Tutty

Tutty

German

Reviewed on October 18, 2021

This feedback is for Vivien Li our travel agent at China Discovery has been long overdue. (Sorry for that Vivien). :

Vivien planned our first trip to the Silkroad in Summer 2021. Vivien has been a great support from the beginning to the end in organizing the whole trip and was always there to answer all my questions. Since we travelled with a small child she also put a lot of effort in our travel itineray and included the starting and end time for all our activities. This helped us a lot. It was the first time we had a guide with us and she found a great guide for us. We were really excited to start our Silkroad trip in August and it was a great trip. We enjoyed every minute. Unfortunately with few Covid cases coming up we had to return to Shanghai. During this time Vivien also was a big help in organizing a worryless trip back to Shanghai. With Vivien as our travel agent I know I have a reliable travel agent on my side I can fully trust.

I can fully recommend Vivien as your travel agent. Thanks a lot Vivien for your patience and your great service. Looking forward to our next trip to plan together. Tutty and Family

Tutty and Family

Date of Experience: August 15, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Norma

Norma

Spain

Reviewed on October 11, 2021

Dear Echo,

First of all we want to share with you that has been an amazing trip, one that we will not forget. We definitely loved it! Going into detail: :

• Guide: Gary was outstanding, he had a very positive attitude and he had never lost the smile although travelling with kids can be challenging. He was willing to help beyond his responsability, flexible when needed and passionate about his job. Simon, was a good guide and help us when asked for his support although it was a bit difficult to understand. The only thing that it could be improved was that when we went to Dunhuang for the private dinner in the desert, nobody spoke english there and Simon didn't come with us so it was a bit difficult in the beginning.

• Driver: He was good and drive very safely.

• Hotel: Generally speaking all the hotels were ok but the hotel in Dunhuang was not really what we understand as a 5 star hotel (breakfast was very chinese, no decent coffee, issue with the heating, no english,...). Hotel in Jiayuguan was very good although the rooms were a bit small. Hotel in Zhangye was very good, they had a lot of details (our family room was customize for kids, little presents every day in the room, dinner was very nice and they had the best coffee of the 3 hotels in the breakfast, they try to speak in english).

• Hotel: Generally speaking all the hotels were ok but the hotel in Dunhuang was not really what we understand as a 5 star hotel (breakfast was very chinese, no decent coffee, issue with the heating, no english,...). Hotel in Jiayuguan was very good although the rooms were a bit small. Hotel in Zhangye was very good, they had a lot of details (our family room was customize for kids, little presents every day in the room, dinner was very nice and they had the best coffee of the 3 hotels in the breakfast, they try to speak in english).

• Hotel: Generally speaking all the hotels were ok but the hotel in Dunhuang was not really what we understand as a 5 star hotel (breakfast was very chinese, no decent coffee, issue with the heating, no english,...). Hotel in Jiayuguan was very good although the rooms were a bit small. Hotel in Zhangye was very good, they had a lot of details (our family room was customize for kids, little presents every day in the room, dinner was very nice and they had the best coffee of the 3 hotels in the breakfast, they try to speak in english).

Cristina

Date of Experience: October 4, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Echo
Norma

Norma

German

Reviewed on October 11, 2021

Dear Vivien,

Please let me give you more detailed feedback on the Silk Road trip:

1) Driver in Xining was outstanding, very attentive and also supported for check-in etc. So definitely recommend for future. The driver for the second part was also very polite and a very calm driver.
2) Guides:
a. Shawo was very knowledgeable and could provide lots of information. Probably based on her professional background working in university.
b. Lisa was very passionate about her job and anyone who wants to know details about Chinese culture should go with her.
c. Andy was from my pov the least engaged guide. For logistics he organized everything well and no problems. For the cultural parts he could provide information, but I personally did not perceive him as too motivated or passionate about guiding. So for groups who just want the logistics done, he’s fine. He did share some personal insights on how Dunhuang changed from his childhood to now which was super interesting.
d. English level of all guides was soso.

3) The Badain desert was my personal highlight extremely impressive nature and really great Jeep drive through the desert! Our Jeep driver was the best, I would always recommend him again for further tours! Second highlight were the rainbow mountains both for sunset as well as sunrise in the morning. To make this happen, the Kaoshan tents are necessary as it is so close by walking distance.

4) The national geologic parks were also interesting ad the nature was different in different spots, a guide who has more geologic knowledge would have been desirable.

5) Mati Temple was way too crowded. Dunhuang desert was also very touristy and crowded, so not the scenery I would have wished for.

6) Hotels were very good standard, I was actually surprised of the level offered!!! In Jiayuguan a bit dirty, but overall good. I did not like the mongol yurt in the Badain desert though, if it is basic standard, I would have wished it to be less touristy, but it was yurts, yes, but all else was just mass tourism. Something I know now I just have to accept. I had hoped for a remote small local touch experience, which it definitely wasn’t. Also, there was a group partying with loud music and fireworks in the morning. So I would prefer a hotel (and I now learnt it even exists) in the desert as the local experience is not given anyways.

Norma

Date of Experience: October 1, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Ruth

Ruth

Ireland

Reviewed on October 11, 2021

Hi Riley,

Thank you for planning our trip so well

I wanted to let you know that our first driver was really excellent. Because we didn’t have a guide, he took care of our check ins at the hotels and also purchased our entrance tickets. We all really appreciated his hard work and patience.

Thank you!

Ruth

Date of Experience: September 1, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Chad

Chad

USA

Reviewed on October 8, 2021

Hi Rita,

we leave from Dunhuang in a few hours. Trip has been nice so far. Not too crowded at the sites we visited, and weather has been nice each day until now. Very lucky for us.

Chad

Date of Experience: October 3, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita
Miko

Miko

Indonesia

Reviewed on October 2, 2021

Hi Tracy,

Anyway, i really like adam. He has a class. So maybe ask the wuhan guide to bring me to restaurant which has view of east lake or the best local specialty restaurant. Adam really did a great job here. He knew my taste very well.

Miko

Date of Experience: September 30, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Bernard

Bernard

France

Reviewed on September 18, 2021

Hello Tracy,

Absolutely perfect, everything was very well organized, the visits interesting and well explained, the places magnificent in every way. And a great group atmosphere.

Bernard

Date of Experience: September 18, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Ljiljana

Ljiljana

German

Reviewed on August 1, 2021

Hi Vivien,

The trip is very good we like it very much.

Ljiljana

Date of Experience: July 23, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Natalia

Natalia

Denmark

Reviewed on July 27, 2021

Hello Vivien,

All good. Thank you for organizing the trip. It was fantastic.

Natalia

Date of Experience: July 15, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
ChewYian

ChewYian

Singapore

Reviewed on June 6, 2021

Overall the 敦煌,张掖,嘉峪关itinerary n hotels are good. Guide Gary is very professional and passionate about Chinese history (he was previously a middle school history teacher). 西宁 hotel & guide Daniel were good too. Suggestions (1) Chaka lake is very nice but due to flight timings we only spent 30 min at the lake itself. (2) I think if we were to recommend friends, we would ask them to cut the 阳关,玉门关,汉长城 and spend more time in Xining (there is a nice temple near train station) and Chaka lake. (3) You should strongly recommend that guests spend at least 2 hours at Chaka lake itself excluding the traveling (once you reach there, you need to take bus n train to reach the lake, that itself takes almost one hour including waiting for passengers one way). Thanks

Jack, you have been professional and always trying to find a “yes” for your customers. You responded positively to some negative feedback (from my friends) and offered good alternatives. I will certainly still recommend you to others.

Date of Experience: June 1, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Jack
Daniela

Daniela

Italy

Reviewed on May 29, 2021

Hi Jack,

Here is our feedback.

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

From the very first e-mail exchange with the agency, our contact, Jack, has always been very professional and fast in providing all the information requested as well as his recommendations and advice.

2. How do you comment your tour arrangements?

The tour arrangements reflected what had been agreed and the tour ran smoothly. The guides and drivers were competent and flexible to accommodate our requirements.

3. Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?

We will recommend China Discovery to friends who will look for an agency to travel around China

4.  Your general opinion on us?

Dear Jack, you provided an excellent service. We really appreciated your kind gesture in providing the cake for celebrating Laura’s birthday. Thank you!

Date of Experience: May 21, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Jack
Wendy

Wendy

USA

Reviewed on April 21, 2021

Vivien,

We have arrived in Sanya and are on the way to our resort.  Thank you for arranging the very helpful guide and driver this morning. They were professional and prompt.  

Do you have a feedback form that I should complete or would you like me to write something in my own words?

I must tell you, the cruise was amazing!  I have never felt so much like a queen as I did on the cruise.  The staff was unbelievable, the accommodations were excellent by my western-standards, and the activities were splendid! Nobody wanted to leave the cruise!!  

The two boys enjoyed the unlimited “mocktails” drink package and flying kites on the sundeck.  The two girls enjoyed the “mocktails” and the variety of relaxing spaces on the ship.  Sometimes they wanted to relax in the Executive Lounge, sometimes they wanted to do karaoke.  It was wonderful that the children had easy access to any place in board that they might have an interest.

As you know, we already recommended you to my friend Sylbeth. We will continue to recommend your services.  If we have time for one more vacation before leaving China, we will definitely arrange it through you.

Thank you,

Wendy

Date of Experience: April 6, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Seamus

Seamus

Canada

Reviewed on May 6, 2021

Hi Lyn,

It was ok. Just on the train out. Wechat translate made things run a lot smoother.

Date of Experience: May 3, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Gabriel

Gabriel

Mexico

Reviewed on March 26, 2021

Hi Leo, Everything fine and thanks for ask;

Everything was super and thanks.

Date of Experience: March 20, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Leo
Josh

Josh

USA

Reviewed on January 4, 2021

Hi Echo,

We are now in Jiayuguan. Crescent lake was a fun idea! Thanks.

Date of Experience: December 18, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Echo
Borja

Borja

Spain

Reviewed on August 17, 2020

Dear Wendy, 

Here I send the answers for the services you have provided in the last 2 days. I also send some pictures that I agree on add to the webpage. I will make a contribution in TripAdvisor as soon as I can. 

1. Was your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Overall, I had an excellent services from my travel consultant and the company. I decided to travel on the last minute and they arranged everything really fast and efficiently in the way that my trip started without problem. Travel consultant was really fast and efficient on answering my questions and on tailoring the trip on a couple of changes I wanted to do in relation to the original trip plan offered. My travel consultant, Wendy, was also available to solve any of my questions regarding the special travel requirements needed due to Covid-19. Wendy was also took care of my needs along all the length of the trip.

2. How was your tour? Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you? 

I am very satisfied with the tour. I asked for some modifications in relation to the original trip which were fast and easily arranged. I didn’t feel pressured during all the trip, thing that I enormously value. I had my time to enjoy all of the places I visited. Both the driver and the tour guide were helpful and kind. I am specially satisfied with my guide, Cathy, who took really care on giving extend and understandable explanations, answering my questions (including those non-tour related: where to eat, what else to do, etc.) and taking care of my stay and well being in Dunhuang.

3. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services

I think that for people living in China, it would work a bit faster and smoothly if there is an earlier communication by Wechat. Emails are not as accesible platform as Wechat when living in China. 

Best regards, 

Borja

Date of Experience: August 15, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Mattice & Lien

Mattice & Lien

Belgium

Reviewed on August 13, 2020

Hello Tracy,

A-ma-zing everything perfectly organised and overwhelmed by the beauty of the grottoes and the knowledge of David. The Yardan Park was breath taking, so special. Even the 2 hour drive was amazing. The last hotel was very good. great mix between traditional, luxury and also accommodating to westerners.

Mattice & Lien

Date of Experience: August 3, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Marlie

Marlie

Netherlands

Reviewed on August 12, 2020

Hello Echo,

We had a wonderful trip! We enjoyed it very much!

You did a fantastic job (again)!

Everything was very well organised and there were no problems at all.

We have only 1 comment: 

When we arrived at the camp site in the desert in Dunhuang, we found out that it had been possible to book a more private tent at a more quieter spot in the desert.

The karaoke, the bright lights and the generator were not exactly the desert experience we had hoped for.

So we would have liked it if we had been informed about the option of the 'private tent'.

Other than that all was perfect.

We will certainly recommend your agency to our friends and if we decide to do another trip in the future we will for sure use your services again.

Thank you!!!

Marlie

Date of Experience: July 31, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Echo
Gloria

Gloria

Reviewed on August 10, 2020

Hi Lyn:

We are enjoying this very much.

Yes everything has been very good! Thank you.

Date of Experience: August 7, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Bjoern Ehlbeck

Bjoern Ehlbeck

Germany

Reviewed on August 10, 2020

Hi Leo,

I’m back in Chengdu... the trip was a very nice experience! Yes, both of them. I liked Jacky more, she is more authentic... I understand she actually is from CITS, right?

Date of Experience: August 1, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Leo
Irene

Irene

Malaysia

Reviewed on December 17, 2019

Hi Leo,

Sorry for late reply. We really enjoyed this 8 Days Silk Road trip for our company trip holiday.

We'll like to thank the Lanzhou tour guide Miss Dong Dong who waited for us at the airport late at night as well as received us at train station from Xining on our last day at Lanzhou. She was kind enough to inform us about places to get good food!

Travelling from Lanzhou to Zhangye, Jiayuguan and Dunhuang, we had Mr Gary guiding us and I must say that I enjoyed all his narratives about the places we were to visit. He was very helpful when we lost a camera and went all out to retrieve it for us. He even helped to repair a jacket for us. Well done!!

We enjoyed our visit to Qinghai lake very much, especially when our guide stopped at an adjoining frozen lake for us to play and take pictures. That was a bonus!

Overall, this trip was great although a bit tiring and cold!! We really like having the places to ourselves. 

The food was sometimes too spicy though.

Thanks China Discovery & Mr Leo Li for your help.

Best Regards

Irene Goo

Date of Experience: November 13, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Leo
Boonshan Sangfai

Boonshan Sangfai

Geneva

Reviewed on May 5, 2015

Hi Ian,

We are back to Geneva! Please find below a short summary of our trip which you may feel free to edit or shorten it as you deem appropriate.

We have so many photos to share, though you may decide which one you would like to publish it.  I am going to forward those photos to you by different emails.   

Many thanks again.   Best regards.

“Quote Unstoppable WOWs for our Amazing China Discovery Tour!

As orchestrated by Ian Wei of Chengdu Bamboo International Travel, two of us were wandering from one natural wonders to endless wonder spots of China. We were wandering from the soft fertile earth of red land to multi-formed stone forest and strolling in the village of diverse ethnic minority of Yunnan. Our journey continued to nonstop amazing historical heritage and nature beauty in the land of world roof in Tibet.  Worldly cute panda and Giant Buddha as well as Luodai and Jinli ancient places plus shopping spots of Sichuan made our visit simply unforgettable. We were following the track of silk road and visit numerous wonder places in the Gobi desert of Gansu province, for example, climbing up sand dune mountain and circling the crescent lake of Dunhuang, walking inside mogao grottoes, Yardang geopark, western great wall, Jiayuguan fortress, reclining buddha of Zhangye.  Every view point in the area of rainbow mountains gave us no chance to brink our eyes and kept exclaiming Wows!  Lastly 4000 steps of stairs plus a double downs to tops ride of cable car to reach the peak station of Huashan in the outskirt of Xian was such a stunning and challenging trip.  

The above merely captures the essence of our 18-day (1-18 April 2015) trip organized by the impressive services of Chengdu Bamboo International Travel. Ian Wei is our host who stood ready to track/follow and response to our request throughout the tour. I have a full confidence and offer a big applause to the second to none service of this travel agent. Many thanks to Ian and his tour guides and superb drivers who made our trip every possible and so memorable.    

Cheers.  A couple, residents of Geneva, Switzerland ”

The following are some of the photos shared by Boonshan Sangfai

Yunnan Dongchuan Red Land

Lhasa Potala Palace

Glacier Tibet

Yardan Geopark

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by:

See all reviews from our guests See all reviews on Tripadvisor



Amazing Travel Stories from Our Customers

Our dear customers have shared many travel stories, feelings and stunning pictures after finishing their trips with us. They are glad to share everything with you and you are warmly welcomed to read their photo stories. Or, you can click 2012-2021 Customer Travel Stories" for more stuning stories. Get inspired now!

  • 14 Days China Taoism & Buddhism Trip
    Culture Fan’s Seeking - Traditional Taoism vs. Tibetan Buddhism

    We received an inquiry from Mr. Ronald last year. Since Ron is very interested in Chinese Taoism and the EBC, I made an itinerary of 14 days suitable for his interests and needs to Wudangshan and Mt. Everest with Chengdu to egnite his China Trip from Beijing!

    • Mr.Ronald (USA)
    • (14 Days) 2017.11.01~2017.11.14
    • Beijing - Wudangshan - Chengdu - Tibet - Beijing
  • 15 Days to Unveil the Mysterious Ancient Silk Road
    15 Days to Unveil the Mysterious Ancient Silk Road

    Traveling to the Silk Road is like a dream come true. Monica had an unforgettable time discovering 9 cities from the modern Shanghai all the way northwest to Urumqi in Xinjiang.

    • Monica (Spain)
    • (15 Days) 2019.5.09~2019.5.23
    • Shanghai - Xian - Pingyao - Lanzhou - Zhangye - Jiayuguan - Dunhuang - Turpan - Urumqi - Shanghai
  • 19 China Trips
    19 China Trips of Vijay’s People - Spreading around Family & Friends of Wonder’s Good Service

    Vijay, his family and friends have enjoyed 19 trips to savore the nature, culture, history, etc. in many great places during 2014-2017 with the great suggestion and service from Wonder.

    • Vijay (India)
    • (3-10 Days) 2014-2017
    • Destinations: Beijing, Shanghai, Xian, Guilin, Zhangjiajie, Hangzhou, Suzhou, Xinjiang, Harbin...