Enda

Enda

Ireland

Reviewed on October 8, 2021

Thanks Riley,

I very much enjoyed the tour. I was looking for remote hiking along the Great Wall and I thought the routes were fantastic. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Driver was safe, courtesy and car clean. Overall, a great experience.

Joshua

Date of Experience: October 3, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Riley
Therese

Therese

Norway

Reviewed on September 24, 2021

Hi Leo,

The driver was great. On time and very helpful. He also had good local knowledge as I had some time before going to the airport so we stopped at two local sigthseeing destinations. All in all, I am very happy with the arrangement

Therese

Date of Experience: September 22, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Herve

Herve

Canada

Reviewed on September 21, 2021

Hi Riley,

The driver was very very good. Your help was excellent.

Herve

Date of Experience: August 6, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Cameron

Cameron

New Zealand

Reviewed on July 10, 2021

Hi Johnson,

Our five families had a superb trip! The incredible sites we visited such as the 'Great wall' and the 'Terracotta warriors' will stay in our memories forever! Our guides took us to some superb restaurants where we really enjoyed the local food. The Peking duck for me was a favourite. Your organization and that of our local guides was excellent! Our guides knowledge of the places we visited was in-depth and really added to the interest in what we were seeing. I will highly recommend your tour to other teachers at my school and friends and family back in New Zealand.

Things to improve upon:

I think when travelling with younger children we found it's better sometimes to do 1 or 2 things a day rather than try and fit everything in on the itinerary especially when it was hot and there was lot's of walking to do. I think the guides were good at realizing this and were flexible when there were things we cut out of the daily itinerary. Having a pool at the end of the day was great for tired kids.

Perhaps next time with families try and have them stay not underneath the bar on the boat as it got a bit noisy. Although the people on the boat were really good when we said something about this on the first night. We also thought there could have been a bit more for children to do on the boat and we put that in our comments at the end of the trip.

That's all I can really think of as there was not really anything wrong with the trip. Thanks again Johnson, let me know if you want me to add any more detail in recommending the trip to others.

Regards.

Cameron

Thanks Jo. You too and thanks for amazing memories!! We are on the way home ready for bed!!

Beatriz

Us too! Adding our thanks for letting us join you. It was a great trip and fun to spend time with you all. Thanks to Johnson for all of his efforts and planning!

Lisa

Fantastic trip y’all! Thanks for all the memories! I’ll try and get photos from everyone and get some out together in the next week or so.

Matthew

Yes fantastic trip thanks everyone! We’ll get some feedback to you soon Johnson.

Cameron

We must have already been asleep when these messages came through. We have had a wonderful time. Thanks Johnson and Cam. Great to tick off so many must-sees in China ! Let’s have a post holiday debrief at our new apartment once we have unpacked!

Kylie

Hi Johnson, I know this is a bit late telling you. But our family had a lovely time on the trip you organised for us. We got to see so much of China! We feel very lucky. We are spending a week in Sanya. China is so beautiful!

Tessa

Date of Experience: June 29, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Tiffany

Tiffany

USA

Reviewed on July 15, 2021

Hi Zeva,

Good morning Zeva. Kai has been a wonderful guide while we have been in Beijing. Who will be our guide in Xi'an?

We had a great trip! Thanks for all your work on this.

Tiffany

Date of Experience: July 11, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zeva
Delma

Delma

Ireland

Reviewed on June 28, 2021

Dear Zeva,

Beijing: We had the Great Wall all to ourselves. Fantastic experience. Had a fantastic day.

Guide was amazing, driver amazing, hotel amazing. All 5*

High-speed Train: Looking forward to it. Business class is amazing.

Xian: Today was such a special day, one of my dreams came true, to see for myself the Terracotta soldiers and horses. I was in awe. I cannot find the words to express how amazing an experience it was. Our guide made it even more special, he shared interesting knowledge with us. I am so grateful for this opportunity.

Today’s highlight, biang biang noodle and Chinese burger, very delicious

Xi 'An trip was fantastic. Timo was an amazing guide. Looking forward to the next leg of our journey.

Guilin: Hiking up the Longji rice terraces today was like entering a magical world. The 93% humidity did not deter us

Today was a gastromical delight. The local cuisine at Longji is 5*. The highlight was seeing our vegetables being picked in the garden and then cooked for us. The taste was unbelievable and the icing on the cake a bottle of Portuguese wine. The local wine is great too, more a desert wine. I'm in heaven.

Today had many highlights, visiting the Yao village, where women have hair over 1 meter long, seeing the amazing Reed Flute caves, seeing the sun and moon pagodas and of course my birthday. Its been a wonderful day. Thanks to all who made it so special and for all the birthday wishes. I am so blessed.

Wow, another fantastic day. Li and Dragon river.Wonderful scenery, delicious food, great company and more birthday presents. I am eternally grateful.

Our trip to Guilin was amazing. Alice was a wonderful guide. The only downside was the attitude of the staff at the Armari hotel. They seemed a little uneasy as we were foreigners and even wanted a covid test. Alice handled the situation very well though. The hotel room and facilities were great.

I would give a rating of 5 for the hotel room, facilities and location but 3 for customer service.

Yangtze River Cruise: Its been a great trip.

What better way to finish a holiday than a cruise on the Yangtze river. The staff on the Century Paragon ship made it a journey to remember.

Our final trip before returning home. The three gorges dam, magnificent and powerful.

We had a great holiday. The whole trip was well organised, the guides anazing, everything was perfect. Thank you.

Date of Experience: June 28, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Zeva
Kimberlya

Kimberlya

Germany

Reviewed on June 8, 2021

Good morning Jack,

Lee was excellent. Very personable, very professional. Your drivers were very good. The pace of the trip was good. We enjoyed seeing both reconstructed and old wall. It gave us a much better appreciation of the work to not only to build but to maintain as well .We would caution that knowing in advance what sections of the wall are closed would be helpful. The second day it seemed we spent more time hiking in the brush than visiting the wall itself. Plenty of water and bathroom breaks were offered. Li was very knowledgeable about the wall and history. He gave us information in the van and allowed us to enjoy the wall without interruptions. Great job on his part The water town hotel was very enjoyable. The room was clean, air conditioner, and felt traditional but clean and new. Li did a great job of preparing us and getting us through the security points at the square. The local farmhouse restaurants were decent and the people very kind.

Xi'An: Tomi was good. He had a less engaging tour so our interaction with him was less but still enjoyable. He accommodated our request to spend time with friends that were in the area as well.Muslim street was very small and not as unique as I thought it would be.The bike ride along the city wall enjoyable. Better first thing in the morning or late afternoon. It would have been too hot for a mid-day visit.We stayed at the W in Xi'An. Great place to stay. I would visit that property again. We ate dinner at a new Turkish restaurant called The Chill right outside the hotel. Would recommend.Warriors was amazing. Tomi's knowledge very much appreciated. We were two and half hours early to the airport so timing was a bit off.All said, we would definitely use China Discovery again.

Date of Experience: June 4, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Estelle

Estelle

France

Reviewed on May 16, 2021

Hi Riley,

Sorry for the late reply.

We had two wonderful days on the Great Wall

Jenny was really friendly and flexible. She gave us good explanations on the history of the Great Wall. 

The driver was fine also, maybe his driving could be a little bit safer but it was ok. 

The car was clean and of good quality.

On the first day it would have been better to leave the hotel in Beijing one hour earlier to avoid the traffic and be less in a rush.

We really enjoyed our weekend and I really appreciated your professionalism and kindness.

I will keep your contact for potential future trips. 

Thank you very much,

Estelle

Date of Experience: May 3, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Bjoern

Bjoern

Germany

Reviewed on May 7, 2021

Hi Leo,

Yes, I can give you some feedback on the Beijing trip. In general we enjoyed the trip very much. It was a good idea to go to Jinshanling Great Wall instead of Badaling. Actually we had heard of Badaling being rather crowded during National Holidays, that’s why we asked you to include Jinshanling. It was a good choice;

Jack, our tour guide was very nice, he has a very good knowledge about the places we went and the history behind. The driver was very experienced and we always had a smooth drive, although obviously sometimes the traffic was dense.

The Restaurants that Jack picked were all ok, the experience with the family in the Hutong for the Dumpling making was very nice.

There could be some minor changes to the tour. For example it was more convenient to go to Jingshan Park and Beihai Park on the same day instead of separate days. Actually Jack proposed that and it was good. We went to both of the parks the day after the Forbidden City. There are some further attractions to visit inside the Summer Palace and Beihai Park. You have to buy extra tickets, which are 10 Yuan per person. I think it might make sense to include these in the tour right away from the beginning.

Date of Experience: April 30, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Seamus

Seamus

Canada

Reviewed on May 6, 2021

Hi Lyn,

It was ok. Just on the train out. Wechat translate made things run a lot smoother.

Date of Experience: May 3, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Marcos

Marcos

Brazil

Reviewed on May 6, 2021

Hi Jack.

I love it!!!It was worth each cent.The guide was incredibly knowledgeable, it made a huge difference to have him showing me the places and explaining all the history behind it.The timing was very well managed and not rushed and the best part was avoiding huge crowds.I am very, very happy with your services.Thank you very much.I am already trying to get some days off to plan a trip to Xian with you guys.Thanks for everything!The only problem was that hotel. I have travel all the continents, stayed in multiple hotels. That hotel IS NOT a 4 star hotel. It is terrible. But the issue was managed.Thanks one more time.

Date of Experience: April 20, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Jack
Ashton

Ashton

South Africa

Reviewed on April 19, 2021

Hello Rita 

I'm doing well! How are you?  Just cleaning my house now .

I can't thank you enough for everything! I really had an amazing holiday and I appreciate all the extra efforts you helped me with. I felt like a superstar sometimes .

I'm so excited for Patra as she will get to experience a vacation where she can to do minimal because everything is taken care of.

Thank you for the kind gesture I appreciate it! The lunch was definitely delicious and it was good to get to know Sandy and Mr. Li. during both lunches.

Date of Experience: April 7, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Rita
Keena

Keena

USA

Reviewed on January 12, 2021

Hello Wonder!

I am so very sorry for taking so long to get back to you!  It was such a busy week last week, that every time I sat down to write to you, I kept getting distracted and having to focus on something 

So, first, it was a wonderful trip!  Of course, we wished that COVID didn't interrupt some of our itinerary.   . . . but even with the pop-up-health-concerns in Beijing, we felt very well taken care of.  We really appreciated the fact you frequently checked in and kept us updated.  In addition, we believe Linda was probably the best person to be on a tour with during a health scare, because she took care of us like we were her little kids.  :)   In English, I told her I felt like she was our "mother hen," always making sure we were taken care of!  She also always picked THE BEST food.  One could tell that she has had a number of western tourists before, because she also always tried to find food that not only represented Beijing, but that would also fit with our western palate. :)  

Also, when we went to the Great Wall, we completely lucked out: there was no one there!  For a great part of it, it was as if the Great Wall was our own private wall! :)  Definitely amazing.  Definitely memorable.  Many of the tourist sites were like that: due to COVID fears and the cold, they were nearly empty.  For the western tourist, the emptiness made the tourist sites even more memorable.  :)   Linda provided great context.   It was very cold, but Linda was a trooper -- always trying to make sure we saw what we wanted to see!  

I will say, even the Beijing Public Hospital, despite being a very busy hospital, went fairly smoothly, all things considered.  So, hey, now we can mark that off our list of things we have done in China. :) 

Hotel was nice, but due to Covid, many of the amenities were shut down.  Breakfast was superb, though! :)  Also, Mark and I were trying to be safety cautious, so we did not explore outside the hotel much. There was a lot of extra app scrutiny, which I'm sure you can imagine.  Also, people seemed very nervous. 

Linda also stayed with us all the way until we boarded the train.  She was very thoughtful and considerate.  Our driver (Mr. Lee), was also very kind and considerate during the entire trip.  He was very quiet, but we felt like we were safe in his hands. 

Bruce, in Xi'an, was also fantastic.  Such a different personality, but perfect for Xi'an.  He was enthusiastic about history (great for Mark), and had a passion for the food in the Muslim Quarter (great for me!).  You know, one day, your company should consider incorporating a food tour in Xi'an.  The food is so different than anywhere we've been in China . . . and so tasty!  In a way, I bet Bruce could run the food tour!  By the way, riding the bikes on the wall was a nice extra touch.  We didn't expect that!  Thank you for arranging.  Mark and I would have never thought we would have enjoyed it so much, but we definitely did!  It was also fairly empty. . . and with the sun setting, it was quite magical. 

Sheraton in Xi'an was also a very nice place to stay.  Great choice! :)   

We really enjoyed ourselves, Wonder.  Thank you for picking great tour guides, checking in, adjusting our itinerary, and making sure everything worked smoothly.  In fact, we enjoyed ourselves so much that Mark and I have already started thinking of our next trip!  

Mark and I will have some additional leave coming up in May.  Mark has gotten approval, but I haven't yet.  Either way, we are thinking of a fairly large trip, that would at least include Chengdu (definitely including food-related itinerary) and part of the silk road (the Qinghai to Gansu trip).  I particularly am interested in the grottoes and the desert.  As we get more details/approvals to take leave, we will let you know.  Of course, we will want to work with you, since you are our favorite tour organizer! :) 

Thanks for checking in!

 

Take care, 

Keena (and Mark)

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Stijn

Stijn

Belgium

Reviewed on January 4, 2021

Just wanted to thank you Wendy,

Our travel in Beijing was great!!

Date of Experience: December 20, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Jonathan

Jonathan

USA

Reviewed on December 29, 2020

Hi Riley,

The tour guides were both excellent, the drivers too. I have no complaints.

My Beijing tour guide is an excellent storyteller and my Xi'an guide was very friendly and helpful.

Date of Experience: December 22, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Riley
Martin and Debbie

Martin and Debbie

UK

Reviewed on December 29, 2020

Hi Tracy,

Yes, we are back in Guangzhou where it is much warmer than Beijing!

Feedback:

Hotels – both hotels were excellent; the staff were very helpful, breakfast was very nice and the rooms clean and well maintained. The hotel in Beijing just won as they upgraded our room when we arrived to a King double.

Guides/Drivers: Edward was good in Harbin, even though there is obviously less to talk about than if he was in Beijing. He was always on time, very helpful with buying tickets, showing us around and he took us to a great restaurant for our evening meal in the city. The driver (sorry, can’t remember his name) had a good car and drove very carefully in icy conditions.

Kai really made the trip for us. He was very knowledgeable, kept us very interested in all of the history that Beijing has and told an excellent story – on top of being very organised, very helpful with the health codes and so on. Mr Jao the driver was punctual, very helpful and as a team they worked very well. I would recommend them to any of my friends who were going to Beijing.

Activities: it was more difficult to fill two days in Harbin, especially as it was so cold. The snow sculptures were impressive, the ice sculpture park truly amazing and the tiger park (which I was a bit worried about) was more acceptable than other animal attractions I have been too (and there were lots of tigers!). Apart from that, we enjoyed the walk down the ‘Russian street’ but the cathedral was a little underwhelming and we visited the old part of town at a very quiet time of day.  

On the other hand we could easily have spent more time in Beijing; Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and the Summer Palace were places where we could have spent much more time exploring, but the highlight was the Great Wall which was fabulous. If we ever get back to Beijing we will definitely go to another stretch for a longer walk. Sadly for the tourism industry, but good for us, it was nice to not have too many people there as well.

Overall we had a great time; everything was well organised, pick ups were punctual, we got to see some of the top sights in China and would definitely consider going back to Beijing in the future. Thanks for all your efforts as well (flight cancellations, letting us know about the situation in Beijing), everything went really smoothly and we will definitely consider getting in touch with you again about future trips.

Hope that you have a prosperous New Year

Best regards

Martin and Debbie

Date of Experience: December 23, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Daniel

Daniel

Colombia

Reviewed on December 17, 2020

Dear Rita,

Thank you! We are having a good time! Kai is very good tour guide.

We are back home now. Thanks again for organizing such an amazing trip. We really enjoyed it. My wife will be filling out a comment on trip advisor. She was so happy!

Date of Experience: December 13, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
Michael

Michael

USA

Reviewed on December 16, 2020

Hi Riley,

Thank you! The Great Wall was phenomenal.

Date of Experience: November 23, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Riley
Alice

Alice

UK

Reviewed on December 15, 2020

Hi Wonder,

Thanks for today! Everything went well!

Date of Experience: December 15, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Alex

Alex

Zimbabwe

Reviewed on December 11, 2020

Hey Vivien!

Yes, we are safely home and having dinner.

The whole tour was very organized, the tour guide was very friendly and she had a deeper knowledge of the sights we visited, the staff at the hotel was really friendly and could speak a bit of English, which was helpful and the hotel itself was really comfortable and intimate. Overall I think the tour was a success and we are satisfied.

Date of Experience: December 7, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Graham

Graham

South Africa

Reviewed on November 15, 2020

Hi Tracy

Fine. Tour guide and driver excellent. Hotel good but inconvenient with luggage. Food service poor. Great Wall and sights excellent. Thanks for all the help.

Food in town excellent. Good choices. Food hotel cold breakfast. Take 3 bus to get to hotel. Drag luggage over road. Guide help us a lot. He is excellent

Date of Experience: November 13, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Emma

Emma

UK

Reviewed on October 9, 2020

Hi Tracy,

The trip was great! Seeing the tulou was incredible and we really enjoyed staying at the guesthouse. Our guide was also very knowledgeable! 

Best wishes,

Emma

Date of Experience: October 8, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Robert

Robert

South Africa

Reviewed on October 9, 2020

Hi Lyn,

Oh it was sooooooo good many thanks! Please do keep in touch when you've got specials going on over weekends

Date of Experience: October 7, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Cynthia

Cynthia

Hong Kong, China

Reviewed on September 29, 2020

Happy Mid-Autumn Festival to you also!  I think I forgot to fill out the following survey.

Here below are the questions for you: 

1.     Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

      Yes

2.     How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour? 

 Very good overall.  Just the one in Beijing is just OK.

3.     Would you like to recommend our company? 

 Yes, definitely.

Thanks,

Cynthia 

Date of Experience: June 5, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Simon

Simon

UK

Reviewed on May 25, 2020

Hi Wonder

I hope things are returning to normal for you and that the impact in your business of covid-19 has not been too depressing. Please forgive my tardy response, for which there is no excuse!

I flew from Shanghai to Saigon just 3 days before the flights were banned and managed to spend a great 4 weeks travelling through Cambodia and Thailand as well as re-entering Vietnam in Hanoi and touring back to Saigon for a week returning to UK on 22 February, where I completed 2 weeks of self isolation with my wife. As you will know we have been locked down for 9 weeks now so life is very different to how it was before I left for China back on 12 January! I have inserted my answers to your questions below and hope they are helpful to you.

1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Wonder Wang, at China Discovery, was very helpful and responsive to my questions and needs and I felt supported and safe in a strange land, especially during a period of uncertainty when I lost key documentation and needed to ensure its replacement before I left China, and also during a time when many around us were conscious of the emerging coved 19 pandemic (Mid to late January 2020).

2. How’s the service of the tour guides during your whole tour?

Very attentive and knowledgeable. Maybe it’s my age (67) but at times I found understanding their English a challenge but they were all patient with me and would repeat their explanations when I asked them to. 

3. Would you like to recommend our company?

 I have no hesitation in recommending China Discovery to anyone looking for a bespoke trip to the land of Wonder that is China.

Thanks again for all you did for me during the China leg of my trip. I had a wonderful time.

Take great care and best wishes

Simon

Date of Experience: January 13, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
John

John

USA

Reviewed on February 13, 2020

Hi Echo,

First my wife and i are very concerned about you & family plus our guides and their families due to the coronavirus.

We had a fantastic time in China just a few months ago.

1. Our travel arrangements were PERFECT! It was an affordable vacation yet for only a few dollars over base cost we were able to upgrade to Hainan airlines and 1st class high speed trains,

Plus our hotels (when the front desk is an actual luxury desk you sit at checking in - you relax and know your stay will be so nice!)

We were met on time by friendly staff in each city.

Our local tour guides were great! Each different but good. 

We have recommended your tour company many times as we discuss our trip and show our pictures. Everything went very smoothly. As we exchanged emails our perfect vacation developed so easily. 

Improvements? Not many. The tour locations, transportation, lunches, drivers & guides etc... were great!

2 things- our guide in Shanghai wanted to tell us so much. She was worried about the time too much. For her, the other guides, and the travellers - please send a simple intro guide lesson for us fo read and take with.  So many dynasties, rivers, canals, rocks, pagodas etc...to learn. 

Also, the shopping stops were very nice and also affordable. 

But, if wasn't until our last morning that i discovered a souvenir shop. To buy tshirts, key chains, refrigerator magnets, etc..  This is an important part of travel as the "themed" location shops dont carry items forg all the friends and family back home.

Also in Xian we had expected fo visit the ancient mosque along with the muslim street.

Thank you for a wonderful trip.

Date of Experience: September 11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Echo
Franca

Franca

Italy

Reviewed on February 4, 2020

Hallo Lily,

Last year, with my cousin Roberto Bergoglio and his wife Anita Maletto, I had with 'China Discovery' a nice holiday in China.
We remember well the beauty of the country and the kindness of our guides. 

We are now very sorry for the bad news from China and we hope that all of you is well. 

We are sure that these difficult moments will soon be over.

Cheer up!

Franca Bergoglio

Date of Experience: September 15, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Lily
Kris

Kris

Australia

Reviewed on January 28, 2020

Hi Wendy,

If I get a chance I will put something on Tripadvisor but I can give you the responses to your questions.

1. Was your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions? 

Yes very happy with the contact we received and the booking of tours.

2. How was your tour? Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you?

I was very happy with the tour. I think in Shanghai the hotel was in a poor location and didn’t have the services the other hotels had. If I had known I would have paid extra for a better/ better location hotel.

Date of Experience: January 2, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Virginia

Virginia

USA

Reviewed on January 22, 2020

Hi wonder,

Just wanted to thank you very much for the great service. I had a great time in my first visit to China. Next time I go I will contact you to visit Chengdu to spend time with the pandas.

Date of Experience: January 11, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Chan

Chan

Singapore

Reviewed on January 18, 2020

Dear Rita,

We had a good trip, thanks to you for giving good tour guides such as Jenny in Beijing and Celina in Harbin. Drivers were careful too.

 

Date of Experience: January 10, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Rita
Chris

Chris

UK

Reviewed on January 15, 2020

Dear Ms Zeng,

So I am now back home in England and already I am very much missing China!

Overall my tour was excellent and I would be very happy to recommend your company to my friends and family.  In fact I have already done so

Here are my comments about the tour in more detail:

Xi’an 

The train connection went smoothly and I was met at the station by my guide, Crystal

Hotel: The Holiday In Express was good, clean and friendly.  The location is excellent because it is right in the centre of the city.

Guide and driver: Crystal (and the driver) were excellent. Crystal was very well informed, very friendly and great company.

Tour: The places we visited were interesting and I really enjoyed seeing the terracotta warriors.

Beijing

Again the train transfer went smoothly, apart from me arriving at the wrong exit at the station (which you sorted very quickly - thank you!) Having your number for emergencies was a really useful on that occasion

Hotel: the hotel itself was good, clean and comfortable.  I just found the location a little “isolated” and would have preferred somewhere a bit more downtown, near the centre.

Guides: 2 different guides for the 2 days. I have already messaged you about Yuly who I thought was excellent. Informed, patient with the difficult tourists and good company. The guide on the 2nd day was also very good, well-informed and good company.

Tour: Beijing was incredible if very cold! I thoroughly enjoyed all the places we visited and found the guides to be well informed. The Great Wall was amazing!

Shanghai

Again the train transfer went smoothly and I was met on time at the station by the guide.

Hotel: the hotel was warm, clean and comfortable and well located near the railway station and the metro.

Guide: Frank was well-informed, well organised and fun to be with.

Tour: the tours were interesting and well organised.  I felt I saw the best parts of Shanghai

So overall I was very happy with the tour 

I should also add that your itinerary was very comprehensive and I constantly referred to it on my travels.

My only suggestion would be to include a link on how to use the Metro because the first time is confusing (or did I miss that link)

I am happy for you to include my comments in your marketing and I am also happy for potential customers to contact me if they want more feedback before they book.

I took over 900 photos but I have included my 3 favourite photos as they remind me that I have been to these 3 iconic places in China.  I am happy for you to use my photos

Thank you again for organising the tour, Ms Zeng

Best wishes,

Chris

Date of Experience: December 28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wing
Jenny

Jenny

Australia

Reviewed on January 15, 2020

Hi Wendy,

Thank you Wendy so much for organizing our wonderful trip to China you made every thing fun and easy. All the arrangements worked out perfectly without a problem. We had a fantastic time and enjoyed all the sights and sounds and attractions. We really appreciated our tour guides they were exceptional and the drivers and pre-organized tickets made the trip easy. Could you pass on a special thanks to Anne, Alison, Tina and Eric who made our family feel very welcome and gave our trip a warm and personal touch.

Thanking you Jenny and family :-):-):-)

Date of Experience: December 31, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Dimity Simes

Dimity Simes

Australia

Reviewed on January 12, 2020

Hi Wendy

Yes, home safely thank you. Could I tell you before I respond to your queries, it was a wonderful, brilliantly organised trip, thank you so much.

1.  You were always prompt with responses to any queries and clarifications. Your suggestions were carefully considered and you accommodated our requests effortlessly.

2.  The tour was simply great. Beijing - Kai as guide and driver Mr Ho. What a find with Kai! His English was perfect; his knowledge was exceptional. Kai constantly volunteered information and explanation without having to be asked. The restaurants he took us to for our lunches were fabulous - very fresh, freshly cooked and spice level to accommodate our palette. He was also very considerate towards my sister who is older and less mobile than us, always looking out for her, assisting with her bag etc. You have a real gem with Kai. Mr Ho and the vehicle were also fantastic. The van was very clean and comfortable. Mr Ho was also very helpful with luggage. If there needs to be a simple suggestion for the future, perhaps a low step to assist customers into the van would be helpful. Kai provided us with bottled water each day, without being asked.

With regards to the itinerary in Beijing, I should have included an extra day to see the Ming Tombs. As we had a full free day at the end of the holiday, I did organise a private tour for this reason, and it was great. The Great Wall - I chose the option of the cable car because my sister has mobility problems. 350 metres of steep cobbled ramp way, plus approximately 100 steps of varying heights (from 10 cm to 45 cm in height) were extremely challenging for my sister and she would have missed this amazing place had Kai and my partner Tony not been so kind to her and physically assisted her. Perhaps a bit of a misunderstanding on our part Wendy, as this was certainly not disability friendly! 

Xi'an - bullet train was great except both the conductors and the officials at the exit gates in Xi'an, wanted to see our tickets! I showed the itinerary to them, but Kai told me later that perhaps I should have also shown our passports? Never mind, we got there! Crystal and driver Mr Hou(?) were also great. The vehicle was clean, however smaller than in Beijing and a little more difficult for 4 people to be comfortable. Again, a low step would be advantageous for customers to access the van more easily. Crystal was very knowledgeable and both were helpful. The museum and the warriors just have to be seen to be believed. The theatre restaurant in the evening was technically the best I have seen, anywhere. A wonderful experience was Xi'an. Crystal provided water each day without being asked.

Harbin - flight was good. Guide was Karl but the driver was never introduced to us. Karl's English was not very good and his understanding of us and our questions was quite poor. A very pleasant and nice young man however. We had breakfast early in Xi'an, then nothing until we arrived in Harbin late in the afternoon. The itinerary stated we would tour the ice lanterns after dinner, but Karl did not understand we had not yet had dinner. Finally he understood us and took us to a local cafe where we had one choice only for our meal (it was very good though) and then we headed to the park. Excellent sculptures, we had seen nothing like this before. The snow sculptures the next day were simply quite stunning. Wonderful, talented people. The ice and snow festival in the evening was unbelievably spectacular. The vehicle was not really acceptable I am sorry to say. Very cramped and quite dirty as had not been cleaned after previous customers. There were used tissues and empty water bottles in the van. We had to ask Karl for water, and he went to a store to buy some. When I realised the Tiger Park was not on our itinerary I was very disappointed as I thought I had included this. Karl arranged this for us for Y600 and we appreciated this.

On our last day in Harbin we had Celine as our guide and she, like Kai, was brilliant. Excellent English, offering information constantly. The ice swimming with the locals was extremely funny as the older Russian women really made it very entertaining and fun. On our leisurely way to the airport she was told our flight was now leaving 1.5 hours earlier than scheduled and no one had been told. We received royal treatment by Celine who sped us through check-in and waved us off just in the nick of time! Thank you Celine. I think she may also have checked the van as it was cleaned that morning and we hope she realised that it was not us who left rubbish in the van. Again a low step would be helpful for customers, particularly as the floor became very icy and slippery and was problematic for us.

I arranged a private tour of the Ming Tombs on our last holiday day and I realise we could not have included this on our original itinerary due to time constraints. This was really worthwhile, so I would definitely recommend this to other customers Wendy.

3.  Suggestions? Low step for each van please, especially where it is icy. In Beijing if time is as limited as ours, perhaps suggestion of Ming Tombs in place of the Sacred Way?

Wendy, a great holiday with so much included. Both Kai and Celine are wonderful. I will put review on TripAdvisor as soon as possible.

Dimity Simes

Date of Experience: January 1, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Ann

Ann

USA

Reviewed on January 10, 2020

Hi Wendy,

We made it home safely.  I thought both Helen and Kelly did an amazing job.  They made our visit to China wonderful.  They were always on time, professional and very knowledgeable.  I was impressed that they escorted us from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the train station or airport.  They made sure that we were secure and had everything that we needed.  The drivers were professional.  This whole trip couldn't have gone smoother.  I would and already have recommended your services to friends.  I am very happy with everything.  

As far as the travel consultant. I felt that you were very easy to communicate with and were very responsive.  

I don't have any additional suggestions.  This was a great experience.

Thank you,

Ann

Date of Experience: December 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Rick Valek

Rick Valek

USA

Reviewed on January 7, 2020

Hi Mike,

I am writing to thank you and your staff for arranging a wonderful vacation for my family in China. We really enjoyed our time in China learning about your country.

Each of your tour guides and drivers were friendly, knowledgeable and very professional. They treated us like we were part of the family.

Thanks again, and Happy New Year.

Rick Valek

Date of Experience: December 26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mike
Sandeep

Sandeep

India

Reviewed on January 7, 2020

Hi Jack

Thank you for organising a wonderful trip. All the arrangements were very good and professional. The guides and drivers were very knowledgeable and helpful and we would like to thank them for making our tour enjoyable. We really enjoyed our tour and I would be happy to recommend China Discovery to my friends and colleagues. 

Thank you and we will reach out to you again in the future for our next trip to your beautiful and amazing country

Thanks and regards

Sandeep

Date of Experience: December 29, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Jeslyn

Jeslyn

Singapore

Reviewed on January 5, 2020

Hi Mark, 

Thank you for your email follow up. 

I have provided our write up via trip advisor as per the link below. Below is our inputs to your feedback questionnaire:-

1. How’s the hotel and meals?

Hotel arrangement and meals are great. During our return trip from Xian to Beijing, the guide (another Mark) and driver have sent us to Hotel Park Royal. I believed the record was not updated to Novatel Peace. After clarification, they have sent us to Novatel Peace. 

2. How’s the tour guides’ service and drivers?

All are excellence. They are very patience and understanding to our needs. For Xian, we have the same driver and guide throughout. This made us very comfortable as we meet the same person throughout our stay with the rapport already build up. 

For Beijing, we have different drivers on some days. We understand it is not easy to have the same drivers throughout due to their daily routines. 

3. What do you think of your travel consultant’s service?

Travel consultant's service, Mark Shen is excellence. He is extremely helpful and go an extra mile as always to meet our request. We are very thankful to have him to serve us. 

4. Will you recommend our office to people around you?

Certainly a Yes. 

We greatly appreciate your service to us. You have made us enjoy our stay very much in Beijing and Xian. Wishing you a great year 2020 ahead. 

Jeslyn

Date of Experience: December 19, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
Anastasija

Anastasija

UK

Reviewed on January 2, 2020

Hi Mark,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for being so patient with us on providing feedback.

We shared immediate feedback at the end of every stop we had, but here are se add ns below.

1. How’s the hotel and meals?

Hotels were very good.

Only complaint would be hotel in Emeishan, as a window didn’t close and curtains were a nightmare to close – we had an issue with wifi, but its also on us as we did not go down to ask reception, thankfully it was only for one night, so not a big deal.

Food everywhere was very good with loads of options between local and western selections. I fell in love with the breakfast noodle soup, so was having that everywhere we went.

2. How’s the tour guides’ service and drivers?

Cant fault the drivers and guides on this trip. We learned a lot about the culture and the places we visited. Always had timely pick ups, cars were clean and very good. Sandy picked up all of our onward train tickets in one go, so we didn’t have to waste time on following days to get to train station, that was very helpful!

One comment that I’m not sure how to address is lunches, we really enjoyed our experience in China, and are open people and want to try local food in a sharing environment, we asked in all places if the driver and the guide will eat with us.

-        With Sandy when we could (as one day we were up the mount) both guide and driver ate with us, the restaurants were local and of very good quality and plenty of food to share and try as there were 4 of us on at the table, despite the language barrier it was very nice to eat all together.

-        In Xi’an, Vivian ate with us but the driver did not. We had to request specifically (as our friends recommended) to try Biang Biang noodles – they were awesome. The driver was very lovely and even bought us apples to have on the journey.

-        In Beijing, we ate alone, as Candy said that its company policy that driver and guide eat separately to guests when we were together. Was a bit strange for us to sit at 2 different tables, it wasn’t a big deal, just a different experience to the start of the trip.

We really enjoyed our time at all the places, saw and experienced loads of new places.

3. What do you think of your travel consultant’s service?

Its been a really well organized tour, we’ve seen loads in such a short period of time.

Everything ran smoothly with no hiccups (at least we didn’t see any).

4. Will you recommend our office to people around you?

For sure, already have been, if anyone is planning a trip to china they should definitely use your company to organize everything.

Kind Regards,

Date of Experience: November 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
Ryan

Ryan

USA

Reviewed on January 5, 2020

Vivien,

It was a great trip. Candy was a wonderful guide. The van was extremely comfortable and made the one day trip very easy for my family. We would definitely use her again in the future and recommend her to others.

Thank you once again for helping set up a memorable trip.

Ryan

Date of Experience: December 27, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Julia

Julia

UK

Reviewed on January 1, 2020

Hi Echo

Just wanted to say a big thank you for arranging an amazing trip it absolutely exceeded our expectations

Julia

Date of Experience: December 26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Echo
Lan

Lan

USA

Reviewed on December 31, 2019

Hi Lyn

Thank you for helping us with the tour. We really enjoyed it and would recommend you highly.

 

Date of Experience: December 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Ken and Perola Noble

Ken and Perola Noble

UK & South Africa

Reviewed on December 31, 2019

Hi Wonder

We are now back in South Africa after one of our very best holidays,ever so again very many thanks for making it so.

Listed below are responses to your appraisal--

1)Wonder was incredibly quick at answering our e-mails and super efficient when dealing with any queries I had both before and after the tour.Nothing was ever too much for him.

2)Tour arrangements were fantastic! Drivers were always available to meet us at train stations or airports to take us to our hotels. Also guides often arrived earlier than planned in the morning for our daily tours. Guides also very helpful and informative. (Minor point but Guilin Hotel was a bit out of town and did not offer facilities of the others—Chengdu hotel was magnificent)

3)I certainly am very willing to speak to anyone who is interested in travelling with you in the future

And recommending your company.

4)General opinion—10 out of 10—it couldn’t be better

5)I think overall the tour was very well organised-maybe the guides could promote evening events more in the different cities.I did attend a Sichuan opera eve.in Chengdu which was good.

6)Have lots of photos which I can send—let me know-panda cubs attached

Please use any of my comments on your web site

7)Certainly –future/potential customers can contact me for advice

OVERALL A SUPERB HOLIDAY—MANY,MANY THANKS

Very best wishes

Ken and Perola Noble

 

Date of Experience: December 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Say K. Lim

Say K. Lim

Singapore

Reviewed on December 28, 2019

Hello Wing,

Sorry the late response....see response in Italic below....

(1)  How do you like our tour arrangements and are you willing to recommend our service to your friends?

 The tour arrangement was perfect and I have already recommended to my friends, etc

(2)  Do you have some suggestions for us to improve our service?

 It is better and easier for us to provide survey feedback for the individual tour guide and driver online, right now it is paper based and sometimes we hold back comments knowing that the tour guide get to see the comments.

(3)  If you come to China again, would you like to use our service again?

 YES

Date of Experience: March 30, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wing
Jacqueline

Jacqueline

Singapore

Reviewed on December 27, 2019

Hi Leo

Overall, the tour experience was great and the itinerary was closely complied with. 

We were greeted promptly by the local guides in both Beijing and Xian at the very moment we stepped out of the customs.  Immediately, we were brought to our hotel in comfortable vans driven by friendly and safe-minded drivers. 

Sunworld Hotel in Beijing is slightly below expectation as the room is small for 3 of us. Pillows were flat and curtains old. It is however well located within walking distance to Wang Fu Jing and surrounded by convenience stores and shops.

Places of interests in Beijing like the Gu Gong and Great Wall are still as charming as 18 years ago. Public toilets at these places still have a lot of room for improvement though. 

Kai, our local guide at Beijing is professional and knowledgeable. He speaks both Mandarin and English well. His sharing of China history was engaging as he would assess us now and then with Q&A:). He also went the extra miles to send us to the bullet train cabin/ seats and gave us very detailed instruction on when to get OFF the train to ensure we do not miss the stop.

Bullet train from Beijing to Xian is a good alternative to internal flight as the cabins are clean and quiet. Can observe the development of different cities along the way too. 

The Titan Hotel in Xian is much bigger and comfortable. It has also engaged robot to assist in housekeeping. The breakfast has a wider spread than that in Beijing too. 

The Terracotta Army in Xian is eye opening. Our guide at Xian is knowledgeable and explains clearly too. Many new stores and eateries are located outside the TA museum. Would suggest to allocate more time at this commercial site as we were rushing to go for our lunch which was located within a nice resort with 5-star toilets.

Meals at Xian are less exciting and appealing due to our non-spicy and no beef nor mutton diet. Also, most if not all of the meat dishes are served cold including braised trotters. Chinese food in Singapore is served warm/ hot unless otherwise indicated. 

On hindsight, 1-night stay in Xian is sufficient, with a full-day visit to the Terracotta Army Museum, and shopping at the commercial site outside the Museum. Foot and body massage outlets are commonly found in Xian with good services. Will recommend a relaxing massage to wrap up the day! 

Last but not least, thank you for the arrangement and here wishing you a Blessed and Prosperous New Year !

Regards

Jacqueline

Date of Experience: December 14, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Leo
Laiking

Laiking

Canada

Reviewed on December 16, 2019

1.) Your travel consultants were very prompt in responding to us. Both Ashley and Wonder were very clear in responding to our requests for information, and both did well in addressing our questions and concerns. We especially appreciated the changes in accommodation they made for our trip in Xian, where our accommodation had to be changed. We appreciated the efforts they made and are generally satisfied with the results. They were also very patient in explaining everything to us, and we had very little confusion regarding the details of the trip.

We want to give extra credit to Kai, our guide in Beijing, who was not only helpful but caring. We thoroughly enjoyed our excursions with him, including the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, and the Summer Palace. He is truly the best guide in our entire tour, and we hope all guides in the future can be as knowledgeable and caring as him.

Our general opinion of your tour company is generally positive, as your tour is a fresh idea compared to the usual Chinese tour operators we encountered in the past. Your focus on spending more time on the historical and cultural aspects of China and not pressuring tourists to do other activities (ex: shopping) is very refreshing, and allows us to appreciate the areas we visit more. We hope there are more tour operators in China who are willing to operate this way in the future.

Date of Experience: November 13, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Tyler

Tyler

Canada

Reviewed on November 2, 2019

Hi Wing,

See answers below.

I was very pleased with the tour company. On the first day of our trip we got an emergency call from home. China Discovery’s tour coordinator and tour guide bent over backwards to get us to the airport on time and to squeeze in a spectacular visit to the Great Wall on the way. They went above and beyond the call of duty. I would highly recommend them to my friends. I look forward to going back to China to finish my tour with China Discovery.

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Gerhard

Gerhard

Reviewed on October 14, 2019

Hi Wendy,

I now had some time to put some pictures and a map of our journey together onto a travel blog page. You can see them (optimal on computer display, not so good yet on mobile) at:

http://www.gerhardbechtold.com/Home2/travel.html?trip=China2019

And in general about my journeys at:

http://www.gerhardbechtold.com/Home2/traveloverview.html

Thanks again for the wonderful trip organized by you.

Kind regards

China Travel Photos

Traveling Beijing, Longji, Yangshuo, Guilin, Shanghai and Having a Cruise

Date of Experience: September 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Lorna

Lorna

USA

Reviewed on October 2, 2019

Hi Mark,

Please see our feedback below:

1- Yes, he was fast to answer my emails. Mark answered all my questions until it was clear for me.

I felt very comfortable with all his answers He would let me know in advance if there was a festive day or he was going to be out of town.  Excellent service!

2: all our tour guides were amazing! Made every moment extra special!!  I liked all a lot specially our guide from Chengdu and Beijing

All were terrific and they know where to take us, the explanation of everything

I felt very comfortable with all of them. Kevin was great watching that I wouldn’t fall or get to tired

Increíble guides and choferes too!!

3.  I am going to recommend your company with friends and family

Excellent service!!! We felt save every moment in China

4. Of course I will send pictures

I will write in Trip advisor and recommend specially you mark

You were so kind with us all the time

Thank you so mucho for all your work and keeping us safe and happy

Increíble increíble trip!!!

China Travel Photos

Enjoy Our Time in Beijing and Xian

Date of Experience: September 16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mark
Jody

Jody

Australia

Reviewed on October 5, 2019

Dear Johnson,

We are safely home, settled into our normal life and it is with great pleasure that we respond to your request for feedback.

1.    Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

I can not recommend Johnson Wang highly enough. He was incredibly prompt and patient with my numerous emails, and super helpful in allaying concerns or accommodating specific requests. 

2.    How do you comment your tour arrangements?

From my initial enquiry, until completion of our tour 12 months later, Johnson ensured that every detail of our tour was thoroughly met. The tour arrangements exceeded our expectations!

3.    Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?

There are multiple tour companies and travel agents offering very cheap packages for China tours, but we are so pleased we chose to contact China Discovery and negotiate a package that met the travel needs of each of us, and that made our experience in China feel exceedingly VIP compared to the travel stories we have heard from our friends who chose the cheaper deals. We would only recommend your services, as every detail from the communication, guides, drivers, itinerary and special touches are what made our tour so incredible!

4.  Your general opinion on us?

Admittedly we had some reservations about creating, booking and paying for the tour entirely online, as there are too many stories about dodgy agents and fraudulent companies, but China Discovery (& particularly Johnson Wang) were exceptional to deal with, reassuring and very trustworthy. I give them a 100% recommendation!

5.    Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

The recommendations for optional activities was appreciated, but as the expectation between Western and Chinese culture is so different, I think a suggestion of dress code for each activity would be a good idea. 

For example, in Western or European culture the dress code for an Opera is formal, but in China it is casual, so we felt a bit silly when we dressed up very formally but then had to walk 30minutes to the venue and everyone else was wearing casual clothes.

6.    Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

Of course.

China Travel Photos

Our China Trip in Beijing, Xian, Shanghai

Date of Experience: September 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Chuck

Chuck

USA

Reviewed on October 2, 2019

Hello Catherine,

First let me apologize for the length of time getting back to you.  As soon as we returned home on September 17, following our twenty-two day cruise from Shanghai to Sydney, my wife had to go to the doctor with a strained hip muscle.  I stopped all my activities for almost a week to help her as she could barely walk.  Then on the 26th we had to fly Phoenix, Arizona to attend a "Celebration of Life" memorial service for Myrna's brother-in-law who died while we were gone. We didn't return until the 29th.

Finally I am able to respond to your request for information about our China Discovery Tour.  Here are our comments:

1. You, Catherine Liu, our Travel Consultant, were excellent in answering our E-mails and definitely patient enough to answer our questions. We were very pleased with all you did to make our time in China a wonderful experience.

2.  Our tour arrangements were very good although we were under the impression that the same people would be on our tours each day.  Picking up different people at different stops each day took more time from touring than we expected.  

3.  We definitely are willing to recommend your service to people who are interested in visiting China.  We have already been doing so.

4.  Our opinion of your service is very good. The explanation of our China Discover Tour we received before booking was very thorough.  Our hotels were excellent. Our tours were very informative.  The guides were very good.  The people that met us and/or helped us at the airports and train stations were very helpful. Without their help we would have had a great deal of trouble.

Our only problem was when we arrived in Beijing from Los Angeles.  We were not met upon arrival and had to call to find out what to do.  Evidently the person who was to greet us, and take us to the hotel, went to the wrong exit gate.  He did find us after receiving a call from your office.

Our tours were generally very good although we did not get to stop at Tian'anmen Square and our long walk through the Forbidden City was in the rain.  We were able to avoid a 1-2 hour wait in line at the museum in Shanghai because of our age.  The others in the group were quite unhappy to have to wait in line so long. 

We were disappointed in the 2nd class seating on the Bullet Train ride from Beijing to XiAn.  It was extremely crowded.  We had to store our large bags in the next compartment and put our smaller bags between our legs for the entire trip.  Out suggestion would be to book 1st Class or higher tickets rather than 2nd Class train tickets.

Highlights of our China Discovery Tour were our visits to The Great Wall, the Terra Cotta Warriors, XiAn and the Pudong and Bund areas of Shanghai. 

5.  A suggestion would be to include a dinner at a Hot Pot restaurant.  We did this on our own in XiAn with the help of our guide.  It was a great experience. Also, unless you can get immediate entrance into the museum in Shanghai, you should eliminate this stop.

6. You can use our comments.   As to photos, we have not separated them as yet but will email some at a later date.  I have yet to start on my article but will notify you when it is published on-line....probably not for a few months.

7. You can have potential customers contact me at 501-922-1101 or by email at Chuck@TheTravelingGuy.com.

Catherine, again I apologize for the delay in getting this information to you.

Regards,

Date of Experience: September 10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Jimmy

Jimmy

USA

Reviewed on September 4, 2019

Hi Vivien,

Sorry for the delay.  You are right, I got back from vacation and was very busy at work.  I also took time to sort through the many photos that I took while on vacation so I could include some in the response to you.

I will send you separate emails for each tour guide and photos so that you can see what photos go together.

We really enjoyed our tour of China with your company.  The hotel accommodations were quite good and met our needs.  The vehicles that we rode around in were very nice and comfortable rides.  The food that we ate at the hotels and restaurants was all very tasty and enjoyable.  We feel that with your tour we saw the best things to see in each of the sites and saw the most of what could be seen in China with only 1 week’s time.  We even got to do some things that were of special interest to us like getting a family massage and seeing some shows.  The bullet trains were also fast and efficient to get us from place to place.  The tour guides all spoke very good English and were knowledgeable.  Our private tour was very well planned out and everything was taken care for us so we only needed to enjoy our vacation.  Thank you so much for your help in planning our trip.  This was a trip of a lifetime for us and we will all remember the good time that you helped us to enjoy.

 

China Travel Photos

Beijing

Forrest was very attentive to our needs and was efficient in getting us to the places that we were to visit and made sure that we got priority access and did not need to wait in line.  He picked us up early and on time for our visit to The Great Wall and made sure we had plenty of water to drink.  When it was hot out at Tienanmen Square, he bought us all ice popsicles to cool down which we appreciated.  He also gave us the most relevant information about each site that we visited.  We wanted to go to a Chinese Herbal Medicine shop and he found one for us.  He also acted calmly and quickly when the vehicle we were in was involved in a minor traffic accident.  Forrest quickly called us a cab so that we could get to our last destination before leaving so that we did not miss the rickshaw ride. 

 

China Travel Photos

Xi'an

Vivian was a warm and engaging tour guide that like to tell us about the places that we were visiting.  She was also very accommodating in answering our questions and paying attention to our specific needs.  She made us feel comfortable as we visited the different sites in Xian.  On the second day we all wanted to get a massage and she made a special effort to look up a local place where the whole family could get a massage together and she took us there which we really enjoyed and appreciated.  We also got to go see a Chinese dinner and theater show.  Vivian arranged for the driver to pick us up and take us back to the hotel after it was done.  We enjoyed her company and conversation as she led us to the various attractions that we saw.

China Travel Photos

Shanghai

Laura was a very experienced tour guide and she gave us a lot of detailed information to all of the sites that we visited.  She also changed the schedule around while we were in Shanghai to maximize the amount of time that we had at each place and to avoid the crowds.  She was very accommodating and knew the best places to get family photos.  On the last day before we left, she found us a good restaurant to have lunch at.  Our son was going to college at NYU Shanghai which was the purpose of our trip to drop him off.  Laura arranged transportation for us to get to the campus for Move-In Day, and the same driver picked us up after we were done to drive us to the airport.  We really appreciated Laura’s attention and suggestions, including taking us to see a Chinese acrobat show.

Date of Experience: August 12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Manju, Bob and Chetan Hertzig

Manju, Bob and Chetan Hertzig

USA

Reviewed on August 16, 2019

Dear Johnson, 

We are back from our wonderful trip to China and wanted to thank you for the effort you put in to make it smooth and comfortable for us. As we didnt speak the language, we appreciated being helped through all the airports which made things much easier for us. 

Your country is beautiful, so vast and with so much to see. All the meals we had were super delicious, the best one being in Xi’an at the spa resort. Truly, there was never a bad meal in China anywhere. 

We loved Beijing - Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City were impressive, the Temple of Heaven, and walking through the Summer Palace and tombs of the Ming Dynasty, very lovely. The highlight though, was our climb to the Great Wall - amazing! Kevin, our guide in Beijing, was outstanding and went out of his way to cover it all while making sure we avoided the crowds. 

In retrospect, we might have spent less time in Xi’an, where we traveled back to 221 BC to see the Terra-cotta Warriors and browse through the Muslim Quarters. Our guide, Timo was very professional. Perhaps though it might have been better to spend a few days in Sichuan where the pandas live. We also loved going to Lhasa and our guide, Zhou Ma, was extremely knowledgeable and personable. Shanghai was not to be because of the typhoon, so going back to Beijing for the Lama Temple, Confucius Park, Imperial College and zoo was the right thing to do. We also appreciated upgrading to a suite at the Dong Fang. Our guide, Sally, and pick up person, Cherry, were very good. On the whole, it was a fabulous tour. Once again, thanks for all your help in making it happen. 

Date of Experience: August 5, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Hosein Sohrabi

Hosein Sohrabi

Norway

Reviewed on June 17, 2019

Hi Catherine!

Thank you for a fantastic trip with you in the end of May in Beijing!

Me and my mom had an awesome vacation, and mostly it is thanks to our fantastic respectful and servicemindred jeans!

I will absolutely recommend you to others in the future.

You can use my comments and photos:)

China Travel Photos

Hiking the Great Wall

Date of Experience: June 13, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Steve

Steve

UK

Reviewed on June 8, 2019

Dear Johnson

Please see my review below;

1.    Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Yes, all e-mails were promptly replied to and all questions answered.

2.    How do you comment your tour arrangements?

All arrangements were very well organised, all transport, pick ups and transfers were on time and meeting the guides was easy in all locations.

3.    Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?

Yes we would definitely recommend China Discovery.

4.  Your general opinion on us?

Very professional company. Very pleased with all service from start to finish.

5.    Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

6.    Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

Yes more than happy for our comments to be used in publicity. All of our guides and drivers were very good, however, we would like to make a special mention for Timo and the driver in Xian. Timo was very knowledgeable and really made our time in Xian memorable. The driver was excellent, a very safe driver who kept the van clean and every time we left the van he had replenished the used water bottles. 

I have attached 2 pictures of us on the holiday.

Kind Regards

China Travel Photos

Tian'anmen Square

China Travel Photos

The Great Wall of China

Date of Experience: May 29, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Gary

Gary

Malaysia

Reviewed on June 6, 2019

Hi Catherine,

Refer my reply below. 

Thks & rgds

1.    Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Yup. 

2.    How do you comment your tour arrangements?

Very well organized. Catherine was able to provide advice and suggestion and recommended a few hotels for us to choose based on our request. Our tour guide Miss Symphony was very knowledgeable and able to explain the history behind the places that we visited. She took very good care of us throughout the trip. Special thanks to the driver too for helping us with out luggage and also recommending some good restaurants to try out. The homestay recommended by Catherine was fantastic. Overall, we had a great time and enjoyable trip. Thank you for the wonderful memories. :) 

3.    Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?
Absolutely. 

4.    Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?
Yes you can. :)

 

China Travel Photos

Nice Beijing Tour

Date of Experience: June 3, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Brian

Brian

UK

Reviewed on June 6, 2019

Hi Catherine,

Below is my Feedback.

1.    Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

Yes.

2.    How do you comment your tour arrangements?

Excellent throughout. The itinerary was perfect and the guides went out of their way to look after us. I really liked how they helped with photographs of me and Joe.

3.    Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?

Yes.

4.    Can we use your comments of our service, the photos or other images that you took on the tour for our websites, brochures, marketing and publicity? If yes, could you please send us some of your photos by E-mail?

Yes.

 

China Travel Photos

Traveling Beijing & Shanghai

Date of Experience: June 2, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Joel

Joel

Reviewed on May 29, 2019

OK perfect Vivien,

Please see attached some of the best pictures we took during the tour,

also I have already posted the review on Trip advisor.

Best regards

 

China Travel Photos

Great Wall, Tian'anmen Square, and Forbidden City

China Travel Photos

Travelling Shanghai, Xi'an, and Zhangjiajie

Date of Experience: May 26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Stan and Brooke Hinschen

Stan and Brooke Hinschen

Australia

Reviewed on May 29, 2019

Hi Wendy,

My deepest apologise for my late reply. We have just been very busy since returning to Australia.

Firstly, yes we received the refund. Thank you, much appreciated.

To answer your questions;

1.       Was your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?

 Yes, very much so. Wendy was very prompt in replying to our questions, even while in China through WeChat. 

2.       How was your tour? Are you satisfied with the tour we arranged for you?

The tour was excellent. Everything we dreamt it would be and more. All of our guides were exceptional and made the visits to each location enjoyable and memorable.

3.       Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?

Some places we would have liked to have stayed longer and/or maybe had a free day to look around on our own once we knew what was there. Maybe suggest some free days. This would have been good in Beijing, Xian and Shanghai. We had an extra day in Beijing although if we had our time again we would have had that on Day 3 and explored the Hutong area more. In Xian, we would have liked to explore in the centre of the old city more (maybe have hotel closer to centre). In Shanghai we could have walked around the French concession and Bund area for a whole day.

Knowing about a good online map service would have been good when exploring on your own. In Australia we use Google Maps and you cannot get lost. Not having that available in China, I was not sure what was a good online Map service.

We absolutely loved our tour and all our guides. Wendy, you organised a great tour and we would definitely recommend you and your services to our friends and family.

The Great Wall was definitely our highlight, especially as it has been a childhood dream. So happy we went to Jinshanling section. Absolutely glorious day!!!

I have included a couple of photos that you can use. I will also get onto Trip Advisor and add a review.

Thank you so much for organising this fantastic holiday. We look forward to coming back someday.

Best regards,

China Travel Photos

In Front of the Bird's Nest

China Travel Photos

Brook and Andie Walking on the Great Wall

Date of Experience: May 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Patricia

Patricia

South Africa

Reviewed on December 28, 2018

Hello Riley,

Thank you for your help in organising the tour for my kids.

Apart from the uncomfortable train journey from Beijing to Xian – Mark says he enjoyed every minute of the tour and was a life changing journey as a Chinese person who has never experienced China.

I will definitely be recommending people to you and if my plans go well may even take a tour with my husband to China in the next 2 years.

May I take this opportunity to wish You and Your Loved ones a Healthy, Happy and Prosperous 2019 and may your company grow from strength to strength.

Sincerely,

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Riley
Jan

Jan

Canada

Reviewed on December 24, 2018

Vivien,

Season's greetings to you and your staff as well. My apologies for the delayed response. I had a bit of catching up to do when I we got home, as well as getting ready for Christmas .

I want to Thank-you very much for all the work you did planning our travels in China . It was a lot of arranging I am sure . Much appreciated.

Our guides were all very good. They were very prompt , and really made sure we were aware of plans the next day as well as the itinerary . I am so glad that we had guides meet us at the airports and get us to our hotels . Special thanks to Kai in Bejing - He was our first contact for a tour guide and we certainly enjoyed his great knowledge of the area and the Dynasty"s lineage.  Layla in Guillan was also a patient and caring person. We appreciated Bruce's enthusiasm and interpreting skills as Ernie had to talk to many locals and farmers we met. Please pass on a note of gratitude to all our contacts. The drivers were very good as well and I was amazed at how they managed in traffic ( especially during rush hour ) . The cars were very comfortable and appropriate for 4 people. We were a little tight in one car in Xian (but it was because of our long legs) and the driver certainly tried to adjust for that by trying to adjust the back seats further. I appreciated the extra care that the guides showed with arrangements for the trains . They all made sure we had our tickets, knew where we went , and what to watch for , and the process of getting on the train. The high speed trains were amazing . Wow.

The food was excellent and very tasty. We did enjoy eating at the very local restaurants . Certainly gave us a opportunity to eat food that locals eat. We did like the meals made in private homes .

Our destinations and sites we saw were above our expectations .. and everyday was fantastic . I cannot say which were my favorites as they all were . The amount of travelling we took on was worth it. I can tell you that a few places are now off my bucket list - The Great Wall, Terra Cotta Warriors, Terraces, Forbidden Palace, a burial tomb, Three Gorges, Li River, and Shanghai. The artistry of all the architecture, jade and marble… and so on.

Our hotels were all very comfortable and the staff was very helpful. Our night in the village on the hill at the rice terraces was a particularly fond memory. It was amazing and I am impressed that I made the trek up that hill. The view was spectacular - so thank-you for that arrangement.

All in all a fabulous trip . We are looking forward to showing picture to our family during the holidays.

Again Thank-you. Great job and Thank-you for all the effort involved in planning and arranging this tour . Wishing you well.

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Krishni

Krishni

Canada

Reviewed on December 23, 2018

Hi Riley,

Thank you so much. You were wonderful and all the drivers and tour guides were awesome. We had such a great time in China despite the cold weather.

We enjoyed a lot. Only thing was the food that we didn’t like it very much. We love Chinese food and we do eat atleazt twice or once a week here in Canada so we expected a little more with the food. But it wasn’t bad and it wasn’t good at the same time.

The second hotel we In Xi’an was awesome. But the first one in Beijing wasn’t that great. I wish I had a different view as well. But there wasn’t anything to complain. We enjoyed it. My husband loved the Great Wall of China and he wish that he spent a whole day there and he wants you guys to give that option to your tourist. You were the best. I couldn’t have done my China trip without ur help. You were the best with so much patience and thanks a lot for the help.

I would recommend you to my friends.

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Pasquale

Pasquale

Italy

Reviewed on December 12, 2018

Rita,

  1. Is your travel consultant of our company fast enough to answer your E-mail and patient enough to answer your questions?
  2. YES ,VERY FAST AND EFFICIENT, EVERY CHANGE AND EVERY REQUEST WAS PROMPTLY PLEASED

  3. How do you comment your tour arrangements?
  4. VERY GOOD HOTELS, GUIDE AND ARRANGEMENTS

  5. Are you willing to recommend our service to your people who also have an interest to visit China?
  6. YES ,I WILL RECOMEND, I AM IN THE SAME KIND OF BUSINESS,.AND I MEET MANY PEOPLE TRAVELLING LIKE ME

  7. Your general opinion on us?
  8. VERY GOOD, I WILL REFER TO YOU AGAIN SOON

  9. Do you have any suggestions on improving our services?
  10. LITTLE IMPROVEMENTS COULD BE MADE, MAYBE SUGGEST AHEAD OF THE TOURS OF AREA THAT SHOULD NOT BE MISSED IN THE CITIES WHERE WE ARE GOING, AND ASK WHAT IS THE MAIN INTEREST OF THE TRAVELLERS SUCH AS PHOTOGRAPHY OR HISTORY ETC.

Beijing Travel Photos

Great Wall - Amazing Manmade Wonder

Guilin Travel Photos

Comfortable Cruise Time on Li River

Guilin Travel Photos

Local Fishman on Li River

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita
Laura

Laura

USA

Reviewed on December 27, 2016

Hi Bertina,

Thank you so much. We arrived in Chengdu. Beijing was wonderful. Andie was a great tour guide and we got along well. Food was delicious and hotel was amazing. I was able to climb up to tower 1 at the Great Wall which amazed me. We also really enjoyed the summer palace. We are looking forward to spending the day with Shannon tomorrow.

Laura     

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by:
Ing Widya

Ing Widya

Netherlands

Reviewed on October 22, 2015

Dear Ian,

The day before yesterday we arrived at Beijing, the end of my tour with China Discovery. I am doing some sightseeing on myself in Beijing these couple of days, except tomorrow I will do a day tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu and the Mings tomb, arranged by Jade. After I am back in the Netherlands, I will give you a more detailed feedback.

However, a first response :

Everything went very well. Johanna is waiting for us when we arrived and she is an excellent, friendly and capable guide. We have enjoyed our tour very much; the tour programme as well as the explanations and care by Johanna. The driver is also friendly and helpfull; did his driving job very well (safe ). Hotels are good. Hotel in Pingyao is on the other hand excellent. Back in Beijing, Jade picked up us on time at the station, as one could expect.

All by all, we have enjoyed our tour in Pingyao, Mianshan and Datong organized by you.

kind regards,

Ing Widya

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by:
Elvin & Cynthia

Elvin & Cynthia

USA

Reviewed on October 15, 2015

Hi Wendy,

The trip was fantastic, all the arrangements went as scheduled from the moment we arrived, all the guides/drivers were great, as were the sites we visited. We felt very comfortable and safe as well as treated with respect by all the guides, drivers and hotel staff.

Your arrangements for the trip were all as I had requested and your communication with me was always prompt, polite and professional. I want to thank you for making the trip so memorable. We had a throughly great time and would be happy to recommend your service to others, please include us in your referrals.

Elvin & Cynthia

(The following photo was shared by Elvin & Cynthia)

Great Wall Tour

Elvin & Cynthia visited Great Wall of Beijing

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Jeanne Burke

Jeanne Burke

America

Reviewed on August 18, 2015

Hello, Ian,

We enjoyed a great tour of Mainland China and of Hong Kong. I thought you did an excellent job of making our tour arrangements and assigning tour guides. 

For me and my children, our trip highlights were climbing the Great Wall, cycling the ancient walls in Xi'an, sharing lunch with Angela and her family, visiting the Panda Research center, rafting on the Hongkou River, cycling through the Yangshuo villages, visiting the Urban Planning Museum in Shanghai and walking on the Bund.

I was very pleased with the quality of guides and drivers you selected. The children adored Mr. Jong (Beijing driver). He has a very warm and funny personality, and he was so accommodating, taking us to and from the Kung Fu Theater and out to the Olympic Village at night. Bruce in Xian is a truly exceptional guide. If you can give me the names of the owners of China Discovery, I would like to write them a letter regarding Bruce. Penny in Chengdu really did a great job for us at the Panda Research Center and also the rafting trip. My youngest Natalie just loved Candace in Guilin.  At the Guilin airport Natalie looked sadly at me and said, "Mom, I'm really going to miss Candace." Since she's been home, Natalie has mentioned Candace several times . . . .she made a tremendous impression on Natalie, and the rest of us enjoyed her very much, too.

Tim and Frank were very capable guides, too. Tim has peaked my interest in future travel to Tibet, Nepal and Bhutan. Frank is very knowledgeable about Shanghai and accommodating. I appreciated that Candace was able to attend the Impressions show with my daughters and me.  Without her there to explain each of the seven impressions, we would not have understood the beauty unfolding before our eyes.

I have tasked my middle child Lauren (14) with putting together a Shutter fly book.  She's just settling into school, so it may be a week or two before she starts.  Once she has selected her favorites photos from among nearly 800 we took on the trip, I will ask her to pick out her top ten favorites from mainland China and send them to you.  We'll add a brief explanation to each photo.

Ian, we enjoyed a marvelous trip. Our travel went incredibly smoothly, and I thank you and all the guides and drivers for ensuring a smooth, safe, and hassle free trip.

I am sure to return to China, but I intend to wait for the rapid (bullet) train to reach more destinations. I am incredibly impressed with the train service from Beijing to Luoyang and to Xian.  I look forward to the day when I can travel to all my destinations via the rapid train. 

I have given your name and email address to several friends contemplating trips to China. I will continue to refer you when the opportunity presents.

Best wishes, Ian.

Jeanne

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by:
Pravin Karkhanis

Pravin Karkhanis

India

Reviewed on July 30, 2015

Dear Isabel,

I am sorry that I am replaying after long time. As i landed back in India lots of pending work to done and that's how this delay.

Well first of all my sincere thinks to you and your entire team.

Really saying this was one of our most enjoyable trip. In Beijing, well we enjoyed as the group there was grate but from there on all the hotels were good and at good location, the car which was provided good condition the drivers nice and polite, and on top of that your guides were extremely superb. We got emotionally involved with them. Timo at Xian and Arther at Guilin and further are the best one you have got, don't" loose them they are the asset of your company.

what to say more. Yes, very special thanks to you who arranged it so well. I have told so many friends and they will contact you, give them good deal.

Thanks and Regards

Pravin Karkhanis

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by:
Luigi & Daniela Volpe

Luigi & Daniela Volpe

Reviewed on May 8, 2015

Hi Ian,

Daniela & I would like to thank you for the great Tour of Beijing & Xian we had recently with your company.

We would especially like to give our highest praise to both of your guides. Tristian-in Beijing was extremely professional & knowledge and was very helpful in organising all our activities.

Jenny- in Xian was also extremely professional & knowledge and was very helpful in organising all our activities. Please pass on our thanks to both Tristian & Jenny.  

We enjoyed our short time together & would highly recommend both to any of our family & friends. We would also highly recommend your company for all the professionalism shown to all of our group.

Regards,

Luigi & Daniela Volpe

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by:
Leticia

Leticia

Brazil

Reviewed on March 31, 2015

Hello Ian,

The tour today for great wall was fantastic!!!

Justin, our guide, is excellent!

I'm loving China!

Leticia

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Other
Tour Customized by:
Barbara & Monica

Barbara & Monica

USA

Reviewed on March 13, 2015

Hi Jack,

Thank you for providing wonderful service!!!!

Thank you for making our changes quickly and efficiently!! Due to the north east weather and personal circumstances!

Thank you for the wonderful guides and drivers you have provided!!

You are amazing at your job and really care about your guests!

I said a prayer for you and your family and all your guides and drivers and your company at the Buddha Temple. Wishing you all a Happy, Healthy, prosperous life. 

I can't wait to write my reviews when I return to the United States. You and everyone at your company have gone above and beyond to make this the best family vacation.  We have traveled the world and you and all of your staff by far have been the best. I would recommend your services to anyone.

Mike and Autumn in Shanghai, Mr Wong and Jenny in Xian and Mr Wong and Lily in Beijing were all the best. The drivers were safe and amazing in the traffic and the guides did not recite memorized scripts but knew the history about every site and could answer all our questions with great knowledge. The hotels were clean and the staff was nice and all of their breakfasts were fabulous. I loved how lunch was included on the tours and how great the restaurants were. I really appreciate the guides suggestions on food choices. We were never disappointed.

You may use my comments and name if you wish for publicity.

With Sincere Thanks,

Barbara and Monica Vandehei

Connecticut, USA

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Anna McHale

Anna McHale

Reviewed on March 2, 2015

Hi Isabel,

Happy New Year to You!

The trip was wonderful, we had a great time thanks to all your arrangements :) All the hotels were comfortable and in good locations. The food was generally good with a wide choice  of both western and Chinese choices for breakfast.  The room sizes even with the extra bed for Jessica were also fine. All the tour guides were very good.  I think Evelyn was our favorite, her english was excellent and she had a relaxed manner and was flexible about finding things we wanted to do.

I think my favorite parts of the trip where:

- The rafting trip from Jiuxian, that was so much fun and I would highly recommend it.

- Riding bicycles on the city wall in Xi'an

- Pingyao

- the Great Wall, we were so lucky with the weather, the skies were clear blue and we could see forever, plus as it was the day before the big holiday there was hardly anyone on the wall.

- the acrobats in Shanghai.

It was all wonderful really but those were especially enjoyable.

We did not anticipate how important the New Year holiday was and just how many Chinese people would be out touring during the week of the holiday. Or that restaurants would book up or even close over the holiday. However that was only a problem in Beijing and Shanghai.

We would definitely recommend your travel company to others wanting to visit China. The arrangement were excellent and I really appreciated the way you worked with me as we set up the itinerary. All the information you gave me along the way was helpful and accurate and everything went very well.

Thank you again, and I hope this rather long report on our trip answers all your questions.

Anna McHale

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by:
Andreas Hansen Strand

Andreas Hansen Strand

USA

Reviewed on February 13, 2015

Hello Tiger,

First of all, I want to thank you and your company for 12 amazing days in China. It will be 12 days I never will forget. The whole journey from standing almost alone and just enjoy the view and the silent on the Great Wall to see all the Pandas was enjoyable! This was my first visit to China, and I am pretty sure I will be back.

I also want to say thank you to my guides and drivers. Specially Peter in Beijing was fabulous! He helped me with everything. Everything from hotel check-in to getting the train tickets. He also explained me about the city and advised me what to do on the evenings and where to go.

And the main reason for how this tour was possible and completed I will say is my travel agent Tiger Wei. To be honest, I think he has done more than any other travel agent could have done. Sometimes when I had some questions he often answered me less than an hour later. And always the next morning. You know, we live in different timezones, so when I sent him an e-mail I knew that the next morning when I wake up, he had already answered my question. I also had some issues with my flight bookings to China. I was not sure which date I would arrive and departure, but Tiger was flexible and said that we could change the date. No worries there!

So all summed up. I am very pleased with China Discovery. From Tiger who made the tour possible to Peter and the other guides who guided me around in China.

The day I return to China I am sure I will use China Discovery again.

Have a nice weekend!

Best Regards,

Andreas Hansen Strand

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by:
Alfredo & Lena Fernandes

Alfredo & Lena Fernandes

Canada

Reviewed on December 24, 2014

Hi Wonder,

We must apologise for not getting back to you sooner.

We have just posted our comments on the Trip Advisor regarding our most memorable trip to China. It was a great trip, thanks to you. You did a great job. 

Let us know if you have been able to view the comments. Also two weeks ago we mailed you a card wishing you all the best and enclosed a small appreciation gift.

My husband was not sure if he was to write to your boss regarding the excellent job you did for us. Please provide us with the name of your Manager and the address to have the letter sent.

In Beijing our local tour guide was Linda. Somehow we mislaid her e-mail address. Could you kindly obtain this and send it to us. Thanks again for everything.

Best wishes for the holiday season and hope the New Year 2015 will be a promising and productive one. You have a great future ahead of you. Good luck.

Alfredo & Lena Fernandes

Date of Experience: January 1, 1970
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Wonder

See all reviews from our guests See all reviews on Tripadvisor



Amazing Travel Stories from Our Customers

Our dear customers have shared many travel stories, feelings and stunning pictures after finishing their trips with us. They are glad to share everything with you and you are warmly welcomed to read their photo stories. Or, you can click 2012-2021 Customer Travel Stories" for more stuning stories. Get inspired now!

  • 14 Days China Taoism & Buddhism Trip
    Culture Fan’s Seeking - Traditional Taoism vs. Tibetan Buddhism

    We received an inquiry from Mr. Ronald last year. Since Ron is very interested in Chinese Taoism and the EBC, I made an itinerary of 14 days suitable for his interests and needs to Wudangshan and Mt. Everest with Chengdu to egnite his China Trip from Beijing!

    • Mr.Ronald (USA)
    • (14 Days) 2017.11.01~2017.11.14
    • Beijing - Wudangshan - Chengdu - Tibet - Beijing
  • 15 Days to Unveil the Mysterious Ancient Silk Road
    15 Days to Unveil the Mysterious Ancient Silk Road

    Traveling to the Silk Road is like a dream come true. Monica had an unforgettable time discovering 9 cities from the modern Shanghai all the way northwest to Urumqi in Xinjiang.

    • Monica (Spain)
    • (15 Days) 2019.5.09~2019.5.23
    • Shanghai - Xian - Pingyao - Lanzhou - Zhangye - Jiayuguan - Dunhuang - Turpan - Urumqi - Shanghai
  • 19 China Trips
    19 China Trips of Vijay’s People - Spreading around Family & Friends of Wonder’s Good Service

    Vijay, his family and friends have enjoyed 19 trips to savore the nature, culture, history, etc. in many great places during 2014-2017 with the great suggestion and service from Wonder.

    • Vijay (India)
    • (3-10 Days) 2014-2017
    • Destinations: Beijing, Shanghai, Xian, Guilin, Zhangjiajie, Hangzhou, Suzhou, Xinjiang, Harbin...