Worry free
cleabir

cleabir

USA

Reviewed on February 27, 2021

Our agent Riley did a great job! Thanks to her and her team, we got to have a great new year holiday without get into any trouble. She thought of everything ahead of time, we will highly recommend her to anyone who wants to have a trip over China.

Date of Experience: February 15, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Anirban Ray

Anirban Ray

India

Reviewed on February 17, 2021

I recently completed a trip to Xiamen organized by China Discovery. I am based in Guangzhou. China Discovery assigned a travel consultant(Mr. Wonder) to me, who designed a tailor-made itinerary suiting my purposes. Mr. Wonder was fantastic, extremely responsive, kind, flexible, and quick, responding quickly to any question or request I had, and going beyond the call of duty to accommodate my needs.

I will plan all my future trips with China Discovery. I highly recommend China Discovery as a travel agency able to arrange your trip!

Mr. Wonder is a wonderful person. I am so impressed with him. Actually I planned a next tour with him for Xian--Harbin in new year and paid advance. But I had to cancel the tour because of increase in restriction. He refunded me all the money.

Date of Experience: February 7, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
markandkeena

markandkeena

USA

Reviewed on January 18, 2021

Recently my husband and I went to Beijing and Xi 'an with China Discovery. This is our fourth trip with this company! And our fourth trip working with Wonder as our travel-technician!

We are extremely happy with our experience.Unexpected events happened and we were required to head to a Beijing Public hospital for a check.Wonder, our tour guide Linda, and China Discovery, however, made it as smooth of an experience as possible for us while also trying to ensure we could still see the "big events": namely, the Great Wall, Forbidden City, and Temple of Heaven.And even though our itinerary needed some edits due to the unexpected events, Linda made sure that we were able to enjoy our experience in the safest way possible.She looked for shorter lines, she journeyed in the cold to a more remote area on the Great Wall with us, and she even waited with us at the train station when we were heading to Xi 'an. She also always made a point to always pick the most excellent food choices for our lunch, making an extra effort to merge the food that represented Beijing, but also that would be comfortable for a westerner to eat. While we would have been willing to try anything, that extra little effort made our eating experience all the more wonderful. Throughout the entire time in Beijing, Linda always made sure we were comfortable and safe and Wonder checked in frequently.

Next, Bruce, our tour guide in Xi 'an, was also excellent! Extremely passionate about history and food, he wanted to make sure we had the fullest experience possible during our short stay in Xi' an.He encouraged us to ask questions and went on a food mission to make sure, even though we were already eating the most wonderful dumplings, that we could also try a special sandwich from Xi 'an prior to heading to the airport. I love food, so this was fantastic! We rode around the wall on a bicycle -- a surprisingly very fun experience -- , visited the warriors, toured the Muslim quarter and tried a number of the most wonderful dishes I have ever had in China. Bruce also took the time to show us HOW to eat some of the dishes, since we would have been lost otherwise.

We are very happy with our experience and hope that we can go on another one.If so, we will definitely be reaching out to Wonder, since we have thus far, thoroughly enjoyed our adventures.

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Jonathan H

Jonathan H

USA

Reviewed on January 8, 2021

I used China Discovery to take a 6-day tour of Beijing and Xian (there was a 5 hour high-speed train between these two cities).

They arranged my hotels and hired experienced tour guides and drivers to pick me up every morning and take me to all the sights in Great Wall, Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Terracotta Army, etc.) I just told them my preference for historical and cultural sights and they took care of the rest.

The tour guides were great, everyone was friendly, knowledgeable, and flexible. I had a great time. It was also shockingly less expensive than I expected.

Zeva & china discovery, see you in my next holoday in 2021

Date of Experience: December 24, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Riley
Great service - just be very clear with your requirements!
Ananth Nagarajan

Ananth Nagarajan

India

Reviewed on January 3, 2021

We travelled across 3 places over 6 days (Xi'an, Zhangye & Dunhuang).

China Discovery helped arrange all aspects of the trip (travel, stay, food and tour guide) It was overall a wonderful experience. The service was tailored to our specific requirememts (food, flexibility in itenarary etc). They are also very open to feedback at every stage and respond to it well.

Despite some issues (inexperienced tour guide) we faced in one city, we are very glad to recommend China Discovery to other prospective travellers considering a trip in China!

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Zeva
Private Beijing/Xian tour
Kat D

Kat D

UK

Reviewed on December 21, 2020

My husband and I had the most amazing private tour thanks to China discovery. Thanks to Rita and her amazing team we had VIP/first class service throughout our whole trip in Beijing and Xian. We had a nice, clean, comfortable car, fun, knowledgable tour guides (thank you Kai and Timo, we learnt a lot about the history of China) delicious food and wonderful places to see. In this current Covid situation, where travel is a bit more restricted, Rita and her team looked after us at all times, ensuring we had everything we needed to travel. We highly recommend this tour. Thank you Rita.

Date of Experience: December 23, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Thomas P

Thomas P

Sweden

Reviewed on November 28, 2020

We were three couples that used China discovery for guide in Xi’an. We contacted the firm and got a proposal on itinerary for three days. We wanted to do some changes to fit our purpose and wishes and that was no problem and easy done. CD proposed a hotel and could have booked it for us but we decided to book hotel by ourself and that was no problem at all. (Hilton in city center Xian, very good).

The guide (Timo) met us at the air port and guided us over the three days. Very professional and listed to our wishes and really tried to give us the best support. Really good! His English was fantastic and he guided very well and explained I the right level. He also explained what was going to happen so there was no misunderstandings. It is not so common that this works so well with Chinese guides is our experience from earlier trips.

Since this trip was during the COVID pandemic and there were local restrictions in different areas China. We needed support to understand if the Hotel and the sights was possible for us to visit. CD supported this very well and made sure that everything was ok.

We can really recommend this company. A little pricey maybe, but you got what you pay for.

Date of Experience: November 20, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Per

Per

Sweden

Reviewed on October 9, 2020

If you want to have a custom-made guide tour in China.

I can really recommend Yangtze-River-Cruises.

I got help from one of their agents Tracy to custom-made my trip to Xian to see the terracotta warriors with Side trip to Luoyang Longmen Grottoes.

She solved and booked everything from pickup at the airport, hotel, guides, ticket for entrance and high speed train to Luoyang etc.

And the guides she hade booked was excellent, they had a great knowledge and was really good in English.

I will use Tracy at Yangtze-River-Cruises (China Discovery) for more trips in China.

A very satisfied customer/ Per

Date of Experience: September 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
TPBTokyo

TPBTokyo

USA

Reviewed on October 3, 2020

After 9 years in China, we're headed to Japan. A lot of life happened (including 3 kids growing up and graduating from HS) while we were here and we didn't make time to really see/experience China outside of Shanghai where we've lived.

China Discovery arranged a great guide and driver for us for a 3-day private visit to Xi'an (of Terracotta Warriors fame but so much more). Then a week later we had a really fantastic guide and driver for another private trip, this time for 6 days in Yunnan Province to Dali, Shaxi & Lijiang.

We arranged our own flights and hotels and Wonder from China Discovery arranged our travel itinerary. Having the local guide especially in the time of Covid made our trips much smoother than would otherwise have been as 2 foreigners in China.

I highly recommend China Discovery, especially if it's your first visit to China or if you're a long-term resident but haven't managed to get too fluent in the local language :).

Date of Experience: September 22, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
G S He

G S He

Singapore

Reviewed on July 5, 2020

My wife and I had a private tour from Shanghai to Huangshan in late October 2019.

It was a 3-day visit. We stayed at the foothill of Huangshan. Hotel was clean and pleasant.

The trip was wonderful and the services of the tour guide and driver were also very good.Tracy Tan at China Discovery provided good and prompt service too.

One negative aspect was the private tour price could have been 20% lower. That would have been perfect.

G HeWah

Date of Experience: December 5, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Tracy
chrisdR872JP

chrisdR872JP

UK

Reviewed on January 15, 2020

Unsure of who to contact to organise my 8-day tour of China, I contacted China Discovery and they were excellent. I have no hesitation in recommending them to family and friends..

My contact at the company was Wing Zeng and, after a number of emails discussions options we finally agreed an itinerary that met all my needs.China Discovery organised my travel, hotels and guided tours for 3 cities and everything was excellent!

The real proof of the quality of the service came when I arrived at the wrong exit at Beijing station. Despite being 10pm I was able to text Wing Zeng who immediately resolved the situation. Brilliant customer service!! Thank you Wing Zeng for organising an excellent tour

Date of Experience: December 28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wing
kumarilm2016

kumarilm2016

Australia

Reviewed on January 19, 2020

China Discovery organised a 13 day China tour for us from 21/12/19 to 3/1/20. Wendy Dan was the consultant.Covered Beijing,Xian,Guilin,Huangshan and Shanghai. Overall, a great tour! and well organised,thanks Wendy!

Andy our guide in Xian was excellent as were the guides in Guilin and Huangshan.

Vehicles provided in general were good.Restaurants in Beijing were bad however the quality improved after we protested.

Hotels were neat and clean(chose all 5star) except in Xian and after we complained ,we were upgraded.

I would definitely recommend ChinaDiscovery tours and would book with them again on my second tour.

We were a family of 4, all adults.

Date of Experience: December 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wendy
V8990UZstevenk

V8990UZstevenk

UK

Reviewed on January 4, 2020

Both tours were amazing - 2 nights in Xian, 4 nights in Zhangjiajie.

Zhangjiajie is one of the most amazing places we have ever been. Beautiful scenery, unbelievable landscapes and basically incredible sights and attractions. It is also quite unspoiled as it is still not really a big tourist destination for westerners, and has only began developing for such in the last 4 years.

Xian was equally as interesting and to spend our Christmas Day with the Terracotta Warriors was a Christmas to remember.

The guides were both excellent with a good command of the English language, which helped, and the local people and hotel staff in both locations were very friendly.

Despite Christmas not being an actual thing in China they have adopted it fully and both hotels were beautifully decorated and they even gave presents to our teenage kids.

This was a great way to enjoy a different Christmas and New Year and China Discovery made the whole process easy and I would definetely recommend them to anyone travelling to China

Date of Experience: December 24, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
866sybils

866sybils

Belgium

Reviewed on January 4, 2020

We used China discovery for a private tour ( 2 people ) of 12 days Beijing, Xian, Hangzhou and Shanghai. Riley was our contact. She presented us a very good program covering all the highlights, with a good combination of sightseeing and free time; She was very helpful and quickly replied to our questions, gave advice on questions we had related to the trip and was also flexible and open to change .

We had good guides and guidance , but our Xian guide Gin and our Hangzhou guide Lulu were really exceptionally good , they gave good explanations and really helped us out , also we had our personal car with driver and tour guide and we were dropped at the entrance of the sightings and the tour guides organized the tickets and the food at noon , taking into account our preferences. The timing spent and the program offered were really adapted to what we want. We also recommend to visit Hangzhou, very nice. So we are extremely happy with the service we have received from China discovery and i would certainly recommend them for a china trip. ( i was bit unsure before i booked because you never know via internet , but for those in doubt , really they give good service).

Date of Experience: December 14, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Ken N

Ken N

UK

Reviewed on December 30, 2019

This was a magnificent holiday from start to finish organised superbly by Wonder Wang.Nothing was ever too much for him and he helped us whenever asked.We travel extensively but these guys are a bit special.

We started in Guilin with a trip on The River Li.Then on to the pandas in Chengdu--a definite highlight.Xian followed with the Terracotta Warriors which on first sighting take your breath away.We finished in Beijing with The Forbidden City,Temple of Heaven ,The Summer Palace and The Great Wall.

Travel between the Centres was by Hi speed train-extraordinary--topping 310KPH on occasions.

Overall a superb holiday and one of the best we have ever been on with Wonder magnificent throughout.

Date of Experience: December 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
russellm510

russellm510

Australia

Reviewed on December 15 2019

My wife and I have been regular international travellers over the past decade but had not made it to mainland China until last month. A conference nearby presented the ideal opportunity to remedy this with a short Yangtze River Cruise to celebrate a significant birthday for my wife and to satisfy our curiosity about other places in this vast country. We are travellers rather than tourists, so I would like to endorse the travel agency (China Discovery) which helped us with our internal travel arrangements. In the first instance, all we had to do was indicate our intended arrival and departure points and our intended length of stay and our assigned agent Echo Gou cheerfully and efficiently provided us with multiple options. Over a couple of weeks we settled on an itinerary including various sites in Beijing, Xian, Chongqing, Three Gorges Dam, Yichang, Shanghai and Hangzhou over 12 days. Highlight was probably West Lake in Hangzhou. Hotels were all of high standard, local individual guides were well-educated and fluent English speakers and drivers were confident and cheerful. Most travel tween cities was by high speed rail, but when we chose to vary this for convenience once in China to include an internal flight and a private car transfer to an airport in another city, this was expertly arranged by our contact agent Echo in Chengdu at minimal additional cost. This flexibility made what might otherwise have been some difficult aspects of our trip into a smooth and enjoyable experience. I can't fault the professionalism and expertise of China Discovery and our agent, and I recommend others who like to travel independently to consider using such an efficient service at such reasonable cost.

Date of Experience: November 15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Echo
HarikaSetty

HarikaSetty

India

Reviewed on December 15 2019

Our tour was organized by China Discovery [Rita Jiang] for 15 days covering five beautiful places. Though there were different means of communications available we just used Email and our Journey to china was all set.

Everything was perfectly organized starting from planning, implementing and executing.

We Didn't face any problem anywhere while travelling or while interchanging stations.

Security: We didn't face any problem anywhere either with baggage or other property. Everything was Secured.

Comfort: spacious cars, Door to door services, Hotels in the city center were provided, which was very convenient.

Food: food which was served was exactly the way we liked [Indian Vegetarian]

Awesome and Honest tour guide and Driver treated us like a family.

such a wonderful company with them made our journey to china Memorable.

Incredible People of China !!

Date of Experience: November 15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
Englui

Englui

Singapore

Reviewed on November 4 2019

I decided that it was time to visit China again after the last trip to Yunnan Province. For anyone who has the experience of forming a trip from ground zero for a group with different arrival and departure dates, it is truly time consuming and difficult. I finally established the travel route, from Xian, Luoyang/Longmen Grottoes, Pingyao, Wutaishan, Yanmenguan, Hengshang Hanging Temple, Datong/Yungan Grottoes and exit via Beijing. All I relied on was Google Map (checking on location and distance), China's high speed train schedule for connection, Booking.com for hotel, skyscanner for flights and many different sites on the web for what to see. What I needed MOST was to find an expert in China to assess the viability of my holiday plan, offering new ideas and advice to shape my travel plans better. We also needed an English speaking guide, a vehicle, a driver, someone to book/issue our high speed train tickets, and other considerations relating to convenience, flexibility, safety, support, trust, cleanliness, friendliness, speed of response, visa application; and may I add, also a fair price without feeling being ripped off. Having emailed a few Chinese travel agencies, Leo Li from China Discovery reverted in a timely fashion, with clarity of good English, and a competitive quote. We soon started our engagement with emails to and fro. Needy travel companions were annoyingly making new demands and changes. Leo was so prompt and accommodating with multiple changes I made over the period of shaping and tightening my travel plans. I appreciated Leo's understanding and patience and the price revisions he kept making. The only anxiety I felt with Leo was when I had to send money over to China by Paypal to a different named person, without a formal offer and invoice. Despite Leo's explanation, I was worried but took a leap of faith this is China Discovery's work process. It turned out safe and sound, and Leo was quick to confirm the money transfer. Although I have never met Leo, my trust on him soon developed and I felt very comfortable relying on him and his expertise. When the trip started, we were provided with very reliable, friendly, experienced and most helpful and thoughtful guides. We were also impressed with the drivers who took such care on the road for our safety. We ended up having meals together most of the time. The guides recommended restaurants well. We avoided those standard tourist restaurants and went to where the locals would go. We enjoyed the food so very much, and China is not as cheap as before as my memory tells me. Well, one advice on booking hotels in China - use Ctrip.com (you get more options and better deals and can also book China's speed train of amazing network). When you are in Luoyang, make a day trip to explore the gorges around the area of Xiolangdi. When you are at Pingyao, include a day trip to Mianshang. We were there 14-28 Oct 2019, and we had mostly blue skies, autumn leaves and pleasantness around. I want to thank Leo for being such a reliable guy (leo@chinadiscovery.com) and a hickup-less trip! Bravo!

Date of Experience: October 13, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
ChuckTheTravelingGuy

ChuckTheTravelingGuy

USA

Reviewed on November 4 2019

Prior to a Princess cruise which departed from Shanghai, we took a nine day China Discovery Tour of three of China's most well-known cities...Beijing, Xian and Shanghai. Catherine Liu, our travel consultant in China, was outstanding to work with as we had numerous questions before flying to Beijing.

Included in the China Discovery Tour she arranged were tours of the Forbidden City and the Great Wall in Beijing, the amazing Terra cotta warriors in Xian and the Pudong and Bund areas in Shanghai. These tours and the many other stops we visited were excellent.

We chose the small group tour of usually 7-15 people that included numerous stops at various sites, five star hotels, excellent guides and drivers, a bullet train ride from Beijing to Xian and a flight from Xian to Shanghai. We met interesting please, saw amazing sites and were thoroughly pleased with our China Discovery Tour.

One suggestion, avoid July and August if possible as students are out of school and visit these three cities with their families which makes for crowded sites. The reason we decided on an August tour was so we could take the cruise from Shanghai which was only offered in August.

Visiting China was extremely educational. We could have never accomplished as much as we did if we had tried to tour on our own. We highly recommend the China Discovery Tour and especially Catherine Liu. Catherine was very professional, was quick to answer our questions via email and made sure our guides were excellent. Ask for her when you book a China Discovery Tour. You will be glad you did.

Date of Experience: October 13, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Davegledhill

Davegledhill

UK

Reviewed on October 28 2019

Review For China Discovery

China Discovery is simply superb!

The period prior to departure is a little scary. Although the itinerary is comprehensive, handing over a large amount of money on a promise, is daunting. The application process for a tourist visa is rigorous and final details of flights and train bookings were not available until the last few weeks. That led to a little nervousness at the Chinese Embassy. As it was, visas were issued without the detail. That is my only criticism as the rest of the trip was faultless.

This is a slick operation, the company strives for perfection and they deliver. The itinerary was close-hosted so a guide and driver were on hand at every destination to see us through every aspect of the visit. The ultimate illustration of efficiency was when a guide appeared on the platform on arrival at Xian station and waved my name card through the train window!

A detailed itinerary is issued before travelling. We elected for a few days in Hong Kong before and after the trip. Collected from the hotel, we had little to do for the remaining duration other than enjoy the experience. I booked good hotels and first class rail travel - the bullet train is impressive - which proved worth the additional cost. Whilst it may appear at face value to be an expensive trip, when you consider what is included, the trip is excellent value for money. The only compromise was economy flights, between distant venues. Baggage allowance on internal flights is limited so Business Class may be a consideration, if one wants to take more luggage and, of course, for that extra touch of luxury. Many meals were included allowing us to sample local cuisine.

The trip took in Chengdu to see pandas, Xian for the Terracotta Warriors, a Yangtze cruise and Beijing to see the Forbidden City, the Summer Palace and the Great Wall. At every venue, additional sites were added to round out the experience. I lost track of the number of times I said "Wow!" The itinerary proved to be extensive and varied. The guides were not only efficient, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly but I would add that I met new people, anxious to deliver a unique insight. They became, albeit short term, friends. My thanks and compliments.

I can thoroughly recommend China Discovery. The tour coordinator was exceptional and our every request was delivered. The itinerary was comprehensive and executed flawlessly. Not only did we receive what we had booked but were made to feel like VIPs at every event.

My memories of China will be memorable, largely thanks to a skilled company which delivers excellence. Kudos to the team.

Date of Experience: September 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
MargaritaTse

MargaritaTse

USA

Reviewed on October 27 2019

10 days tour with the group of 6 friends was totally amazing, it was perfect combination of physical activity, information to process and just moments to enjoy. Out of all included and optional activities I want to highlight just two special moments in Xi’an and show on the Li River in Yangshuo.

With basically all-time rain our visit to Xi’an was bright, interesting and full of surprises thanks to our wonderful guide Timo. It started late in the evening when we arrived in the city and was taken to Grand Tang Dynasty Ever-Bright City filled with lights, decoration, different activities, lots of people, some in traditional cloths and etc. And the next day, after seeing the Terracotta warriors, City wall and other place of interests there was another surprise for us. One person in our group had a birthday and what he got as a gift from our tour company was creative, unique and above our best dreams (don’t want to go into details in case somebody else wants to celebrate birthday in Xi’an). The only thing I regret about is we did not tip our wonderful guide enough. Tip recommendation was at the very end of our confirmation letter and none of us bothered to read it to the end until the mid of the tour. We used our best judgment, and as it turned out it was not that good, he deserved much better. And show in Yanhshuo – I have no words to describe it, have never seen anything like that before, definitely worth seeing it even under the rain (theater does not have a roof).

So many great pictures, so many great moments to remember!

Date of Experience: October 11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Jack
JEAPIERRE

JEAPIERRE

France

Reviewed on October 22 2019

The tour was very well orgnized by China discovery ( Jack Li) and very interesting

Xi'an with the terracota of course but also the city wall and the old city

Chengdu with the Giant Pandas

Xining , door to Tibet and Tibetan civilisation with the Qinhai lake and the so interesting museum

Lhasa with the Potala and other monasteries

Beijing at the end with the Great wall and the Tianshan etc,

Very good souvenirs!

Date of Experience: September 12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Burnham4

Burnham4

UK

Reviewed on September 23 2019

This was an experience of a lifetime, professionally organised by Vivien of China Discovery and so well carried out by all the team we met. Starting in Shanghai we (party of 4) travelled 1st class on the bullet train to Beijing, Xi'an then Chengdu before a flight back to Shanghai. All travel and accommodation was included in the trip as well as private guides and comfortable private transport at each location. The hotels were all of a very good (4 star) standard with breakfast included and the several lunches we enjoyed were varied and delicious, easily coping with a vegetarian. The whole experience was so good it's difficult to pick highlights, though the Great Wall, the Terracotta army and the pandas at Chengdu are obvious must-do's and came up to all our expectations. But, there was so more than just these highlights. The visits to Temples, Pagodas, parks, monuments and museums combined expertly to give us a great insight into China's past as well as the experience of the modern, busy country that China has become, with the success of these visits mainly down to our guides whose level of English, knowledge and warmth made the whole trip so enjoyable. I cannot praise Vivien and the team highly enough - she was ever ready with help when organising the trip and stayed in contact throughout, helping us to re-schedule some items that were lost due to weather. Before we set off I was naturally anxious that all would work - there was no need for worry as everything worked perfectly. Thank you so much! If you are thinking of taking any type of trip in or around China, you can put your trust in China Discovery and you won't be disappointed.

Date of Experience: August 31, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Jennifer H

Jennifer H

USA

Reviewed on August 23 2019

Wendy Dan helped us plan our vacation. We added and subtracted from the vacation package. All of our guides were helpful, kind and informative. Mark our tour guide in Beijing felt like part of the family. We travelled with our 14 year old son and 17 year old daughter who were not always up for the challenge of the day. Each tour guide was engaging with the kids and helped to accommodate our needs as they unfolded. It was everything we read about and more.

Xi’an was a wonderful city with a beautiful nightlife for the entire family. Landscape, interactive lit up sidewalk, and a beautiful city park. The park has a rubber track to run, music pumped in and more landscape. Terra cotta warriors was overwhelming with the size of the site. Biking the ancient city wall was a must , fun and inexpensive.

Zhangjaijie was amazing and many unexpected parts. There are gardens within the park and monkeys! We spend a long time watching the monkeys swimming in the river. The town was easy to walk and we enjoyed shopping in the local supermarket.

Shanghai is an easy city and very modern. The Bund at night is a must. Seeing the sun set with the new Shanghai on one side of the river and the old on the other was unforgettable.

I loved every part of our trip. The suggestions that I gave to China Discovery was to provide a street map as I like to explore. The other tip I would suggest so to be aware that WeChat pay is the most preferred method of payment. We had cash which works but I was planning on Visa which was not taken at a few restaurants.

We saw many beautiful gardens, Beijing Olympic Park, historical sites, and modern cities. I wish I could list them all. I did a lot of reading and research before committing to the trip to China. We completely embraced the experience and hope more people take the opportunity to China. Highly recommend China discovery and a trip to China. Our whole family loved it.

Date of Experience: July 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Thomas G

Thomas G

USA

Reviewed on August 10 2019

I am a history major and I went to China to study ancient Chinese history. The tour guides were very knowledgable and would always answer my questions. It was by far my favorite vacation. Visiting the grottoes, Buddhist temples, museums, ancient fortifications, and cities were the highlights of this history major's experience. My favorite experience was visiting Pingyao ancient city. The walls were first built during the Western Zhou dynasty and the buildings are mostly from ancient China. I stayed in a hotel inside the ancient city, ate the local food, bought traditional clothing, and went to the bar at night. There are many bars that stay open late and some of the locals dress in traditional clothing. It felt like living in ancient China! If you are interested in shopping, there is a gift shop near the terracotta warriors museum that shows you how they are made. You can buy pretty much anything there from a replica terracotta statue with your face on it to furniture, pottery, and replica weapons. I bought a replica sword for 960 RMB and they shipped it to my house. There is also a silk museum in Shanghai where you can buy beautiful clothing. The local people were always very friendly, polite and interested in talking with you. I never felt nervous or disrespected during my stay. The tour guides will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your visit. I would highly recommend China Discovery for anyone who is interested in visiting China. It is much nicer to have a tour guide show you all the fascinating things to explore and explain Chinese culture and history than visiting China without a tour guide and being blind to all these things.

Date of Experience: July 25, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Students
Tour Customized by: Jack
Traveller88882013

Traveller88882013

Australia

Reviewed on June 28 2019

China Discovery, Chengdu - Travel Consultant Ms Rita Jiang organized this trip for me and my wife. We did not want to travel in a group as we wanted flexibility and comfort. Rita understood our needs and after much discussion, we started our trip on 17th May and ended in HK on 6th June where we spent 4 nights on our own. We stayed in 4 to 5 star international hotels except for two local hotels in the smaller cities. The difference is the level of hotel service in both types of hotels and the breakfast. We were in Sofitel, Intercontinental, Shangri La, Sheraton, Crowne Plaza, Hyatt and even though our hotel nights were booked through China Discovery, I presented my loyalty hotel cards and had upgrades in some of these international hotels.

We were happy with the transportation provided (especially in the big cities) but do not expect good vehicles in the smaller cities. Some of the guides were brilliant but some were not so. This is expected due to tourism in each of the cities. We had flexibility in our tour and also food selection. We were provided with daily breakfast and some lunches but no dinners. This is fine as we could look for the food that we like (apart from just Chinese style food).

The internal flights were spot on and we had our seating always in the first few rows . Some of the train rides were very good (especially Beijing to Xian and Guilin to Hong Kong). The other train rides were not so comfortable. Would suggest requesting for First Class cabin but will cost more - nearly double.

Our guide checked us in for both flights and train rides. It was very easy and smooth. My recommendation is to ensure that you give notice to your receiving guide to hold up a card with your name and to make your luggage different from the rest. Send them a photo so they will know who to look for. We are Australians but we are Chinese looking. So misunderstanding can happen when the guide is receiving us.

Overall, we rate China Discovery, Chengdu - Rita Jiang very highly as she was very responsive to our needs even when we were on tour. She even did some last minute changes for us just to make us comfortable. If we do travel again to China in future, we will contact them again.

Date of Experience: May 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
RagerRayboy

RagerRayboy

USA

Reviewed on June 24 2019

My wife and I recently completed a 22 days’ vacation/excursion in the People’s Republic of China. We arranged this voyage with China Discovery Tour Agency.(May17th-June7th, 2019)

Our journey throughout China included three air flights and four high speed trains.

We visited Beijing, the capital of The People’s Republic of China. Highlights in Beijing, Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, the Great Wall (Mutiny Section), the Sacred Way, wonderful Kungfu Show, and a wonderful dinner of Peiking Roasted Duck at the Iconic Quanjude restaurant. We then traveled 4.5 hours by Fast train to Xian to visit the Terracotta Warriors and Horses excavation site then on to the Ancient City Wall and then in the evening attended a wonderful Tang Palace Dance Show. We then traveled 3 hours by plane to Lhasa, the capital of TIBET. Then from TIBET back to China to the city of Chengdu (2 hours by plane) to visit the Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding and also enjoy the relax atmosphere of the city’s Renmin Park. Then from Chengdu we traveled 1.5 hours by plane to Guilin, the most scenic city in China. We then drove about 2.5 hours to visit one of the most beautiful rice terraces in China…Longji Rice Terrace. What an experience hiking up on the edge of the mountain, including traveling up more than 900 steps in order to arrive at our hotel. Then the next morning more hiking up hill and steps to observe the spectacular view and to get a better understanding of the engineering developed many, many years ago to be able to cultivate rice at that high altitude. Later we visited Huangluo Yao Village and enjoyed a beautiful show by the Village Long Hair People. The following day we traveled back to Guilin and took a very relaxing sightseeing cruise 84 kilometers down the Li River to Yangzhou Town.

That evening we attended an amazing show directed by the world-famous director Mr. Zhang Yimou then the next day we drove back to Guilin and took a fast train (5 hours) to the the city of Chongqing (The largest city in Southwest China) to catch our cruise ship to take a 3 nights 4 days cruise down the Yangtze River, and during the cruise we had 3 shore excursions to visit different historic sites. After our cruise we then went on an all-day tour of the Three Gorge Dam. It is the largest dam in the entire world. After that we traveled by bus to to Yichang and took a fast train the the new city of Shanghai. Shanghai is less than 20 years. In Shanghai we visited the 400 year old Yun Garden, the Shanghai World Financial Center, the Nanjing Road, the famous BUND, Zhujiajiao Water Town, Tianzifang, Suzhou No.1 Silk Factory, and finally we attended an incredible Acrobat Show. Then on June 6thth we traveled back to Beijing by fast train (4.5 hours) and on June 7thth we departed China.

We have traveled to many different places all over the world during the past 21 years and I must say this excursion in China arranged for us by the very efficient, professional, and knowledgeable agent Wendy Dan of China Discovery was truly unbelievable. Simply put, Wendy Dan and all of the drivers and especially our English-speaking guides provided us with services way above our expectations. We indeed experienced a voyage of a lifetime.

During the past 21 years, we have traveled to the Middle East, North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, East Africa, all over the USA and Canada, many places in Central America and South America, Western Europe, Northern Europe, Egypt and throughout the entire Caribbean and we have been fortunate to have a very good experience in each of those many places. China Discovery organized a 22 days’ tour along with its the very proficient, caring, and knowledgeable service providers (especially our private English-speaking tour guides) which has resulted in my wife and I having to tell the World that this trip compares with the best vacation we experienced in all of our travels during the past 21 years. We are very, very impressed with the overall beauty, safety, cleanliness, orderliness, and history we experienced at all of the places we visited. We are still amazed at the considerable level of development China has achieved during the past 35 years. Yes, put a visit to China, planned by China Discovery, on your bucket list.

Finally, my wife and I would like to express again our sincere thank you very much to Candy-Beijing, Maria-Xian, Dorjee-Lhasa, Kevin-Chengdu, Kennedy-Guilin, Charlie-Chongqing, Yichang- , Terry-Shanghai and Tina-Shanghai for your caring and professional service.

Date of Experience: May 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Awkwardtrip

Awkwardtrip

Australia

Reviewed on June 18 2019

Ms.Lyn wang was very cooperative & professional right from the time of enquiry, booking & arranging the customized China tour for 12 days covering Beijing, Yangtze river cruise, Zhangjiajie & Shanghai. We really appreciate her for organizing the tour in a very professional manner. We were bit apprehensive initially as we booked directly without any tour operator from my country of origin. It was very wonderful & pleasant experience and we really enjoyed every moment of it.

All all tour guides were very professional & cooperative giving all the required info of the tour. Yangtze river cruise by “president No-7” was very good & enjoyed the way they organised.

Zhangjiajie is a must visit place with such a scenic beauty & we feel three days there would have been more justified to enjoy thoroughly such a natural scenic beauty spot. But the only disappointment was the hotel “Wulingyuan Hotel” arranged was close to the hills but the food was really bad & couldn’t eat at all. The least we expected that the breakfast could be to suit overseas travellers, but was really not up to any standard. Suggest you to recommend any other hotels for overseas guests.

In Shanghai, there was much free time left after covering all the listed places as per itinerary & suggest tour guide could provide some local shopping tips in China as in Nanjing road it was all expensive which are otherwise generally available in any other country. Don't miss Bund walk in the evening, the skyline under lights is most delightful to watch /gaze.

Overall it was very nicely organised & we really appreciate your professionalism for well organised tour. I certainly recommend "China discovery" tour operator & happy to avail for any future tours in china.

Date of Experience: April 26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
dougr203

dougr203

USA

Reviewed on May 20 2019

I was in Beijing for a conference and decided to go to Xi'an for a day tour and visit the Terra cotta Warriors. I booked the Bullet train from Beijing to Xi'an as well as the tour through Lily Xu at china discovery.com. Lily was fantastic in getting the train booking and the tour set up. A driver met me at the train station and took me to my hotel at the W-Xi'an. The next day Joann my tour guide and driver picked me up at the hotel and drove of to see the Ancient Terra Cotta Warriors. It was about a 40 minute drive. The tour was fantastic and Joann did a great job. Her english skills were good and her knowledge of the history of Terra Cotta Warrior discovery was really interesting and helpful. after seeing the 3 Pits that were/are being excavated we toured the ancient wall surrounding Xian and went to the Muslim quarters that was one of my favorite places to visit. I highly recommend to connect with Lily at China Discovery and have here book you a tour if you are heading to China. She was exceptional and took great care of me. Even when I got lost at the train station I was able to connect with her on WeChat and she walked me through everything. I will definitely use her again.

Date of Experience: May 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Business
Tour Customized by: Lily
Connector740452

Connector740452

USA

Reviewed on May 8 2019

Hello Jack,

We recently got back from our wonderful 19 days trip to China and wanted to take this time to thank you for preparing such an awesome itinerary for us. It was tailored to the places we wanted to visit Beijing, Xian, Lhasa,Tibet, Chengdu, Guilin, Yanshuo, Li River Cruise, Longji, Chongqing Yangtze River cruise, Yichang, Shanghai.

We enjoyed every single day of our tours to the maximum.

The treatment we received from all of our tour guides and drivers was excellent. We were always greeted on time at the airport or train station by our tour guide who promptly introduced themselves and also the driver. Very nice people always wanting to help and explain all the details about the place visited, their culture and traditions.

Hotels were beautiful, very comfortable and centrally located. Staff always ready to help if needed. We were very surprised with the beautiful gift waiting for us when we got to our hotel in Chengdu. I wished we had more time to go visit you in your office and personally thank you.

The very well planned itinerary was carried out to our expectations, never a missed placed to visit, and when it was time for our next destination, our tour guide had everything under control, from taking our bags to getting our tickets and making sure we were in the right place on time.

The Yangtze River cruise was very relaxing, excellent buffet and staff service. Our activity coordinator Rebecca, was great in keeping the activities going and letting us know which sceneries where coming up and what to look for every time. Nightly entertainment was very good also. The tours very very well organized and we really enjoyed them.

We loved every city visited and experienced different Chinese cuisine every placed we went. The restaurants and food was carefully selected always keeping in mind if we were allergic to any food or liked or disliked any hot spices.

We are very happy and it has been an amazing vacation and a learning experience. Will be happy to recommend your company and specially you Jack for all your help, patience and knowledge. We'll be happy to return to China to experience many other beautiful places we didn't get to see this time around.

Thank you very much for everything you did for us.

Idania and Alberto Mesa

Date of Experience: April 15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Honora M

Honora M

Ireland

Reviewed on May 7 2019

We have just returned from our holiday organized by Jack Li in China Discovery. This amazing tour lasted twenty days and we visited Beijing,Xi’an,Chengdu,Lijiang,Guilin, Yangshuo, Hangzhou and Shanghai. We found China Discovery to be an absolutely reliable tour company,responsible and very attentive. The service was of the highest quality- hotels,guides,drivers and all the restaurants attended and recommended. We have full confidence in recommending China Discovery for anyone needing a stress free holiday in China. In each location the guides were professional,enthusiastic and delighted to give us an insight into their community-history,customs,religions,fauna and flora. In fact each location was a highlight and we have a lifetime of unforgettable memories. We would like to thank Jack Li for customizing our tour and for taking such good care of us. It was a remarkable holiday made possible by the expertise and efficiency of China Discovery and its wonderful team.

Date of Experience: April 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Jack
Jet3465

Jet3465

Australia

Reviewed on May 5 2019

We were a little hesitant about booking via the internet as this was our first time to China but, after researching various companies (and reading great reviews), we opted to go with China Discovery for a 3 day (2 night) short trip from Hong Kong to Xian, specifically to see the Terracotta Warriors/Ancient City. A must-do for us was also to travel one leg of the journey via a high speed train.

Our travel consultant was Mr Wonder Wang who put together an excellent itinerary which allowed us to not only visit the Terracotta Warriors and Ancient City Wall, but also the Muslim Quarter, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, Shaanzi History Museum, along with the personal services of an English speaking guide and driver. Also included was a high speed train journey from HK to Xian.

We can thoroughly recommend the train from HK to Xian. There was one change of train (at Guangzhou) which we managed successfully. We had First Class Seats throughout. Snacks and drinks were complimentary at commencement, with opportunities to purchase snacks/beverages. There were a few stops along the way. The train travelled at speeds of up to 300 km/h, the ride was smooth, and we were able to enjoy the countryside.

Accommodation was at the Grand Mercure (Renmin Square, 4.5 star). Very comfortable and the staff very helpful. The meals on tour were excellent.

“Awesome” is the only way to describe the Terracotta Warriors and the rest of the tour, there was a lot of jaw-dropping! So much fascinating Chinese history to absorb.

Wonder provided excellent, friendly, FAST service. Our email queries were answered promptly and efficiently. We had endless inquiries, and he was extremely patient throughout the time we dealt with him. Our travel planning was a long, drawn out process (due to a family member's illness) and Wonder would have to be one of the best (and most patient) travel consultants we have dealt with.

Our tour guide, Vivian, was super-friendly, knowledgeable, very helpful and (also) patient. We had an amazing driver who safely negotiated the huge volumes of traffic, and had us back to the airport in good time for our flight back to Hong Kong.

Thank you, Wonder, for such arranging such an enjoyable and memorable time in Xian. And, thanks also to Vivian and our driver who looked after us superbly from the time we arrived until we departed.

We no hesitation in recommending Wonder and China Discovery for anybody wishing to visit China and requiring a personal, organized tour.

Date of Experience: April 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
daniela1122

daniela1122

UK

Reviewed on April 28 2019

We've just come back from 2 amazing weeks in China booked through China Discovery based in Chengdu, our travel consultant was Johnson. We chose a bespoke tour taking in Beijing, Xi'an, Chengu, then a short river cruise on The Yangtze, followed by a night in Zhangjiajie and finishing off in Shanghai. We had the most amazing time. Johnson organised the trip and was very patient with our infinte changes to the itinerary,

Johnson arranged all the transport within China, hotels, and guides in each of the cities, all guides spoke excellent english, were really well organised and knowlegeable. Ruby (in Chengdu), Kimi (in Xi'an) and Johnson (in Zhangjiajie) were absolutely excellent and made our stay really special. Having a guide cuts down the queueing time considerably as tickets are prebooked for you and they only need to be picked up, in some places there are preferential queues for guided tours.

We travelled mainly by high speed train, which is by far the most convenient way of seeing the country. We were astounded by how efficient, clean and punctual the trains were. We also used the underground system of most of the cities we stayed in, we found them all easy to navigate, modern, clean and punctual.

We had 3 days in Beijing, we stayed at the Park Plaza: excellent breakfast comfortable and clean rooms, excellent location. In Beijing we saw the Forbidden city, the Temple of Heaven and the Summer Palace and had a great day on the Great Wall, which is astoundingly impressive, coming down on the tobbogan was great fun. We were supposed to visit the Hutongs and have a go at some calligraphy, but unfortunately due to a mix of Beijing traffic, an early afternoon train to catch and the calligraphy person being called away, we were unable to do this last activity.

The second stop was Xi'an, we stayed at the Grand Mercure on Remnin Square, Less impressive than the other hotels in the square, but comfortable and excellently located. It was built in the Soviet era and had an air of faded grandeur. The Terracotta Warriors were breathtaking and we had a lovely time cycling round the town walls. Xi'an is a really pretty city by night with bustling markets and pretty lights everywhere. We took the opportunity to learn to make dumplings and have lunch with a local family. This was a great experience. It was in one of the super-modern high rise buildings that are ubiquitous, the host was a former guide and it was one of the best meals we had in the holiday. It was more a demonstration of how to fill the dumplings rather than a cookery lesson, but we enjoyed it nevertheless.

Next stop Chengdu, home of the pandas. We stayed in the Dorset Grand, the only way to describe the hotel is WOW! The highlight was the Pandas, we enjoyed Renmin park and the Opera. We mentioned to our guide that we wanted to try the local hotpot so she stayed with us into the evening to help us with ordering and show us how it was done.

The next stop was Chongqing, from here we took a 3 day cruise on the Yangtze on the Century Legend, which was a lot of fun and restful after the busyness of the previous week. Food was ordinary at best. The cruise had group excursions, which made us really grateful that we booked a private tour with China Discovery for most of the holiday (rather than a group tour with a UK based agency) as there was a lot of hanging around waiting for other people. The quality of the guides provided by China Discovery was also much higher. Breathtaking scenary and an amazing feat of politics and engineering.

Second last stop Zhangjiajie, the slow train was incredibly interesting, and it was the first look of small town, rural China we caught. It had a completely different feel from the other places we visited. As we got there we wished we had followed Johnson's advice and stayed an extra day. To sum the place up in one word: spectacular, we saw Tianmen Mountain and the Yellow dragon cave.

Finally a last few days in Shanghai, we stayed at the Sunrise on the Bund, a beautiful hotel, but not really on the bund. We were unlucky that there were night roadworks going on outside our window, but the staff did their best to mitigate their impact. Shanghai does not really need a guide, it is quite westernised and it is easy to navigate. The advantage of having a guide is that you will pack much more into the day. Again, we were grateful to have one of China Discovery's guides for one of the 3 days we spent here. As when we asked the concierge at the hotel for direction for a shopping centre, he arranged for a taxi to take us to a really hard sale place that made us feel quite uncomfortable. During the rest of the holiday only twice we had been taken to places where we felt in some way obliged to buy something, but it was not a hard sell, the trips were listed on the itinerary and we could have said we did not want to go there.

Overall it was a great holiday and we have been so impressed by the organisation and value for money provided by China Discovery and Johnson that we are planning to do a tour of Southern China in the next couple of years.

Date of Experience: April 6, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Tamsin1802

Tamsin1802

Australia

Reviewed on April 27 2019

When researching tours of China we found that China Discovery was the perfect company to book with as we were able to customise our own trip.

We traveled to multiple destinations within China where we had our own personal guides which made the language barrier a breeze as we were able to thoroughly enjoy ourselves with no stress. The guides had excellent English and local knowledge and showed us many things that we would have otherwise missed.

I would not hesitate to recommend China Discovery and our tour coordinator Wing Zeng. She was excellent at planing the whole tour for us, including the internal travel arrangements. I was also very impressed with how she kept in contact with us throughout the entire trip.

When traveling domestically in China, we soon noticed that there were no signs in English at the airports so we were very grateful to have our tour guides assist us with the flight check-ins.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in China and would definitely recommend this company to others.

Date of Experience: April 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Ex-Trekker

Ex-Trekker

Singapore

Reviewed on April 21 2019

This is my first ever review for a travel agency! I needed a quick solution for a week long getaway with my 7 year old boy during his March holidays and after doing some research on the net, I decided to go with China Discovery. My son is very keen to visit the terracotta warriors in Xian and I thought why not start from Chengdu to see the giant pandas ( what else?) and hop over to Emei Shan and Leshan and then travel to Xian to see the famous terracotta warriors and mausoleum.

Vivian who coordinated the trip was extremely efficient and responsive. Everything went smoothly throughout the trip. For the trips in Chengdu and surrounding areas, Ruby was the guide. We were really impressed by her patience, altitude and her care. She brought us to some really great local restaurants that's not the usual ones catering to tourists.

Over in Xian we had Gin as the guide and I must say she's very knowledgeable and well versed in ancient Chinese history. All in all, I would definitely use this agency again for my next guided trip to China. Cheers.

Date of Experience: April 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Micahmoo1

Micahmoo1

New Zealand

Reviewed on April 19 2019

Great choice on our part to use China Discovery, we dealt with Johnston Wang in organizing our tour of China, always flexible to our requests and very prompt communications. Every detail was taken care of and the whole two weeks ran like a fine oiled machine, guides were amazing, always in the right place at the right time and flexible to our needs, special mention must go to Timo in Xian and Nancy in Chengdu, outstanding! , We managed to visit so many China sights in such a short time from Terracotta Warriors, volunteering with The Giant Pandas, cooking lesson at Sichuan Cuisine Museum Chengdu, a Yangtze river cruise, bullet trains plus much much more, the itinerary was amazing and the hotels and local restaurants for lunches chosen were second to none! Thank you China Discovery, the memories and friendships made will last a lifetime!

Date of Experience: April 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Johnson
NorthStar769301

NorthStar769301

USA

Reviewed on March 17, 2019

My husband and I were very, very pleased with the arrangements our online consultant Wing Zeng with China Discovery Yangtze River Cruise Tibet Discovery put together for us which was a 14 day trip. We flew into Beijing, experienced the Great Wall, the imperial palace, Xian, to see the Terra cotta warriors, cities in between, we cruised along the Li River and a 3 days cruise down the Yangtze River. Our trip ended in Shanghai. Yes, we too were a bit uncomfortable making arrangements online with such a distance away but Ms Wing put our minds at ease. Our experience was beyond our expectations starting with our tour sites and hotels. We were able to experience transportation that we don’t have in our area like the bullet train and subway. Our Guides, Mr Jean, Ms Alice, Ms Vivian, Ms Fay, and Zack were all fabulous at what the do. We would definitely book with this company again.

Date of Experience: February 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wing
David R

David R

South Africa

Reviewed on March 13, 2019

Wonder Wang organised an incredible memorable tour for us. our ten day trip in China was faultless - from the minute we put our feet in China right up to our flight home we were cared for in every detail. our guides and their drivers were simply amazing. Forest in Beijing, besides being very knowledgeable was a caring and lovely human being. Avril in Shanghai and Vivian in Xian were excellent as well. Their English was excellent. Punctual, arranged great lunches and simply excelled in all areas. Wonder arranged lovely hotels in the best locations. I would highly recommend China Discovery to anyone who wants to travel in China. 110% all the way!!

Date of Experience: March 13, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Pam J

Pam J

USA

Reviewed on March 3, 2019

My son and I just returned from a seven day trip to Beijing, Xi'an and Shanghai. The trip was booked with China Discovery and I would like to express my satisfaction and appreciation for a well organized and extremely enjoyable trip from beginning to end. The guides - Lindsay and Vivienne in Beijing , Timo in Xi'an , Laura in Shanghai were all organized, punctual, pleasant and professional. Everything went smoothly and we really enjoyed the 5-star hotel package. The food that was included exceeded our expectations for most of the time and the drivers were courteous and safe . Many thanks China Discovery for helping us to experience such a wonderful time.

Date of Experience: February 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Marianne M

Marianne M

New Zealand

Reviewed on Feburary 27, 2019

We chose a private tour as we wanted a relaxing trip, some time to ourselves, and flexibility. I arranged our 18 day trip through Catherine Liu (China Discovery, based in Chengdu). I made several changes to our itinerary, had many questions and a few concerns; Catherine responded quickly allying our concerns, providing more information, and making the changes requested. We travelled by air, bullet trains and private vans. All our guides were great, heaps of historic and local knowledge.

The Ice & Snow Festival in Harbin was on our bucket list, so expectations were high. Harbin is awesome: very friendly people, great food, stunning scenery, and didn’t feel as cold as we expected (due to the dry air, it felt 10 degrees warmer than it actually was – still cold though). I do recommend visiting the Snow Park towards the end on the day so you can catch the light show, it’s stunning. The second floor of the tourist information centre has some entertaining stuff to look at too.

Beijing was great! I do recommend going in the winter/off-season, as it is much less crowded. Our tour guide Eric was amazing; we loved his sense of humour, entertaining way of telling us about the history & chatty story titbits, and his enthusiasm was contagious. We were always either in awe or laughing. Unfortunately I started to get sick while in Beijing.

Xian was impressive, but unfortunately I got sicker. Catherine had kept in touch throughout, to see how I was, and arranged for me to visit the hospital with our interpreter. That was an experience I won’t forget.

We were so impressed with our tours, interpreters, drivers, and ongoing attention to detail (both pre & during the trip); we asked to meet Catherine when we were in Chengdu to thank her personally. The tour far exceeded our expectations, accommodation was great, and Catherine ensured my request for hotels with comfortable beds was met.

Thanks again to Catherine, our guides and drivers.

Date of Experience: February 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Catherine
901debyv

901debyv

USA

Reviewed on January 28, 2019

My sister-in-law and I booked a three day tour of Beijing and two-day tour of Xian with China Discovery. Mr. Leo Li was our contact and he was extraordinary. He helped us with every detail of the tour, making suggestions and providing the very best tour I have ever experienced. He also made changes "on the fly" when we made changes and we still didn't miss anything! Our tour guides were also extraordinary. Candy, our Beijing guide, was an awesome young woman with incredible knowledge of the city, it's important buildings, art, history, food, and anything else we wanted to know. She was articulate, friendly, and full of exuberance. Our driver in Beijing was tireless in his difficult job of navigating the city and taking us outside of Beijing to see the Great Wall. Becky, our Xian tour guide, was also excellent. Despite her young child being sick with the stomach flu, she navigated us around this beautiful city effortlessly and explained the history of the Terra Cotta warriors with clarity and expertise. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this company for any length of tour required. When I return to China - and I will - China Discovery will be my tour guide of choice. Thank you Leo, Candy, and Becky for making this trip one we will remember forever.

Date of Experience: January 16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
KRISHNI p

KRISHNI p

Canada

Reviewed on January 21, 2019

Our trip to China was awesome. I wanted to visit the great wall of china and it was in my bucket list for a long time . Customer service rep RILEY at china discovery helped me so so much in making my dream come true. I talked to many companies , but riley was very helpful and prompt. He was not only very informative he was patient and answered all my questions. He made sure all our needs were met. He took care of us and checked on us even after we left china. We started in Beijing and finished in Xian. Our tour guides Mr. Jean in Beijing and Mr. Ben in Xian were very good. They took care of all our need and beyond . The drivers were on time as well. All in all we had an Excellent trip. Thankyou so much Riley for making it all easier on us. Thankyou for taking care of all our needs and paying attention to every single detail.

Date of Experience: December 4, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Riley
martin j

martin j

UK

Reviewed on January 10, 2019

I'm from England, in April 2018, I was looking for a tour of China and as most people do, looked at many differnt companies. I sent off ideas of where I wanted to go and the types of things that interested me. I came accross China discovery and to be honest, the reviews on this site were mixed. Some very good, some very bad. As I read on, it appeared that there were 2 companies running with the same name, this one in Chengdu, China and one in America. Reading through it seemed that it was the one in America that was getting the bad press.

I was also concerned about sending money to a company in Asia, anayway I did & needent have worried. Johnson Wang arranged everything, answered all questions etc, changed and rechanged my schedule and phoned me during the trip to check all was ok. Thanks Johnson.

I started in Beijing,went to the forbidden city. in all of these places,trains, planes, visitor sites, expect to que and have your bags etc searched and scanned along with visa and passports etc. You really need a full day to get round the forbidden city and visit the musems. I didn't want a trip that took me to the great wall and said there you go, pop up and be back in 30 minutes so told them I wanted to be out in the country so got them to arrange a 3hr walk on the wall at Jinshanling, quieter than closer options but out in the mountains & lovely. be warned, it is very steep up and down in places. This done, back to Beijing then more sights the next day before the bullet train to Xian.When you gou get off the train and go up the steps, make sure you know whether to turn right or left, big staiton.

All the guides, drivers were waiting for me on time at every location and spoke good english. Johnny was the guide here in Xian and very pleasant and informitive. As with most, I came to see the terracottas and wasn't dissapointed but be aware the 3rd chamber with the horse and carrage was heaving when I went, not comfortable, they need to limit numbers a bit. Hang Wang Tomb is a must and worth the drive out there.Shanxi museum also worth a look but give yourself a good 4 hrs +. I had 6 internnal flights in all, these are flexible in there timings and can and do change so expect that, if they don't, all the better but be prepared to be flexible.Next, Hotel Universal at Guilin with riverside room - good. Guides name was Dixon, again very friendy and informitive. From here I took a boat down the Lee river, about 50 miles of snaking river to Yangsou. Lovely little place, good hotel (new century) nice park to walk left side beyond car park. Also the water show - well worth the visit, outdoors, on river,at night, can get cold (or wet) so go prepared. About 3oo mostly locals involved alongside quality singers and good use of lighting. Next back to Guilin and flight to Kunming (Stone forest area but do go to the Ethnic Younan show, (minority tribes) not cheap but a wow) Dali -best for me + N hotel a wow, Guide here was Alice and probably the best. lovely woman, good knowledge and way with people. Lots of options here. Next flew to Chongching for 3 nights on Yangtze cruise, again, lovely views along the way. some of their optional trips on the cruise wern't so good but they are optional. You do notice the smog but it got clearer into my trip. Don't expect many locals anywhere, restaurants etc to speak english so use an app to translate menus etc. Also, the shops wouldn't accept western credit cards whilst I was there, this may change but check first. Food varies from province to province.

All in all I had an excellent trip, well looked after by guides and Johnny.

Date of Experience: April 9, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Johnson

See more reviews on Tripadvisor See all reviews from our guests


Amazing Xian Travel Stories

Here are selected travel stories shared by our valued customers who visited Xian and more stunning places. May these stories ignite your wanderlust and make you pack your bags and go! Or, you can click 2012-2021 Customer Travel Stories for more stunning stories.

  • Couple’s 69 Days Private China Journey
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - Datong - Pingyao - Luoyang - Xian - Jiayuguan......Yunnan - Guilin - Xiamen - Hangzhou - Shanghai
  • North American English Teachers’ China Trip to Visit Their Students off Internet
    North American English Teachers’ China Trips to Visit Their Students off Internet

    We customized three big group China trips for tens of VIPKid English teachers and their family members to visit Xian, Shanghai, etc. from Beijing and meet their students off Internet in China in 2019!

    • VIPKid Teachers (USA/Canada)
    • (9-21 Days) 2019
    • Beijing - Xian - Shanghai - Suzhou - Hangzhou - Huangshan -... - Chengdu
  • Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities all around China plus Yangtze Cruise
    Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities around China plus Yangtze Cruise

    Winston and his wife have traveled to many world places during the past 21 years and experienced the best vacation this time to explore China's west and east, north and south parts!

    • Winston (USA)
    • (22 Days) 2019.05.17~2019.6.07
    • Beijing - Xian - Lhasa - Chengdu - Guilin - Longsheng - Yangshuo - Yangtze River Cruise - Shanghai - Suzhou - Beijing
  • China Ancient Capitals Tour
    Cultural Immersion Trip in Ancient Capitals of China

    William and his wife traveled to Huangshan and Zhangjiajie with us in 2017. This time they laid more emphasis on culture and history, so he went to several ancient capitals of China.

    • William (USA)
    • (11 Days) 2018.03.22~2018.04.01
    • Beijing - Taiyuan - Pingyao - Xian/Luoyang - Dengfeng - ... - Mount Tai - Beijing
  • 18 Days China Culture Tour
    Sucking Cultural Fragrance from Time-honored Architectures

    Some top destinations like Beijing, Xian, Shanghai, Guilin, Tibet etc. are undoubtedly beautiful and amazing. But there are some other places will pleasant surprise you, like Yungang Grottoes and Hanging Temple...

    • Ms.Lee (USA)
    • (18 Days) 2017.09.18~2017.10.05
    • Kathmandu - Kunming - Lhasa - Shigatse - Xian - Luoyang - Pingyao - Datong
  • China attractions - Great Wall
    Journey of Treasures - Hugging Nine Cities in Summer

    In 22 days, we managed to see a far bit of the country. We started in Beijing had 4 days there and we went to The Forbidden City, go to the top and overlook Tiananmen Square which was amazing.

    • Paul (Australia)
    • 22 Days (2017.07.31~2017.08.21)
    • Beijing - Datong - Pingyao - Xian - Chengdu - Guilin - Yangtze - Shanghai