Kerstin M.

Kerstin M.

Germany

Reviewed on September 30, 2021

Dear Wonder,

We have enjoyed the time, thank you for the good organization. The hotels has been very good, the ship excellent. If there has been a problem, you and the guides found a good solution. My favorite impressions: the pandas, the night view from the ship to Chongqing, the view from the hill down to Chongqing.

Kerstin M.

Date of Experience: September 18, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Jennifer

Jennifer

USA

Reviewed on July 25, 2021

Hi Tracy,

I thought it was great. I would like to do more though and there were lots of waiting moments.

Yeah that's fine. I'm just letting you know why I thought haha.

Jennifer

Date of Experience: July 23, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Suresh

Suresh

India

Reviewed on July 11, 2021

Thanks for all your help for our group holiday. We will be using this group for our group communication.

Date of Experience: June 19, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Rita
Lindsay

Lindsay

UK

Reviewed on July 11, 2021

Hi Riley

Thanks again for your help with booking our trip to Chengdu, we had a lovely time!

Everything was very well organised. The airport transfers and drivers for the rest of the weekend were always punctual and helpful. 

The hotel was comfortable and although not super modern, the room was plenty big enough and catered for our needs. The kitchen was also useful. Breakfast at the hotel was good with enough choice and staff were quite helpful. The location of the hotel worked pretty well for us too.

Our tour guide Jane was lovely. She was very patient and helpful with our two young daughters, particularly the older one who asked her lots of questions! She was helpful in buying our tickets and ensuring that we were able to navigate the city and its sights. 

All in all we had a very good trip and would recommend China Discovery to others.

Thanks and hope this helps

Lindsay

Date of Experience: July 2, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Harald

Harald

Germany

Reviewed on July 1, 2021

Dear Rita, thanks for your update. The driver will do the transportation from the airport to the hotel and the hotel to the airport again. Am I correct? Today was a beautiful day in Jiuzhaigou. I hope that tomorrow we will have one more time luck with the weather.

Date of Experience: June 27, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Lora

Lora

UK

Reviewed on June 19, 2021

Hi Rita,

Thank you for the wonderful gift! We had a great day! Ellen was fantastic!!!

Date of Experience: June 19, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
Lily

Lily

USA

Reviewed on June 12, 2021

Hi Rita,

I just want to say that we had an amazing trip and will recommend you and your team to anyone who asks!!!

Date of Experience: June 11, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
Wendy

Wendy

USA

Reviewed on April 21, 2021

Vivien,

We have arrived in Sanya and are on the way to our resort.  Thank you for arranging the very helpful guide and driver this morning. They were professional and prompt.  

Do you have a feedback form that I should complete or would you like me to write something in my own words?

I must tell you, the cruise was amazing!  I have never felt so much like a queen as I did on the cruise.  The staff was unbelievable, the accommodations were excellent by my western-standards, and the activities were splendid! Nobody wanted to leave the cruise!!  

The two boys enjoyed the unlimited “mocktails” drink package and flying kites on the sundeck.  The two girls enjoyed the “mocktails” and the variety of relaxing spaces on the ship.  Sometimes they wanted to relax in the Executive Lounge, sometimes they wanted to do karaoke.  It was wonderful that the children had easy access to any place in board that they might have an interest.

As you know, we already recommended you to my friend Sylbeth. We will continue to recommend your services.  If we have time for one more vacation before leaving China, we will definitely arrange it through you.

Thank you,

Wendy

Date of Experience: April 6, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Dariusz

Dariusz

Poland

Reviewed on May 8, 2021

Hello Ms Wong,

Thank you for support and good guide

Im now at airport.

Greatings

Date of Experience: May 6, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Maria

Maria

Germany

Reviewed on May 3, 2021

Hi Rita.

Sure! I am glad to do so! We want to recommend you further

All the best!

Cheers.

Maria.

Date of Experience: April 30, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Ashton

Ashton

South Africa

Reviewed on April 19, 2021

Hello Rita 

I'm doing well! How are you?  Just cleaning my house now .

I can't thank you enough for everything! I really had an amazing holiday and I appreciate all the extra efforts you helped me with. I felt like a superstar sometimes .

I'm so excited for Patra as she will get to experience a vacation where she can to do minimal because everything is taken care of.

Thank you for the kind gesture I appreciate it! The lunch was definitely delicious and it was good to get to know Sandy and Mr. Li. during both lunches.

Date of Experience: April 7, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Rita
Andy

Andy

UK

Reviewed on April 15, 2021

Thank you so much for a wonderful trip Wonder.

Alex was fantastic!!!

Date of Experience: April 4, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Justin

Justin

USA

Reviewed on April 12, 2021

Hi Vivien,

Wonderful! Sandy is a great guide. It's been a real pleasure.

We've just returned from our Chengdu-Xi'an trip. Thank you for such a wonderful tour.  

We are already looking toward our next trip.  We'd like to travel to Beijing from April 30 - May 3.  

We really like the "4 Days Beijing Family Tour with Kids Fun" itinerary, with some changes - Like removing the Beijing zoo and hutongs on the fourth day and instead moving Temple of Heaven to that day.  

Can we work on this trip with you, or should we request through the website again?  Thank you.

Date of Experience: April 3, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Christina

Christina

Danmark

Reviewed on April 10, 2021

Hi Wendy,

Yes, we got connected rooms today. Everything is fine here. The numbers of travellers we are not able to control. We didn’t expect to be alone. Ellen did a super job today, guiding us around Chengdu and the Panda “park”. We are now filled up with fantastic memories from the last four day.

Date of Experience: April 1, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Bosco

Bosco

UK

Reviewed on April 9, 2021

hi Tracy,

Thank you very much for all your assistance. Yes, it was a very good trip and the driver was also very helpful. Thank you for all your support and help.

Date of Experience: April 7, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Mario

Mario

Australia

Reviewed on March 1, 2021

Hi Wonder,

Our trip has ended and it’s time to complete the evaluation form.

We found China Discovery on line while looking for a reputable company in China to plan our holiday.

After contacting Mr Wonder Wang ( through online email and WeChat ) we found his level of support, information, communication, patience and understanding to be very professional. He was quick to respond to all our questions and accommodating in all our requests.

The tour arrangements were to our liking. Wonder worked closely with us to determine our touring preferences. The transport schedule was not too strenuous, the tours we encountered were interesting and our accommodation was to the most very comfortable.

As far as recommending China Discovery, we would be happy to introduce anyone keen in touring China to this company.

Our tour was conducted in the early part of the year under the curtain of COVID and in the midst of Chinese New Year. Wonder and the guides helped us with all our medical requirements and arrangements and a holiday that could have been disjointed flowed with out any problems.

Wonder gave us contacts to all our guides and they were accessible and helpful.

The drivers who accompanied the guides were also friendly and safe.

The guides were all good - supportive, jovial, attentive and knowledgeable.

The best in our opinion were May, Michael and Steven.

Our accommodation The Gran Melia was very good in Xian and the nearby area was interesting to explore by foot in our free time - the park area across the street from our accommodation and Grand Tang Mall nearby.

The Sofitel in Chengdu was comfortable, the breakfasts were wonderful and the assistance we received from their restaurant manager for dinner one evening was exceptional. The only negative was that the hotel was a little dated.

Our stay in Le Meridien Emei Mountain Resort was very nice.

Our stay in Old Town Lijiang at The Ivy Garden was located well. The hotel had a traditional appeal. We arrived at night so we were surprised at how cold the room was. There was a heater on but not adequate and extra linen should have been available.  There was no choice given for breakfast and it was not to our liking.

The Gurong Boutique was very comfortable and breakfast was minimal but nice.

The Cachet Hotel in Kunming was kind enough to change our room because of ‘smoke odour‘ and it appeared to be an upgrade.

Their kitchen staff were helpful and made us a basic breakfast pack to take on the fast train to Guilin.

The Shangri-La in Guilin was a wonderful stay with a beautiful view. The breakfast and dinner selections were vast and very tasty.

The Amari in Yangshuo was comfortable and well placed. The small ‘fairground attraction’ outside our window was slightly noisy up till about midnight.

All in all, the entire trip was an amazing experience we both enjoyed immensely.

We found it helpful when the guides would initially state what our plans were for the day ahead and go through the itinerary so we were reminded and understood.

Occasionally we did not do something on the schedule and it wasn’t clearly explained to us why not, for example the Pearl Museum and also the option we had to make a terracotta soldier.

We understand that some venues were closed because of COVID / Chinese New Year and in these cases we were informed and alternative arrangements were made.

We were blessed with good weather, good organisation, wonderful guides, good drivers and a beautiful and interesting country to explore.

Thank you to Wonder and your diverse team, we would definitely look at using your company’s services in the future.

Kind Regards

Mario and Angela Crivelli.

Date of Experience: February 1, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Siobhain

Siobhain

Ireland

Reviewed on January 13, 2021

Hi ladies Dan,

I had a great trip to Chengdu. We enjoyed all the sights and trips that you planned for us and May was an excellent guide. Always punctual and extremely attentive and helpful. We learned a great deal about the history of the area and she is a lovely person to be around. Our driver Mr Deng was also great we never felt unsafe on the roads. We loved seeing the giant Buddha and going to the Golden summit as well as Dujiangyan which was impressive and beautiful. The hotels selected were also very comfortable. We loved Sichuan food and May took us to wonderful local restaurants where we always ate too much delicious food! Mapotofu(hope I spelt it right) chicken is my favourite!! Hot pot was spicy!! All in all a really wonderful trip. Chengduese people are friendly and lovely. Thank you for organising such a great trip. We would definitely recommend you to others. Happy New year!

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Andrew & Christopher & Taryn

Andrew & Christopher & Taryn

USA

Reviewed on January 12, 2021

Hi Wendy,

Very tired today, but will get back to you tomorrow with feedback. In general the trip was fantastic and very little to change. - Andrew

The group had a lot of fun and felt taken care of along the way. @Wendy thanks to you too for ensuring everything went as smoothly as they did. Appreciate everything and happy new year. - Christopher

Thanks y’all ! The trip was a blast. - Taryn

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Michael

Michael

USA

Reviewed on December 16, 2020

Hi Riley,

Thank you! The Great Wall was phenomenal.

Date of Experience: November 23, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Riley
胡**

胡**

China

Reviewed on October 9, 2020

Hi Lily,

Thanks for your good service, overall it’s good trip. I’m very satisfied with Gila, she is Amazing that I have ever seen, Thank u again.

Date of Experience: October 1, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Lily
Laurie

Laurie

USA

Reviewed on October 3, 2020

Hi Rita.

I just wanted to let you know how Amazing Ellen was today. She was so nice and friendly and knowledgeable as well as super accommodating. She made our day very special and I will recommend your company and her to all of my friends! What an amazing trip! So glad you worked it out to come!

Date of Experience: October 2, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Cynthia

Cynthia

Hong Kong, China

Reviewed on September 29, 2020

Happy Mid-Autumn Festival to you also!  I think I forgot to fill out the following survey.

Here below are the questions for you: 

1.     Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

      Yes

2.     How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour? 

 Very good overall.  Just the one in Beijing is just OK.

3.     Would you like to recommend our company? 

 Yes, definitely.

Thanks,

Cynthia 

Date of Experience: June 5, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
CHEN

CHEN

Malaysia

Reviewed on September 14, 2020

Dear Wonder,

How are you? Hope you are well. You organised a very nice trip for me to Chengdu and Jiuzhaigou way back in 2014. 

You requested a review from me but I loaded to the wrong website. I came across the review today unexpectedly in my computer system and I would like to send it to you, to be used by your website. This is because I was very pleased by the trip that you organised for me. I was a lone female traveler but I still remember the lovely tour guides you found for me, especially the one at Chengdu.

I truly had a wonderful holiday and great memories.

I am now back in the UK. I certainly will use your tour service again if I ever travel to China the next time.

Take care in the pandemic.

 

Best wishes

Siang

( Dr Yih Siang CHEN)

 

6 Days/ 5 nights Chengdu/ Jiuzhai Valley Tour

I went on a 6 days / 5 nights private tour to Chengdu / Jiuzhaigou in October 2014.I spent 2 days in Chengdu and the rest in Jiuzhaigou valley.

Since it was my first trip to China and I was a single female traveller, understandably, I was initially apprehensive before the tour. However, all my initial reservations disappeared once my tour began. I have decided to go on a private tour because I could not find a group tour which can come up with the itinery that I wanted.

From the onset, it was a pleasure to deal with Wonder. He made me a detailed itinery, specific to my wishes , down to the hotels that I preferred. I must say that he has honoured and stuck to our contract throughout my tour. He also phoned my tour guides on a daily basis just to make sure the itinery went on as planned and to make sure that I was ok.He was contactable at all times and any problems were sorted out very quickly and efficiently. He was also very accommodating and was willing to make changes in my itinery at very short notice whenever possible.I have found him to be reliable and trustworthy.

The tour guides were all very professional and knowledgeable. I was very happy with them.They spoke fluent English and were very knowledgeable about the places that we visited. They took care of everything, from meeting me at the airport, check- in into hotels, arranging for meals, transport, tickets for shows and checking in for my return flights. I was impressed that they would go out of their way to make my tour comfortable, hassle free and really tried to give me a memorable hoilday. They were prepared to work till late evenings. As a matter of fact, they would wait for me while I watched some shows in the evenings and one of them was even so kind to buy me an adaptor which I had lost in a hotel.

In Chengdu, I visited the Panda Research Centre, Jinli Street,Sichuan Museum and a silk factory at my request. i was not obliged to visit any factories throughout my tour.

Then, I flew on to Jiuzhai Valley and had another 3 days of private tours; 1 day in Huanglong Park and 2 full days in Jiuzhai National Park.I was glad that I flew return to the valley because the roads up there are really winding and being prone to travel sickness , it would have been a disaster for me to be sick.

I was met by another tour guide there. I am really glad that I took a private tour because I had my personal tour guide who walked with me at my pace throughout the Jiuzhai National park. She knew all the scenic spots and pathways by heart and made sure that I did not miss any important spots.Because she knew all the places so well, we could cover most of the scenic spots on foot in detail.She would walk with me and explain every lake, waterfall and other spots. She explained in detail all about the history, myths, customs and religion of the tribes there. It was an eye opener for me.I am sure I would not be getting all these explanation if I had gone in a group tour.Most group tours tend to be rushed but I was not rushed at all. I had ample time to take all the photos that I wanted , time to have meals and some shopping for souveniers and even short rests at beautiful spots where I could linger and just soak up the magnificent natural beauty.

Jiuzhai Valley is an extraordinary , beautiful park. It is my personal opinion that 2 full days are required to do the park justice. It is difficult to rush through the scenic spots in a day especially when there are massive crowds and queues everywhere.It was worth it to pay the hefty entrance fee for 2 days. Because I had 2 full days, I could do a hike with my guide who accompanied me throughout the trails to the 3 major valleys. I came away feeling satisfied and had lots of marvellous photos to show.

I was especially pleased that on one occasion, my tour guide took me through a small path , away from the tourist crowds. We walked at our pace and saw some smaller lovely waterfalls and lakes. I did not have to jostle with the typical crowds and could take my time to take some truly picturesque photos and videos. I am convinced that if I had joined a group tour , I would not have been able to see and explore the national park as much as I did.

My advice to travellers is to go on some fitness training before the tour. You have to be prepared to do a lot of walking for this is the best way to see the best views. Taking the bus to just the best scenic spots would be cheating and would not do the park justice.The only downside of the trip was the crowds. Be prepared for massive crowds, they can get unruly at times, especially when it rains, so do bring a raincoat or umbrella.Also be prepared for the less than ideal toilet facilities. Bring lots of tissues as handwash and tissues are not provided.

Due to my excellent and friendly tour guides and Wonder's meticulous planning, I had a fabulous holiday and a great time in China. I would highly recommend Wonder Wang and his tour agency to all my friends and family. If I return to China, I would certainly go through Wonder and his agency again. So, a big thank you to Wonder and all my lovely tour guides for making my holiday a truly memorable one!

Dr YS CHEN-PELFRENE
London, UK

Date of Experience: October 11, 2014
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Christina

Christina

UK

Reviewed on August 14, 2020

Hi Jack,

I’ve already filled in four feedback forms so far, and have been given a fifth to do!  My first bit of feedback is that there are too many forms to fill in..... I’m still on holiday! I’ll get you some reflections next week, but not before. I don’t want any images of us being used, so all I would send you is photos of locations - and probably not very good ones at that given how bad the weather has been. 

Thanks again for your help in coordinating. I’ll try and put some more considered thoughts together next week.

 

Christina

Date of Experience: August 12, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Jack
Sanne

Sanne

Denmark

Reviewed on July 16, 2020

Hi Echo

We had a great tour in Sichuan. The room in the last hotel in Chengdu was fine although breakfast wasn’t. But I guess that’s because that they didn’t have a great selection of western foods and you cannot expect that everywhere in China.

Overall it was a really great tour and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great tour to Sichuan. Jason was a good guide and my youngest son Anton really liked him immediately.

If something needed to be changed that would be an extra night at Emeishan. After driving up and down the mountain the kids were tired and would have loved going straight back to the hotel and the pool and the playground. And then done the drive back to Chengdu the next day. I know it wasn’t possible due to the flight time the next day but if there were flights a bit later that would have been perfect. 

The driver was also friendly and service minded. If the car had autopilot the ride would have been more smooth - setting the seed to a certain limit - but that is a minor thing.

Thanks for all your help.

 

Sanne

Date of Experience: July 11, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
Simon

Simon

UK

Reviewed on May 25, 2020

Hi Wonder

I hope things are returning to normal for you and that the impact in your business of covid-19 has not been too depressing. Please forgive my tardy response, for which there is no excuse!

I flew from Shanghai to Saigon just 3 days before the flights were banned and managed to spend a great 4 weeks travelling through Cambodia and Thailand as well as re-entering Vietnam in Hanoi and touring back to Saigon for a week returning to UK on 22 February, where I completed 2 weeks of self isolation with my wife. As you will know we have been locked down for 9 weeks now so life is very different to how it was before I left for China back on 12 January! I have inserted my answers to your questions below and hope they are helpful to you.

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Wonder Wang, at China Discovery, was very helpful and responsive to my questions and needs and I felt supported and safe in a strange land, especially during a period of uncertainty when I lost key documentation and needed to ensure its replacement before I left China, and also during a time when many around us were conscious of the emerging coved 19 pandemic (Mid to late January 2020).

2. How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour?

Very attentive and knowledgeable. Maybe it’s my age (67) but at times I found understanding their English a challenge but they were all patient with me and would repeat their explanations when I asked them to. 

3. Would you like to recommend our company?

 I have no hesitation in recommending China Discovery to anyone looking for a bespoke trip to the land of Wonder that is China.

Thanks again for all you did for me during the China leg of my trip. I had a wonderful time.

Take great care and best wishes

Simon

Date of Experience: January 13, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Kris

Kris

Australia

Reviewed on January 28, 2020

Hi Wendy,

If I get a chance I will put something on Tripadvisor but I can give you the responses to your questions.

1. Was your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions? 

Yes very happy with the contact we received and the booking of tours.

2. How was your tour? Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you?

I was very happy with the tour. I think in Shanghai the hotel was in a poor location and didn’t have the services the other hotels had. If I had known I would have paid extra for a better/ better location hotel.

Date of Experience: January 2, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Tang

Tang

Malaysia

Reviewed on January 21, 2020

Hi Catherine, please see comments below. Happy for you to publish this. Cheers.

“The travel consultant, Catherine is highly professional and competent in organizing our china tours. This is the 3rd time Catherine has arranged/ managed my travel itinerary.  She is highly capable, understands our requirements and tailor made an itinerary that suits us.  I would highly recommend china discovery as we had enjoyed our tours very much and will definitely go back.”

Cheers

Ms Tang

 

Date of Experience: January 6, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Karla

Karla

USA

Reviewed on January 9, 2020

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for arranging our tour. We had a very nice trip to Chengdu and enjoyed all of the attractions and food. The tour guide was extremely helpful! I also appreciated the driver and his non smoking vehicle.

Many thanks,

Karla

Date of Experience: December 28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Feisy

Feisy

Indonesia

Reviewed on January 6, 2020

Dear Rita,

Welcome New Year 2020 , I hope we all become more successful and always healthy ...

I will write the comments soon

Tks Brgds/ Feisy

Date of Experience: December 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Anastasija

Anastasija

UK

Reviewed on January 2, 2020

Hi Mark,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for being so patient with us on providing feedback.

We shared immediate feedback at the end of every stop we had, but here are se add ns below.

1. How’s the hotel and meals?

Hotels were very good.

Only complaint would be hotel in Emeishan, as a window didn’t close and curtains were a nightmare to close – we had an issue with wifi, but its also on us as we did not go down to ask reception, thankfully it was only for one night, so not a big deal.

Food everywhere was very good with loads of options between local and western selections. I fell in love with the breakfast noodle soup, so was having that everywhere we went.

2. How’s the tour guides’ service and drivers?

Cant fault the drivers and guides on this trip. We learned a lot about the culture and the places we visited. Always had timely pick ups, cars were clean and very good. Sandy picked up all of our onward train tickets in one go, so we didn’t have to waste time on following days to get to train station, that was very helpful!

One comment that I’m not sure how to address is lunches, we really enjoyed our experience in China, and are open people and want to try local food in a sharing environment, we asked in all places if the driver and the guide will eat with us.

-        With Sandy when we could (as one day we were up the mount) both guide and driver ate with us, the restaurants were local and of very good quality and plenty of food to share and try as there were 4 of us on at the table, despite the language barrier it was very nice to eat all together.

-        In Xi’an, Vivian ate with us but the driver did not. We had to request specifically (as our friends recommended) to try Biang Biang noodles – they were awesome. The driver was very lovely and even bought us apples to have on the journey.

-        In Beijing, we ate alone, as Candy said that its company policy that driver and guide eat separately to guests when we were together. Was a bit strange for us to sit at 2 different tables, it wasn’t a big deal, just a different experience to the start of the trip.

We really enjoyed our time at all the places, saw and experienced loads of new places.

3. What do you think of your travel consultant’s service?

Its been a really well organized tour, we’ve seen loads in such a short period of time.

Everything ran smoothly with no hiccups (at least we didn’t see any).

4. Will you recommend our office to people around you?

For sure, already have been, if anyone is planning a trip to china they should definitely use your company to organize everything.

Kind Regards,

Date of Experience: November 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
Liddy

Liddy

USA

Reviewed on January 1, 2020

Hi, Mark,

Thanks for the follow up. The tour went well and we had a great time. The panda volunteer program ended earlier than expected so we asked if Cindy would be willing to take us to Dujiangyan irrigation/dam. Both Cindy and the driver were flexible enough to take us there even though it meant longer hours for them. We really appreciate it. We went to the panda breeding center the next morning because we wanted to see baby pandas so we only spent half a day for the city tour. Cindy took us to a few places that we thought were very interesting.

The tour package says B, L included, which is perhaps a mistake as breakfast does not seem to be included. Cindy bought us a small breakfast (soy milk and steamed buns) on Day 1 as we thought we would get breakfast and we left the hotel at 7:30 am.

Overall, the tour is great!

Liddy

Date of Experience: December 28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mark
Monica

Monica

Philippines

Reviewed on January 3, 2020

Dear Riley,

We just arrived in Manila. Thank you again for sending us a gift. We really appreciate it. Also, thank you for organizing our wonderful trip. This trip is one of our unforgettable and great trips. Will surely recommend you and will surely book another trip with you. Martin and Mary is very insightful and detailed in every area where we head to. They really know what to share with us. Hotels and Foods are all fit with us. Our tummies and body were happy. haha! Also the roadtrip was smooth. But the van in Chengdu gives me a little headache due to the smell of smoke inside the car quite strong. But everything is OK. Thank You again.

Kind Regards,

Monica

Date of Experience: December 27, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Patrice

Patrice

Indonesia

Reviewed on January 2, 2020

Dear Lily,

Happy new year!

Hopefully this whole year will see you & your entire family in blessings and happiness! 

Kindly find here attached our evaluation form of the trip.

Many thanks again and hope to keep in touch with you!

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

* Yes. Lily was very quick to respond all my inquiries by e-mail or WeChat. She was flexible, accommodating, and informative too. We had quite a lot of requests and changes on our itinerary, and she managed to give us best services. On our last day there, she even came to see us and sent us off at the airport :)

2. How do you comment your tour arrangements? 

* We enjoyed the arrangements in general. Our activities stick to the planned itineraries.

3. Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China? 

* Yes, sure.

4.  Your general opinion on us?

* We enjoyed your services overall. No major complaints whatsoever. The guides were patient too. Shout out to Mrs. Tutu who accompanied us until late night! :)

5. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

* Maybe you could try adding more variations for the meal menu. On our last days we found ourselves bored with the same menu servings. In Chengdu we also requested for a Japanese dinner recommendation but in the end we didn’t manage to get any (there was one Japanese restaurant near our hotel but it was too small to accommodate the 17 of us).

6. Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

 * Sure. You may use our group photo pictures (if you have none, Lily can ask me on WeChat).

7. We sometimes have requests from potential customers who would like to inquire from or our ex-customers.  May they contact you for advices?  _______

* No problem. They may contact me on patricetan@outlook.com

Warm regards,

Patrice

Date of Experience: December 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Lily
Julia

Julia

UK

Reviewed on January 1, 2020

Hi Echo

Just wanted to say a big thank you for arranging an amazing trip it absolutely exceeded our expectations

Julia

Date of Experience: December 26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Echo
Ken and Perola Noble

Ken and Perola Noble

UK & South Africa

Reviewed on December 31, 2019

Hi Wonder

We are now back in South Africa after one of our very best holidays,ever so again very many thanks for making it so.

Listed below are responses to your appraisal--

1)Wonder was incredibly quick at answering our e-mails and super efficient when dealing with any queries I had both before and after the tour.Nothing was ever too much for him.

2)Tour arrangements were fantastic! Drivers were always available to meet us at train stations or airports to take us to our hotels. Also guides often arrived earlier than planned in the morning for our daily tours. Guides also very helpful and informative. (Minor point but Guilin Hotel was a bit out of town and did not offer facilities of the others—Chengdu hotel was magnificent)

3)I certainly am very willing to speak to anyone who is interested in travelling with you in the future

And recommending your company.

4)General opinion—10 out of 10—it couldn’t be better

5)I think overall the tour was very well organised-maybe the guides could promote evening events more in the different cities.I did attend a Sichuan opera eve.in Chengdu which was good.

6)Have lots of photos which I can send—let me know-panda cubs attached

Please use any of my comments on your web site

7)Certainly –future/potential customers can contact me for advice

OVERALL A SUPERB HOLIDAY—MANY,MANY THANKS

Very best wishes

Ken and Perola Noble

 

Date of Experience: December 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Say K. Lim

Say K. Lim

Singapore

Reviewed on December 28, 2019

Hello Wing,

Sorry the late response....see response in Italic below....

(1)  How do you like our tour arrangements and are you willing to recommend our service to your friends?

 The tour arrangement was perfect and I have already recommended to my friends, etc

(2)  Do you have some suggestions for us to improve our service?

 It is better and easier for us to provide survey feedback for the individual tour guide and driver online, right now it is paper based and sometimes we hold back comments knowing that the tour guide get to see the comments.

(3)  If you come to China again, would you like to use our service again?

 YES

Date of Experience: March 30, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wing
Thong

Thong

Singapore

Reviewed on December 25, 2019

Hi Wonder,

Thank you and have a Merry Christmas and a Happy new year.

Thanks again forour smooth running of our tour. And your dedicated and responsible staff like Ruby, tour guide liu and driver luo...

Also we are impressed by Emei mountain resort.

Thank you

Mr Thong

Date of Experience: December 18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Nishthal

Nishthal

South Africa

Reviewed on December 25, 2019

Hi Rita

I hope you're well. I just wanted to say thank you for putting together an exceptional holiday in Chengdu for my family. We had the most amazing time! Everything has been perfect! Thank you for the upgraded hotel on the mountain as well, it far exceeded our expectations! Jason has also been a wonderful guide.

Thank you again. We will definitely be back!

And thank you for my lovely gift as well!

Kind regards

Nishthal

Date of Experience: December 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Teresa

Teresa

USA

Reviewed on December 03, 2019

Johnson,

Just wanted to let you know that we arrived home, safe and sound and to let you know what a Fantastic time we had in Chengdu, Chongqing and Tibet.

Everything went perfect, we are so impressed with you, your company and the 3 guides and drivers that we had.

All our requests and questions over the months of planning the trip were answered promptly. We couldn’t be more pleased with the service we received from you and the quick help received in a Tibet when we had to make a last minute change. My husband and I were disappointed that we were not able to make the trip to EBC, but you made the extended stay in Lhasa easy. My husband is still fighting his cold, but the rest and walking around the 4 days in Lhasa helped him to start recovering.

Our guide in Chengdu made our day at the Panda Research Center and cooking experience a day we will always remember.

Our guide in Tibet was Fantastic, he was very interesting and fun and easy to be with for the week, we enjoyed our visit to Tibet very much.

Our our short time in Chongqing was wonderful and we appreciated the last minute tour that we booked our last afternoon and evening.

All the guides and drivers were very helpful and were where and when they said they would be at all times which made all the train stations and airport experiences easy.

We would definitely use you and your company again if we ever get the opportunity to return to China.

Thanks again for all your help and making this a very memorable trip for the 4 of us.

Date of Experience: November 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Teo & Lily

Teo & Lily

Singapore

Reviewed on November 29, 2019

Dear Mark,

I have submitted my review to Trip Advisor. I have to apologize for the late reply as I was very busy last few days. 

1. How's the tour arrangement? And your travel consultant's service?

Overall it was an excellent arrangement by Mark who meticulously planned every detail and religiously monitoring our schedule throughout and had it executed by the caring and helpful guide Carrie. 

2. How's the hotel and meals?

The hotel in Zhangjiajie was good as it is expected of Pullman 's branding. The one in Fenghuang is not as good but Mark had forewarned me so I was prepared that the accommodation and breakfast would not be good. The meals are alright as Carrie had given us the liberty and good recommendation to order the food that suits our pallet as we cannot take spicy ones. Good advice by Mark and well executed by Carrie.

3. What do you think of our guides and drivers?

The drivers are all good and pleasant especially Mr. Du who was careful and polite .He drove at the right speed and I was impressed by his driving skill on a wet day. 

We would like to place on record our heartfelt thanks to Mark and the team in Chengdu, Yichang & Zhangjiajie. 

Regards 

Teo & Lily 

Date of Experience: November 11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
Jamie

Jamie

Australia

Reviewed on November 26, 2019

Hi Wendy,

Thanks so much for following up, I'm absolutely going to send you some reviews of the tours we did - they were all amazing. I'll hopefully get the chance to do this shortly, we've just returned from China and are so busy with work. As soon as I get the chance to I'll email you back with some comments :-)

Thanks again!

Jamie

Date of Experience: November 14, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Carol

Carol

USA

Reviewed on November 21, 2019

Good morning Yanny,

we are still not home and I’m having difficulty filling out the form. Please know that we were extremely happy with our tour with you and that day is one of our best of our time in China.

Regards,

Carol

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Yanny
Peggy

Peggy

Canada

Reviewed on November 15, 2019

Hi Lyn

We received all the lovely pandas. Thank u very much. We enjoyed our trip very much. Jason is very pleasant and helpful.

Peggy

Date of Experience: November 11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Robb Hennessey

Robb Hennessey

USA

Reviewed on November 9, 2019

Hi Rita,

Thank you so much for the return of funds I left in the Hong Kong hotel. I really appreciate your efforts on my behalf.

Additionally that you for the lovely gift, reflecting the Panda, Gand Chinese opera. It was most thoughtful, and very much appreciated.

We were treated most wonderfully by our guide Cherry.  She was helpful, flexible, informative and kind

Date of Experience: November 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita
Cecilia

Cecilia

USA

Reviewed on October 25, 2019

Wing,

We had a great time in China. Thanks for such a culture packed itinerary 

Below is the evaluation sheet from the confirmation letter

There is one thing in shanghai I need to bring up. I paid 720 rmb each for our Disneyland tickets. It turns out the shanghai tour guide bought 1 regular (standard) and 1 senior (selected) ticket for us. The senior ticket is 200 rmb cheaper than the regular ticket. Should I get a refund? I found that out at the entrance when the ticket checker keep checking my birthday on the passport and not my daughter’s. I asked her why and she said I have a senior ticket.   Please let me know

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions? Excellent. Ms Zeng responded to all my requests in a timely manner during the planning phase and during our trip

2. How do you comment your tour arrangements? It was more than expected. The trip to Chengdu introduce us to Chinese culture that we were not aware of. We are still talking about the face changing performance we attended. 

3. Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China? Absolutely. I have been telling my co-workers about the private tour we had.

4.  Your general opinion on us? Very responsive and very familiar with the Chengdu area.

5. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services? better tour guides in Shanghai. however Ms Zeng was able to re-mediate the situation

6. Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail? I am sending a few pictures of the pandas. A baby, an older one eating lunch and the forgotten red panda. These are pandas that we actually saw

7. We sometimes have requests from potential customers who would like to inquire from or our ex-customers. May they contact you for advice?  yes

Thank you China Discovery for an excellent tour

If we decide to visit other areas in China we will definitely engage your service again.

China Travel Photos

Giant Panda and Red Panda

Date of Experience: October 16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Michelle and Andre Vaillancourt

Michelle and Andre Vaillancourt

Canada

Reviewed on October 1, 2019

Hello Mr Li

we really enjoyed our tour in China. Hotels in Beijing New World Bejiing Hotel, Sofitel in Xi'an, Sofitel in Chengdu and Grand Meridien in Shanghai were super (meet our expectations).

As for the train it has change a lot in 20 years and you were right it was alright and efficient

Our guides were Sally in Bejiing, Iris in Pingyao,Crystal in Xi'an, Kevin in Chengdu and Caroline in Shanghai. The four first one asked us to complete a form for evaluation of their services we gave them back the form with our comments, we really like them and what we saw

We liked the visit of the hutongs in Beijing, the forbidden city, the summer palace, the temple of Heaven, the great wall and the Ming tombs. Crystal in Xi'an took us on a place between the bell tower and the drum tower it was really a good spot for pictures; when we went to The Terra cotta museum it was raining heavily but she help us find good shoes cover

Chengdu also meet our expectations, the Panda research base, the Jilin street,etc

As we told Iris in Pingyao the bathroom in the hotel was dirty and the food were not good but Iris and the driver were very nice. We liked Pingyao

As for Shanghai heavy rain and smog made it impossible to visit as planned, we were told that Yu garden was under renovation.

We would be pleased to recommend China Discovery

Best regards

Date of Experience: September 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Caryn

Caryn

Australia

Reviewed on September 26, 2019

Hi Vivien

Here we are!

I definitely want to tell you about our holiday but we are a bit busy in Hong Kong at the moment. Will contact you again soon. Thanks so much for organising it.

China Travel Photos

Our China Trip in Chengdu, Suzhou, Guilin, Shanghai

Date of Experience: August 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Alan

Alan

Reviewed on September 5, 2019

Dear Zoe

Thanks for your reply.

Our visit to Chengdu was really interesting especially the pandas of course.  Our guide Ruby was excellent.

Thanks for the present of the toy panda and silk scarf.  Something to remind us of your lovely town.

Best wishes 

Date of Experience: September 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zoe
Juliet

Juliet

UK

Reviewed on August 27, 2019

Dear Mark

We had such a wonderful day with the pandas! Martin was a great guide - very friendly and knowledgeable and he also took some lovely photos of us on my camera (I can send you some when I get home to the UK). In the meantime, here are a few from my phone.

Thanks also for the pandas you sent via the hotel - very cute!

We will certainly recommend you if anyone we know is planning a trip to China

Best wishes

China Travel Photos

Wonderful Day with Pandas

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mark
Lindy and John

Lindy and John

Australia

Reviewed on September 10, 2019

Dear Ashley,

Thank you for your very kind and thoughtful text message of 9 Sept.

which we received on arriving home.

I am a little unsure just how to start to thank you enough for the manner and way that you have worked and the kindness you have shown to us to make our brief visit to your magnificent Country so enjoyable and one we shall always remember.

However I will begin by saying I was greatly impressed with the manner and honesty in which you displayed in the detailed planning stage of our trip. 

I want to thank you again for the gifts which you gave as at our only too short but enjoyable meeting in Chengdu. I don't know how you learned (or guessed) what Lindy favorites were: but you got them all. They were unexpected and a lovey surprise.

Every thing organized for the trip went off well. We did not encounter any problems and so were able enjoy are brief trip to the 4 cities. Although having done a lot of research on the internet prior to departing, the tours and sites visited at each city exceeded my expectations.

The guides and drivers were also great and the system of drop of and pick works well up saved us countless hours.

Each of our guides were very helpful, polite and most knowledgeable, and showed quite different strengths, character and personalities.

Kai in Beijing: a born teacher who is passionate about and loves his subject and was keen to impart it to us. A very intense personality, inclined to repeat himself a little, but with excellent fluent English and an easy accent easy for us poor mono-linguist Australians to understand. Lindy would have liked a few more coffee stops (what's new) but understand that they was not available at many of the sights we visited.

Ben in Xi'An: very knowledgeable about the Warriors, items at the Museum and the city, friendly and accommodating with a very good and easy to understand English. He also arranged every thing for us to see the Tang Dynasty Theater show at night.

Sandy in Chengdu: ensured that we were able enjoy the visit to the Pandas a real highlight of the tour. He was most accommodating to our every wish and Lindy's like for Starbucks coffee.

Danny in Guilin: The real friendly family "county" man. Out to do every thing possible to show us what we wonted to see on some-wot tiring hot days.  The country views here are breathtaking.

The two fast train rides were very pleasant and comfortable but the crowds at stations were a little overwhelming.

The two short domestic plane rides were uneventful (similar to ours)

The two Hotels you booked were great, The Bamboo Leaf, very friendly, quite and a nice change from the somewhat impersonal international chains. Thank you for getting their signature room for us, Lindy loved the country outlook.

The Hilton Capital suite was also a welcome surprise.

Although you may not have much to do with it, the weather was favorable with the only rain we experienced for the whole trip being a very light shower on the morning we visited the Pandas which they seemed to enjoy.

We are still in awe at the skill, patience and tolerance of your car drivers, but were in fear of the silent scooters every time we crossed the road.

You and your associates have helped China Discovery to earn the excellent reputation it has on the many Internet review sites.

So summing up, well done and thank you so very much.

Date of Experience: August 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Ashley
Steve

Steve

Australia

Reviewed on August 16, 2019

Ok, perfect, thanks Vivien.

We will try and get laundry done in Chengdu I think.

Trip has been great so far. Angelina was a great guide. Zhangjiajie was amazing and a perfect start to our trip. 

We are just at the airport now waiting for flight to Chengdu. Looking forward to seeing some pandas.

Date of Experience: August 5, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Jennifer Cutillo

Jennifer Cutillo

Canada

Reviewed on August 3, 2019

Greetings Lily!

Firstly we want to say thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the very kind gift you left us at the hotel! We also want to tell you that we love your city and had a wonderful day at the panda reserve! 
Thank you again and have a wonderful weekend!

Date of Experience: July 28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Jesus

Jesus

Australia

Reviewed on August 1, 2019

Hi Wonder,

I just wanted to say that Gila was great. She is very nice and easy to talk too! She knows a lot about Chengdu and pandas and I had a great time with her. When I come back I will book her again for sure.

Thank you for organising everything, it was great. Very happy with the service.

Date of Experience: July 23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Solange

Solange

USA

Reviewed on July 10, 2019

Hi Lily,

Thank you so much for the little pandas and present. My kids loved them!  It was a very nice surprise at Chengdu. 

We are enjoying so much everything. I will send you an email when I get back home with some suggestions. Usually I never give reviews but because we love our trip to China so much I will take the time to send you some comments. 

Thank you again for everything! We are on our way to our last stop Beijing! 

Have a great afternoon!

Date of Experience: July 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Prashant

Prashant

India

Reviewed on June 28, 2019

Dear Echo,

Good afternoon! Sorry for late reply as was travelling. No worries for Lehsan tour, I enjoyed Chengdu Panda research centre visit instead.

I will like to thank you for organising the Tibet tour and would like to speak highly for the tour guide and the driver who made sure that the trip was a pleasant stay for us. I will like to also thank you for organising it since starting and being of utmost help at any time.

Thanks again and will get in touch in case I plan my next China trip.

Best,

Date of Experience: June 11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
Sally

Sally

Brunei

Reviewed on June 20, 2019

Dear Johnson, 

Good afternoon, I have also received the gifts you had sent. Love it. 

Please find your requested feedback below.

How are you? How’s the tour?

The trip arranged was pleasant and fun. My mom and I enjoyed it. 

1.    Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Yes, the travel consultant (Johnson) was very prompt and quick in responding to our enquiries. In fact, the trip was almost a last minute arrangement and Johnson was able to schedule and arranged it accordingly. 

2.    How do you comment your tour arrangements?

The tour arrangement was relaxing,not that the plan was not packed. We had a lot of sights to visit according to the tour plan and I originally had doubts that we will be able to visit them. The tour guide was also flexible enough to rearrange the tour according to the weather and time of visit and made full use of it to enable us to visit as much as possible. 

Not forgetting, the driver as well was good in his job. The drive was long and tired and can be mentally exhausting; he did his best and the trip was comfortable. He was also courteous and his car was clean and spacious. 

3.    Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?

Yes, definitely. Its my second time using and overall experience were great. 

4.  Your general opinion on us?

Quick and prompt, Flexible in arrangement (without accomo or meals) and most importantly easy to contact and communicate with. 

5.    Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

Overall, I had enjoyed your services in the 2 times, will definitely use your service. 

6.    Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

I have discussed with my mum and family, unfortunate, we are not comfortable with using images of us in it. Hence, we will share the landscape photos in which we have taken during this trip for your website, brochures, marketing and publicity purposes. We will share you in another email as we are unable to attach it here.  

Once again, Thank you so much Johnson, the guide - Mei and driver for making our trip possible and comfortable.

Thank You. 

Regards, 

China Travel Photos

Cute Pandas in Chengdu

China Travel Photos

Buddha in Mount Leshan and Mount Emei

Date of Experience: June 9, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Susan

Susan

Reviewed on June 11, 2019

Hi Catherine:

This is Susan Lee. Thank you for organizing my trip to China (Chengdu, Tibet and Xi'an). I was in China in 1987 but did not visit these cities but in general I see such so much modernization. I had a great time. Attached are the evaluations for each of the cities. Would you kindly send the evaluations to the local agencies in Tibet and Xi'an. Under separate cover, I will send some photographs of pandas. Once again, thank you preparing the itinerary. Best regards.

China Travel Photos

Happy Panda Eating Bamboo

China Travel Photos

Tired Pandas Resting

Date of Experience: June 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Michael

Michael

USA

Reviewed on December 25, 2018

Dear Jack,

Sandy and the driver was great. Sandy was very informative and helpful. He took care of us every step of the way. Thank you for showing us a great time in Chengdu. Happy holidays.

Best Regards,

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
David

David

Britain

Reviewed on October 6, 2018

Dear Rita,

We had a great weekend in Chengdu and the trip to see the pandas was an amazing, never to be forgotten experience. Thank you very much for the excellent arrangements and communication. Also, thank you for the gifts that we received on Saturday evening, it was very unexpected and a very nice touch. Just so that you are aware, the letter from a doctor was not required. They did not ask to see it.

We will certainly look to use the services of your company the next time that we visit China.

Best regards,

Panda Tour

It's amazzing to hug the panda

Panda Tour

We made food for cute pandas

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita
David and Hellen

David and Hellen

England

Reviewed on September 16, 2018

Hi Tracy

Just want to thank you very much for organizing such a wonderful holiday for us.  Everything went according to plan and our guides were all excellent. A special thank you to Laura in Shanghai who ensured that we got a connecting flight to Hong Kong when our original flight was delayed. The highlights, of course, were the pandas followed by the terracotta warriors. The weather was great with only one day of rain in Chengdu. We will certainly recommend your company to our friends and relatives and hope that we may return to China one day.

Kindest regards and with grateful thanks,

David and Hellen

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Tracy
David

David

Reviewed on May 28, 2018

Hi Jack,

Finally back home.

Had a fantastic trip in Chengdu and Tibet.

Weather could not have been better.

Great guides and drivers - all became good friends.

Thanks for the small gifts. I gave all to my friend Oren to give to his american friends.

Best

David

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Jack
Heather

Heather

Reviewed on January 9, 2017

Hi Vivien

Just to say a big thank you for all your help and efficiency arranging our holiday. We had a great time, especially the day in Chengdu - the morning at the panda reserve was wonderful!

Please can you send me the link to the trip advisor website so I can write something there about our lovely holiday?

Best wishes

Heather

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Mindy

Mindy

Reviewed on January 13, 2017

Hi Wendy,

Sorry for the delay. We have been traveling since we got home. Yes we got the pillow. Thank you! Our trip was fantastic. We had an amazing time. All our guides were very professional and knowledgeable. The driver’s and cars were safe and clean.

We were satisfied with our tour. There were a couple of things I would have changed but for the most part it was lovely. I would have taken out Shangri-La and the cave tour. They were very touristy and I would have preferred to see other things.

Mindy 

The following pictures were shared by Mindy.

Mindy's Family Vistied Dujiangyan Panda Base

Mindy's Family Had a Happy Tour in Guilin

Beijing Tiananmen Square

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Christian Johnson

Christian Johnson

Reviewed on December 30, 2016

Dear Vivien,

I can send photos when I get home.  You may use my comments on your website.  Answers are below:

Vivien was very responsive and thorough.  I was able to book a second tour and a transfer easily from my phone using email.

Mars was an excellent guide.  Since we had to wear gloves to do the Panda keeper experience, she followed us around with our camera and took good pictures of us.  She was very flexible, pleasant to be with, and after we returned to the hotel she helped us plan our evening activities.

Daniel was also excellent.  He is flexible and he adapted well to our style of travel.  When we returned to the hotel he gave us suggestions for dining and assisted in booking a transfer.

Both guides went above what was expected and I would easily recommend Mars and Daniel for English-speaking tourists.

The consultant, guides and drivers were all excellent and I would definitely book with you again.  It was so great to be able to have immediate access to an English-speaking consultant to book additional tours for me while I was busy touring in Chengdu.

Johnson

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Bhavna

Bhavna

Reviewed on November 5, 2015

Hi Rita

I am well thanks, I hope you are too.

The tour was great, seeing and holding the Panda’s was an amazing experience.

Many thanks and all the best.

Bhavna

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita
Hansruedi

Hansruedi

Swiss

Reviewed on October 8, 2015

Dear Laura,

In the meantime we are back home and have had a lovely trip to China, to Chengdu and to the Yangtze Boat trip. Everything has worked out fine and we have had a very nice guide in Chengdu.

Also in the name of my family I would like to thank you very much for your assistance.

Best regards

Hansruedi

(The following photo was shared by Hansruedi)

Chengdu Tour

Hansruedi and his group visited Chengdu 2015

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by:
Shaheer

Shaheer

USA

Reviewed on October 1, 2015

Dear Jack

I just submitted the following review at the Trip Advisor link you sent us. Thank you for such a wonderful trip planning: 

"We would highly recommend China Discovery for arranging individualized private tours throughout China. This is the second time we have worked with Jack Li; each time, we provided him with a list of things we wanted to do, and also asked for suggestions. This time Jack suggested a side trip to Inner Mongolia, which turned out to be very interesting and enjoyable. We have found Jack to be attuned with and sensitive to our needs. He is also flexible, hard-working, and sincere. All of our guides were wonderful and very responsive to our needs as well, especially Barry (Chengdu) and our Inner Mongolia guide and driver, Peter (Min) and Mr. Qin. They went out of their way to insure that we visited areas of particular interest to us, which made for a very memorable trip."

Jack, be assured that we both respect you and admire your devotion to your job so please take these comments as friendly critique so that you can improve with other customers.

Please be assured if we decide to return to China, Jack Li will be the first person we will contact.

Thanks again.

Shaheer

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Jack
Rick

Rick

Reviewed on September 25, 2015

Hi Jack,

Just to let you know we are having a great time in China, and looking forward to meeting you in person. Will you be at work on Sunday the 27 Sept or is your office closed We are in Chendgu as you know from the 26 Sept and leave on the 30 Sept and need to pick up booked tickets.

Cheers,

Rick

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Jack
Jeanne Burke

Jeanne Burke

America

Reviewed on August 18, 2015

Hello, Ian,

We enjoyed a great tour of Mainland China and of Hong Kong. I thought you did an excellent job of making our tour arrangements and assigning tour guides. 

For me and my children, our trip highlights were climbing the Great Wall, cycling the ancient walls in Xi'an, sharing lunch with Angela and her family, visiting the Panda Research center, rafting on the Hongkou River, cycling through the Yangshuo villages, visiting the Urban Planning Museum in Shanghai and walking on the Bund.

I was very pleased with the quality of guides and drivers you selected. The children adored Mr. Jong (Beijing driver). He has a very warm and funny personality, and he was so accommodating, taking us to and from the Kung Fu Theater and out to the Olympic Village at night. Bruce in Xian is a truly exceptional guide. If you can give me the names of the owners of China Discovery, I would like to write them a letter regarding Bruce. Penny in Chengdu really did a great job for us at the Panda Research Center and also the rafting trip. My youngest Natalie just loved Candace in Guilin.  At the Guilin airport Natalie looked sadly at me and said, "Mom, I'm really going to miss Candace." Since she's been home, Natalie has mentioned Candace several times . . . .she made a tremendous impression on Natalie, and the rest of us enjoyed her very much, too.

Tim and Frank were very capable guides, too. Tim has peaked my interest in future travel to Tibet, Nepal and Bhutan. Frank is very knowledgeable about Shanghai and accommodating. I appreciated that Candace was able to attend the Impressions show with my daughters and me.  Without her there to explain each of the seven impressions, we would not have understood the beauty unfolding before our eyes.

I have tasked my middle child Lauren (14) with putting together a Shutter fly book.  She's just settling into school, so it may be a week or two before she starts.  Once she has selected her favorites photos from among nearly 800 we took on the trip, I will ask her to pick out her top ten favorites from mainland China and send them to you.  We'll add a brief explanation to each photo.

Ian, we enjoyed a marvelous trip. Our travel went incredibly smoothly, and I thank you and all the guides and drivers for ensuring a smooth, safe, and hassle free trip.

I am sure to return to China, but I intend to wait for the rapid (bullet) train to reach more destinations. I am incredibly impressed with the train service from Beijing to Luoyang and to Xian.  I look forward to the day when I can travel to all my destinations via the rapid train. 

I have given your name and email address to several friends contemplating trips to China. I will continue to refer you when the opportunity presents.

Best wishes, Ian.

Jeanne

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by:
Siromi

Siromi

Reviewed on August 17, 2015

Hi Wendy,

Thanks. I have enjoyed my stay in Xian and looking forwards to Chengdu. I hope I will be able to meet you there.

Regards,

Siromi

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Asle & Beate

Asle & Beate

Reviewed on June 16, 2015

Hi, Rita!

Thank you so much for the great pictures, and for helping us arrange the trip on short notice. We had a wonderful time at the Panda base!

All the best!

Asle & Beate

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Thomas

Thomas

Britan

Reviewed on May 23, 2015

Dear Jack,

The train ,hotel and cruise were excellent better than we could have hoped.

Your countrymen were of great assistance when we needed help.

All in all it was a fantastic experience and we look forward to revisiting China in the future and I would really recommend the Sofitel Chengdu for any Western clients you have in the future. 

Regards

Thomas

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Jack
Michael

Michael

Hong Kong

Reviewed on May 16, 2015

Hello Ian,

I had a wonderful time in China. I will put my responses in the order you have asked them.

1. Tour arrangements were excellent. I always knew when I would be picked up and from where. I was never made to wait. My flight into Chengdu from HK was more than 3 hours late because of inclement weather, but when I arrived in Chendu, my guide and driver were still waiting there for me – fantastic.

2. I would certainly recommend your service. Your advice was accurate and relevant to my needs. Travelling and touring each day was not tiring – everything paced nicely.

3. Genuinely wanted to assist me, co-operative, allowed me to make changes (extra days, etc.) – could not fault your service.

In short a wonderful holiday, much of it due to your company’s dedication.

Regards

Michael

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by:
Boonshan Sangfai

Boonshan Sangfai

Geneva

Reviewed on May 5, 2015

Hi Ian,

We are back to Geneva! Please find below a short summary of our trip which you may feel free to edit or shorten it as you deem appropriate.

We have so many photos to share, though you may decide which one you would like to publish it.  I am going to forward those photos to you by different emails.   

Many thanks again.   Best regards.

“Quote Unstoppable WOWs for our Amazing China Discovery Tour!

As orchestrated by Ian Wei of Chengdu Bamboo International Travel, two of us were wandering from one natural wonders to endless wonder spots of China. We were wandering from the soft fertile earth of red land to multi-formed stone forest and strolling in the village of diverse ethnic minority of Yunnan. Our journey continued to nonstop amazing historical heritage and nature beauty in the land of world roof in Tibet.  Worldly cute panda and Giant Buddha as well as Luodai and Jinli ancient places plus shopping spots of Sichuan made our visit simply unforgettable. We were following the track of silk road and visit numerous wonder places in the Gobi desert of Gansu province, for example, climbing up sand dune mountain and circling the crescent lake of Dunhuang, walking inside mogao grottoes, Yardang geopark, western great wall, Jiayuguan fortress, reclining buddha of Zhangye.  Every view point in the area of rainbow mountains gave us no chance to brink our eyes and kept exclaiming Wows!  Lastly 4000 steps of stairs plus a double downs to tops ride of cable car to reach the peak station of Huashan in the outskirt of Xian was such a stunning and challenging trip.  

The above merely captures the essence of our 18-day (1-18 April 2015) trip organized by the impressive services of Chengdu Bamboo International Travel. Ian Wei is our host who stood ready to track/follow and response to our request throughout the tour. I have a full confidence and offer a big applause to the second to none service of this travel agent. Many thanks to Ian and his tour guides and superb drivers who made our trip every possible and so memorable.    

Cheers.  A couple, residents of Geneva, Switzerland ”

The following are some of the photos shared by Boonshan Sangfai

Yunnan Dongchuan Red Land

Lhasa Potala Palace

Glacier Tibet

Yardan Geopark

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by:
Rea

Rea

Reviewed on April 25, 2015

Dear Yachne,

Thank you very much - I am sorry for the late reply, wo gongzuo hen mang :)

I have already left a reply, I think they are revising it now on Tripadvisor as usual.

Please accept my deep thanks to you and the team as well as Ricky and Penny, my two wonderful tour guides. I had a lot of fun during all the tour! The panda base with Penny was a great day - I really enjoyed seeing the pandas with her.

Kind regards

Rea

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by:
Huihua

Huihua

Singapore

Reviewed on April 10, 2015

Hi Isabel, 

Back to work in singapore, feel so tired. It was a great trip in sichuan last week. The scenery is fantastic and the guide is very accommodating. Was expecting jiuzhaigou to be very beautiful like what many singaporeans say but it was just alright and way too crowded and squeezy. In fact i felt that huang long and er mei shan was much nicer and peaceful as there are less people. 

The hotels were great and our favorite is fraser suites whereby we slept very soundly. The guide is very nice and accompanied throughout our hike. The driver is a very cautious and good driver. It was a very pleasant experience as compared to my other private tour to xi'an and luoyang back in november. 

Really appreciate the fact that you called to check on us when we were in Leshan. Your correspondence via email and call was great and recommendable. Really appreciate your help.

Regards 

huihua

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by:
Kare

Kare

USA

Reviewed on March 28, 2015

Hi Jack,

The tour was great. The tour guide was engaging and very efficient. He even took us to get traditional Hot pot which was a highlight! The pandas were great and we loved People’s square and all of the chaos. All in all it was a good tour.

Thanks!

Kare

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Jack
Rosy

Rosy

USA

Reviewed on March 23, 2015

Hi Wonder,

In Shanghai:
"I want to thank you for arranging a very good guide & driver in Shanghai. Both Rocky & Siao Ma are very efficient & caring, Rocky is very knowledgeable and very well verse about our Chinese history, very impressive. I highly recommend both of them."

In Huangshan:
"We had a wonderful time in Huangshan, we were brave to climb that mountain, even my husband did it, slowly, but we did it.  The Huangshan guide was excellent, the hotel you booked us was beautiful and people there were very friendly. Love the food too, especially bamboo shoot."

In Chengdu:

"What a pleasure to finally met you!! Meeting you was the highlight of my visit to China!! And thank you for taking us to dinner and given us such wonderful experience! The food was so tasty, the ambience was wonderful, my husband liked it very much! But the best part of all was having it with you! We enjoyed it enormously! This is such a memorable journey, and you helped made it happened Thank you for being so detail oriented; it is incredible for you being so young yet so thorough!

Yesterday we saw the Big Buddha at Ling Yun Mt, the weather was perfect and no crowd. We did not go down the stairs to the foot of the Buddha cause it really is too high and steep. Later we went to the Ebony Museum, what an amazing & massive collection! In the evening we went to see a show, it was the 4th show we saw,  one in Shanghai, one in Huangshan, one in Yangshou, and the best one here on Sichuan. It was almost 10:30 pm my time we got back to the hotel.

And this morning we had to wake up early for our 8 o'clock journey to Mt.Emei. We climbed the steeped & very wet steps, it was a little hard today because it was so cloudy and cold and the air is so thin on top! We did not walk down the mountain, instead, we rode the Sedan Chair! What an experience! We loved it. Those guys are so strong and fast!! "

Thank you.

Rosy

(The following photos are shared by Rosy)

Visit Chengdu in March

Rosy and his family visited Chengdu in March

Fenghuang Ancient Town

Rosy and his family visited Fenghuang Ancient Town

Fenghuang Ancient Town

Rosy and his family visited Tulou in Nanjing County, Fujian

Li River in Guilin

Rosy and his family visited Tulou in Li River, Guilin

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Svetlana

Svetlana

Russia

Reviewed on March 9, 2015

Hello Mr. Wang!

I didn't have an opportunity to send you a message because after Tibet I went to Chengdu and then flew back to Russia. Our trip was great, I had a wonderful time.

Svetlan

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Andreas Hansen Strand

Andreas Hansen Strand

USA

Reviewed on February 13, 2015

Hello Tiger,

First of all, I want to thank you and your company for 12 amazing days in China. It will be 12 days I never will forget. The whole journey from standing almost alone and just enjoy the view and the silent on the Great Wall to see all the Pandas was enjoyable! This was my first visit to China, and I am pretty sure I will be back.

I also want to say thank you to my guides and drivers. Specially Peter in Beijing was fabulous! He helped me with everything. Everything from hotel check-in to getting the train tickets. He also explained me about the city and advised me what to do on the evenings and where to go.

And the main reason for how this tour was possible and completed I will say is my travel agent Tiger Wei. To be honest, I think he has done more than any other travel agent could have done. Sometimes when I had some questions he often answered me less than an hour later. And always the next morning. You know, we live in different timezones, so when I sent him an e-mail I knew that the next morning when I wake up, he had already answered my question. I also had some issues with my flight bookings to China. I was not sure which date I would arrive and departure, but Tiger was flexible and said that we could change the date. No worries there!

So all summed up. I am very pleased with China Discovery. From Tiger who made the tour possible to Peter and the other guides who guided me around in China.

The day I return to China I am sure I will use China Discovery again.

Have a nice weekend!

Best Regards,

Andreas Hansen Strand

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by:
Karno

Karno

Hong Kong

Reviewed on January 4, 2015

Dear Laura,

We were back to Hong Kong in 1/1. We are very, very happy in this trip. 

I think I will never forget the precious volunteer experience with theses cute pandas. Besides the exciting volunteer experience, there are also lots of memorable events. Sitting in a traditional tea house and sipping a cup of green tea, we enjoyed the traditional Sichuan opera which includes the fascinating 'Face Changing' and 'Clothes Changing' show. Going to the southern part of Sichuan, we were amazed by the Bamboo Sea. Oh! Yes! It is Sichuan.  Of course there are lots of bamboo.  Unfortunately, it was foggy. I thought, "Hmm!  It is Sichuan Basin. Foggy weather is supposed to be normal, right?" Then, we went to Luobiao to see hanging coffins.  Being able to see these mysterious coffins in a close distance, we were really satisfied.

Thanks for helping us to experience Real Sichuan (the Sichuan Opera, the bamboo forest, the weather, the hanging coffins and of course the pandas).

After this happy trip, I decide to take my students to Sichuan in 2016.  1-2 days volunteering in Panda Base, Sichuan Opera, 寬窄巷子 and Sichuan cooking class (as suggested by our tour guide) are included in my plan.  By the way, I have given written feedback to our tour guide.  Have you received it?

Thanks again for your help.

Best regards,

Karno

(The following photos are shared by Karno)

Be Panda Volunteer in Chengdu

Watch Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by:
Calgary & Alberta

Calgary & Alberta

Canada

Reviewed on December 30, 2014

Dear Karen Zhou,

I am writing to acknowledge the excellent service we received from your Travel Consultant, Mr. Wonder Wang.

Throughout our negotiations, we found him to be very conciencious, friendly, accommodating and efficient in putting this package together.  He made sure that we were looked after and received best value for our money.  We are grateful to him for making our trip to China a memorable experience. 

We had the opportunity to meet him in Chengdu and were very impressed by his mannerism and his professional conduct. The fact that he took the time to meet us at the airport showed his deep concern for his customers.  This made us feel secure that we were in good hands. This talented young man has a great future ahead of him and is a valuable asset to your organization.  He is passionate in what he does and takes his job seriously.

We will not hesitate to recommend China Discovery and the services of Mr. Wonder to anyone who is planning to travel to China.

Best Wishes for 2015.

B. Alfredo and Luisa Lena Fernandes,

Dellano Fernandes & Lindsay Schloegel

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder

See all reviews from our guests See all reviews on Tripadvisor



Amazing Travel Stories from Our Customers

Our dear customers have shared many travel stories, feelings and stunning pictures after finishing their trips with us. They are glad to share everything with you and you are warmly welcomed to read their photo stories. Or, you can click 2012-2021 Customer Travel Stories" for more stuning stories. Get inspired now!

  • 12 Days Exploration Tour to Panda's Hometown
    Say Hello to Cute Panda and Travel Around Chengdu

    Marin enjoyed every minute during his 12 days exploration tour to the home town of giant pandas - Chengdu and the around to visit pandas, Leshan Giant Buddha, Dujiangyan Irrigation, and sample famous Sichuan cuisines.

    • Marcin (USA)
    • (12 Days) 2019.06.11~2019.06.22
    • Chengdu - Leshan - Emeishan - Chengdu - Dujiangyan - Mount Siguniang - Chengdu
  • 9 Days China Family Panda Tour with Kids
    Family Date with Kung Fu Panda and Frozen

    My family had a fantastic time in Chengdu & Xian tours organized by China Discovery. Professiional and responsive Wing (my travel consultant) and funny and knowledgeable tour guides made the tour a lot more interesting. Our volunteer experience at Dujiangyan Panda Base was a highlight...

    • Mr. Kelvin (Australia)
    • (9 Days) 2017.12.15 ~ 2017.12.23
    • Chengdu - Xian
  • Rachel Grant’s Panda Volunteer Experience in Dujiangyan
    Rachel Grant’s Panda Volunteer Experience in Dujiangyan

    The distinctive black and white animal is a national treasure in China and one of the rarest, most endangered bears in the world. A one-on-one encounter with a giant panda is a bucket list highlight and a must-do when you are in China. The time I spent witnessing such human dedication is truly eye-opening...

    • Panda Volunteer Star: Ms. Rachel Grant (British)
    • Chengdu - Dujiangyan