Glenn

Glenn

Canada

Reviewed on August 22, 2021

We chose China Discovery over 2 other companies that were competing for our business. I believe that we received excellent value for our money. The other deciding factor was the number and variety of attractions over the 6 actual days of the tour.

This brings us to the attractions. The tour featured a variety of majestic and beautiful mountain ranges, as well as historical and cultural landmarks in the region. The majesty, the awesome beauty of this area are its great strengths. We really got a feeling of the area, and learned a great deal of the history and cultural significance of this region of the country. CD's guides did a great job in emphasizing the beauty of the region.

We had 2 guides on our journey, Both guides showed in-depth knowledge and a keen cultural awareness of their individual areas of the tour. Both showed concern for our safety, comfort and the ease of our journey. Both were concerned with us getting enough rest, in general, and during the walking activities.

The vans provided by China Discovery were first class: comfortable, clean and easy to get in and get out of. The drivers were courteous and friendly. Overall, I would rate our China Discovery experience as EXTREMELY satisfied. The team were very accommodating of our needs and concerned about all aspects of our experience. Thank you!

Date of Experience: July 21, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Andy C

Andy C

UK

Reviewed on August 2, 2021

Wonder and his team planned an exceptional 18 day tour of China for our family. Visiting Beijing, Xian, Zhangjajie and 5 days in Yunnan.

From the planning stage, to the selection of hotels and guides, Wonder was fabulous and he could not have been any more helpful. Booking a tour such as this allowed us to be flexible with our choices of activities and areas and it was a trip we will never forget!

I would recommend Wonder and China Discovery for anyone who is looking to book a well planned and personalised tour around China. It made life so easy and a trip to remember forever!

Date of Experience: July 6, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Chriselda F

Chriselda F

South Africa

Reviewed on July 16, 2021

Wow, what a great experience it was using China Discovery. Jack helped us plan an unforgettable trip. We stayed in lovely hotels in convenient locations. The drivers were good and drove safely. Our guides were great and very helpfull in giving advice and booking tickets. Their English were very good. The food we ate was tasty and fresh. The whole trip was so easy and hassle free. We can not wait to use them again for our next trip

Date of Experience: July 5, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Jack
Zhangjiajie Tour
A Tripadvisor Member

A Tripadvisor Member

Italy

Reviewed on July 9. 2021

We booked a private tour through China Discovery, they put our pieces of thoughts together and made it a wonderful tour. Our guide David was great, flexible and kind. We will use their service in our future tours.

我们通过探索中国 预订了一次私人旅行,他把我们的想法拼凑在一起,使之成为一次美妙的旅行。我们的导游大卫是一个伟大、灵活和善良的人。我们将在今后的旅游中使用他们的服务。

Date of Experience: June 30, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Riley
J.E Rueth

J.E Rueth

USA

Reviewed on July 8, 2021

Riley is an amazing agent who helped create a fantastic personalized trip! She responded promptly, gave us several choices, set up extended tours and drivers for us and even helped me rebook a flight at the last minute on her day off! Outstanding customer service!

We cruised the Yangtze from Chongqing to Yinchan on the Victoria Jenna (on Riley's suggestion) and it was a memorable trip with friendly, competent and gracious service throughout. English speaking River guides (Steven and Rebecca) were able to explain all of the details to us. The food was good and the included tours were really good. I highly recommend this cruise if you want to see incredible scenery and enjoy what China has to offer

Date of Experience: July 5, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Marina S

Marina S

Russia

Reviewed on May 25, 2021

I took a two day private tour to Zhangjiajie National Park with China Discovery, and it was absolutely wonderful! Tracy organised my trip considering all the changes and requests of mine. The place is incredible, and I don't think I'd have such great experience if not for my guide Kevin. He is professional, knowledgable, and fun to talk to. He seems to know the park like the back of his hand - we skipped all the queues and crowds taking shortcuts and hidden passages. I was also taken to the view points not visited by groups of tourists - I was all by myself to enjoy the stunning vies and take pictures. Even though there were quite a few places in schedule, we were never in a rush. The pace was quite relaxed, and I didn't feel completely drained in the end of the day. The transportation was very comfy and smooth - I never had to wait for more than a few minutes. I would highly recommend China Discovery for solo travellers as well as groups.

Date of Experience: May 3, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
MissAsh

MissAsh

South Africa

Reviewed on April 25, 2021

I've been living in China for almost 2 years, and haven't had the opportunity to travel because of restrictions in 2020, but now that it's eased up and with the help of China discovery tours, and a very helpful and pleasant lady, Rita they helped to create a trip of a lifetime!

It took me a while to actually decide on where I'd like to go, and Rita helped me each step of the way, I felt bad sometimes for adding and removing things on my itinerary but Rita didn't complain and was very swift with these changes.

I went to Beijing, Chengdu and Zhangjiajie and had a private driver and tour guide in all the cities. I felt like a famous superstar! Haha!

My tour Guide Yoyo was very professional and also an amazing photographer. She was really sweet and kind and I feel like I made a good friend. I had a wonderful experience in Beijing I visited the forbidden city, summer Palace, The Great Wall of China which was probably the best and most emotional experience I've had as now I'm considered a "true hero", 798 art ,a contemporary art center, the temple of Heaven and a unique experience in the Beijing Hutongs where we learned paper Cutting among others.

It's was definitely amazing and I'd love to go back one day!

Next was Chengdu, I was so excited to see the Giant Pandas! I really enjoyed it there and seeing the little Pandas had me oooo'ing and aaaawww'ing all the time!

The next day the private driver and tour guide took me to The Giant Buddha of Leshan! What a phenomenal experience! So majestic and full of history! I was in complete awe and had a good exercise climbing up and down all those stairs haha! My tour guide treated us to lunch close by and we had super delicious food prepared by the local restaurant which also had very unique and beautiful set up.

I had the option to also add days of rest on my tour because yes, I am lazy haha but it was good as it was right in the middle of my tour and I was already feeling exhausted!

Soon after I was on my way to Zhangjiajie, already by the airport I was in a different world! I have been to many airports in my life, but the scenery around Zhangjiajie airport was gorgeous!

I was nervous about the Zhangjiajie Grand Canyon glass bridge days before, but when I got there i was super pumped to try walking across. My tour guide gave me 2 options 1. A zip line down to the river or taking the slide, we decided to choose the slide down and then either a boat down the river or a quiet and tranquil walk along the river. Even though it was long the walk along the river was so much better.

The views, spots and photo ops were all there!!

We also explored the yellow Dragon Caves which is beautifully lit up by different colored lights!

The next day was Zhangjiajie mountains! I am forever grateful to my tour guide David for seeing my mood change around the busy "tourist spots" where I'd get a little too overwhelmed by the noise and people so he offered to take me to secret spots where I'd get the same views (actually better views) and it's much less crowded and more serene.

I was so happy and grateful he tried his best to make my trip memorable and it was! Definitely it was!

I'm just thankful I didn't have to go through all the effort of booking planes, trains and hotels because Rita at China discovery did it all for me, and she was there when a little mishap happened and immediately moved me to a better hotel!

Date of Experience: April 7, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Rita
Excellent
Anne

Anne

USA

Reviewed on April 20, 2021

It was the 4th time with China Discovery. I was spoiled by Riley with her thoughtful, professional and efficient service. Whenever I need her help even in midnight when I had trouble checking in the hotel. I felt comfortable and safe having Riley hold my back.

Date of Experience: April 2, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Riley
Amazing trip to ZhangJiaJie to see Avatar Mountains and Caves
Tak Fung

Tak Fung

China

Reviewed on April 4, 2021

We had a custom built trip to ZhangJiaJie to see the Avatar Mountains. Everything that the agency did was perfect - super helpful and super fast all for a great price. The guide they provided was a local Tujia lady and she was extremely friendly and knowledgable, and really fun to be with, knowing when to take our photos or step in and show us around. This agency makes it TRIVIAL to visit and have fun in China - stop thinking and just use them!!!

Date of Experience: March 30, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Ellie

Ellie

Canada

Reviewed on January 4, 2021

We contacted China Discovery for a private tour to Zhangjiajie and Fenghuang. We usually plan our own trip but due to Covid, we thought that a guide will make things easier, especially travelling with two young children (3+ years old twins).

Planning

The travel agent Zeva was very responsive towards our request. We have a reasonable amount of walking and took almost all cable cars, trains, boats and bus rides to break the walks.

We flew from Beijing to Zhangjiajie. there we met our wonderful tour guide Lily and the driver Huang Shifu. They both speak English and were very patient with our two young children. They have booster seats for the children which I am very thankful about because I am always worried about road trips in China.

The first Checked-in to Sunrise Resort, a pleasant surprise room. The bathroom has children seat and stool for the little ones. They were both very excited about the little swing and slide in the room. The nest day we started our road trip to Fenghuang. There were landslides and we have to back up into little roads that were too narrow for two-direction traffic but our driver was very patient while we waited for the commotion to resolve. We stopped at Furong Town on the way to Fenghuang. Beautiful site and the kids were excited about the stepstones on the water and the waterfall. I would recommend stopping here to break the drive from Zhangjiajie to Fenghuang.

We checked-in to Lumen Xiju Inn in Fenghuang. The Inn is located by the bend just before the bridge, which gives us a great view from our Riverview room. Fenghuang is a pretty water town that has a good mix of tourist and historical museums. We spent two nights here and took many wonderful pictures. The best part of the room is that it comes with a little washing machine. If there is one recommendation that I can have for this place is to have bath mats in the washroom as the bathroom floor was wet from water dripping off the shower stall. Also, the floor was pretty cold. There is no breakfast in the hotel and we have to get our own breakfast although it was supposed to be included in our package.

On the fourth day, we are to take a drive back to Zhangjiajie. This time we will stop at the Dehang Miao village and trek to a waterfall in the village. Although the dance and costumes are very colourful, I would not recommend this stop as it is a bit of a detour and the views were ok.

Back in Zhangjiajie, we checked-in to Pullman. The hotel is quite dated and the lighting is very dim. The first breakfast we had was pretty chaotic as there were too many people in the western restaurant that the breakfast was set-up. People were being seated next to strangers, something that I find odd during the time of Covid. The restaurant was also pretty cold. We have to bring our jacket the next morning. The following few days, we went to Wulingyuan park. Lots of cable car rides and bus rides. Kids made it everywhere so that's amazing news for us. The stroll along the Golden Whip Stream was very beautiful. The only concern is that there are constantly monkeys eyeing you, waiting to pounce at any sight of food. It was rather scary to see monkeys snatching bags from tourist. We all enjoyed the train ride at the Ten-mile Natural Gallery and the boat ride at Baofeng Lake.

Then we packed our bag and moved back to Sunrise Resort that is closer to the Yuanjiajie mountains. Again, the kids loved their room. The Bailong elevator was interesting and having McDonald's at the top of the hills was amazing! The Tianmen Mountain, Tianmen Temple and the Glass Skywalk near the Tianmen Cave was one of my favourite part of the trip.

Accomodation

We stayed in a 4* hotel in Fenghuang, and 2 different 5* in Zhangjiajie (Sunrise Resort and Pullman). Accommodations were good especially Sunrise Resort.

Tour Guide

Our Guide Lily was amazing with the children's. They love her and she has made checking-in to the various entrances a breeze. She was also very helpful in getting us meals that the family can eat as Hunanese food tend to be spicy. Lily has been wonderful at watching the boys while we take pictures and she is a fantastic singer. I would highly recommend this trip for a family with young children, although maybe a 7 days would suffice. We spent Christmas at Zhangjiajie, I would probably recommend Crowne Plaza if you want more Christmas vibe.

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Zeva
Amazing destination
Amanda

Amanda

Zhangjiajie

Reviewed on December 18, 2020

We had a wonderful time touring Zhangjiajie national park and Tainmen mountain. Rita from China discovery was awesome and setup an amazing 4 day tour for us with a great guide (David) who spoke English and had a great sense of humor. We just landed at the airport and everything else was taken care of...no stress at all! We got to see everything we wanted and we really enjoyed it. The views are amazing and there are lots of ways to get to the top of the mountain without an epic hike! We took this trip mid December and it was very cold but no crowds at all so it was worth dressing a little warmer to have most of the mountain to ourselves

Date of Experience: December 12, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
Breathtaking rivers and (avatar) mountains
Thomas

Thomas

German

Reviewed on November 30, 2020

We did a one week tour to Guilin/Yangshou and Zhangjiajie from Nov 2nd to Nov. 8th 2020. The organization by Vivien was perfect, see tailored the tour according to our wishes. Everything went smooth without any trouble. We booked the flights with Vivien as well, but skipped the lunch options which gave us more flexibility. If you like breathtaking landscapes, this tour is highly recommended.

Date of Experience: November 2, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
3 days in Zhangjiajie
Fati

Fati

USA

Reviewed on October 23, 2020

Really beautiful trip to Zhangjiajie! Everything was well organized, from hotel pick up to our helpful and friendly tour guide, Lily. She was very flexible and catered to our changes. The Hotel was really nice and all arranged meals were delicious! Sad we didnt get to see Tianmen mountain (very foggy day) but definitely recommend booking with Wonder! Plan on using them again for future China travel.

Date of Experience: September 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Torsten W

Torsten W

German

Reviewed on October 8, 2020

Ich arbeite als Expat in Peking und konnte wegen der Reisebeschränkungen China im Herbst 2020 nicht verlassen, also habe ich nach einem stressfreien Weg gesucht, etwas vom Land zu sehen.

China Discovery (Wendy) hat mir ein 11-Tägiges Programm (Guanxi / Guilin & Yangtze-Cruise & Zhangjiaje) zusammengestellt.

Alles hat reibungslos geklapp, ich wurde von den kompetenten, sehr engagierten Guides zu den wichtigen und den schönen Sehenswürdigkeiten gebracht. Dabei wurde auf meine Wünsche (keine Städt, kein Shopping, viel Bewegung) eingegangen.

Probleme vor Ort (ein Hotel war nicht i.O.) wurden schnell und kulant gelöst. Kontakt mit Wendy und den Guides war unkompliziert (WeChat und Mail wurden sehr kurzfristig beantwortet).

Das ganze war für mich - als durchaus China-Erfahren - teilweise schon zu fürsorglich, die lokalen Guides haben mir wesentlich mehr Unterstützung angeboten, als ich haben wollte (Restaurant, Einkaufen, Tickets, Transfer, ...).

Mitten im Trubel des chinesischen Nationalfeiertags wusste mein Guide aber auch ein paar ruhige Spots in Zhangjiajie, die ich alleine nicht gefunden hätte.

Date of Experience: September 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wendy
markandkeena

markandkeena

USA

Reviewed on September 19, 2020

This is the second trip that my husband and I have taken with China Discovery, and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Our first experience with China Discovery was a trip to Yunan Provice. This time, we went to Zhangjiajie in Hunan Provice. Each time, our thoughtful travel consultant, Wonder, kept us informed about the process. When we had questions, he answered them. If it required him to reach out to a tourist site to confirm information, he did. He kept us informed of various travel requirements, weather conditions, etc. I feel very comfortable and confident planning my trips through Wonder, and my husband and I are planning additional trips with him as our travel consultant in the future.

Each time we have gone on a trip, we have loved the itinerary, the food, and the experience. In addition, our guides' English has always been superb, and we enjoyed chatting with them to gain more cultural understanding of our environment.

In Yunan, Tom was our guide. We went to the Yuanyang Rice terraces and surrounding areas of Kunming. He was great! Great conversationalist, great enthusiast for history and culture, and great guide. he even always made sure we had extra bottles of water. We would highly recommend Tom.

As for Zhangjiajie specifically, it was great fun! Our local guide, David, was fantastic. At one point, when he realized we really did not like the crowds, he made a point to find quieter and more solitary locations that would still show us the splendor of Zhangjiajie. Food choices were great. He kept us to a schedule, but in a comfortable and appropriate way. We really, thoroughly, enjoyed ourselves. We would highly recommend David.

As you can tell, we had two totally different trips and both were highly successful. Our experience with China Discovery has thus far been a completely wonderful experience and we hope to have more in the future.

Date of Experience: July 18, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
monal_shah86

monal_shah86

Mexico

Reviewed on September 6, 2020

Had a fantastic tour of Guilin, Yangshuo and Zhangjiajie. Beautiful country, amazing tour guides who accommodated a lot of changing requests and a seamless experience that was just amazing.

Date of Experience: August 22, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
ElmiraNick

ElmiraNick

Australia

Reviewed on January 12, 2020

We would like to thank our tour operator Ms Wing Zeng, all our drivers and tour guides (Melody in Shanghai, Cherry in Chongqing, Fay in Yichang, Derrick in Zhangjiajie, Vivien in Kunming, Peter in Shangri-La, Ya Lan in Lijiang) from China Discovery/Yangtze River Cruise/Tibet Discovery (based in Chengdu) for our holiday.

In December we had 17 amazing days - a very-well organised and detailed individual tour tailored for us to see and visit everything planned by us. During our we felt very safe and looked after at every stage.

The tour guides were also very informative and spoke English well. Special mention goes to:

The itinerary (Shanghai-Chongqing-3-night Yangtze River Cruise-Zhangjiagie-Kunming-Shangri-La-Lijiang-Shanghai) was perfect but the people implemented it were even better. Our tour operator, the guides, and the drivers were all professionals and worthy of high appreciation for a well-done job. We learned so much thanks to our local tour guides, and we are grateful to them for sharing their knowledge with us. Every place we visited was amazing with interesting history, culture, beautiful scenery and unbelievable landscapes. We enjoyed our relaxing Yangtze River cruise on Victoria Anna with all the activities on board and the arranged shore excursions very much. We really did have a great time.

The tour was our second trip arranged with Ms Wing Zeng, and we are very happy to have chosen China Discovery. If in future we have a chance to visit China again, we'll definitely do it with this company and we highly recommend it to our friends and other travellers.

Date of Experience: December 10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
Toni31852

Toni31852

USA

Reviewed on January 7, 2020

It was a great trip. For such a short time, we can visit both beautiful area. Thanks for Jack Li to arrange for us. The tour guide was great for both area, friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend.

Date of Experience: November 2, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
V8990UZstevenk

V8990UZstevenk

UK

Reviewed on January 4, 2020

Both tours were amazing - 2 nights in Xian, 4 nights in Zhangjiajie.

Zhangjiajie is one of the most amazing places we have ever been. Beautiful scenery, unbelievable landscapes and basically incredible sights and attractions. It is also quite unspoiled as it is still not really a big tourist destination for westerners, and has only began developing for such in the last 4 years.

Xian was equally as interesting and to spend our Christmas Day with the Terracotta Warriors was a Christmas to remember.

The guides were both excellent with a good command of the English language, which helped, and the local people and hotel staff in both locations were very friendly.

Despite Christmas not being an actual thing in China they have adopted it fully and both hotels were beautifully decorated and they even gave presents to our teenage kids.

This was a great way to enjoy a different Christmas and New Year and China Discovery made the whole process easy and I would definetely recommend them to anyone travelling to China

Date of Experience: December 24, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
patricetan95

patricetan95

Indonesia

Reviewed on January 2, 2020

Everything was really organized and well-planned. All our activities matched the itinerary. Lily was remarkably helpful, accommodating, and patient even though our group had some changes nearing the D-Day of the trip! We truly appreciate the panda chopsticks souvenir she sent us :’) & also when she came to see us in person on our last day and sent us off to the airport!

Our local guides in Shanghai, Zhangjiajie, and Chengdu were all friendly and speak good English. Special shout out to our guide in Zhangjiajie Mrs. Tutu who accompanied us till late at night! She also had such soothing voice when she sang to us ;)

Would definitely recommend this agency if my friends & colleagues are looking to visit China.

Date of Experience: December 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
HarikaSetty

HarikaSetty

India

Reviewed on December 15 2019

Our tour was organized by China Discovery [Rita Jiang] for 15 days covering five beautiful places. Though there were different means of communications available we just used Email and our Journey to china was all set.

Everything was perfectly organized starting from planning, implementing and executing.

We Didn't face any problem anywhere while travelling or while interchanging stations.

Security: We didn't face any problem anywhere either with baggage or other property. Everything was Secured.

Comfort: spacious cars, Door to door services, Hotels in the city center were provided, which was very convenient.

Food: food which was served was exactly the way we liked [Indian Vegetarian]

Awesome and Honest tour guide and Driver treated us like a family.

such a wonderful company with them made our journey to china Memorable.

Incredible People of China !!

Date of Experience: November 15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
holloway33

holloway33

Singapore

Reviewed on November 29 2019

Both my husband and I had a very good holiday in China for a 10 days private tour organised by Mark Shen , the Consultant agent of China Discovery. Mark planned an excellent & efficient trip for us to cruise at Yangtze River and there after to Zhangjiajie and Fenghuang .He reverted promptly to our enquiries .Prior to the tour , he communicated with us many times and was so patient with the changes in itinerary we requested. He also tried to work within the budget we stipulated.

We arrived in Chengdu on a Sunday night and he personally received us at the airport . We were touched by his gesture. The tour guides and the drivers provided through out the trip were good though we are disappointed with Alice the guide from Chongqing. She was reading her messages all the time when guided us on the Chongqing city tour.

Mark was monitoring our schedule through out. He assured us the guides would be good on our subsequent tour in Zhangjiajie after our feedback.

We are very pleased that Mark kept his promise as Carrie , the tour consultant was really good. She speaks excellent English. She is caring ,helpful and insightful. We are very happy with the driver Mr. Du who drove very carefully when it was misty and raining from Zhangjiajie to Fenghuang. The scenery in Zhangjiajie is beautiful and majestic beyond description and it is a place one must visit.

This trip at Zhangjiajie was hectic and schedules were tight . However it was a bliss for us as every little detail had been well planned by Mark meticulously and executed by a very caring Carrie . Kudos to Mark & Carrie who gave us a very memorable holiday.

I would not hesitate to refer Mark Shen ,the consultant agent and Carrie , the tour consultant to my friends . In fact I have passed Mark's contact to my friend who is now in US.

Our heartfelt thanks to Mark and the team from Chengdu , Yichang & Zhangjiajie of China Discovery for giving us a memorable holiday.

Lily ( Singapore)

Date of Experience: November 29, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Mark
Gioreg1068

Gioreg1068

Italy

Reviewed on September 9 2019

We booked an 16 days guided trip to China with China Discovery Tour. Tracy Tan was our booking agent. With her, during the months before the departure, we have carefully studied the journey itinerary. Tracy has helped us make the itinerary according to our whishes. She went well above our expectations to make sure that we could have a wonderful experience in China. If you are considering a trip to China we are strongly recommending this agency and of course our agent Tracy! They sure know how to recommend and customise the best tours for any tastes! We started our visit in Shanghai and then visited the main attractions of the south of China. We went on to spend 2 day in Zhangjiajie visiting "Avarar" park and then travelling by train or car visiting Fenghuang town, Guilin/Yangshuo with a beautifull cruise on the Li River, and Kumning city with the Stone Forest. We reached Dali, Lijiang and Shangri-La to finish with a fantastic experience with Pandas in Chengdu. All the guides, who accompanied us, were top quality and spoke almost flawless English and were very knowledgeable. An absolutely unforgettable trip of a lifetime!!! Thank you Tracy and China Discovery Tours for all your dedication and help to make us experience extra special!!!

Date of Experience: July 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Patricia_Sjauw

Patricia_Sjauw

Netherlands

Reviewed on August 4 2019

From the moment of contact till before arrival, our Travel Consultant, Wendy Dan has been my single point of contact who was also responsible in arranging all ground logistics and activities for us.

All the agreed hotels, local activities, logistics were delivered as promised. What was extraordinary in our point of view was the initiative that was taken by Ms. Dan to contact our local tour guide in Xian to inform us of the bad weather condition in Guilin on a Saturday afternoon at 3pm, 1 hour before we were supposed to head to the airport to fly from Xian to Guilin. Their recommendation to us was not to go to Guilin as it will be an wasted trip, we would not be able to enjoy any beautiful scenery, the Li river nor the Liu San Jie show we were looking forward to see. Upon our decision to stay 1 more night in Xian and to take the train instead from Xian to Chongqing directly, staying an extra night in Chongqing. These were all arranged by Ms Wendy and local Xian office immediately. We were back to our original hotel at Xian at 5pm and the following day by train from Xian to Chongqing. This extra mile for the customers was particularly very much appreciated by us as the bad weather in Guilin is an "Act of God". And without us asking for us, refunds were calculated accordingly and arranged to be paid back to us when we arrived at Zhangjiajie.

We have experienced different activities and learned a lot on Chinese history, Culture and magnificent nature at Zhangjiajie/Wulingyuan. The arranged local guides : Lily (Beijing), Waldner(Xian), Cherry(Chongqing), Chris(Zhangjiaie) and Avril(Shanghai) were all very knowledgeable, helpful and accommodating.

We will not hesitate to recommend China Discovery to our friends and relatives.

Thanks very much again.

Date of Experience: July 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Wordplay1

Wordplay1

USA

Reviewed on August 3 2019

Here's the thing about China, it's big. Really big. And unless you have at least a smattering of the Chinese language, it's a challenge just to get around and feed yourself. Wendy Dan at China Discovery made China travel easy for us and we were able to see everything on our wish list comfortably.

Four of us, all experienced travelers, knew what we wanted to see in China--Beijing, X'ian, Guilin, a Yangzte River Cruise, Karst mountains, a Lin River cruise, Zhangjiajie National Park, and Shanghai. We gave Wendy our list and she designed a private tour just for us. She arranged all our in-country transportation, guides, hotels, cruises, and most meals more cheaply than we could have done ourselves.

Every one of our guides was a treasure. They were knowledgeable, dedicated, fluent in English, and accommodating. For example, in X'ian there are of course the marvelous terracotta warriors. But there is also an astonishing marketplace in the Muslim Quarter. I was the only one in our group who wanted to see it, so our guide, Gin, gave up her down time to take me on a private tour, sharing stories about visiting the bazaar as a child. Now THAT'S a memory.

I wouldn't have missed the limestone mountains at Zhangjiajie for the world! They are spectacular. So was the cruise down the Yangtze Rive. Don't miss it.

Thank you Wendy and China Discovery for making this the trip of a lifetime!

Date of Experience: July 3, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Daniel M

Daniel M

New Zealand

Reviewed on July 5 2019

My husband and I are just back from a wonderful holiday in China. We organized this from Ireland with Wendy at China discovery who helped us put together a fantastic itinerary. Beijing was amazing the palaces Xian ancient city Chengdu was a culinary delight. Guilin had to be our favorite place the natural beauty of the Karst mountains along the li river and of course the rice terraces and the old city of Longsheng. The Yangtze River cruise was spectacular especially Wushan. We ended our amazing trip in Shanghai. The personal guides and drivers in each city we’re always there to greet us from our flights or trains. Each day was packed with so many places of interest to see and delicious lunches. We are missing the lovely time we spent in China so much that we plan to return soon to explore more beautiful places China has to offer.

Date of Experience: May 30, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Mike
Traveller88882013

Traveller88882013

Australia

Reviewed on June 28 2019

China Discovery, Chengdu - Travel Consultant Ms Rita Jiang organized this trip for me and my wife. We did not want to travel in a group as we wanted flexibility and comfort. Rita understood our needs and after much discussion, we started our trip on 17th May and ended in HK on 6th June where we spent 4 nights on our own. We stayed in 4 to 5 star international hotels except for two local hotels in the smaller cities. The difference is the level of hotel service in both types of hotels and the breakfast. We were in Sofitel, Intercontinental, Shangri La, Sheraton, Crowne Plaza, Hyatt and even though our hotel nights were booked through China Discovery, I presented my loyalty hotel cards and had upgrades in some of these international hotels.

We were happy with the transportation provided (especially in the big cities) but do not expect good vehicles in the smaller cities. Some of the guides were brilliant but some were not so. This is expected due to tourism in each of the cities. We had flexibility in our tour and also food selection. We were provided with daily breakfast and some lunches but no dinners. This is fine as we could look for the food that we like (apart from just Chinese style food).

The internal flights were spot on and we had our seating always in the first few rows . Some of the train rides were very good (especially Beijing to Xian and Guilin to Hong Kong). The other train rides were not so comfortable. Would suggest requesting for First Class cabin but will cost more - nearly double.

Our guide checked us in for both flights and train rides. It was very easy and smooth. My recommendation is to ensure that you give notice to your receiving guide to hold up a card with your name and to make your luggage different from the rest. Send them a photo so they will know who to look for. We are Australians but we are Chinese looking. So misunderstanding can happen when the guide is receiving us.

Overall, we rate China Discovery, Chengdu - Rita Jiang very highly as she was very responsive to our needs even when we were on tour. She even did some last minute changes for us just to make us comfortable. If we do travel again to China in future, we will contact them again.

Date of Experience: May 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
AlaninTX

AlaninTX

Canada

Reviewed on June 21 2019

We just returned from our second trip to China, both organized by Rita Jiang from China Discovery.

In 2016, I opted to visit Xi'an (Terracotta Warriors) and Chonqing, before getting on a Yangtze River cruise. I found Rita's name on some internet reviews and got in touch with her. I was a bit apprehensive, having never done business with a China-based travel consultant, but my fear turned out to be completely unwarranted. Rita and China Discovery exceeded my expectations by providing excellent, knowledgeable English-speaking tour guides that took care of all of our needs - transportation, lodging, some meals, and of course, the tours. Zero stress, everything was arranged and in place upon our arrival, thanks to Rita's efforts.

This year, we decided to visit Zhangjiajie, and I immediately went through my e-mails to find Rita's contact information. Once again, she did not disappoint me. We had a very tight schedule, but Rita was able to build a flexible itinerary that allowed us to see all the amazing sites we wished to see, in the all too short time we were in Zhangjiajie. Our tour guide, Carrie, was simply the best. She was prompt, professional, knew her way around the National Park, and most importantly, she had a great attitude. She was able to lead us though about 6-10 miles of hiking each day, and skillfully kept us away from the noisy tour groups that invade the area. Again, zero stress, everything was perfectly arranged.

As you can see from the other reviews, China Discovery, is a class operation. Rita's customer service was distinguished and made both trips very easy and pleasurable.

For those considering a visit to China, be aware that there can be some unforeseen challenges (an understatement). Utilizing professional tour consultants such as Rita, and China Discovery, is a very well worthwhile investment.

Our thanks to Rita, China Discovery, and Carrie for providing us with an experience to cherish for the rest of our lives!

Date of Experience: June 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
gadigag

gadigag

USA

Reviewed on June 21 2019

After 6 days exploring Hong Kong by ourselves we started our guided tour of China on 30th May. We are very well travelled and have always booked independently so this was a first for us to put ourselves in the hands of an online travel agency in China! Wonder Wang from China Discovery (Chengdu) had corresponded with us over a number of months and together we had formulated a tour taking in Guilin, Yangshuo, Xian, Shanghai and finally Beijing. The 4 guides, Smiley, Walender, Frank and Kevin all had very different personalities and that was an extremely interesting aspect of the holiday. They were all friendly, professional, knowledgeable and always on time. The tour was just myself and my husband accompanied by different guides and drivers.

The 2 internal flights and 2 high speed trains worked well and we were taken to the airports/stations and always met with smiling faces. The lunches were varied and we had some great meals although we had to overcome some food challenges when dining by ourselves in the evenings. Additional shows were suggested by the guides and special mention must be made of the show at Yangshuo on the River Li - amazing! The hotels and breakfasts were of a good standard although bathroom facilities in a couple of instances could have been more modern but always spotlessly clean.

The programme was varied and we tweaked it when planning with Wonder’s help. The Great Wall was amazing and we particularly loved Shanghai. We were flexible in order to maximise the time spent in places especially in Beijing.

We were a little skeptical at first booking online with a Chinese travel agency but have no worries China Discovery and Wonder Wang were efficient, professional at all times and we had a great time. China was so much more than we expected and we would not hesitate to recommend China Discovery to others and maybe one day we will return to see the rest of the country. A great holiday!

Date of Experience: June 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Echo
uday196626

uday196626

India

Reviewed on June 17 2019

Ms.Lyn wang was very cooperative & professional right from the time of enquiry, booking & arranging the customized China tour for 12 days covering Beijing, Yangtze river cruise, Zhangjiajie & Shanghai. We really appreciate her for organizing the tour in a very professional manner. We were bit apprehensive initially as we booked directly without any tour operator from my country of origin. It was very wonderful & pleasant experience and we really enjoyed every moment of it.

All all tour guides were very professional & cooperative giving all the required info of the tour. Yangtze river cruise by “president No-7” was very good & enjoyed the way they organised.

Zhangjiajie is a must visit place with such a scenic beauty & we feel three days there would have been more justified to enjoy thoroughly such a natural scenic beauty spot. But the only disappointment was the hotel “Wulingyuan Hotel” arranged was close to the hills but the food was really bad & couldn’t eat at all. The least we expected that the breakfast could be to suit overseas travellers, but was really not up to any standard. Suggest you to recommend any other hotels for overseas guests.

In Shanghai, there was much free time left after covering all the listed places as per itinerary & suggest tour guide could provide some local shopping tips in China as in Nanjing road it was all expensive which are otherwise generally available in any other country. Don't miss Bund walk in the evening, the skyline under lights is most delightful to watch /gaze.

Overall it was very nicely organised & we really appreciate your professionalism for well organised tour. I certainly recommend "China discovery" tour operator & happy to avail for any future tours in china.

Date of Experience: May 31, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
discovery1941

discovery1941

USA

Reviewed on May 6 2019

The tour was well tailored by our TripAdvisor based upon our needs.. Everything was planned and carried out effectively. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and guided us throughout our trip. They all had a good commend over English language. We were well satisfied with the 15 days tour which covered Wild China quite effectively. Choice of hotels and restaurants were superb.However, we encountered very few foreigners. We believe there is a need to inform or advertise a hidden germ to really see China with different perspectives. We came back with a much better feelings for China and its people which we missed during our first visit which covered only big cities. We are very thankful to our TripAdvisor for giving us an opportunity to see not only tourist sites but mingle with people and witness their lifestyle as well. China is in a path to create a new democratic model for the whole world to see. Simply put it we loved China. Thanks go to Discovery China and its TripAdvisor for giving us a great time of our life.

Date of Experience: April 15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Tourist29444586723

Tourist29444586723

USA

Reviewed on April 18 2019

China Discovery was so great to work with. We booked our trip through email working with Ms. Riley Guo. She was always prompt with her response, very courteous and patient working through all our changes and developing a custom tour for us. The pricing with China Discovery was very reasonable for the great service you receive. We had a fantastic English-speaking tour guide, Shirley, in Zhangjiajie who took great care of us. Shirley went above and beyond what a tour guide would need to do. We couldn't have asked for a better tour package and tour guide. Everything was very well organized and accommodated our needs traveling with a small child. I highly recommend using China Discovery for your travels to China and can't wait to work with them again in the future.

Date of Experience: April 8, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
David1990CH

David1990CH

Switzerland

Reviewed on April 7 2019

We wanted to visit some sights in different cities in China. Riley from China Discovery was very patient and competent and helped us plan our trip. She answered all our questions quickly and also helped us process our VISA applications.

This resulted in a 16-day tour during which we visited the following cities: Beijing, Harbin, Chengdu, Lhasa, Zhangjiajie, Yangshuo and Guilin. Riley organized for us the tickets for 6 domestic flights and 2 train trips. In each city we were welcomed by a tour guide and a driver. Everything went smoothly and everything was well organized.

We would like to thank Riley for her patient support and would book our next trip to China with her again.

David

Date of Experience: March 23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Gabriel26111996

Gabriel26111996

France

Reviewed on March 29 2019

Thanks to Livia Gu and my personal guide, I had an amazing time in Zhangjiajie. They were extremely helpful not only for my 3 day experience but for the rest of my trip in China.

What I appreciated the most was that we avoided the tourist traps as much as possible, and went to places where we were all alone in the "wild". A bit pricey but definitely worth every penny. Never would have managed to go to Zhangjiajie and do all that we did without a guide.

Recommended for any travellers who considers to go visit Zhangjiajie!!

Date of Experience: March 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Livia
srlunaagomez

srlunaagomez

Italy

Reviewed on Feburary 11, 2019

This is the second time I have chosen China discovery (based in Chengdu) for my China trip. This time it was Zhangjiajie. I have no words to describe the quality of services that we have received (I have traveled with my daughter). Hotels were excellent in location and services. Excursions were perfect in places and timing. Our tour guide Derrick was amazing always taking care of our needs and explaining and providing us a lot of information. Vivien Li, my travel consultant has been great. I know that I gave her a lot of work organizing and taking care of last minute issues that I have and her availability and willingness to help me were amazing. For sure, I am already thinking about my next trip to China contacting China Discovery services again. thank you so much!

Date of Experience: February 5, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Greytwo

Greytwo

Australia

Reviewed on Feburary 10, 2019

We have just returned from a 22 day private tour organized by the wonderful Wendy Dan.

We were a little worried about booking and paying for a tour run by a company in another country but Wendy eased all of our fears every step of the way, from her reassuring emails to letting us know every time the money was recieved.As for the tour we could not have had a better time. We saw many sights we had never seen before. Going in the off season was great, although a couple of our expected visits were closed due to the winter and lead up to golden week we did not want for fun filled days. The ques are also short in the off season. Eg 5 minute wait to get on the glass elevator instead of 4 hours.

We have visited so many places there are too many to mention. As this was our fourth trip to china we wanted to see something different. From the stone forrest to the rice field's filled with water, a show at romance park, cable car rides walks along the glass walkway we were not dissapointed. As for our guides we could not have chosen them better. They were all knowledgeable kind and considerate.our stand out guides were Nancy in Dali. Tony in Zhangjiajie and the wonderful Danny in Guilin. We have never smiled so much.

We can still hear Danny screaming in the haunted house. And smiling at us when we joined in we ith the happy dance at the end of the show.

The tour was way beyond our expectations .The cost was less than that of a huge group tour by one of the Aussie tour companies.

If you are thinking of going to China send an email to Chengdu bamboo international tours( the one in Chengdu) you won't be disappointed, from the care that they take to create your itinerary to dropping off a gift to us in Chengdu. Thankyou Wendy for the trip of a lifetime. We wouldnt hesitate in recommending you and this company.

Jo and Carl

Date of Experience: January 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy

See more reviews on Tripadvisor See all reviews from our guests


Amazing Zhangjiajie Travel Stories

Here are selected travel stories shared by our valued customers who visited Zhangjiajie and more stunning places. May these stories ignite your wanderlust and make you pack your bags and go! Or, you can click 2012-2021 Customer Travel Stories for more stunning stories.

  • Annal China Tour
    Travel China with Family and Friends for 3 Consecutive Years

    Mr. Ban's Group travel to China every year since 2017. Their travel path has now covered natural and cultural sites in a dozen of cities around China and their China trip will continue.

    • Mr. Ban's Group (USA)
    • (10-11 Days) 2017~2019
    • Destinations: Chengdu, Xian, Luoyang, Zhangjiajie, Yunnan, Huangshan, Hangzhou, Nanjing, Suzhou, Shanghai
  • Couple’s 69 Days Private China Journey
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - ... - Zhangjiajie - Yunnan - Guilin - Xiamen - Hangzhou - Shanghai
  • 15 Days Shandong China Tour
    Family Trip to Achieve Elder Father’s Root Seeking Dream

    The touching story of Cindy's family China trip to find their hometown and help her elder father find the roots in Shandong with great visits to Zhangjiajie, Hangzhou, Huangshan and Beijing.

    • Cindy (USA)
    • (15 Days) 2019.06.19~2019.07.03
    • Jinan - Taishan - Qufu - Chengdu - ... - Zhangjiajie - Beijing