Nadia Shaari

Nadia Shaari

Portugal

Reviewed on October 28, 2020

We had great experiences with our tour guide named Eleen. She is so friendly and full of information. She even organised our journey just by walking from Giant Buddha to Oriental Buddha using back side of nice garden. We cover all the area even so we just have several hours.

Date of Experience: October,26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Dom Dom

Dom Dom

Malaysia

Reviewed on October 24, 2020

Thanks to China Discovery for an itinerary that covers all the places I wish to visit in Chengdu especially Leshan giant Buddha and Emeishan. Both has been in my wish list for a while. The whole arrangement was perfect without much hiccups especially during the peak national holiday. Loaded some photos here to justify all the beautiful sceneries. Hope you like it. Also kudos to Tracy and the driver for their effort.

Date of Experience: September,26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Journey with Kids

Journey with Kids

France

Reviewed on October 18, 2020

We had a great tour of Chengdu organised by Wing Zeng and guided by Sandy. We also included a day trip to the Panda Research Base. The kids really loved the Panda part of the trip. Huge crowds due to it being a holiday week but early starts in the day helped us beat most of the crush. Definitely recommend this tour operator if you are planning on spending time in Chengdu.

Date of Experience: October, 1, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Picky Traveler

Picky Traveler

USA

Reviewed on October 13, 2020

What an amazing time with family and friends exploring beautiful Chengdu! It was extra special with the attention and detail from our tour guide!

Date of Experience: October, 2, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Yih Siang C

Yih Siang C

Malaysia

Reviewed on September 27, 2020

This is a retrospective review, I went on a 6 days / 5 nights private tour to Chengdu / Jiuzhaigou. I spent 2 days in Chengdu and the rest in Jiuzhaigou valley.

Since it was my first trip to China and I was a single female traveller, understandably, I was initially apprehensive before the tour. However, all my initial reservations disappeared once my tour began. I have decided to go on a private tour because I could not find a group tour which can come up with the itinery that I wanted.

From the onset, it was a pleasure to deal with Wonder. He made me a detailed itinery, specific to my wishes, down to the hotels that I preferred. I must say that he has honoured and stuck to our contract throughout my tour. He also phoned my tour guides on a daily basis just to make sure the itinery went on as planned and to make sure that I was ok. He was contactable at all times and any problems were sorted out very quickly and efficiently. He was also very accommodating and was willing to make changes in my itinery at very short notice whenever possible. I have found him to be reliable and trustworthy.

The tour guides were all very professional and knowledgeable. I was very happy with them. They spoke fluent English and were very knowledgeable about the places that we visited. They took care of everything, from meeting me at the airport, check- in into hotels, arranging for meals, transport, tickets for shows and checking in for my return flights. I was impressed that they would go out of their way to make my tour comfortable, hassle free and really tried to give me a memorable holiday. They were prepared to work till late evenings. As a matter of fact, they would wait for me while I watched some shows in the evenings and one of them was even so kind to buy me an adaptor which I had lost in a hotel.

Jiuzhai Valley is an extraordinary, beautiful park. It is my personal opinion that 2 full days are required to do the park justice. It is difficult to rush through the scenic spots in a day especially when there are massive crowds and queues everywhere. It was worth it to pay the hefty entrance fee for 2 days.

I was especially pleased that on one occasion, my tour guide took me through a small path, away from the tourist crowds. We walked at our pace and saw some smaller lovely waterfalls and lakes. I did not have to jostle with the typical crowds and could take my time to take some truly picturesque photos and videos. I am convinced that if I had joined a group tour , I would not have been able to see and explore the national park as much as I did.

Be prepared for massive crowds, they can get unruly at times, especially when it rains, so do bring a raincoat or umbrella. Also be prepared for the less than ideal toilet facilities. Bring lots of tissues and handwash as tissues are not provided.

Due to my excellent and friendly tour guides and Wonder's meticulous planning, I had a fabulous holiday and a great time in China. I would highly recommend Wonder Wang and his tour agency to all my friends and family. If I return to China, I would certainly go through Wonder and his agency again. So, a big thank you to Wonder and all my lovely tour guides for making my holiday a truly memorable one!

Date of Experience: October,11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
cristinagatti1980

cristinagatti1980

UK

Reviewed on August 28, 2020

Being a big fan of cooking, I thought I could not miss a cooking class while visiting Sichuan. Talking to Wonder at China Discovery, he suggested the experience of the Chuançais Museum: cooking class and visit of the museum. It was a wonderful idea!

Even if a little far from Chengdu city centre, the museum is set in a beautiful location and it is worth a visit with a peaceful garden and lily pond and traditional Chinese buildings. It is also very interesting to learning the long history of Sichuan cuisine while visiting the museum.

But the cooking class was the best! The kitchen itself was amazing; I learnt to prepare Sweet Panda Steamed Dumplings, Mapu Toufu and Kungpao Chicken with Evelyn as a great teacher. The explanation, all in English, was easy and clear and the result incredibly tasteful.

This is an experience I would recommend to any food lover!

Date of Experience: August,17, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Julie

Julie

USA

Reviewed on August 11, 2020

Some friends and I schedualed a tour of Dahjaling Panda base and Mt Quinching with china discovery and I can not suggest there services enough. Our guide Lily was easy to work with and highly responsive. She not only helped us to customize a tour at a reasonable rate but she went above and beyond by sending links to apps and down load instructions we would need not only for the tour but for all our other activities while in Chengdu.

Our guide Jason was exceptional. He was knowledgeable and friendly. Never rushed us and his English was incredibly good (much much better then our Mandarin!) He helped us understand Chinas history and culture on a deeper level. Highly recommend this company!

Date of Experience: August,10, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by:
Andy

Andy

Singapore

Reviewed on July 21, 2020

I traveled to Chengdu in Jan. 2019 and had a great time. My travel agent Wendy and tour guide Sandy were very helpful and friendly. The panda research center is a great facility. The giant Buddha at Leshan is quite impressive. Visiting Mt. Emei was incredible and the highlight of my tour. I would actually return to Mt. Emei because there was so much to see and do but was unable due to time constraints. Thanks and safe travels...

Date of Experience: January, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wendy
patricetan95

patricetan95

Indonesia

Reviewed on January 2, 2020

Everything was really organized and well-planned. All our activities matched the itinerary. Lily was remarkably helpful, accommodating, and patient even though our group had some changes nearing the D-Day of the trip! We truly appreciate the panda chopsticks souvenir she sent us :’) & also when she came to see us in person on our last day and sent us off to the airport!

Our local guides in Shanghai, Zhangjiajie, and Chengdu were all friendly and speak good English. Special shout out to our guide in Zhangjiajie Mrs. Tutu who accompanied us till late at night! She also had such soothing voice when she sang to us ;)

Would definitely recommend this agency if my friends & colleagues are looking to visit China.

Date of Experience: December,22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Ken N

Ken N

UK

Reviewed on December 30, 2019

This was a magnificent holiday from start to finish organised superbly by Wonder Wang.Nothing was ever too much for him and he helped us whenever asked.We travel extensively but these guys are a bit special.

We started in Guilin with a trip on The River Li.Then on to the pandas in Chengdu--a definite highlight.Xian followed with the Terracotta Warriors which on first sighting take your breath away.We finished in Beijing with The Forbidden City,Temple of Heaven ,The Summer Palace and The Great Wall.

Travel between the Centres was by Hi speed train-extraordinary--topping 310KPH on occasions.

Overall a superb holiday and one of the best we have ever been on with Wonder magnificent throughout.

Date of Experience: December,17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
holloway33

holloway33

Singapore

Reviewed on November 29 2019

Both my husband and I had a very good holiday in China for a 10 days private tour organised by Mark Shen , the Consultant agent of China Discovery. Mark planned an excellent & efficient trip for us to cruise at Yangtze River and there after to Zhangjiajie and Fenghuang .He reverted promptly to our enquiries .Prior to the tour , he communicated with us many times and was so patient with the changes in itinerary we requested. He also tried to work within the budget we stipulated.

We arrived in Chengdu on a Sunday night and he personally received us at the airport . We were touched by his gesture. The tour guides and the drivers provided through out the trip were good though we are disappointed with Alice the guide from Chongqing. She was reading her messages all the time when guided us on the Chongqing city tour.

Mark was monitoring our schedule through out. He assured us the guides would be good on our subsequent tour in Zhangjiajie after our feedback.

We are very pleased that Mark kept his promise as Carrie , the tour consultant was really good. She speaks excellent English. She is caring ,helpful and insightful. We are very happy with the driver Mr. Du who drove very carefully when it was misty and raining from Zhangjiajie to Fenghuang. The scenery in Zhangjiajie is beautiful and majestic beyond description and it is a place one must visit.

This trip at Zhangjiajie was hectic and schedules were tight . However it was a bliss for us as every little detail had been well planned by Mark meticulously and executed by a very caring Carrie . Kudos to Mark & Carrie who gave us a very memorable holiday.

I would not hesitate to refer Mark Shen ,the consultant agent and Carrie , the tour consultant to my friends . In fact I have passed Mark's contact to my friend who is now in US.

Our heartfelt thanks to Mark and the team from Chengdu , Yichang & Zhangjiajie of China Discovery for giving us a memorable holiday.

Lily ( Singapore)

Date of Experience: November,29, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
candybliss

candybliss

Israel

Reviewed on November 22 2019

We have just returned from a private tour of China, all arranged for us by China Discovery. The original reason we chose them from many other companies in China was because they said they could get us into the Day Volunteer Programme at Woolong Panda Reserve. So we arranged our whole 11 day tour with them. We cannot recommend them enough. Every place we went we had our own guide and driver, coordination of flights, tours and pick-ups was excellent. The guides, nearly all young women, were brilliant and flexible. In Yangshuo we had planned motorbikes (scooters) for the morning but when we woke up it was pouring with rain. Our guide immediately gave us other choices including massages or cookery. We chose the cookery class and within 10 minutes we found ourselves joining a group in the market to shop for our lesson. Great fun, thoroughly enjoyable. Wendy Dan was our contact/coordinator at China Discovery and she arranged our tour exactly to our wishes and was always willing to make last minute changes or additions. Highly recommend China Discovery.(China Discovery. This is the one headquartered in Chengdu, China (china discovery.com), )

Candyce & Laurence Bliss

Date of Experience: October,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
947dickd

947dickd

USA

Reviewed on November 120 2019

We booked our tour through Riley. She was always helpful, quick to respond to any questions we had, and the information she provided was always spot on accurate. Our tour included pick up at and return transportation to the airport...a real convenience! Our tour guide, Sandy, and our driver, Shau Jo, were both a pleasure to work with. They were always on time and in good humor. Sandy, who speaks English quite well, has a good grasp of the historical significance of the many places we visited and welcomed any questions we had. As promised, there were no “shopping” stops! All in all, Riley, Sandy and Shau Jo made our trip to Chengdu one our best visits to China. We would certainly work with them again.

Date of Experience: November, 9, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Davegledhill

Davegledhill

UK

Reviewed on October 28 2019

Review For China Discovery

China Discovery is simply superb!

The period prior to departure is a little scary. Although the itinerary is comprehensive, handing over a large amount of money on a promise, is daunting. The application process for a tourist visa is rigorous and final details of flights and train bookings were not available until the last few weeks. That led to a little nervousness at the Chinese Embassy. As it was, visas were issued without the detail. That is my only criticism as the rest of the trip was faultless.

This is a slick operation, the company strives for perfection and they deliver. The itinerary was close-hosted so a guide and driver were on hand at every destination to see us through every aspect of the visit. The ultimate illustration of efficiency was when a guide appeared on the platform on arrival at Xian station and waved my name card through the train window!

A detailed itinerary is issued before travelling. We elected for a few days in Hong Kong before and after the trip. Collected from the hotel, we had little to do for the remaining duration other than enjoy the experience. I booked good hotels and first class rail travel - the bullet train is impressive - which proved worth the additional cost. Whilst it may appear at face value to be an expensive trip, when you consider what is included, the trip is excellent value for money. The only compromise was economy flights, between distant venues. Baggage allowance on internal flights is limited so Business Class may be a consideration, if one wants to take more luggage and, of course, for that extra touch of luxury. Many meals were included allowing us to sample local cuisine.

The trip took in Chengdu to see pandas, Xian for the Terracotta Warriors, a Yangtze cruise and Beijing to see the Forbidden City, the Summer Palace and the Great Wall. At every venue, additional sites were added to round out the experience. I lost track of the number of times I said "Wow!" The itinerary proved to be extensive and varied. The guides were not only efficient, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly but I would add that I met new people, anxious to deliver a unique insight. They became, albeit short term, friends. My thanks and compliments.

I can thoroughly recommend China Discovery. The tour coordinator was exceptional and our every request was delivered. The itinerary was comprehensive and executed flawlessly. Not only did we receive what we had booked but were made to feel like VIPs at every event.

My memories of China will be memorable, largely thanks to a skilled company which delivers excellence. Kudos to the team.

Date of Experience: September, 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
JEAPIERRE

JEAPIERRE

France

Reviewed on October 22 2019

The tour was very well orgnized by China discovery ( Jack Li) and very interesting

Xi'an with the terracota of course but also the city wall and the old city

Chengdu with the Giant Pandas

Xining , door to Tibet and Tibetan civilisation with the Qinhai lake and the so interesting museum

Lhasa with the Potala and other monasteries

Beijing at the end with the Great wall and the Tianshan etc,

Very good souvenirs!

Date of Experience: September,12, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
HarrisLeeRoaming

HarrisLeeRoaming

USA

Reviewed on August 11 2019

Our family booked a custom private tour for the China portion of our trip in July and August this year (five people age range 11-74). Our travel consultant Rita Jiang, is the same consultant we used three years ago when I was traveling with my then 8 year old around Yunan, and she did a fantastic job- both times. This year we went to Xian, Chengdu - did the panda volunteer (a highlight for our daughter), Yunan where she helped arrange activities we did not do before: duanyang rice terraces (Jack was a phenomenal guide!),Lijiang area: Jade snow mountain, Shaxi, Shangri-la and Balagezong, Tibet- Lhasa. We did not use her services for Cambodia or Vietnam, though she is able to make arrangements for other countries in Asia.

We communicated via email and paid via PayPal. Her communication was excellent, she adjusted our itinerary according to our concerns and goals, made some suggestions, and coordinated our permits for Tibet. The trip went very smoothly- the high speed trains, domestic flights, private vehicles, excellent local guides. In country, she continued to keep in touch with us via email and wechat. Overall a great experience and we would not hesitate to recommend (and use again) their private custom tour services and our travel consultant, Rita Jiang.

Date of Experience: July,25, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
katefmahoney

katefmahoney

New Zealand

Reviewed on July 9 2019

I was in Chengdu for 4 days and as a non-mandarin speaker, booked myself a tour through China Discovery and they were fantastic. Wendy, my travel consultant was really prompt with her replies, gave great advice and adjusted the tour package to meet my curiosities. She sent me everything I needed for my visa as well so I really didn't have to think too hard to dot the i's and cross the t's!

When I got to Chengdu, I was met by Jason, my guide for the trip and he was brilliant, his english was excellent, he knew the answers to all my questions and as it was just me, we were able to adapt things as we went depending on what we discovered. I did the volunteering out at that Panda Centre which was excellent, we went to the Monastry, the mountain and I ate my way around Jinli Street. Pretty much the perfect 4 days!

For anyone planning a trip to Chengdu, the Pandas and the Food are incredible so it's well worth it!!!! I would definitely recommend these guys and Chengdu as a city.

Date of Experience: May,27, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Traveller88882013

Traveller88882013

Australia

Reviewed on June 28 2019

China Discovery, Chengdu - Travel Consultant Ms Rita Jiang organized this trip for me and my wife. We did not want to travel in a group as we wanted flexibility and comfort. Rita understood our needs and after much discussion, we started our trip on 17th May and ended in HK on 6th June where we spent 4 nights on our own. We stayed in 4 to 5 star international hotels except for two local hotels in the smaller cities. The difference is the level of hotel service in both types of hotels and the breakfast. We were in Sofitel, Intercontinental, Shangri La, Sheraton, Crowne Plaza, Hyatt and even though our hotel nights were booked through China Discovery, I presented my loyalty hotel cards and had upgrades in some of these international hotels.

We were happy with the transportation provided (especially in the big cities) but do not expect good vehicles in the smaller cities. Some of the guides were brilliant but some were not so. This is expected due to tourism in each of the cities. We had flexibility in our tour and also food selection. We were provided with daily breakfast and some lunches but no dinners. This is fine as we could look for the food that we like (apart from just Chinese style food).

The internal flights were spot on and we had our seating always in the first few rows . Some of the train rides were very good (especially Beijing to Xian and Guilin to Hong Kong). The other train rides were not so comfortable. Would suggest requesting for First Class cabin but will cost more - nearly double.

Our guide checked us in for both flights and train rides. It was very easy and smooth. My recommendation is to ensure that you give notice to your receiving guide to hold up a card with your name and to make your luggage different from the rest. Send them a photo so they will know who to look for. We are Australians but we are Chinese looking. So misunderstanding can happen when the guide is receiving us.

Overall, we rate China Discovery, Chengdu - Rita Jiang very highly as she was very responsive to our needs even when we were on tour. She even did some last minute changes for us just to make us comfortable. If we do travel again to China in future, we will contact them again.

Date of Experience: May,17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Awkwardtrip

Awkwardtrip

Australia

Reviewed on June 18 2019

Ms.Lyn wang was very cooperative & professional right from the time of enquiry, booking & arranging the customized China tour for 12 days covering Beijing, Yangtze river cruise, Zhangjiajie & Shanghai. We really appreciate her for organizing the tour in a very professional manner. We were bit apprehensive initially as we booked directly without any tour operator from my country of origin. It was very wonderful & pleasant experience and we really enjoyed every moment of it.

All all tour guides were very professional & cooperative giving all the required info of the tour. Yangtze river cruise by “president No-7” was very good & enjoyed the way they organised.

Zhangjiajie is a must visit place with such a scenic beauty & we feel three days there would have been more justified to enjoy thoroughly such a natural scenic beauty spot. But the only disappointment was the hotel “Wulingyuan Hotel” arranged was close to the hills but the food was really bad & couldn’t eat at all. The least we expected that the breakfast could be to suit overseas travellers, but was really not up to any standard. Suggest you to recommend any other hotels for overseas guests.

In Shanghai, there was much free time left after covering all the listed places as per itinerary & suggest tour guide could provide some local shopping tips in China as in Nanjing road it was all expensive which are otherwise generally available in any other country. Don't miss Bund walk in the evening, the skyline under lights is most delightful to watch /gaze.

Overall it was very nicely organised & we really appreciate your professionalism for well organised tour. I certainly recommend "China discovery" tour operator & happy to avail for any future tours in china.

Date of Experience: April,26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Emmarie

Emmarie

India

Reviewed on June 9 2019

LThis activity was such a fun experience. Sandy, my guide, had wonderful English and a lot of interesting information regarding pandas and China itself. I loved learning about what I was doing with the volunteer work. Sandy made me feel comfortable and organized. I loved feeding the pandas and seeing them up close, it was a truly neat experience!

It's a little pricey for my taste, but I was'nt dissatisfied by any means. I still had a wonderful time.

Date of Experience: May,31, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Catherine
ajclarkson

ajclarkson

UK

Reviewed on May 15 2019

This was a fantastic trip to the front mountain of Quingcheng and Dujiangyan Irrigation System and the a day volunteering at Wolong panda reserve. Wolong and reserve was memorable and will live with me a long time. An incredibly peaceful location for the panda, very few crowds and lots of opportunities to watch the baby pandas. The highlight was feeding an adult panda, and looking into its eyes as it fed from me. If you are looking for memories to last a lifetime this is where to go.

Echo and China Discovery was exceptionally helpful in putting the tour together and always keeping me up to speed with where things were. This made for a hassle free trip in a country that can sometimes be challenging with the language differences.

Date of Experience: April,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Echo
Connector740452

Connector740452

USA

Reviewed on May 8 2019

Hello Jack,

We recently got back from our wonderful 19 days trip to China and wanted to take this time to thank you for preparing such an awesome itinerary for us. It was tailored to the places we wanted to visit Beijing, Xian, Lhasa,Tibet, Chengdu, Guilin, Yanshuo, Li River Cruise, Longji, Chongqing Yangtze River cruise, Yichang, Shanghai.

We enjoyed every single day of our tours to the maximum.

The treatment we received from all of our tour guides and drivers was excellent. We were always greeted on time at the airport or train station by our tour guide who promptly introduced themselves and also the driver. Very nice people always wanting to help and explain all the details about the place visited, their culture and traditions.

Hotels were beautiful, very comfortable and centrally located. Staff always ready to help if needed. We were very surprised with the beautiful gift waiting for us when we got to our hotel in Chengdu. I wished we had more time to go visit you in your office and personally thank you.

The very well planned itinerary was carried out to our expectations, never a missed placed to visit, and when it was time for our next destination, our tour guide had everything under control, from taking our bags to getting our tickets and making sure we were in the right place on time.

The Yangtze River cruise was very relaxing, excellent buffet and staff service. Our activity coordinator Rebecca, was great in keeping the activities going and letting us know which sceneries where coming up and what to look for every time. Nightly entertainment was very good also. The tours very very well organized and we really enjoyed them.

We loved every city visited and experienced different Chinese cuisine every placed we went. The restaurants and food was carefully selected always keeping in mind if we were allergic to any food or liked or disliked any hot spices.

We are very happy and it has been an amazing vacation and a learning experience. Will be happy to recommend your company and specially you Jack for all your help, patience and knowledge. We'll be happy to return to China to experience many other beautiful places we didn't get to see this time around.

Thank you very much for everything you did for us.

Idania and Alberto Mesa

Date of Experience: April,15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Honora M

Honora M

Ireland

Reviewed on May 7 2019

We have just returned from our holiday organized by Jack Li in China Discovery. This amazing tour lasted twenty days and we visited Beijing,Xi’an,Chengdu,Lijiang,Guilin, Yangshuo, Hangzhou and Shanghai. We found China Discovery to be an absolutely reliable tour company,responsible and very attentive. The service was of the highest quality- hotels,guides,drivers and all the restaurants attended and recommended. We have full confidence in recommending China Discovery for anyone needing a stress free holiday in China. In each location the guides were professional,enthusiastic and delighted to give us an insight into their community-history,customs,religions,fauna and flora. In fact each location was a highlight and we have a lifetime of unforgettable memories. We would like to thank Jack Li for customizing our tour and for taking such good care of us. It was a remarkable holiday made possible by the expertise and efficiency of China Discovery and its wonderful team.

Date of Experience: April, 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Jack
Rene P

Rene P

USA

Reviewed on May 3 2019

Rita Jiang from China Discovery put together a fantastic 3 day tour of Chengdu. My favorite was seeing the pandas at the Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding even though it was a busy day with festival goers. The Sichuan Museum was very interesting. The Wuhou Temple and the Dufu Thatched Cottage offered fascinating glimpses of Chinese history. Walking through Renmin Park and Jinlin Old Street had us swiveling our heads as we tried to take everything in from the various vendors to the mahjong players. Our guide Jason and driver Joe were excellent at their jobs. My parents had another guide who helped them at Chengdu Airport which was much appreciated -- they said he was superb.

Date of Experience: April, 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
daniela1122

daniela1122

UK

Reviewed on April 28 2019

We've just come back from 2 amazing weeks in China booked through China Discovery based in Chengdu, our travel consultant was Johnson. We chose a bespoke tour taking in Beijing, Xi'an, Chengu, then a short river cruise on The Yangtze, followed by a night in Zhangjiajie and finishing off in Shanghai. We had the most amazing time. Johnson organised the trip and was very patient with our infinte changes to the itinerary,

Johnson arranged all the transport within China, hotels, and guides in each of the cities, all guides spoke excellent english, were really well organised and knowlegeable. Ruby (in Chengdu), Kimi (in Xi'an) and Johnson (in Zhangjiajie) were absolutely excellent and made our stay really special. Having a guide cuts down the queueing time considerably as tickets are prebooked for you and they only need to be picked up, in some places there are preferential queues for guided tours.

We travelled mainly by high speed train, which is by far the most convenient way of seeing the country. We were astounded by how efficient, clean and punctual the trains were. We also used the underground system of most of the cities we stayed in, we found them all easy to navigate, modern, clean and punctual.

We had 3 days in Beijing, we stayed at the Park Plaza: excellent breakfast comfortable and clean rooms, excellent location. In Beijing we saw the Forbidden city, the Temple of Heaven and the Summer Palace and had a great day on the Great Wall, which is astoundingly impressive, coming down on the tobbogan was great fun. We were supposed to visit the Hutongs and have a go at some calligraphy, but unfortunately due to a mix of Beijing traffic, an early afternoon train to catch and the calligraphy person being called away, we were unable to do this last activity.

The second stop was Xi'an, we stayed at the Grand Mercure on Remnin Square, Less impressive than the other hotels in the square, but comfortable and excellently located. It was built in the Soviet era and had an air of faded grandeur. The Terracotta Warriors were breathtaking and we had a lovely time cycling round the town walls. Xi'an is a really pretty city by night with bustling markets and pretty lights everywhere. We took the opportunity to learn to make dumplings and have lunch with a local family. This was a great experience. It was in one of the super-modern high rise buildings that are ubiquitous, the host was a former guide and it was one of the best meals we had in the holiday. It was more a demonstration of how to fill the dumplings rather than a cookery lesson, but we enjoyed it nevertheless.

Next stop Chengdu, home of the pandas. We stayed in the Dorset Grand, the only way to describe the hotel is WOW! The highlight was the Pandas, we enjoyed Renmin park and the Opera. We mentioned to our guide that we wanted to try the local hotpot so she stayed with us into the evening to help us with ordering and show us how it was done.

The next stop was Chongqing, from here we took a 3 day cruise on the Yangtze on the Century Legend, which was a lot of fun and restful after the busyness of the previous week. Food was ordinary at best. The cruise had group excursions, which made us really grateful that we booked a private tour with China Discovery for most of the holiday (rather than a group tour with a UK based agency) as there was a lot of hanging around waiting for other people. The quality of the guides provided by China Discovery was also much higher. Breathtaking scenary and an amazing feat of politics and engineering.

Second last stop Zhangjiajie, the slow train was incredibly interesting, and it was the first look of small town, rural China we caught. It had a completely different feel from the other places we visited. As we got there we wished we had followed Johnson's advice and stayed an extra day. To sum the place up in one word: spectacular, we saw Tianmen Mountain and the Yellow dragon cave.

Finally a last few days in Shanghai, we stayed at the Sunrise on the Bund, a beautiful hotel, but not really on the bund. We were unlucky that there were night roadworks going on outside our window, but the staff did their best to mitigate their impact. Shanghai does not really need a guide, it is quite westernised and it is easy to navigate. The advantage of having a guide is that you will pack much more into the day. Again, we were grateful to have one of China Discovery's guides for one of the 3 days we spent here. As when we asked the concierge at the hotel for direction for a shopping centre, he arranged for a taxi to take us to a really hard sale place that made us feel quite uncomfortable. During the rest of the holiday only twice we had been taken to places where we felt in some way obliged to buy something, but it was not a hard sell, the trips were listed on the itinerary and we could have said we did not want to go there.

Overall it was a great holiday and we have been so impressed by the organisation and value for money provided by China Discovery and Johnson that we are planning to do a tour of Southern China in the next couple of years.

Date of Experience: April, 6, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Ex-Trekker

Ex-Trekker

Singapore

Reviewed on April 21 2019

This is my first ever review for a travel agency! I needed a quick solution for a week long getaway with my 7 year old boy during his March holidays and after doing some research on the net, I decided to go with China Discovery. My son is very keen to visit the terracotta warriors in Xian and I thought why not start from Chengdu to see the giant pandas ( what else?) and hop over to Emei Shan and Leshan and then travel to Xian to see the famous terracotta warriors and mausoleum.

Vivian who coordinated the trip was extremely efficient and responsive. Everything went smoothly throughout the trip. For the trips in Chengdu and surrounding areas, Ruby was the guide. We were really impressed by her patience, altitude and her care. She brought us to some really great local restaurants that's not the usual ones catering to tourists.

Over in Xian we had Gin as the guide and I must say she's very knowledgeable and well versed in ancient Chinese history. All in all, I would definitely use this agency again for my next guided trip to China. Cheers.

Date of Experience: April, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Micahmoo1

Micahmoo1

New Zealand

Reviewed on April 19 2019

Great choice on our part to use China Discovery, we dealt with Johnston Wang in organizing our tour of China, always flexible to our requests and very prompt communications. Every detail was taken care of and the whole two weeks ran like a fine oiled machine, guides were amazing, always in the right place at the right time and flexible to our needs, special mention must go to Timo in Xian and Nancy in Chengdu, outstanding! , We managed to visit so many China sights in such a short time from Terracotta Warriors, volunteering with The Giant Pandas, cooking lesson at Sichuan Cuisine Museum Chengdu, a Yangtze river cruise, bullet trains plus much much more, the itinerary was amazing and the hotels and local restaurants for lunches chosen were second to none! Thank you China Discovery, the memories and friendships made will last a lifetime!

Date of Experience: April, 8, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Johnson
David1990CH

David1990CH

Switzerland

Reviewed on April 7 2019

We wanted to visit some sights in different cities in China. Riley from China Discovery was very patient and competent and helped us plan our trip. She answered all our questions quickly and also helped us process our VISA applications.

This resulted in a 16-day tour during which we visited the following cities: Beijing, Harbin, Chengdu, Lhasa, Zhangjiajie, Yangshuo and Guilin. Riley organized for us the tickets for 6 domestic flights and 2 train trips. In each city we were welcomed by a tour guide and a driver. Everything went smoothly and everything was well organized.

We would like to thank Riley for her patient support and would book our next trip to China with her again.

David

Date of Experience: March,23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Kathleenat

Kathleenat

USA

Reviewed on April 3 2019

We just returned from spring break in China where we spent two days in Chengdu including one day volunteering at the Dujiangyan Panda Base in Wolong. We had two teenage girls with us. We had planned this trip for over six months and Tracy Tan at China Discovery was amazing. She kept in great touch with me via email and helped us arrange a really special experience. Our first day was a city tour of Chengdu which included pickup at the airport, lunch at a local non-touristy Sichuan restaurant (delicious), and a visit to the local museum, people's park, and historic alley shopping neighborhood. There is an option to also visit an archeological dig but we did not have time for that. Our guide spoke, Sandy, spoke perfect English (which helped for our family) and he was very kind, knowledgeable, and personable. Our driver was very friendly and a good driver. The next day we spent the day volunteering at the panda conservation and research center two hours north of Chengdu. This is an experience of a lifetime. You get to feed and prepare the panda's food, clean the enclosures, and spend a lot of time in an uncrowded situation with these amazing animals. The next day we were picked up at the hotel (which China Discovery had arranged for us and it was very nice, clean, friendly, and reasonably priced) and driven to the airport. Everything went according to schedule. It was a quick trip but worth it. Again, I cannot say enough about China Discovery and how easy they made it for us to travel around China and do everything we needed into order to visit Sichuan and the giant panda in their natural habitat. A+

Kathleen Alt

Boulder, Colorado

Date of Experience: March,23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Tracy
stevei567

stevei567

UK

Reviewed on March 5, 2019

We visited this location as a part of our 3 week trip around China and this was one of the highlights, a realy good day out and not to be missed if you wanting to discover the China of today. Lots of fun with the Pandas and lots of information on them as well.

Date of Experience: December,15, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy

See more reviews on Tripadvisor See all reviews from our guests


Amazing Chengdu Travel Stories

Here are selected travel stories shared by our valued customers who visited Zhangjiajie and more stunning places. May these stories ignite your wanderlust and make you pack your bags and go! If you want to read more interesting stories, click here>

  • Annal China Tour
    Travel China with Family and Friends for 3 Consecutive Years

    Mr. Ban's Group travel to China every year since 2017. Their travel path has now covered natural and cultural sites in a dozen of cities around China and their China trip will continue.

    • Mr. Ban's Group (USA)
    • (10-11 Days) 2017~2019
    • Destinations: Chengdu, Xian, Luoyang, Zhangjiajie, Yunnan, Huangshan, Hangzhou, Nanjing, Suzhou, Shanghai
  • Rachel Grant’s Panda Volunteer Experience in Dujiangyan
    Rachel Grant’s Panda Volunteer Experience in Dujiangyan

    The distinctive black and white animal is a national treasure in China and one of the rarest, most endangered bears in the world. A one-on-one encounter with a giant panda is a bucket list highlight and a must-do when you are in China. The time I spent witnessing such human dedication is truly eye-opening...

    • Panda Volunteer Star: Ms. Rachel Grant (British)
    • Chengdu - Dujiangyan
  • Couple’s 69 Days Private China Journey
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - Datong - Pingyao - Luoyang - Xian - ...... Chengdu - ... - Shanghai
  • 12 Days Exploration Tour to Panda's Hometown
    Say Hello to Cute Panda and Travel Around Chengdu

    Marin enjoyed every minute during his 12 days exploration tour to the home town of giant pandas - Chengdu and the around to visit pandas, Leshan Giant Buddha, Dujiangyan Irrigation, and sample famous Sichuan cuisines.

    • Marcin (USA)
    • (12 Days) 2019.06.11~2019.06.22
    • Chengdu - Leshan - Emeishan - Chengdu - Dujiangyan - Mount Siguniang - Chengdu
  • Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities all around China plus Yangtze Cruise
    Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities around China plus Yangtze Cruise

    Winston and his wife have traveled to many world places during the past 21 years and experienced the best vacation this time to explore China's west and east, north and south parts!

    • Winston (USA)
    • (22 Days) 2019.05.17~2019.6.07
    • Beijing - Xian - Lhasa - Chengdu - Guilin - Longsheng - Yangshuo - Yangtze River Cruise - Shanghai - Suzhou - Beijing
  • Returning Hometown to Regain Adopted Daughter's Confidence
    Returning Hometown to Regain Adopted Daughter's Confidence

    Lawson's Family had an amazing family China tour with their two adopted daughters from China and touchingly helped their adopted ethnic little girl regain confidence.

    • Lawson (UK)
    • (19 Days) 2018.10.17~2018.11.04
    • Shenzhen - Xiamen - Yongding - Guangzhou - Zhaoxing - ... - Guilin - Chengdu - Hangzhou - Shanghai - Suzhou - Shanghai