Toni

Toni

USA

Reviewed on December 21, 2019

Hi Jack,

Sorry to the late reply. Sandy supposed to send you the feedback and I didn't know she still hasn't done yet. Or she will send you in a few days.

That's a great tour. For such short time, I can see both Huangshan and Zhangjiajie. The tour guide at both area is great, friendly and knowledgeable. Hotel is good. Only one thing that the meal included in our tour was not that great, a lot of vegetable but not enough meat. We love meat and most people live in US love to eat meat.

Next time you can have some suggestions that we stay one more day to explore a little bit of Shanghai even though we all have been travel to Shanghai. Everynight we went back to shanghai so late. We only can go to the bund to take picture and then come back to sleep.

Lastly, we are very appreciate your arrangement, we can see what we want to see. Thanks a lot. I definitely will recommend you and your company to my family and friend.

Toni

Date of Experience: November, 2, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Steven

Steven

UK

Reviewed on January 5, 2020

Hi Jack

Took us a couple of days to get back to normal here

Both tours were amazing

We all agreed that Zhangjiajie is one of the most amazing places we have ever been

Beautiful scenery, unbelievable landscapes and basically incredible sights and attractions

Disappointed we missed the Fairy Fox show, but that was just timing

Xian was equally as interesting and to spend our Christmas Day with the Terracotta Warriors was a Christmas to remember

Both guides were brilliant and very knowledgeable

Thanks again for arranging this for us and I have already been passing China Discovery details on to others and will continue to do so

Date of Experience: December,24, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Patrice

Patrice

Indonesia

Reviewed on January 2, 2020

Dear Lily,

Happy new year!

Hopefully this whole year will see you & your entire family in blessings and happiness! 

Kindly find here attached our evaluation form of the trip.

Many thanks again and hope to keep in touch with you!

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

* Yes. Lily was very quick to respond all my inquiries by e-mail or WeChat. She was flexible, accommodating, and informative too. We had quite a lot of requests and changes on our itinerary, and she managed to give us best services. On our last day there, she even came to see us and sent us off at the airport :)

2. How do you comment your tour arrangements? 

* We enjoyed the arrangements in general. Our activities stick to the planned itineraries.

3. Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China? 

* Yes, sure.

4.  Your general opinion on us?

* We enjoyed your services overall. No major complaints whatsoever. The guides were patient too. Shout out to Mrs. Tutu who accompanied us until late night! :)

5. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

* Maybe you could try adding more variations for the meal menu. On our last days we found ourselves bored with the same menu servings. In Chengdu we also requested for a Japanese dinner recommendation but in the end we didn’t manage to get any (there was one Japanese restaurant near our hotel but it was too small to accommodate the 17 of us).

6. Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

 * Sure. You may use our group photo pictures (if you have none, Lily can ask me on WeChat).

7. We sometimes have requests from potential customers who would like to inquire from or our ex-customers.  May they contact you for advices?  _______

* No problem. They may contact me on patricetan@outlook.com

Warm regards,

Patrice

 

Date of Experience: December,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Lily
Lee

Lee

Australia

Reviewed on December 28, 2019

Hello Riley

I have just submitted a review to trip advisor.

Here is a bit more information than I posted in the review.

Firstly, I want to thank you for your assistance and perseverance in organising our trip. We appreciate your listening to what we wanted and fitting in our requests as best you could. As a result the holiday was fabulous and included things we like to see and do and didn’t include the ‘normal’ mass tourist things.

Your guides are excellent. We appreciated all guides, but we would especially like to mention Zhouma (Lhasa), Jessie (Kunming) and Tutu (Zhangjiajie), they have a wealth of knowledge which they are able to impart in an enthusiastic manner, and they are also very very helpful. Zhouma and Jessie’s assistance with firstly my Ipad and then my clay colours was exceptional and truly appreciated.

We had many highlights along the way but if I have to name a few I would say Muslim Street in Xian (I had previously been to the Terracotta Warriors, so it was a repeat trip – though still amazing), the Potala Palace and walking the circle around the Jokhang Temple in Lhasa, Green Lake Park in Kunming, the Impression show in Yangshou, just about all the mountain activities in Zhangjiajie.

We will certainly be recommending you and China Discovery to anyone who is interested in travelling to China.

Regards

Lee

Date of Experience: December, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Wendy

Wendy

USA

Reviewed on December 15, 2019

Dear Catherine,

Many thanks for organising the tour for us. Even though we have not ended the tour, i would like to provide feedback.

1. Thank you Catherine for being so prompt in the reply and your excellent organisation and planning. You are also very patient and accommodating towards the many requests and incessant enquiries from all of us.

2. Pick up and transfers at each destinations has been very prompt and smooth. There was never a time when we have to wait for the tour guides and this is very commendable.

3. At YiChang, i must commend Faye for her fast response. She has been very impressive and quick witted to get the tickets changed when my husband's passport was the wrong one. I must apologise for not checking that he has a new passport. Pls help me extend my most heartfelt thanks to Faye because it was too rush then.

4. Zhangjiajie's tour guide Wendy and driver Tang has been very accomodating towards the group's demands. She has been extremely patient with all of us , making our trip so peaceful. She also went beyond her duties to bring some of the members to the hair salon and shopping and kept us company till very late at night.

She has been very thoughtful in all her little actions, including packing our breakfast when we were catching an early flight.

She was able to integrate very quickly into the group and at the same time be quick to make all arrangements n command our attention. 

Her knowledge of Zhangjiajie has helped us to understand the locals, the cultures and she is also creative to describe the different caves n peaks in the mountains so that enjoying the scenery became even more menaningful.

We are enjoying ourselves and hope that the last part of our tour will help us bring back great memories of China.

Thank you Catherine once again for your excellent service.

Wendy

Date of Experience: December, 3, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Liesl

Liesl

USA

Reviewed on December 16, 2019

Catherine,

At the train station and all is well. Wanted to thank you for the perfect visit to Chengdu made possible by you! You created a delightful experience. Ellen was wonderful as a guide. We will be recommending you to our friends who have expressed interest in visiting Chengdu.

Thank you again!

And also for the gift!

You and Ellen both did not need to do such a kind act, the services were definitely enough. But thank You.

Thank you again,

Liesl

Date of Experience: December,15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Harika

Harika

India

Reviewed on December 09, 2019

Hi Rita,

Good morning. We reached our home safely. All thanks to you and your team for organising such a wonderful trip. Starting from planning, implementing, and executing it. We dint face any problem anywhere while traveling or while inter changing the between stations. I would like to thank each one of you for taking care of us. I would like to highlight few things which made me speechless. 

Security: 

In the entire trip we didn't face any problem. Either with baggages or any other property. Everything was secured. 

Comfortablity: 

Spacious cars were provided all over the trip and we were very much comfortable. 

Special Thanks: 

To you and team for organising . 

And Mis. Tina and driver at Beijing and Mr. Johnny and his Driver at Xian, were very truthful and treated us like a family. Such a wonderful experience with them made our Journey to China remarkable. 

We would like to Visit China again in near future to other places Visiting Yiwu market. 

Best Attraction out 5 which we felt the Best 

1. Zhangjiajie

2. Xian

3. Beijing 

4. Shanghai

We went to optional activities in Beijing, Xian, Zhangjiajie, and Gulin. The best activity was at Xian. We loved the performance the most. 

Once Again

Thank you soo much. 

Harika

Date of Experience: November, 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
Teo & Lily

Teo & Lily

Singapore

Reviewed on November 29, 2019

Dear Mark,

I have submitted my review to Trip Advisor. I have to apologize for the late reply as I was very busy last few days. 

1. How's the tour arrangement? And your travel consultant's service?

Overall it was an excellent arrangement by Mark who meticulously planned every detail and religiously monitoring our schedule throughout and had it executed by the caring and helpful guide Carrie. 

2. How's the hotel and meals?

The hotel in Zhangjiajie was good as it is expected of Pullman 's branding. The one in Fenghuang is not as good but Mark had forewarned me so I was prepared that the accommodation and breakfast would not be good. The meals are alright as Carrie had given us the liberty and good recommendation to order the food that suits our pallet as we cannot take spicy ones. Good advice by Mark and well executed by Carrie.

3. What do you think of our guides and drivers?

The drivers are all good and pleasant especially Mr. Du who was careful and polite .He drove at the right speed and I was impressed by his driving skill on a wet day. 

We would like to place on record our heartfelt thanks to Mark and the team in Chengdu, Yichang & Zhangjiajie. 

Regards 

Teo & Lily 

Date of Experience: November,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
Royee

Royee

USA

Reviewed on November 21, 2019

Hi Wendy - Tara and I just got home last night. Thank you again for arranging a great trip for us. Here are are a few comments:

What we really appreciated:

the great guides…while we weren’t able to submit a feedback form for Mamie in Changsha, we felt she was very experienced, and enjoyed her thoroughness

the way the guides accompanied us into the airport to make sure we got our tickets. the flights you booked for us, particularly the great seats at the front of the plane. the hotels were also good - we recommend the Crowne Plaza in Changsha (over the Pullman), which has a fabulous breakfast. we had a great, experienced driver in Chengdu, who put in a long day getting us back to Chengdu from Emei Shan

What could be improved:

it would be nice to include evening entertainment in the itinerary (or at least offer it as an option) - we were interested in seeing the evening performance in Chengdu and the ethnic minority show in Zhangjiajie, and the guides were kind enough to help get us tickets

the cable car at Zhangjiajie was closed for the month of November, so we were not able to visit Huangshi Village or the Golden Whip Brook - as a result, the day’s activity was very short, and we ended up arranging a separate tour of the glass suspension bridge (at our own cost)

the last day in Zhangjiajie was short; to fill up the time, the guide was kind enough to take us to a shopping mall

the van in Zhangjiajie was not as new/modern as the vans in the other cities (however, we really liked the driver)

In addition to Mamie’s experience, we loved Ruby’s exuberance (in Chengdu) and Tony’s vitality and personality (in Zhangjiajie).

Tara may have additional feedback. By the way, she had problems using her gmail account for email in all the cities (except for Guangzhou). 

Thanks again for working with us.

—Best, Royee

Date of Experience: November,10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Arifin

Arifin

Indonesia

Reviewed on October 30, 2019

Dear Wonder,

We have concluded our whole trip to China and now we already back home.

Thank you for your arrangements during our trip to Zhangjiajie, it was so helpful and wonderful trip.

Regards, 

Date of Experience: October,28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Lynica

Lynica

Singapore

Reviewed on October 28, 2019

Hi Tracy

I am good. Back in Singapore, safe and sound. Hope everything is well with you too. Please see my feedback below.

"I would like to thank Tracy for arranging this private tour for us. We have very limited time and would like to see as much as Zhangjiajie as we can. We are delighted that you helped us to make it happen. We are able to see key areas of the magnificent park and get enough rest at the cosy hotels, with the help of our personal guide, Kevin and driver. Thank you all for the good job!"

Regards

Date of Experience: October,23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Ilona

Ilona

Reviewed on October 25, 2019

Hello Vivien,

First ...many thanks to my amazing travel consultant Vivien Li. Actually this was my third times joint her arrangements’ tour , she always available to help us during times of trouble and attentive to our demands. I applaud her for her quickness in finding routes and alternative destination. She also are quick to respond & responsibly, if there is a problem or anything that inconvience us as a grouble.

I would like to also say that despite our large group size of 20 people and the majority of them are eldery tourist Vivian aptly provided them with access to convinient wheelchairs as well as arranging the easiest possible routes for the eldery. I commend Vivian for her great job because our group is difficult to manage and she made our trip enjoyable and convinient.

We also like to thank you Moon (Kunming) and Nyama (Shangrila) our tour guides for helping the tour going smoothly and make it less stressful for our tour members. Thank you for the clear and concise explanation of the landmark and famous place of the tours. We also like to thank you to Mr. Deng our driver who take us safely to our destination despite the difficult terrain also his friendly & helpful attitude. 

Finally I would say that this tour is great and beautiful. It worth your every penny to go to Yangtze River cruise, Zhang Jia Jie and also Kunming , Dali , Lijiang & Shangrila.

Date of Experience: October,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Christina

Christina

India

Reviewed on October 13, 2019

CHINA DISCOVERY (CHENGDU CHINA): chinadiscovery.com Highly recommended.

The itinerary ; 16 days private tour in Shanghai Hangzhou Guilin Zhangjiajie Xian Beijing and group tour Yangtze Cruise (13th Sept to 28th September 2019)

If there is one word that best describes the flow of our 16 day long tour to China , the word is SEAMLESS. Our tour operator China discovery (based out of Chengdu China) were simply awesome. Right from the time we landed to the our last day they ensured we were cared for and made all efforts to make the trip memorable. It all started with an email to Leo Li (Representative at China Discovery). I’m sure he practices meditation coz he never lost his cool answering the several questions we had and innumerable changes we made before landing. He replied to my queries even whilst on his personal leave….that’s dedication. He guided me on the dates. We would have landed during golden week and that would have been a challenge with the local holiday crowds. Leo was also empathetic when we lost our perfumes, hairspray and swiss knife to security at the railway station in Xian (bear in mind you cannot have these if you are taking the bullet trains). He arranged to pick the confiscated items from the railway authorities and ship it back to us in Dubai. The level of service is par excellence. Having travelled extensively I can vouch for China discovery for the extra-efforts they put in to make it a great experience.

All tour guides spoke good English (Trust me you need one). I would like to mention KAI (Our guide in Beijing). He is an excellent story teller. Got us hooked to the history of China (Wish I had someone like him teach us in School). Then there were the other guides who gave us enough time as required, never overdoing the information bit. Answering the never ending questions we threw at them.

Our only setback during the trip was missing The forbidden city tour. The site was closed earlier than expected; as preparations were on for the 70th National Day. However we were re-imbursed by the tour operator.

China has something for everyone. We chose the more scene route. Avatar mountains of Zhangjiajie are surreal, the rice terraces of Guilin, the Li river cruise , the lake city of Hangzhou and the Yangtze cruise were all a delight to experience. We insisted on a no-shopping tour.

Food can be a bit of a challenge to a few . Chinese food although popular may be quite different than how its made in a foreign land. If you are a vegetarian , pls specify this to your tour operator to help them guide you.

Hotel rooms were comfortable and locations were perfect. We could wander around the happening streets in every city and enjoy a dinner and a drink whilst taking in the local experiences.

People of China love to take pics with foreigners and its fun to share a smile , a laughter or even a hug with well-meaning individuals. Chinese parents encourage their kids to speak in English. So do indulge in a bit of a chat with the little one’s .

Tips :

When visiting China , ensure you give it at least 2 weeks. It’s a huge country, with every city/town/village offering different experiences.

Keep an eye out for what you cannot carry on train journeys or risk prohibited items getting forfeited.

VPN : Buy it to stay connected.

Have an offline app to translate your language into Mandarin (This is a BIG help)

Do not take offence if the Chinese don’t smile back at you. They are not being rude. It’s just my understanding that they do not know what to make of your smile. They do not understand your intent or it could be that they simply don’t smile often. They are lovely people if you get to know them .

Do not pack in too much for the day. Every location has lots to see, so a lot of walking. Shortlist your choices and finish the day at around 5 or 6 p.m . This way you are ready for the next day.

China will surprise you in ways you weren’t expecting.  This middle kingdom is indeed a sleeping giant as Napoleon Bonaparte rightly put. The country has had a remarkable growth economically. They have adapted to change .The transportation systems are super-efficient , the development in tourism is surprising and all these changes while keeping its traditions and culture alive.

China fascinates.

Date of Experience: September,10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Thomas

Thomas

Australia

Reviewed on October 7, 2019

Hi Wendy,

Thanks. We all got back home safely in one whole piece!.

We are happy to provide, please see our feedback as follow:

I will do the “Trip Advisor” later.

We are happy to provide you our group photo so that you can published into your website:

Please let me know if you need any further information

On behalf of our group, I thank you once again for your dedicated effort so that we have a great holiday in China

  1. How was your tour with us in China?

Overall, our tour was good but hard to choose which part of the tour was the best. Below are our daily tour activities:

Zhangjiajie is our first destination:

On day 1, local guide, Carol was helpful, punctual and spoke English well. Her local knowledge was handy where she took us on the shortcut up to "1-step from Heaven" which saved us a couple of hours walking time. That was our 20km walk day!

On day 2, when we did the “Bailong Elevator”, and “10-li Gallery - 十里畫廊” was probably a bit disappointing cos Carol didn't give us much info on some of the sights or the significance of them (if there was any significance). may be too noisy traveling in the cable car.

On day 3, very handy to have Carol organise for tickets to the evening show for “Mei Li Xiang Xi - 魅力湘西, which was pretty good show can’t miss.

On day 4, This is a 2 days visit to “Fenghuang old town” was good, Carol was able to show us best vantage point to take photos of an old town at night. Carol is also flexible enough to make arrangement for us to visit the “Hibiscus town - 芙蓉镇” on our way back from FengHuang.   

Last day – day 6 in Zhangjiajie, Carol was good in chasing down our outstanding train tickets from Zhangjiajie to Yichang and saw us off at the train station. So, overall, Carol was very good, in our opinion, but probably could have given us a bit more background info and historical significance of the places we visited.

We enjoy the Yangtze river cruise very much. The friendly crew members, the foods and the entertainments are excellent. The state room is roomy and clean. This is exceeded our expectation

Chongqing is our 2nd destination:

On day 1,  a day tour to “Dazu  Grotto - 大足”,  the local guide Alex, he certainly seemed to have more clued up on his subject         re: the Dazu Grotto and the Beishan Rock Carvings. Alex’s English was pretty good.

On day 2, a day tour to visit the “Wulong Karst Scenic Area -武隆 & Furong Cave - 芙蓉洞”was great. It features the rare geological wonder  - three natural karst stone bridges. Both Wulong and the Furong Caves are highly recommended.

Alex did his best to ensure we saw both places.

Guangzhou is our 3rd(last) destination:

Our last day tour is to visit – “Windows of the World”  in Shenzhen. The local guide was Maggie. She spoke the best English. No real requirement for a guide as we were only going to Shenzhen. The miniature park which combines history relics nature wonders and culture together was good. Cos of time restraints, the CBD - shopping centre that we went to was probably really just to kill time, certainly not a lot that we were interested in, but that could just have been us.

Have said that, Maggie did a fantastic job for us. She is doing her best to resolve our transportation issues. She organised a van to pick up us for the airport at 04:45am from our hotel. The van is able to carry 6 of us and 6 large luggage. Maggie, also organised a private car tour for me to visit my hometown in Chongbian, xinhu.  The total price is cheap and the service is great.

Moreover, Maggie did recommend us a fantastic restaurant for us to have dinner at (this is the best meal we have since we arrived China), no one will forget that meal we had at the 1 Michelin star restaurant, nor the “Bor-lor bao - 菠蘿包”Many thanks to Maggie!

  2. Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you?

Yes. We are happy with the services provided. Our travel consultant Wendy Dan is a response person, she communicates with us frequently and make sure our requirements are met. She also contacts us thru email while we are on our journey to ensure we are problem free.  The quotations provided are clear & reasonable, the payment instructions are clear. Having said that, since we have chosen our destinations, I guess so, it was a lot easier for Wendy to make arrangement, provide local guide and van/driver based on  our choose destinations.

Overall, we are happy with the services arranged.  Because it was a lot easier to get to the faraway places with the organised driver and guide, rather than we have to organise it ourselves at the risk of being ripped off, or given a bum steer like that driver in Guangzhou (after getting off the airport shuttle bus) who said that he could take all of us in the one car, with the suitcases, only to find out that he couldn’t do it!    

 3. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services ?

Well done. Only suggestion may be, ensure the local guide has a bit more background information and historical knowledge on the sights that we are visiting.

China Travel Photos

Zhangjiajie

Date of Experience: September,18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Cartha

Cartha

USA

Reviewed on October 6, 2019

Lyn,

We had an incredible experience in China!  Your planning made everything go so smoothly and our guides were so informative and helpful. Please find attached four pictures taken from some of our favorite places.  Take care 

China Travel Photos

Family Tour in China

Date of Experience: September,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Dawn

Dawn

Australia

Reviewed on October 4, 2019

Dear Lyn,

we have now arrived home and I would like to thank you for a truly wonderful trip - we have so many amazing memories to thank you for.
Your help and organisation from beginning to end was excellent - thank you for being so responsive and patient with all my queries - I am amazed the whole trip ran so smoothly, which is a credit to you!

Our personal favourites:

Our favourite hotels were Longsheng Lian Lodge, Yangshuo Tea Cozy, St Regis (Lhasa). Our least favourite hotels were Grand Soluxe hotel (Dunhuan) and Huangshan Xihai hotel.

Our favourite guide was Ms Tu Tu - Zhangjiajie - she was amazing at negotiating long queues and tourist buses. 

We really loved all the amazing locations - Dunhuang was our least favourite - more time in the Mogao Grottoes would have been nice.
Thank you again Lyn for showing us your amazing country.

Date of Experience: September, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Marina Thimios

Marina Thimios

Australia

Reviewed on October 1, 2019

Hi Wendy,

Just letting you know we had an amazing time, the guides were great, the Hotels were beautiful and the restaurants were lovely as well, e had opted to go To Tiananmen mountain , which was certainly the highlight in the mountains, so this tour should be added to your itinerary incuding the largest cable car in the world .

Loved it would highly recommenced using your travel company again, nothing was too hard for any of the drivers or guides.

Regards

Date of Experience: September,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Don and Shirley

Don and Shirley

Australia

Reviewed on September 26, 2019

Good Morning Lily

Thank you for your email on Tuesday.

Yes, we are back safe and sound in our own country after spending a most exciting time in yours.

We wish to make the following acknowledgments:

  • Your contribution to the itinerary and to the attention to detail was flawless. You are the best!
  • The Invitation Letter from Karen Wang was a work of art and I could see by the expression on her face that the China Embassy official was impressed. I had no difficulty with our visas.
  • Every schedule with tour guides and drivers was met and we did not have one anxious moment. We would like to mention in particular the cheerful, non-English speaking driver who took us to the Zhangjiajie airport for the flight back to Shanghai. His service was especially noteworthy. We are very grateful to all our guides and drivers.
  • All the hotels were excellent - better than expected.

Thank you again, personally. Without you, and your excellent service the thing would not have happened.

With our best regards

Don and Shirley.

Sorry Lily I made a little mistake...

That non-English speaking driver who who deserves special mention was the one who drove us from the Bullet Train at Chongquin  to the cruise ship.

He made sure that our bags were secure on board and saw us safely installed on the ship before he said good-bye to us. Top marks to him!.

Best

Date of Experience: September,10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Dzafran Ramlan

Dzafran Ramlan

Malaysia

Reviewed on September 24, 2019

Hi Wonder

I'm back in KL after an amazing and adventurous week in China. Attached are some of our photos from the trip. Regarding the below, please see my feedback

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

  • You have been a great travel consultant, managing our entire trip at quite last minute notice, and arranging last minute add ons like the Fenghuang trip. Really appreciate your hardwork in making all the arrangements and providing fast replies. 

2. How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour?

  • Sarvin was a good guide, very insightful, friendly and helpful. She knew of all the places to go, how to avoid tourist groups, and she was very patient while I was busy taking photos. However, I think she can still improve on her English proficiency, as at times there was difficulty in her understanding me, and me understanding her.

3. Would you like to recommend our company?

 - Definitely would recommend China Discovery for travel arrangements to China. 

Kind regards

 

China Travel Photos

Beautiful Zhangjiajie

Date of Experience: September,10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Rajani

Rajani

USA

Reviewed on September 22, 2019

Dear Lyn

We would like to thank you for arranging such a wonderful tour of China.

We commend you for having taken great pains to arrange such a magnificent tour, by providing all the comforts and needs in a foreign country.

The tour was memorable in quite a few aspects. Sight seeing and the services of the guides were superb.

The accommodation was first class except for the Sheraton in Guilin.

The food was exceptional. We were very much worried about the availability of vegetarian food, but whole group was totally gratified with selection of restaurants by the guides.

Regarding the tour guides we would like to single out three exceptional ones. Yo yo in Beijing, Wady in Xian and Maria in Shanghai. All three were very informative, friendly, fluent in english and took care of all our needs in superb manner. We wish we had an opportunity to meet with you in Chengdu and express our gratitude to you in person for arranging this wonderful tour. We will definitely recommend you and your company to all our friends.

Thanking you

Sincerely 

China Travel Photos

Beijing, Shanghai, Xian, Guilin...

Date of Experience: August,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Rigo

Rigo

Italy

Reviewed on September 7, 2019

Dear Madame Wing,

My friends and I are very happy to have chosen your Tour Operator: your services have been very professional and correct in everything.

In particular your professional skills, your kindness and disponibility in supporting us all long our tour have been really appreciated.

Of course i will give you enthusiastic positive feedbacks. 

We posted on the web few of the thousands photos we took during our journey and we had been contacted by other people interested in our tour so we suggest your Tour operator.

We will use your service again when we will be back in China to explor new part of it!

Suggestions:

In some hotels we didn't found a continental breakfast: it was a problem for us to start the day :)

The last hotel of Zhangjiajie was too far from everything: difficult to go to the center ( taxi drivers didn't understand english) nothing nice all around ( just the park): i suggest you to let your hosts remain in Emperor 's Hotel ( even if it's not a very nice hotel) as in few minute by walk you can reach shops and bars especially in the evening.

I suggest you to book the glass bridge for the tourists that are interested in it because we wanted but our guide told us that was impossible to have tickets.

If you need more please just ask me.

Thank you for your services and all the attentions you had for us!

Best regards

Date of Experience: September, 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Brian

Brian

USA

Reviewed on September 5, 2019

Hi Lyn, 

The trip was great. I had an amazing time. I really enjoyed the food and the beautiful scenery. All of the guides were friendly and knowledgeable. You did a great job organizing the tour. I hope to go back to China again soon. Maybe next year. I am attaching some photos from the trip.

China Travel Photos

Mountains, Rivers,and Cities of China

Date of Experience: August,26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Dee Ann Aydelott

Dee Ann Aydelott

USA

Reviewed on August 28, 2019

Hi Wonder,

The trip was excellent.  Guides were both great and especially Ann.  Drivers were always prompt and courteous.  I absolutely see no areas for improvement.  Everyone should experience Zhangjiajie’s natural wonders.

I’m sending you pictures.  Feel free to use anything I send you.

China Travel Photos

Amazing Zhangjiajie

Date of Experience: August,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Govaere Fabienne

Govaere Fabienne

Belgium

Reviewed on August 27, 2019

Dear Cathérine,

Thank you for your help during our stay in China.

We loved our trip to china.

We especially loved the guide Tutu in Zhangjiajie.

Best regards,

Date of Experience: January, 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Steve

Steve

Australia

Reviewed on August 16, 2019

Ok, perfect, thanks Vivien.

We will try and get laundry done in Chengdu I think.

Trip has been great so far. Angelina was a great guide. Zhangjiajie was amazing and a perfect start to our trip. 

We are just at the airport now waiting for flight to Chengdu. Looking forward to seeing some pandas.

Date of Experience: August, 5, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Cathy

Cathy

USA

Reviewed on August 8, 2019

Hello Zoe,

I’m sorry it took me so long to reply to you. We really appreciated your help in arranging our trip with such short notice. Usually when we travel we don’t use a travel agent and we spend many weeks planning. Because China is so large and we had only 10 days including flights we needed help in making decisions and you provided that. We had very good guides which made getting around easy. It would have been difficult to figure out getting around the airports and train stations by ourselves. The guides’ English ranged from good to excellent. We especially loved Carol in Zhangjiajie. She was fun and recommended really good restaurants! Johnny took us to a museum in Xian that was not on our itinerary and we enjoyed that. He also recommended a new market with many food vendors that was very fun to go for dinner in Xian. Our favorite places were Zhangjiajie, the Terra-cotta Warriors and the Great Wall. Our least favorite were the Jade Factory and the tea house. We felt they was some pressure to buy things and that is not something that interests us. We liked our hotels and their locations. We were able to walk to interesting places for dinner, especially the Hutong near our hotel in Beijing.

Zoe, you did a very good job for us. You always responded to my emails quickly, answered all my questions and gave us good advice. I think we must have kept you very busy. And you seem very friendly! I enjoyed working with you and I will write a review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you so much,

Date of Experience: July, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zoe
Patricia

Patricia

Netherlands

Reviewed on August 5, 2019

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for your email.  We arrived back in the Netherlands last week, immediately back to work so quite busy. Need another holidays.  :-)

Kindly find our reply to your questions below.

I have given our review on Tripadvisor and will recommend your company to our friends and family.

To give you some feedback on the hotels we stayed in this trip:

- Novotel Peace Beijing - Great location, very comfortable with connecting rooms, great service, great choices for breakfast, acceptable good quality

- Novotel SCPG Xian - Great location, very comfortable with connecting rooms, great service, great choices for breakfast, acceptable good quality

- Somerset Chongqing - Location ok, very comfortable, great service (change our room promptly due to broken aircon), limited choices for breakfast, acceptable ok quality

- Santo Domingo Wulingyuan - Great location, very comfortable, limited choices for breakfast, quality is not good at all.

- Sunrise on the Bund Shanghai - Location can be better, very comfortable but no connecting rooms, great choices for breakfast and acceptable good quality

Hope the above helps.

Thank you again for the great service and memorable trip.

Best regards

Date of Experience: July,14, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Carol and Russell

Carol and Russell

USA

Reviewed on August 4, 2019

Hi Wendy,

I posted a review of our time in China on tripadvisor.com. It’s titled “Zhangjiajie—Better than Avatar” if you want to read it. 

Thank you for all you did to make our time in China so wonderful. Everything was so perfectly organized, we were free to just enjoy ourselves. We met interesting people, made some new friends, and ate some interesting food. Eating salamander dumplings was a new experience for us, and so was jellyfish. These were unforgettable experiences for us. If we know people who want to travel to China, we will surely send them to you.

Best regards,

Date of Experience: August,28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Sarala

Sarala

India

Reviewed on July 21, 2019

Hi Mike

Good evening

I am Sarala from Chennai, India

I am one of 3 visitors from India who visited China tour recently. It was wonderful experience visiting these places. After the whole trip I felt we could have skipped Nanjing and suzou.

Lee from Zhangjiajie and Jessy from Kunming are the best guide come translator during our trip.

On the whole the trip was wonderful and will look to see rest of china in future. Thank you.

Best regards

Date of Experience: July, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mike
Stevo

Stevo

New Zealand

Reviewed on July 5, 2019

Hi Vivi.

Thanks for all of your help during our cruise it was very enjoyable and the crew were amazing

We are now on the train to Zhangjiajie. The driver was great

Thanks again for all of your help you have made it very easy for us:)

Date of Experience: July, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Alan

Alan

USA

Reviewed on June 22, 2019

My review:

We just returned from our second trip to China, both organized by Rita Jiang from China Discovery.

In 2016, I opted to visit Xi'an (Terracotta Warriors) and Chonqing, before getting on a Yangtze River cruise. I found Rita's name on some internet reviews and got in touch with her. I was a bit apprehensive, having never done business with a China-based travel consultant, but my fear turned out to be completely unwarranted. Rita and China Discovery exceeded my expectations by providing excellent, knowledgeable English-speaking tour guides that took care of all of our needs - transportation, lodging, some meals, and of course, the tours. Zero stress, everything was arranged and in place upon our arrival, thanks to Rita's efforts.

This year, we decided to visit Zhangjiajie, and I immediately went through my e-mails to find Rita's contact information. Once again, she did not disappoint me. We had a very tight schedule, but Rita was able to build a flexible itinerary that allowed us to see all the amazing sites we wished to see, in the all too short time we were in Zhangjiajie. Our tour guide, Carrie, was simply the best. She was prompt, professional, knew her way around the National Park, and most importantly, she had a great attitude. She was able to lead us though about 6-10 miles of hiking each day, and skillfully kept us away from the noisy tour groups that invade the area. Again, zero stress, everything was perfectly arranged.

As you can see from the other reviews, China Discovery, is a class operation. Rita's customer service was distinguished and made both trips very easy and pleasurable.

For those considering a visit to China, be aware that there can be some unforeseen challenges (an understatement). Utilizing professional tour consultants such as Rita, and China Discovery, is a very well worthwhile investment.

Our thanks to Rita, China Discovery, and Carrie for providing us with an experience to cherish for the rest of our lives.

Date of Experience: June,18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Alan

Alan

USA

Reviewed on June 15, 2019

Hi Rita, 

Did not know if you were working over the weekend, so I was going to wait until Monday to write. 

I’ll write more and send pictures when we I get back to the US later in the week.

I did want to tell you that everything was excellent and except for one minor problem at the Pullman hotel (which was quickly fixed), everything was perfect. Our tour guide, Carrie, was amazing. She was professional, knowledgeable, energetic, and she had a great attitude. 

Will write more later....

Alan

Hi Rita, I’m on the plane back home now. I will write about our trip on trip advisor, but also tell my friends from the outdoor hiking group to which I belong. You made things so easy for us. I had told my girlfriend that I had worked with you in the past, and she was skeptical (look up this word). We were both very, very pleased with how things worked out. I will send you a copy of what I write, I think Zhangjiajie will because me a major destination for American tourists in the future. Also, while in Beijing, we went to Jinshaling to see the Great Wall. Much better than mutainyu or badaling. I think that will become very popular in coming years.

Will write more once I’m home and have caught up on work. 

Thanks for being Rita!

Date of Experience: June,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
Luis

Luis

Mexico

Reviewed on June 14, 2019

Hi Tracy,
The trip was incredible! I will definitely recommend China Discovery for traveling adventures in China.
Here are our guide rankings in order.
1. Dolma - Lhasa

2. Judy - Zhangjiajie

3. April - Shanghai

4. Kelly - Xi'an

5. Randy - Beijing

Thanks again for your help during this adventure, greatly appreciated, Tracy! 

Best regards,

Date of Experience: May,26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Yannick Maes

Yannick Maes

Reviewed on June 13, 2019

Hi Wonder,

Sorry for the late reply.

The tour was very good, sadly the weather gods were against us.

As for our trip to Xian, we were very satisfied with the arrangements made for us as well as the tour guide. We particularly appreciated the fact that we could deviate from the planned schedule to accommodate the tour due to the bad weather conditions.

Attached a picture of us three, feel free to put it on your website.

I am reaching out to you because we are potentially planning a week-end trip in July to Guilin.

Note that the flights have not yet been booked. So we could return on a later flight if needed.

Please provide us with a fee quote for 4 Persons in 4 and 5 star hotels.

We would like to do Longji Rice Terrace Hiking as well enjoy the Lush Guilin Li River Scenery.

Many thanks in advance for your reply.

Best regards

China Travel Photos

The Three of us Having a Cruise Tour

Date of Experience: May,27, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Devraj

Devraj

India

Reviewed on June 3, 2019

Hi Zoe,

Yes my Zhangjiajie trip is over. Had a wonderful time. David, my guide, was just wonderful. At present I am in Beijing waiting for my return flight.

Sure you can put my feedback & photos in ur website. Send me a link I will do it.

Anyway thanks for all the arrangements.

Date of Experience: June, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zoe
Marleen Neyens

Marleen Neyens

Belgium

Reviewed on May 31, 2019

Hello Rita,

It took some time to answer, because i had a problem with my computer.

I much enjoyed the time in Zhangjiajie, the park was amazing, tiamen mountain, glassbridge…

Although for me it was a bit short, because of the problems with the flights.

And i know this is not your fault, but because of that i found the tour quiet expensive after everything.

The hotel in the city i stayed in was not ok. Poor hygiene, and the breakfast was horrible, so i don’t know what they charge,

but this is definitely not how it should be for a 3.5 star hotel.

For the rest Wendy was a very good guide, nice transport and good service.

Just a pity i also had some trouble getting home, therefore i ended the trip a bit with negative thoughts about China.

But this has nothing to do with China discovery.

I will recommend your services to other people, but please make a complaint to the hotel,

My standerds are less than other foreigners, so if in the future , you put people there to sleep, you will have more complaints,

i’m sure.

My photos are not yet on my computer, so sorry for that, but Wendy also took some, so maybe she can give you.

Best regards,

Date of Experience: May,26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Jenny

Jenny

Canada

Reviewed on May 30, 2019

Hi Vivien,

The trip to China was amazing!  We all had a great time and my kids still talk about it daily and say they wish they were back in China. The tours went perfectly as planned, tour guides were waiting for us as promised at each airport / train station and each morning before each days activities.  The drivers were reliable and courteous.  

The Zhangjiajie portion of the tour was a favorite. I don't think we could have navigated that area on our own without China Discovery.  Our tour guide, Lily, was wonderful and my 6 year old son really enjoyed her.  In fact, they held hands during many of long hikes.  The driver was great as well as my other son was sick one day and the driver had no problem driving him and his father back to the hotel (half hour away) after lunch, while the rest of us enjoyed the afternoon's activities.

We enjoyed the Terra Cotta Warriors in Xian. Tour guide Waldner was very knowledgeable with perfect English.  

In Beijing, the highlight was definitely the Great Wall.  We choose to go in the afternoon as tour guide Eric gave us the option and said the afternoon would be less busy. He was absolutely correct and we felt like we had the Wall all to ourselves as to our surprise and delight there was hardly anyone there.  Eric was funny, knowledgeable and accommodating.

Thank you Vivien for arranging the tour for us. I appreciate all your help and prompt replies. It was such an easy process to book the tour.  Once I get some of the pictures from my family, I will send some your way.

Date of Experience: May,19, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Joel

Joel

Reviewed on May 29, 2019

OK perfect Vivien,

Please see attached some of the best pictures we took during the tour,

also I have already posted the review on Trip advisor.

Best regards

 

China Travel Photos

Great Wall, Tian'anmen Square, and Forbidden City

China Travel Photos

Travelling Shanghai, Xi'an, and Zhangjiajie

Date of Experience: May,26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Ronit and Josef Cohen

Ronit and Josef Cohen

Israel

Reviewed on May 22, 2019

Livia,

The company China Discovery provided us two professional tour guides for Zhangjiajie and Guilin.

They had good English and knowledge.

They always tried to satisfy our requests.

The places we visit were amazing.

We send many pictures to our friend through the Face book. We got a lot of wwooww's

You ,Livia, were always available for us and immediately solved all our questions and requests .

Big thank you for your devotion.

We will recommend your Company to our friends.

Best regards

 

China Travel Photos

Li River, Reed Flute Cave, and Zhangjiajie

Date of Experience: May,13, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Livia

See all reviews from our guests See all reviews on Tripadvisor



Amazing Travel Stories from Our Customers

Our dear customers have shared many travel stories, feelings and stunning pictures after finishing their trips with us. They are glad to share everything with you and you are warmly welcomed to read their photo stories. Or, you can click 2012-2020 Customer Travel Stories" for more stuning stories. Get inspired now!

  • Couple’s 69 Days Private China Journey
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - Datong - Pingyao - Luoyang - Xian - Jiayuguan ... Chengdu - Yangtze - Zhangjiajie - Yunnan - Guilin... Hangzhou - Shanghai
  • 15 Days Shandong China Tour
    Family Trip to Achieve Elder Father’s Root Seeking Dream

    The touching story of Cindy's family China trip to find their hometown and help her elder father find the roots in Shandong with great visits to Zhangjiajie, Hangzhou, Huangshan and Beijing.

    • Cindy (USA)
    • (15 Days) 2019.06.19~2019.07.03
    • Jinan - Taishan - Qufu - Chengwu - Qufu - Huangshan - Hangzhou - Zhangjiajie - Beijing
  • 15 Days Southern China Family Trip
    Happy Family Immersed in Southern China Landscape

    Sommer family spent 15 relaxing days exploring the mountains and rivers in Southern China. From Zhujiajiao Water Town in Shanghai, to amazing Zhangjiajie, picturesque Guilin, and leisure Chengdu, they all enjoyed their trip.

    • Sommer Family (India)
    • (15 Days) 2018.03.24~2018.04.07
    • Shanghai - Zhangjiajie - Changsha - Guilin - Yangshuo - Longji - Guilin - Chengdu