wonderful once in a life time China trip for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. You have a good team of guides and drivers throughout our tour. Hotel were very good and comfortable. We will certainly reccomend your company to our friends who would like to do a similar tour like ours. My wife Manjula and Myself Ramniklal varu , Amita and Chandrakant Chandarana would like to thank you and your team for a lovely trip. It was lovely to meet you in a hotel and thanks for the lovely gifts. 

Thank you.

Date of Experience: October,10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Malvika

Malvika

USA

Reviewed on October 12, 2019

Hi Wonder, 

The tour was very good. We managed to cover a lot of places in a short period of time, thank you for arranging it. 

Here are the answers to your questions: 

1. Yes, very prompt with detailed replies. 

2. Tour guides were all good. 

Christy in Guilin was good, however, she could have done a better job in accommodating our food preferences as she preordered all meals for us without giving us the options from the menu or choice of vegetable/meat. She took us to many interesting places and did a good job of that. 

Eben in Chengdu was very good. His command over English was really good, and shared a lot of knowledge about Chengdu and China with us. He managed to get us into the Panda reserve without waiting in line at all. Food options from him were very good, and he helped us order even for dinner. 

Phoenix in Xi'an was also very good and showed us a lot in a short period of time. 

3. Yes

Thank you for all your help over the past few weeks!

Best,

Date of Experience: October, 3, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Neel and Sita

Neel and Sita

UK

Reviewed on October 12, 2019

Hi Lily,

We arrived in Chengdu last night. Thank you for the wodnerful honeymoon present, we love it a lot!

Can’t wait to see the pandas today.

Date of Experience: January, 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Lily
Clare and Alex

Clare and Alex

UK

Reviewed on October 10, 2019

Hi Wendy,

I hope you had a good National Week.

When we said goodbye to our guide Gila we thought we had lost our feedback form. However when we unpacked in Shanghai we found it. So I have attached photos of our feedback. I will try and also post it.

We had a brilliant time in Chengdu. Gila was a wonderful tour guide so please thank her for her hard work. After Chengdu we went to Xi’an and Shanghai and are now in Beijing. We are really enjoying time in China - it’s an amazing country.

Many thanks,

Date of Experience: October, 3, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Stella Wu

Stella Wu

USA

Reviewed on October 3, 2019

Hi Vivien

Our group of four would like to thank you for the fascinating Sichuan and Guizhou trip arrangements. The weather was good during this time of the year. The guides and drivers were all very professional. We especially like Mr Billy 張 of Guizhou. He was very dedicated to his job and so knowledgeable. The driver 王師傅was very nice too. Hotels were satisfactory considering the cost and environment. Will consider to pay more to upgrade accommodations in the future. 

You will hear from us pretty soon regarding future travel plans in China.

Thanks again for your wonderful service and sincerity!

Regards

Date of Experience: September,15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Michelle and Andre Vaillancourt

Michelle and Andre Vaillancourt

Canada

Reviewed on October 1, 2019

Hello Mr Li

we really enjoyed our tour in China. Hotels in Beijing New World Bejiing Hotel, Sofitel in Xi'an, Sofitel in Chengdu and Grand Meridien in Shanghai were super (meet our expectations).

As for the train it has change a lot in 20 years and you were right it was alright and efficient

Our guides were Sally in Bejiing, Iris in Pingyao,Crystal in Xi'an, Kevin in Chengdu and Caroline in Shanghai. The four first one asked us to complete a form for evaluation of their services we gave them back the form with our comments, we really like them and what we saw

We liked the visit of the hutongs in Beijing, the forbidden city, the summer palace, the temple of Heaven, the great wall and the Ming tombs. Crystal in Xi'an took us on a place between the bell tower and the drum tower it was really a good spot for pictures; when we went to The Terra cotta museum it was raining heavily but she help us find good shoes cover

Chengdu also meet our expectations, the Panda research base, the Jilin street,etc

As we told Iris in Pingyao the bathroom in the hotel was dirty and the food were not good but Iris and the driver were very nice. We liked Pingyao

As for Shanghai heavy rain and smog made it impossible to visit as planned, we were told that Yu garden was under renovation.

We would be pleased to recommend China Discovery

Best regards

Date of Experience: September,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Michelle

Michelle

Philippines

Reviewed on September 30, 2019

Hi Zoe,

Sorry for the late response.

Didn’t get the chance to check email until today.

We are really happy with your company.

Eric, Zoe and the drivers are really nice and professional.

They made our stay in China a memorable one.

We won’t hesitate recommending your company to anybody.

Thank you so much for all your help!!

Date of Experience: September, 9, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zoe
Caryn

Caryn

Australia

Reviewed on September 26, 2019

Hi Vivien

Here we are!

I definitely want to tell you about our holiday but we are a bit busy in Hong Kong at the moment. Will contact you again soon. Thanks so much for organising it.

China Travel Photos

Our China Trip in Chengdu, Suzhou, Guilin, Shanghai

Date of Experience: August,21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Anna

Anna

New Zealand

Reviewed on September 19, 2019

Hi Mark

We had a wonderful day with Ruby!! The day was a real highlight of our trip for all of us, and my parents were pretty proud of themselves for all the walking they did. Ruby was an excellent guide, she was very informative and knowledgable and didn't tire of answering all our questions and made sure it was the right pace for everyone. We really appreciated her willingness to share insights into chinese life and culture along the way with us and to learn about our way of life in New Zealand! It was also great having her join us for our local lunch and share the meal. A fantastic day. I will certainly recommend you to anyone I know visting china!

Thank you for the gift too!  I will share some pictures when I return to New Zealand.

Date of Experience: September, 5, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mark
Alan

Alan

Reviewed on September 5, 2019

Dear Zoe

Thanks for your reply.

Our visit to Chengdu was really interesting especially the pandas of course.  Our guide Ruby was excellent.

Thanks for the present of the toy panda and silk scarf.  Something to remind us of your lovely town.

Best wishes 

Date of Experience: September, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zoe
Juliet

Juliet

UK

Reviewed on August 27, 2019

Dear Mark

We had such a wonderful day with the pandas! Martin was a great guide - very friendly and knowledgeable and he also took some lovely photos of us on my camera (I can send you some when I get home to the UK). In the meantime, here are a few from my phone.

Thanks also for the pandas you sent via the hotel - very cute!

We will certainly recommend you if anyone we know is planning a trip to China

Best wishes

China Travel Photos

Wonderful Day with Pandas

Date of Experience: January, 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mark
Chris

Chris

UK

Reviewed on September 15, 2019

Hello Vivien,

Thanks for contacting me – and for all your help with our tour. Yes, we had a fantastic time. Everything went to plan and we were very impressed with all the organisation and the guides.

I am just a bit busy at the moment but I promise that I will send you a complete feedback in the next few days. Do send me the link to Trip Advisor and I will also complete a review there for you.

Thank you indeed for the gifts you sent us via jenny in Chengdu. That was very thoughtful of you and very much appreciated.

Best wishes,

Date of Experience: September, 9, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Lindy and John

Lindy and John

Australia

Reviewed on September 10, 2019

Dear Ashley,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful text message of 9 Sept.

which we received on arriving home.

I am a little unsure just how to start to thank you enough for the manner and way that you have worked and the kindness you have shown to us to make our brief visit to your magnificent Country so enjoyable and one we shall always remember.

However I will begin by saying I was greatly impressed with the manner and honesty in which you displayed in the detailed planning stage of our trip. 

I want to thank you again for the gifts which you gave as at our only too short but enjoyable meeting in Chengdu. I don't know how you learned (or guessed) what Lindy favorites were: but you got them all. They were unexpected and a lovey surprise.

Every thing organized for the trip went off well. We did not encounter any problems and so were able enjoy are brief trip to the 4 cities. Although having done a lot of research on the internet prior to departing, the tours and sites visited at each city exceeded my expectations.

The guides and drivers were also great and the system of drop of and pick works well up saved us countless hours.

Each of our guides were very helpful, polite and most knowledgeable, and showed quite different strengths, character and personalities.

Kai in Beijing: a born teacher who is passionate about and loves his subject and was keen to impart it to us. A very intense personality, inclined to repeat himself a little, but with excellent fluent English and an easy accent easy for us poor mono-linguist Australians to understand. Lindy would have liked a few more coffee stops (what's new) but understand that they was not available at many of the sights we visited.

Ben in Xi'An: very knowledgeable about the Warriors, items at the Museum and the city, friendly and accommodating with a very good and easy to understand English. He also arranged every thing for us to see the Tang Dynasty Theater show at night.

Sandy in Chengdu: ensured that we were able enjoy the visit to the Pandas a real highlight of the tour. He was most accommodating to our every wish and Lindy's like for Starbucks coffee.

Danny in Guilin: The real friendly family "county" man. Out to do every thing possible to show us what we wonted to see on some-wot tiring hot days.  The country views here are breathtaking.

The two fast train rides were very pleasant and comfortable but the crowds at stations were a little overwhelming.

The two short domestic plane rides were uneventful (similar to ours)

The two Hotels you booked were great, The Bamboo Leaf, very friendly, quite and a nice change from the somewhat impersonal international chains. Thank you for getting their signature room for us, Lindy loved the country outlook.

The Hilton Capital suite was also a welcome surprise.

Although you may not have much to do with it, the weather was favorable with the only rain we experienced for the whole trip being a very light shower on the morning we visited the Pandas which they seemed to enjoy.

We are still in awe at the skill, patience and tolerance of your car drivers, but were in fear of the silent scooters every time we crossed the road.

You and your associates have helped China Discovery to earn the excellent reputation it has on the many Internet review sites.

So summing up, well done and thank you so very much.

Date of Experience: August,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Ashley
Dominique

Dominique

France

Reviewed on September 6, 2019

Dear Tracy
Thank you very much. We had a very good trip in Beijing. Thank you very much.
We are now in Chengdu with Vincent.
Best regards

Date of Experience: September, 6, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Leslie

Leslie

USA

Reviewed on September 4, 2019

Aloha Echo,

We had a wonderful time on our tour through the four cities in China.  All of our tour guides were excellent each with their own special talent.  Our first guide, Forest in Beijing was extra attentive and flexible working around our special circumstances, traveling with my “special needs” granddaughter.  He was also extremely knowledgeable about Beijing and the attractions that were included in our tour.  His assistance at the train station also made our transfer to XiAn less stressful.  Waldner in XiAn was full of humor.  Unfortunately, my son was pickpocketed at the Terracotta Warriors Museum and his cell phone was stolen.  That caused a period of negative emotions during our stay in XiAn.  Waldner also assisted us at the train station to make the transfer less stressful.  Gila in Chengdu really went out of her way to allow us an authentic “taste” of Chengdu.  Gila also helped us check in at the airport for our flight to Shanghai.  Nanette in Shanghai was also very helpful when we got a late start to the airport.  She assisted us through baggage check to see us off in good time to make it to our flight.

The tour guides’ assistance were also valuable because of the minimal English that is spoken or understood throughout our travels through China.  I was quite surprised that even in the hotels that were booked for us, the staff’s ability to communicate in English was very limited.

The hotels that were included in our tour were very nice.  The location of the hotels in Beijing and Chengdu were exactly what I like with dining and shopping immediately surrounding the hotel.  The location of the Xian hotel felt a bit less comfortable. 

I would definitely recommend China Discovery to my friends and family if they are planning to visit China.

Thank you very much!

Date of Experience: August,19, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
Amit Yudan

Amit Yudan

Israel

Reviewed on September 1, 2019

Hi Rita,

I would like to send a BIG thank you. We departed from Chengdu now, all went perfect!! Thanks a lot for the flexibility in changing the schedule and the good organisation.

How is Livia doing? Did she get the baby? Send her my BIG thank you too for all the preparations before her leave.

Date of Experience: September, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Antonio, Anna and Toni

Antonio, Anna and Toni

Spain

Reviewed on August 30, 2019

Dear Tracy,

Of course I Will write the positive review on Tripadvisor!

It was also a pleasure for us to travel with your Company and discover the Great Country that China is.

All the guides were very helpful and nice, especially Shanna from Chengdu and also Jennifer (Shanghai) and Amanda (Yichang).

It is a pity that we couldn´t do the excursion to Macau but…maybe next time. As you know, we did an additional excursion on Tuesday morning visiting Luntau Island. We needed to pay additional 3240 HKD to Cecile and push her a little bit to visit all the venues but it was finally good decision.

Best regards from Spain!

Date of Experience: August,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Alfonso & friends

Alfonso & friends

Italy

Reviewed on August 29, 2019

Good morning Mr.Leo Li,

Thanks for your email, we're at home safe and very happy for the great experience we lived.

It was our pleasure to meet you in Chengdu, we appreciated very much your gifts and all the efforts you made to make our travel memorable.

It was already our intention to share with you our thoughts about the travel, as soon we have some time we'll let you have a more detailed feedback about the whole tour.

Have a nice day

Date of Experience: August,18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Roger

Roger

Reviewed on August 19, 2019

Hello Mr. Wonder.
We are back to Chengdu after a very beautiful and very nice trip in North Sichuan.
Thank you very much for your organization. It was perfect. Our guide Mary was really kind, efficient and helpful. The driver too. We really enjoy Huanglong and the Ruoergai region. A lot of amazing discoveries all along this trip.
Thank you very much also for the little gifts as souvenirs of Chengdu.
I hope that we will travel in China again.
Best regards.

Date of Experience: August, 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Steve

Steve

Australia

Reviewed on August 16, 2019

Ok, perfect, thanks Vivien.

We will try and get laundry done in Chengdu I think.

Trip has been great so far. Angelina was a great guide. Zhangjiajie was amazing and a perfect start to our trip. 

We are just at the airport now waiting for flight to Chengdu. Looking forward to seeing some pandas.

Date of Experience: August, 5, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Prashanth

Prashanth

USA

Reviewed on August 15, 2019

Hi Leo,

Thanks for your email. We had a great trip in China and thank you for meeting us in Chengdu!

Of the various guides, the best guides were Laura (in Shanghai) and Smiley (in Guilin / Yangshuo). They both chose excellent restaurant, great ambiance, very good selection of food and also gave us choices. They both made us fell very much at home. I would highly recommend them. Smiley’s English was excellent and very much fun to talk to. She even made an effort to take us to clean rest rooms as she knew my wife was very particular on rest room cleanliness.

Eban in Chengdu was good as well, but it was a short meeting with him. 

Willy was fine in Xian and was helpful during the trip. His English was excellent! One area of opportunity for him is to become a better listener. He has great communication but sometimes does t listen. 

Lily in Beijing is an excellent person, but her English can be improved. Many a times we could not understand what she was saying and we had to keep asking her to repeat. She was very good with the kids. She gave us local Beijing candies (very kind of her) and the kids loved it. Also on the food in Beijing, I wish it was as good as other places. The quality of food was not great compared to the food we got in Shanghai/ Guilin/Chengdu which was great! Also the restaurant ambience was not very good. But lily was great. May be this is an area for improvement for Beijing section. Better selection of restaurants. 

Overall an excellent and memorable trip

Also thank you for taking the time to meet with us and for the great time we had chatting with you! Also thanks for the gift. 

Thanks

Date of Experience: July,13, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
John

John

USA

Reviewed on August 11, 2019

Hi Leo,

Here is my review. I will likely post it on TripAdvisor to help other tourists out so they know what to expect. Let me know if you would like anything edited (such as the Wire Transfer vs PayPal part) if you find it harmful for your business. My intent is to describe my experience to other Western travellers that may have similar fears about booking a trip like this.

Thanks for all you did. The trip was both flawless and amazing.

I took a 2 week personalized vacation with Chendu Bamboo tours through China. I wanted to put some thoughts down to the TripAdvisor community as I had a lot of reservations going into it, and I hope my review will help clarify some of the items that I was uncertain of.

First, while I researching, I determined that I wanted to do a custom tour as none of the packages that I saw had everything I wanted. The towns I chose were Beijing, Xian, Dunhuang, Chengdu, Guilin and Shanghai. I submitted inquiries to multiple companies and ChinaDiscovery came back to me promptly with a very comprehensive tour that was detailed and in line with my expectations. The scary part of communicating my requirements was that it had to be done mostly through email, although the company was also quick to Skype call me to handle some of my more advanced questions.

If you decide to book a tour like this (and you are firmly in the middle class) this is and expensive endeavor. For you to pull the trigger, you can expect 4 big expenditures. First, you will need to put 1/3 balance down on the trip to reserve the reservation. That 1/3 was placed through PayPay, and the Paypal account that I placed it to did not look anything like the business I was dealing with. It was scary sending the money to such a strange account, but in the end, the transaction was fine. One point of confusion...you may research and book through ChinaDiscovery, however the invoice then turned into (in my case) Chengdu Bamboo International Tours Co, Ltd. I don't fully understand the relationship, but it was legitimate, although a little confusing of why the website said one thing, but the actual contractor that was doing the work said another. Another scary thing came later when I was asked to pay the remaining 2/3 balance, I was requested to do so via wire transfer. Again, a scary endeavor which I felt I would have no protection if the company was not legitimate. So fearing loss of funds, I reached a win/win compromise to use the Paypal account again (with Visa) to submit the funds. Once I received confirmation, the company executed the hotel, train and plane tickets flawlessly, communicating the reservations about 1 week later.

In short, my fears were unfounded.

You will also have to handle 3 other expenses. First, and not surprising are your international plane tickets, which I handled shortly after the deposit. But the 3rd and 4th were not known. As a US citizen, I needed to get Visas for myself and the family. A Chinese Visa costs about $160 per person, and to get it, you must carefully submit a form to the Chinese consulate in a designated region of the country. Because I delayed doing this, I needed to do expedited service. And because the form is brutal and requires you to send your passports to the Chinese consulate, I enlisted a visa expert (CIBT.com) in order to get in processed. Long story short, about $1K later, I received the last of the passports back from the consulate with about 2 days to spare. 

The other warning, since all the trips have drivers and tour guides that take you around, you are advised (not mandated) to give them tips. Unfortunately, there are no guidelines given or direction of how much to give. I spent time researching on the internet what were fair tips for always outstanding service. Now, 1 week after the trip, I still have no idea if I tipped fairly, generously or cheaply. But, calculate 2 weeks and 2 persons a day, you can calculate that it will cost you hundreds of dollars or thousands of Yuan.

Last warning to give about going to China...you'll need cash. Only some (not most) banks and stores are hooked up to the Visa and Mastercard system. This means, (1) you may need to search for the right bank to get cash in China in order to withdraw funds and (2) the vendors that you'll see only will take your cash. This caused some stress the first couple of days as I had trouble finding a bank that worked.

Now...for the good stuff. Once prepping for all that, the trip that was designed by Chinadiscovery (or Chengdu Bamboo Tour Company) was pretty spectacular. The guides were beyond great, and did a truly amazing, amazing job of being everything you would want as a tour guide. Prompt, flexible, funny, sometimes motherly, sometimes brotherly, open, honest, kind, insightful, human, knowledgeable and ...simply great. Each one in each town was different...but each of them took such pride in their cities/country that you are given a great gift.

The hotels were as good as it gets as well. Breakfast was included in all hotels...some food good, and other food great. The hotels were within walking distance to all the good things. For Beijing, 15 min walk to the Forbidden City. Shanghai? 5 minute walk to the River and 20 minutes to The Bund. I could go on, but the accommodations were really good. Combine that with flawless execution of all travel arrangements, it made for a stress free trip. The lunches were all Chinese and again, and food ranged from good to great. They always gave our family of 3 too much food for one sitting, and I felt embarrassed about leaving so much food behind.

In Beijing, our guide took us through Tienanmen Square, Forbidden City, Summer Palace, The Great Wall, and Temple of Heaven (among other places). When she took us to the train station, she insisted in walking us down to our seat on the High Speed railway car. When I asked if that is the company policy, she said 'that MY policy' (to ensure her clients get to where they are going). Amazing. We reached Xian for a day and Zoe gave us great insights of the growing city, the crowds, and life in China. Then onto Dunjuang, where Lily and her driver rearranged the schedule to ensure that we saw all the Silk Road sites. The schedule changes included her and the driver starting at 6AM (after we were picked up at the airport 10PM the night before) in order to ensure we saw everything. Then in Chengdu, Cherry helped so patiently with my wife's shopping at the Panda sanctuary. And in Guilin, Kennedy was awesome describing the land and China's ethnic minority. The insight for the rice fields and rivers were wonderful. We ate probably the best Chinese food of the trip in the fresh country air. Then finally, to Shanghai, where Zack was truly a joy, and one of the friendliest and enjoyable people I have ever met in my life. The city of Shanghai was amazing, and my son enjoyed it tremendously.

Two things I would do over if I could. First, I would plan to take it in June, not late July. We had to compete with the rest of China, which has summer break at this time. As a result, the places were packed with China tourist going to the same sites, which made the crowds a bit much. Second, I would have also altered the trip to spend 1 less day in Guilin and 1 more day in Shanghai. Other than that, I would not have changed anything.

China Travel Photos

Our Customized China Trip

Date of Experience: July,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Amanda, Katelyn, and Don

Amanda, Katelyn, and Don

Canada

Reviewed on August 4, 2019

Hi Vivien,

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in China. Thank you so much for coordinating things so very well. Thank you also for the thoughtful gifts. We highly recommend your tour company. :)

Date of Experience: August, 2, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Jennifer Cutillo

Jennifer Cutillo

Canada

Reviewed on August 3, 2019

Greetings Lily!

Firstly we want to say thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the very kind gift you left us at the hotel! We also want to tell you that we love your city and had a wonderful day at the panda reserve! 
Thank you again and have a wonderful weekend!

Date of Experience: July,28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Jesus

Jesus

Australia

Reviewed on August 1, 2019

Hi Wonder,

I just wanted to say that Gila was great. She is very nice and easy to talk too! She knows a lot about Chengdu and pandas and I had a great time with her. When I come back I will book her again for sure.

Thank you for organising everything, it was great. Very happy with the service.

Date of Experience: July,23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Solange

Solange

USA

Reviewed on July 10, 2019

Hi Lily,

Thank you so much for the little pandas and present. My kids loved them!  It was a very nice surprise at Chengdu. 

We are enjoying so much everything. I will send you an email when I get back home with some suggestions. Usually I never give reviews but because we love our trip to China so much I will take the time to send you some comments. 

Thank you again for everything! We are on our way to our last stop Beijing! 

Have a great afternoon!

Date of Experience: July, 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Fan Zhang

Fan Zhang

China

Reviewed on July 10, 2019

Dear Wonder,

See my response below. Thanks.

Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions? Yes. Wonder was very responsive and patient in addressing my questions and flexible with changes needed.  

How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour? The tour guide Eben was very professional and spoke excellent English. He was knowledgeable and experienced, making our tour relatively stress free while helping us learn a lot about the history and culture of Chengdu.  

Would you like to recommend our company? Yes.

Date of Experience: July, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Kate

Kate

New Zealand

Reviewed on July 9, 2019

Hi Wendy,

Apologies for the delayed reply, please see my answers below and I’ll leave a review on TripAdviser as well.

I have been recommending this trip loads as I really really loved it!

Here below are the questions for you: 

1.  Was your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

    Yes, Wendy was excellent and answered all my questions as well as gave me great recommendations for things that I wanted to do, I would definitely recommend.

2.  How was your tour? Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you? 

    The tour was fabulous, Jason was very. Knowledgeable, answered all my questions and his English was superb (which was great since my mandarin was non-existent!) The tour was just what I was after, the food was excellent and I’ve been raving about it ever since!

3.  Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

    My one suggestion would be to have the accommodation closer to some walkable dinner spots. The hotel itself was lovely but as a non-mandarin speaker, I found it a bit isolated in the evenings when I needed to wander on my own to find things for dinner. If the accommodation was closer to Jinli Street perhaps it might be better?

Otherwise, everything was pretty much perfect!

Thanks so much for all your help.

Thanks,

Date of Experience: July, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Husin Daud Kosasih

Husin Daud Kosasih

Indonesia

Reviewed on July 8, 2019

Dear Ms Wendy

Thanks for your arrangement for Chendu Tour

Really sorry - I can not using company email for this family tour..

  1. Was your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Yes, travel consultant were response fast and patent for all question

Even Ruby as our tour guide has very good knowledge, patient and give good support and information  

 2. How was your tour? Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you?

Overall tour were Good and Well managed

Yes, it`s very good, we satisfied with the arrangement and it`s really tired, especially for Emeishan

 3. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

I think transport Car need to re-new, I felt it`s quite tired with travel 3 hours with that cars ..

I understand that mostly all car for travel agent same model..

I would like to write an overview in tripadvisor, unfortunately currently quite busy – I will wrote if I have time

If Jiuzhaigou already open – please inform me

We will arrange another trip for Jiuzhaigou and huang long

Thanks
Best regards

Date of Experience: July, 2, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Lin

Lin

USA

Reviewed on June 26, 2019

Hi Ashley,

We are very happy with your service.  I have forward your phone number and emails to couple of my friends who are interested in volunteer program in Dujiangyan panda base.

Thanks again

Date of Experience: June,23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Ashley
Prashant

Prashant

India

Reviewed on June 28, 2019

Dear Echo,

Good afternoon! Sorry for late reply as was travelling. No worries for Lehsan tour, I enjoyed Chengdu Panda research centre visit instead.

I will like to thank you for organising the Tibet tour and would like to speak highly for the tour guide and the driver who made sure that the trip was a pleasant stay for us. I will like to also thank you for organising it since starting and being of utmost help at any time.

Thanks again and will get in touch in case I plan my next China trip.

Best,

Date of Experience: June,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
Chew Kc

Chew Kc

Malaysia

Reviewed on June 21, 2019

Good morning Lily.

My family had reached KL safely and is on our way taking bus to go back home in Johor state. Again, many thanks for the excellent arrangement for us to have a nice stay in Chengdu and Xian. We had enjoyed the nice sight seeing and histories of our old ancient cities, as a Chinese. Hope that the tips paid to the tour guides and drivers are to their satisfactory.

Date of Experience: June,18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Sally

Sally

Brunei

Reviewed on June 20, 2019

Dear Johnson, 

Good afternoon, I have also received the gifts you had sent. Love it. 

Please find your requested feedback below.

How are you? How’s the tour?

The trip arranged was pleasant and fun. My mom and I enjoyed it. 

1.    Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Yes, the travel consultant (Johnson) was very prompt and quick in responding to our enquiries. In fact, the trip was almost a last minute arrangement and Johnson was able to schedule and arranged it accordingly. 

2.    How do you comment your tour arrangements?

The tour arrangement was relaxing,not that the plan was not packed. We had a lot of sights to visit according to the tour plan and I originally had doubts that we will be able to visit them. The tour guide was also flexible enough to rearrange the tour according to the weather and time of visit and made full use of it to enable us to visit as much as possible. 

Not forgetting, the driver as well was good in his job. The drive was long and tired and can be mentally exhausting; he did his best and the trip was comfortable. He was also courteous and his car was clean and spacious. 

3.    Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?

Yes, definitely. Its my second time using and overall experience were great. 

4.  Your general opinion on us?

Quick and prompt, Flexible in arrangement (without accomo or meals) and most importantly easy to contact and communicate with. 

5.    Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

Overall, I had enjoyed your services in the 2 times, will definitely use your service. 

6.    Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

I have discussed with my mum and family, unfortunate, we are not comfortable with using images of us in it. Hence, we will share the landscape photos in which we have taken during this trip for your website, brochures, marketing and publicity purposes. We will share you in another email as we are unable to attach it here.  

Once again, Thank you so much Johnson, the guide - Mei and driver for making our trip possible and comfortable.

Thank You. 

Regards, 

China Travel Photos

Cute Pandas in Chengdu

China Travel Photos

Buddha in Mount Leshan and Mount Emei

Date of Experience: June, 9, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Marcin Czerniakow MD

Marcin Czerniakow MD

USA

Reviewed on June 20, 2019

Hello Lily 

Thank you very much for the gifts, what a surprise!!!

We love them very much. 

We have a great time in Sichuan, next month we go to Switzerland for 2 week hike so our short hikes were a great worm ups. We hope we didn’t exhaust Robert too much :-) . 

Working on our schedule for next year, this year booked already. Will send you updated website when put all the Sichuan photos.

Date of Experience: June,14, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Susan

Susan

Reviewed on June 11, 2019

Hi Catherine:

This is Susan Lee. Thank you for organizing my trip to China (Chengdu, Tibet and Xi'an). I was in China in 1987 but did not visit these cities but in general I see such so much modernization. I had a great time. Attached are the evaluations for each of the cities. Would you kindly send the evaluations to the local agencies in Tibet and Xi'an. Under separate cover, I will send some photographs of pandas. Once again, thank you preparing the itinerary. Best regards.

China Travel Photos

Happy Panda Eating Bamboo

China Travel Photos

Tired Pandas Resting

Date of Experience: June, 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Vilma and Henri

Vilma and Henri

Australia

Reviewed on June 10, 2019

Hello Jack

Thank you so much for organising our tour in China. The tourists destinations, tour guides and drivers as well as the hotels your company organised for us were very very good and comfortable.  We enjoyed all the places we had been and it exceeded our expectations. 

There were only two hotels we stayed (Zhangjiajie and Aba Songpan) that did not really cater well for breakfast during our stay. However the overall experienced we had were all valuable ones.

Lijiang Show was spectacular and was the highlight of the optional shows.

Driving from Songpan to Chengdu throughout the old road was an interesting journey, thanks to our very good driver.

Once again thank you for your professionalism, your prompt reply to our emails and making our stayed in China a memorable one and easy. We really felt that during our stay there we can easily access you together with our tour guides and drivers that were assigned to us we feel very much looked after, Thank you Jack and China Discovery Tours.

Cheers!!

Date of Experience: May,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Jack
Xue

Xue

USA

Reviewed on June 1, 2019

Hello Tiffany,

Thank you for your follow up email. I have returned to the US and it has been a good trip in Chengdu!  We enjoyed every part of the tour, and our tour guide was very helpful. We will definitely recommend to our friends if they are making their own travel arrangements. 

Thank you,

Date of Experience: May,28, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tiffany
Tiffany

Tiffany

USA

Reviewed on March 25, 2019

Hi Zoe,

We’re doing great. We are in Tokyo now for few days. We had such an amazing fun time! We loved all the pandas. They were so cute and lots of personality. It was neat to feed them. Ryder loved the red panda & when the panda came in the window to see him. It was wonderful:) Nancy was great! Thank u for the gift. Such a sweet surprise :) appreciate all your organization!

No worries you were on train. We got it all figured out :)

Thanks again.

Date of Experience: May,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zoe

See all reviews from our guests See all reviews on Tripadvisor



Amazing Travel Stories from Our Customers

Our dear customers have shared many travel stories, feelings and stunning pictures after finishing their trips with us. They are glad to share everything with you and you are warmly welcomed to read their photo stories. Or, you can click 2012-2020 Customer Travel Stories for more stunning stories. Get inspired now!

  • Couple’s 69 Days Private China Journey
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - Datong - Pingyao - Luoyang - Xian - Jiayuguan ... Chengdu - Yangtze - Zhangjiajie - Yunnan - Guilin... Hangzhou - Shanghai
  • North American English Teachers’ China Trip to Visit Their Students off Internet
    North American English Teachers’ China Trips to Visit Their Students off Internet

    We customized three big group China trips for tens of VIPKid English teachers and their family members to visit Xian, Shanghai, etc. from Beijing and meet their students off Internet in China in 2019!

    • VIPKid Teachers (USA/Canada)
    • (9-21 Days) 2019
    • Beijing - Xian - Shanghai - Suzhou –Shanghai - Hangzhou - Huangshan... Yangtze Cruise...Chengdu - Beijing
  • Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities all around China plus Yangtze Cruise
    Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities around China plus Yangtze Cruise

    Winston and his wife have traveled to many world places during the past 21 years and experienced the best vacation this time to explore China's west and east, north and south parts!

    • Winston (USA)
    • (22 Days) 2019.05.17~2019.6.07
    • Beijing - Xian - Lhasa - Chengdu - Guilin - Longsheng - Yangshuo - Chongqing - Yangtze River Cruise - Yichang - Shanghai - Suzhou - Beijing