Lee

Lee

Australia

Reviewed on December 28, 2019

Hello Riley

I have just submitted a review to trip advisor.

Here is a bit more information than I posted in the review.

Firstly, I want to thank you for your assistance and perseverance in organising our trip. We appreciate your listening to what we wanted and fitting in our requests as best you could. As a result the holiday was fabulous and included things we like to see and do and didn’t include the ‘normal’ mass tourist things.

Your guides are excellent. We appreciated all guides, but we would especially like to mention Zhouma (Lhasa), Jessie (Kunming) and Tutu (Zhangjiajie), they have a wealth of knowledge which they are able to impart in an enthusiastic manner, and they are also very very helpful. Zhouma and Jessie’s assistance with firstly my Ipad and then my clay colours was exceptional and truly appreciated.

We had many highlights along the way but if I have to name a few I would say Muslim Street in Xian (I had previously been to the Terracotta Warriors, so it was a repeat trip – though still amazing), the Potala Palace and walking the circle around the Jokhang Temple in Lhasa, Green Lake Park in Kunming, the Impression show in Yangshou, just about all the mountain activities in Zhangjiajie.

We will certainly be recommending you and China Discovery to anyone who is interested in travelling to China.

Regards

Lee

Date of Experience: December, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Teresa

Teresa

USA

Reviewed on December 03, 2019

Johnson,

Just wanted to let you know that we arrived home, safe and sound and to let you know what a Fantastic time we had in Chengdu, Chongqing and Tibet.

Everything went perfect, we are so impressed with you, your company and the 3 guides and drivers that we had.

All our requests and questions over the months of planning the trip were answered promptly. We couldn’t be more pleased with the service we received from you and the quick help received in a Tibet when we had to make a last minute change. My husband and I were disappointed that we were not able to make the trip to EBC, but you made the extended stay in Lhasa easy. My husband is still fighting his cold, but the rest and walking around the 4 days in Lhasa helped him to start recovering.

Our guide in Chengdu made our day at the Panda Research Center and cooking experience a day we will always remember.

Our guide in Tibet was Fantastic, he was very interesting and fun and easy to be with for the week, we enjoyed our visit to Tibet very much.

Our our short time in Chongqing was wonderful and we appreciated the last minute tour that we booked our last afternoon and evening.

All the guides and drivers were very helpful and were where and when they said they would be at all times which made all the train stations and airport experiences easy.

We would definitely use you and your company again if we ever get the opportunity to return to China.

Thanks again for all your help and making this a very memorable trip for the 4 of us.

Date of Experience: November,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Steve

Steve

USA

Reviewed on November 1, 2019

Superlative team and organization

Review of China Discovery

Our group of 7 toured 3 weeks across China from Shanghai to Tibet. It was to be the trip of a lifetime, and it was. In my due process to search for the best itinerary and TA for us, I found Leo Li of China Discovery. Compared to other top in-China TAs, CD and Leo Li gave me everything I wanted including the best price for the desired itinerary. None of us were strangers to China. I was born there and had been there 5 times since, while the others had toured the capital cities but never the remote regions of Hunan, Sichuan, Yunnan, and Tibet.

We were always prompted met with a guide as soon as we left the airport security area; we were transported in clean mini-vans with plenty of bottled water. It was always door-to-door everytime. We would be dropped off at one end and after the tour, the mini-van would be waiting for us at the other end -- no backtracking. Nothing was ever stolen or missing in the secured vans. The many guides we met were always courteous and spoke varying degrees of fluency but always well-informed. One even held my wife's hand as she walked slowly on icy pathways in Huanglong National Park.

Their pricing was reasonable -- better than if I booked myself. We stayed in not only elegant country inns, but also at Pullman, Sofitel, Shangri-la, and Grand Hyatt.

I have nothing but praise for Leo and his team. He is easily accessible 24/7. That is really necessary in China. His English is flawless, his personality infectious. We met him in Chengdu. Ask for Leo Li.

Date of experience: October 2019

Date of Experience: October,15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Leo
Antonella Massera

Antonella Massera

Italy

Reviewed on October 29, 2019

Hi Jack,

I’m sorry for answering just now! 

Yes the trip was great. Lhasa is a so magical place with so many devoted people. It is stunning! 

Everest base camp was really spartan but it worths to see this giant mountain from so close.  

The bus trip was also ok, except my previous idea to go to Kathmandu I think it is the best because you avoid doing the same road back and forth. 

Anyway everything was very good and the group too. 

Thank you for organizing everything.

All the best.

Date of Experience: October,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Nadine S. Koobatian

Nadine S. Koobatian

USA

Reviewed on October 11, 2019

Hi again,

This is my review.  

NadineTravelCoord

Exceptional experience for architecture students in Tibet!

Review of China Discovery

Pending review

As the travel coordinator for a graduate school at a major US university, I work with travel industry professional daily. I can honestly say that the service provided by Riley Guo and Tibet Discovery was the best I have ever encountered. From the moment we decided to reserve a tour for a group of our graduate students and faculty until the day the group returned, Riley Guo was exceptional. We had less than thirty days to organize passports to China, travel permits to Tibet and the trip itself. Many experienced travel professionals told me that it would be impossible to organize a group to travel to Tibet in that short time period. Well, they haven't met Riley or worked with China Discovery. Because we did it! And our group had an unbelievable time.

Riley was involved every step of the way. She advised us on visa requirements, the flights, tour details, how to prepare the students for what they would encounter in Tibet. Every e-mail I sent to her (and I probably e-mailed her daily for the entire month of planning) was promptly answered and every question answered. She was the model of efficiency and a treasure-trove of knowledge. We never could have organized this trip without her. She even provided the faculty traveling with the students with her personal cell phone number because she was going to be away on holiday during the time the group was in China/Tibet and urged them to contact her during her own vacation if they needed assistance during the trip. Honestly, where else can you find that level of service??

The students and faculty had a remarkable visit. They saw sights that will stay with them forever. The hotels were perfect. The food was great. The tour guides instructive and knowledgeable. The travel plan went without a hitch. Everything promised was provided and then some. Our group was traveling for educational purposes (they are architecture students) and not simply on a tour and the tour guide made every effort to create a program that would meet the educational goals of the trip and highlight areas that would be of interest to our students.

I can't praise China Discovery or Riley enough. I will definitely use them again for future trips. I wish all tour companies operated like this company. Everything was perfect! Thank you China Discovery!

Date of experience: October 2019

Date of Experience: September,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Students
Tour Customized by: Riley
Leslie

Leslie

USA

Reviewed on October 4, 2019

Hi Leo,

Apologies for my delayed response. My family and I greatly appreciated the beautiful gifts that you had sent us. We also greatly enjoyed our experience with the Tibet tour. My feedback is overwhelmingly positive! Thank you also for accommodating my family's request for the additional hotel room. It was decided on the trip that it would have been best to have three rooms instead of two. The hotel in Lhasa had wonderful accommodations as did the hotel in Shigatse, though our first night in Shigatse had rooms that seemed a bit outdated. However, it was still very comfortable. I also appreciated the experience at the Rongbuk Guest House because it was such a unique experience. Most of us could not sleep at the Rongbuk Guest House but that was due to the high elevation and not because of the room. 

The tour guide and driver kept us on schedule and our tour guide shared very good information. We all felt it was very thorough and informative beyond what we could have learned on our own. He was also transparent with adjusting the schedule and I thought that was a very good adjustment. It was probably better to do the longer sightseeing drive (11 hours) going back to Lhasa from Shigatse rather than what was originally on the itinerary. By then, we had been more acclimated with the altitude so we were less tired and able to enjoy the sights more. I think that was a very good change. He was also great with helping us navigate through all the monasteries and palaces, even with the large number of other tour groups.

My mother did have some feedback regarding some of the bathrooms along the way from Shigatse to Lhasa as well as the bathroom at the Rongbuk Guest House. However, I did share with her that we were informed in advance about the more rugged conditions. She wanted me to share this with you, but everyone else in my group had no issue with the bathrooms as we understand that there are certain areas in Tibet that are far less developed. 

Thank you again for your hospitality. I have also shared my positive feedback with my Uncle Stephen who will be in China with your company later this month. I do plan to return to China and possibly visit a different area in the future and will reach out to your company when the time comes.

Date of Experience: September,15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Harri

Harri

Australia

Reviewed on September 24, 2019

Hi Leo,

Just to say that all went well in Tibet,Lily did a fantastic job and also my guide in Lhasa,that Potala palace is unreal, and the other sights also unique, was a real rewarding trip one I've been looking forward to for a long time. I'm over the moon for having had the chance to visit there. Thanks to you,and your company. All the best, was a pleasure.

Regards

Date of Experience: September, 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Kate

Kate

UK

Reviewed on September 17, 2019

Hi Jack 

I was going to email you when I got home to say thank you very much - it was a very good trip and with hindsight my only regret is not doing a longer trip to include mount kailsdh and possibly lake namtso. 

They changed the itinerary so I left for Everest a day early and I think the original plan would have been better with on more day to acclimatise, but luckily I was ok and we were lucky with the weather - we saw the top of Everest at night and the bottom of Everest in the morning. 

So I would very much recommend the trip to anyone. The guides were nice and everything worked perfectly.

Thank you very much for all your help. I will look at the chengdu bamboo site when I get home to see what else you offer - I still have about 4 or 5 further Chinese itineraries to work out. 

Date of Experience: September, 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Alfonso & friends

Alfonso & friends

Italy

Reviewed on September 4, 2019

Dear Mr.Leo Li'

Please find below some comments regarding our experience in Tibet-Nepal.

All the guides, in Chengdu (Mrs. Gila), Tibet (Mr. Po Ta) and Nepal (Mr. Bishnu) provided us an excellent service, they were very informative, forbearing and helpful about every matter along our stay (check in/out in the hotels, tickets for the attractions, rides, queues etc etc), also the drivers were very skilled and safe in driving us to the many visited spots.

The vehicles were in good condition of maintenance, we always found bottles of water on board for us (provided by the assistant driver)

The daily organization of the visits in China and Nepal was mostly done in the perfect timing, respecting the schedule (some more consideration about Nepal will follow)

The included lunches and dinners, were very welcome. 

Almost all the hotels were very good, high standard, comfortable, clean and the their staff very helpful.  

The only exception was the hotel in Gyirong, of very low level (one star ? maybe less) and very old. 

Furthermore the morning after we slept there, we found out that there was no water in the bathroom and it was really a bad situation for us and at our request to do something the staff was not helpful at all. 

It seems that the missing of water in that hotel (maybe in all the city) is recurrent , but in this case would have been very simply to provide some spare water in the rooms.

A note about the "road" on the border from China to Nepal.... from the information provided in the program/itinerary we supposed to find a bumpy and muddy one ....but in reality it was much worst than that, the journey by car was stressful, very long and extremely dangerous (no guardrail at all and the overhanging on the river in the valley !!!).

The drivers were very skilled and they drove in the safest possible way, but at end for the time needed to get in Kathmandu would have been better to return from the Everest Camp Base to Lhasa and take a flight.

The itinerary in Nepal should be balanced a bit better considering the huge time needed for the transfers, of course not because of the schedules provided by the guide or the driver but because of the incredible traffic jam and the very poor conditions of the "roads", for example both Patan and Bhaktapur visits would have been deserved more time. 

Same consideration for the time needed to go and to come back to Nagarkot, where, beyond that, the view is also too variable because of the weather. 

In Chitwan park, the possible options to chose from, should have been provided (and booked) before (as we requested many times by email)  because not everyone can enjoy what scheduled by default.

Some of the group didn't like to ride the elephant because this causes him/her pain, and for the same very poor conditions in which the animals were kept (chained and with no space), they didn't like the "elephant breeding center".

To conclude, the suggestion is to include in the itinerary/program all the possible information and details (even the sensitive ones, as  the mentioned bad treatment of the animals), so that the clients have the right to decide what to see and what to skip.

Dear Mr.Leo Li, hope what above gives you a better feedback about the great adventure we lived thanks to your agency services.  

And please share our special thank also to the representatives of the local nepalese agency, they were very welcoming and helpful.

We'll be happy to be back to you, with further details in future if requested

Best regards

Date of Experience: August,12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Leo
Alex & Cindy

Alex & Cindy

South Africa

Reviewed on August 20, 2019

Hi Vivien,

We’ve boarded our train to Xining, but it was delayed for almost an hour. We departed at 14:15. We thought our guide Nancy in Xining May need to know.

We’ve had a great time so far- thank you so much for organising this trip!

Date of Experience: August,20, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Adam

Adam

Denmark

Reviewed on August 15, 2019

Hello Tracy,

I am looking back to an amazing holiday in Tibet. You are a big reason of that holiday for me. I appreciate your work and help very much.

Date of Experience: August, 2, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Yvette Nissen

Yvette Nissen

USA

Reviewed on June 20, 2019

Greetings,

The trip was everything we asked for. The hotels were centerally located and we had no problem navigating thru the city to eat and shop.

 The guides were more than helpful. They all gave us their cell numbers for if we needed assistance whether we were on their tour or not. Each guide (particularly Lob Song in Tibet) were so kind, understanding and helpful with my husband's disability and my breathlessness at the high altitude.

The trip went flawlessly. Never were we left to fend for ourselves and in fact the driver who took us to the airport in Xian walked us all the way to security and made sure we had no problems getting thru on the way to Tibet. (this was a great help as my luggage was overweight and the airport agent spoke no English)

The tours were comprehensive and the guides spoke very good English and gave us great suggestions. The restaurants picked for our meals were more than satisfactory. (Great Food, even the ones around the hotels)

The hotels were quite comfortable and had nice cafes and restaurants either in them or just a few steps away.

The ShamBala had a nice little café next door that displayed art by a Tibet artist names Zhon Hua. I have been trying to find her at work for sale on the internet, but have been unable.

 Perhaps you have a lead on this? EXAMPLE

She paints young some young Tibet children (one called Monk Boy) that I like very much

You did a great job arranging the tour it was all we asked.

My sincere thanks

Date of Experience: June, 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
Susan

Susan

Reviewed on June 11, 2019

Hi Catherine:

This is Susan Lee. Thank you for organizing my trip to China (Chengdu, Tibet and Xi'an). I was in China in 1987 but did not visit these cities but in general I see such so much modernization. I had a great time. Attached are the evaluations for each of the cities. Would you kindly send the evaluations to the local agencies in Tibet and Xi'an. Under separate cover, I will send some photographs of pandas. Once again, thank you preparing the itinerary. Best regards.

China Travel Photos

Happy Panda Eating Bamboo

China Travel Photos

Tired Pandas Resting

Date of Experience: June, 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Sang

Sang

Korea

Reviewed on June 4, 2019

Dear Zoe,

Thanks for your information.

Our days in Lhasa were very good. Only one downside is that we were not able to see sky full of stars because of not so good weather.

Thank you very much for your assistance.

Best regards,

Date of Experience: June, 2, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zoe
Trevor Cornforth

Trevor Cornforth

UK

Reviewed on May 14, 2019

Hi Ashley,

I am sorry for the delayed reply but I am more than happy to answer your questions.

1. Our travel consultant Ashley, was extremely helpful, patient as I changed my requirements and prompt in all communications.

2. All of the guides and transport arrangements were first class. I have travelled extensively in China and found all of the arrangements to be excellent. The hotels chosen were simple but to a very good clean standard and extremely well placed.

3.I would certainly use the services of Tibet Travel again and recommend them highly.

I am happy for you to use these comments if they are helpful and will try to send you some pictures separately. This was my 61st visit to China so as you can imagine i have experienced various levels of service over the years. If you Google me you will find various references to me and China!!! 

Thank you again Ashley I look forward to seeking your help again,

Kindest regards,

Date of Experience: May, 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Ashley

See all reviews from our guests See all reviews on Tripadvisor



Amazing Travel Stories from Our Customers

Our dear customers have shared many travel stories, feelings and stunning pictures after finishing their trips with us. They are glad to share everything with you and you are warmly welcomed to read their photo stories. Or, you can click 2012-2020 Customer Travel Stories" for more stuning stories. Get inspired now!

  • Couple’s 69 Days Private China Journey
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - Datong - Pingyao - Luoyang - Xian - Jiayuguan ... Chengdu - Yangtze - Zhangjiajie - Yunnan - Guilin... Hangzhou - Shanghai
  • 14 Days China Taoism & Buddhism Trip
    Culture Fan’s Seeking - Taoism vs. Tibetan Buddhism

    We received an inquiry from Mr. Ronald last year. Since Ron is very interested in Chinese Taoism and the EBC, I made an itinerary of 14 days suitable for his interests and needs to Wudangshan and Mt. Everest with Chengdu to egnite his China Trip from Beijing!

    • Mr.Ronald (USA)
    • (14 Days) 2017.11.01~2017.11.14
    • Beijing - Wudangshan - Chengdu - Tibet - Beijing
  • 12-Day Tibet Adventure to Meet the Everest
    Travel Alone: 12-Day Tibet Adventure to Meet the Everest

    Anthony reached the top of the world and visited several famous Tibetan monasteries in his Tibet trip. It was an amazing experience, not only for the unparalleled scenery but also for the total different lifestyle of the local people.

    • Anthony (USA)
    • (12 Days) 2019.12.13~2019.12.24
    • Lhasa - Gyantse - Shigatse - Tingri - the Everest - Shigatse - Lhasa