Excellent service
Y K

Y K

USA

Reviewed on May 10, 2021

We enjoyed very much working with Riley who not only provided us with a very good itinerary/tour arrangement responding to our request, and tour arrangement but also showed flexibility to accommodate our needs and request during the actual travel. We look forward to working with her again./p>

Date of Experience: April 25, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Bernd W

Bernd W

German

Reviewed on May 9, 2021

Had a very good experience with Wonder from China Discovery. Wonder is very responsive at any time, even late evening. He solved all our requests and organized a truly wonderful trip to Guilin, Longji, and Yangshuo for us.

We will definitely book our future holidays in China with China Discovery

Date of Experience: April 25, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Crystal Ramon

Crystal Ramon

USA

Reviewed on May 4, 2021

Riley planned my Guilin tour. She was amazing. I stressed that I wanted a vacation with my daughter and my friend and her two kids which was worry free. She and her team delivered just that! Steven, our tour guide, made the trip the best and even helped us tired mama's out with the kids, ( two 6 year old girls and 1 energetic four year old little boy), at times while climbing the peak or walking through the Silver Cave. He was patient and kind as well as our driver. Every detail was planned accordingly and China Discovery is professional, courteous, and the only way I will choose to travel while I live in China from now on. You will not go wrong with this travel agency. I only have positive things to say about my experience working with them. I can see why they say the landscaping of Guilin is "The most beautiful under Heaven." It was a majestic experience. I look forward to booking my next trip with Riley soon! Thank you China Discovery!

Date of Experience: April 30, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Excellent experience
Kat

Kat

Sweden

Reviewed on April 28, 2021

China Discovery is an excellent travel agency.

I travelled with them twice (Guilin/Chengdu/Tibet and Gansu/Fujian) and each time was extremely happy with the service.

The agent I was in touch with was Wonder. He is so professional, patient, friendly, always reachable and willing to help.

I will not hesitate to ask Wonder to organize my next trip in China.

Date of Experience: April 3, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
MikoBayuaji

MikoBayuaji

Indonesia

Reviewed on January 7, 2021

Honestly, i found this tour operator by luck from my random googling on september 2020.

Until now, I've done several private tour with china discovery. The first one, on october 2020, i went to hangzhou - zhangziajie - sanya. On november 2020, i went to guangzhou. The last one, on christmas holiday on december 2020, I went to guilin - yangshuo.

The strenght point of this tour operator is their eagerness to fulfill almost all the customer want even a silly one. So you will get your dreaming holiday which will be suitable with your time and budget.

I'm lucky enough to meet Zeva as my travel advisor from china discovery. She is so attentive and considerate. She always is ready to help with my itinerary any time. Even, she imitatively helps me with my health code problem in some of my tour stop during my holiday. She will be try her best to fulfill all of our travel's dream and give us some suggestion regarding our trip.

I also want to use this opportunity to say thanks again to some of my china discovery tour guide on 2020: Lulu, Ann, Eric, and Steven. My life in China on 2020 would not be so colorful if i didn't meet you guys.

Zeva & china discovery, see you in my next holiday in 2021

Date of Experience: December 24, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Zeva
Andreas F

Andreas F

Sweden

Reviewed on December 30, 2020

Me and my Wife (both of us living in Shanghai) wanted to get away from the city during Christmas, but due to Covid-19, options was limited. After talking to Johnsson on China discovery, we had booked a fantastic 10 days trip through the yellow mountains and Guilin.

Johnsson was fantastic with helping us, both when we changed our minds on elements of the trip, and when we forgot our passport at home before leaving for the trip. Everything was well planned and we felt safe and taken care of the whole trip.

Especially our “local mountain guide” April was fantastic, even introducing us to friends and tea tasting on Christmas Eve!

We are already planning two more trips with China discovery!

/Andreas & Joanna

Date of Experience: December 21, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Breathtaking rivers and (avatar) mountains
Thomas

Thomas

German

Reviewed on November 30, 2020

We did a one week tour to Guilin/Yangshou and Zhangjiajie from Nov 2nd to Nov. 8th 2020. The organization by Vivien was perfect, see tailored the tour according to our wishes. Everything went smooth without any trouble. We booked the flights with Vivien as well, but skipped the lunch options which gave us more flexibility. If you like breathtaking landscapes, this tour is highly recommended.

Date of Experience: November 2, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
ezio b

ezio b

Italy

Reviewed on November 16, 2020

We visited Guilin and did a 85km cruise along Lin river to get to Yangshuo.

Both cities are nice, tourist oriented and not so crowded, at least when we went there (low season-recommended for climate conditions and lack of noisy turists).

We then flight to Xishuangbanna were multiple Asian cultures and ethnic groups mix together! There is also one of the largest night market of all Asia.

Last place was Kunming were we visited the Unesco site Stone Forest and admire the outstanding view of the Dianchi lake atop of western hills forest peaks.

All places we visited were interesting. May be ask the tour operator to choose more remote ethnic villages in Xishuangbanna in order to have a more authentic idea of them.

Better to choose 5 stars hotel for a reasonable increase of the total cost, since the standard in Chinese upcountry hotels are quite lower than the ones in big Chines cities or western countries!

During our trip, besides the qualified presence of our private guides and drivers we enjoyed the professional assistance of Cina Discovery tour operator Ms. Vivien. She organized our trip very well in all aspects and was always in contact with us, before, during and after the tour. Well done Vivien!

We look forward to doing another tour under your kind assistance :-)

Date of Experience: November 4, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Pedro S

Pedro S

Portugal

Reviewed on October 27, 2020

At Chinadiscovery since day 1 they will walk with you side by side and will go the extra mile to get your travel expectations achieved. I cant stress enough how great Rita Jiang was always accommodating my itinerary as I came up with new requests. I traveled to Guilin in October to see the amazing Longji terrace fields and travel 84km down Li River. Both a great experience. Make sure when you travel to Guilin the weather is good, a not so good weather can definitely change your experience!

Date of Experience: September 22, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Brittany C

Brittany C

USA

Reviewed on October 19, 2020

China Discovery arranged a 14 weeks trip around the provinces Guangxi and Yunnan. The trip was very well planned and our agent, Leo, had been very good at listing to our needs and request. Leo was very flexible when planning the itinerary for the trip. He provided good suggestions for activities, as hikes and sites to see, but also provided plenty of time for us to relax and explore by ourselves (as we had requested).

The hotels had a high standard through out the trip and were placed at excellent locations. During the trip, China Discovery had arranged for local guides to meet us at each location. They also spoke English and were generally pleasant to be accompanied by without being too intrusive.

Leo checked in with us several times during the trip and we had a general feeling that he was available to help if we encountered any problems. However, no problems occurred, and we had a wonderful trip in some beautiful landscapes and with only limited impact from the COVID-19 epidemic.

Date of Experience: September 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Morten M

Morten M

Denmark

Reviewed on October 18, 2020

China Discovery arranged a 14 weeks trip around the provinces Guangxi and Yunnan. The trip was very well planned and our agent, Leo, had been very good at listing to our needs and request. Leo was very flexible when planning the itinerary for the trip. He provided good suggestions for activities, as hikes and sites to see, but also provided plenty of time for us to relax and explore by ourselves (as we had requested).

The hotels had a high standard through out the trip and were placed at excellent locations. During the trip, China Discovery had arranged for local guides to meet us at each location. They also spoke English and were generally pleasant to be accompanied by without being too intrusive.

Leo checked in with us several times during the trip and we had a general feeling that he was available to help if we encountered any problems. However, no problems occurred, and we had a wonderful trip in some beautiful landscapes and with only limited impact from the COVID-19 epidemic.

Date of Experience: September 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
Mandy Burns

Mandy Burns

New Zealand

Reviewed on October 13, 2020

Our trip around Guilin and Yangshuo was utterly amazing. We were expertly driven to the best scenic spots to take wonderful photographs of the breath-taking scenery. Our local guide Kenny was very knowledgeable and funny. He was very easy to get along with (and has a great singing voice!). I only have high praise for his guidance and assistance. Both Kenny and our driver were extremely patient and I felt safe at every part of the journey. The hotels were adequate and authentic, and most importantly in prime locations to facilitate the tour. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in Guangxi and heartedly recommend this tour to everyone not just photography lovers. Thank you!

Date of Experience: October 2, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Torsten W

Torsten W

German

Reviewed on October 8, 2020

Ich arbeite als Expat in Peking und konnte wegen der Reisebeschränkungen China im Herbst 2020 nicht verlassen, also habe ich nach einem stressfreien Weg gesucht, etwas vom Land zu sehen.

China Discovery (Wendy) hat mir ein 11-Tägiges Programm (Guanxi / Guilin & Yangtze-Cruise & Zhangjiaje) zusammengestellt.

Alles hat reibungslos geklapp, ich wurde von den kompetenten, sehr engagierten Guides zu den wichtigen und den schönen Sehenswürdigkeiten gebracht. Dabei wurde auf meine Wünsche (keine Städt, kein Shopping, viel Bewegung) eingegangen.

Probleme vor Ort (ein Hotel war nicht i.O.) wurden schnell und kulant gelöst. Kontakt mit Wendy und den Guides war unkompliziert (WeChat und Mail wurden sehr kurzfristig beantwortet).

Das ganze war für mich - als durchaus China-Erfahren - teilweise schon zu fürsorglich, die lokalen Guides haben mir wesentlich mehr Unterstützung angeboten, als ich haben wollte (Restaurant, Einkaufen, Tickets, Transfer, ...).

Mitten im Trubel des chinesischen Nationalfeiertags wusste mein Guide aber auch ein paar ruhige Spots in Zhangjiajie, die ich alleine nicht gefunden hätte.

Date of Experience: September 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wendy
monal_shah86

monal_shah86

Mexico

Reviewed on September 6, 2020

Had a fantastic tour of Guilin, Yangshuo and Zhangjiajie. Beautiful country, amazing tour guides who accommodated a lot of changing requests and a seamless experience that was just amazing.

Date of Experience: August 22, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Linda

Linda

Italy

Reviewed on August 11, 2020

We spent 5 nice days around Guilin county. The private tour was well organized, well balanced between guided activities and free time to explore by ourselves. The English speaking guide was lovely and very professional.

The village in the Long Ji terrace is a very peaceful and relaxing place, the hotel is delicious and comfortable with nice and welcoming people. The day we spent there was a break out of the noise and stress of the city life. The view is amazing!

The Li jiang river cruise to Yangshuo is speechless, wonderful scenic area, breaktaking view. It's something you can't lose if you visit Guilin.

Yangshuo it's a nice small town with holidays atmosphere. The night show on the river is amazing and really suggestive.

This was our first trip on the road in China and we didn't expected it so nice!

Date of Experience: August 1, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
kumarilm2016

kumarilm2016

Australia

Reviewed on January 19, 2020

China Discovery organised a 13 day China tour for us from 21/12/19 to 3/1/20. Wendy Dan was the consultant.Covered Beijing,Xian,Guilin,Huangshan and Shanghai. Overall, a great tour! and well organised,thanks Wendy!

Andy our guide in Xian was excellent as were the guides in Guilin and Huangshan.

Vehicles provided in general were good.Restaurants in Beijing were bad however the quality improved after we protested.

Hotels were neat and clean(chose all 5star) except in Xian and after we complained ,we were upgraded.

I would definitely recommend ChinaDiscovery tours and would book with them again on my second tour.

We were a family of 4, all adults.

Date of Experience: December 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Vidit25

Vidit25

India

Reviewed on January 17, 2020

I booked a tour of Guiling and Yanghuo through China Discovery.

It included hiking along the Li River and cycling along the Yulong River, both of which I highly recommend. Mark and his team organized everything perfectly.

Date of Experience: December 21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Mark
Ken N

Ken N

UK

Reviewed on December 30, 2019

This was a magnificent holiday from start to finish organised superbly by Wonder Wang.Nothing was ever too much for him and he helped us whenever asked.We travel extensively but these guys are a bit special.

We started in Guilin with a trip on The River Li.Then on to the pandas in Chengdu--a definite highlight.Xian followed with the Terracotta Warriors which on first sighting take your breath away.We finished in Beijing with The Forbidden City,Temple of Heaven ,The Summer Palace and The Great Wall.

Travel between the Centres was by Hi speed train-extraordinary--topping 310KPH on occasions.

Overall a superb holiday and one of the best we have ever been on with Wonder magnificent throughout.

Date of Experience: December 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
HarikaSetty

HarikaSetty

India

Reviewed on December 15 2019

Our tour was organized by China Discovery [Rita Jiang] for 15 days covering five beautiful places. Though there were different means of communications available we just used Email and our Journey to china was all set.

Everything was perfectly organized starting from planning, implementing and executing.

We Didn't face any problem anywhere while travelling or while interchanging stations.

Security: We didn't face any problem anywhere either with baggage or other property. Everything was Secured.

Comfort: spacious cars, Door to door services, Hotels in the city center were provided, which was very convenient.

Food: food which was served was exactly the way we liked [Indian Vegetarian]

Awesome and Honest tour guide and Driver treated us like a family.

such a wonderful company with them made our journey to china Memorable.

Incredible People of China !!

Date of Experience: November 15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
_alicekong37

_alicekong37

Malaysia

Reviewed on December 12 2019

My wife and I have been going to China every year for the last 5 years. Most of the time we just go on our own, we've tried a couple of tours but they were never that good. After researching Guilin I decided we were probably going to need to do a tour. I started researching online travel sites and was not really impressed until I came across China Discovery website. I really like the fact that they posted pictures of the staff and reviews from former customers. I made an inquiry and we were assigned Lyn Wang as our travel consultant who was great. She listen to what we wanted and came up with itinerary that suited us. She also helped us with some train tickets because we needed to make a side trip to Wuzhou to visit my wife's family.

When we arrived by train in Guilin we were met by our tour guide Daniel who was also great. He took such good care of us. The highlights of the trip were Yao mountain, Reed Flute cave, Elephant trunk hill, Li River Cruise, Hiking along the Yulong river, bamboo rafting on the Yulong, eveing performance of Impression Liu Sanjie. We stayed 3 nights in Guilin and 2 nights in Yangshuo.

We highly recommend China Discovery tours and Lyn Wang as your travel consultant and also ask for Daniel as your tour guide. On the day we left he actually escorted us inside the terminal, helped us check in and walked with us to security where he had to say goodbye.

Date of Experience: November 28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wing
tscanson

tscanson

USA

Reviewed on December 7 2019

My wife and I have been going to China every year for the last 5 years. Most of the time we just go on our own, we've tried a couple of tours but they were never that good. After researching Guilin I decided we were probably going to need to do a tour. I started researching online travel sites and was not really impressed until I came across China Discovery website. I really like the fact that they posted pictures of the staff and reviews from former customers. I made an inquiry and we were assigned Lyn Wang as our travel consultant who was great. She listen to what we wanted and came up with itinerary that suited us. She also helped us with some train tickets because we needed to make a side trip to Wuzhou to visit my wife's family.

When we arrived by train in Guilin we were met by our tour guide Daniel who was also great. He took such good care of us. The highlights of the trip were Yao mountain, Reed Flute cave, Elephant trunk hill, Li River Cruise, Hiking along the Yulong river, bamboo rafting on the Yulong, eveing performance of Impression Liu Sanjie. We stayed 3 nights in Guilin and 2 nights in Yangshuo.

We highly recommend China Discovery tours and Lyn Wang as your travel consultant and also ask for Daniel as your tour guide. On the day we left he actually escorted us inside the terminal, helped us check in and walked with us to security where he had to say goodbye.

Date of Experience: November 28, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Lyn
candybliss

candybliss

Israel

Reviewed on November 22 2019

We have just returned from a private tour of China, all arranged for us by China Discovery. The original reason we chose them from many other companies in China was because they said they could get us into the Day Volunteer Programme at Woolong Panda Reserve. So we arranged our whole 11 day tour with them. We cannot recommend them enough. Every place we went we had our own guide and driver, coordination of flights, tours and pick-ups was excellent. The guides, nearly all young women, were brilliant and flexible. In Yangshuo we had planned motorbikes (scooters) for the morning but when we woke up it was pouring with rain. Our guide immediately gave us other choices including massages or cookery. We chose the cookery class and within 10 minutes we found ourselves joining a group in the market to shop for our lesson. Great fun, thoroughly enjoyable. Wendy Dan was our contact/coordinator at China Discovery and she arranged our tour exactly to our wishes and was always willing to make last minute changes or additions. Highly recommend China Discovery.(China Discovery. This is the one headquartered in Chengdu, China (china discovery.com), )

Candyce & Laurence Bliss

Date of Experience: October 16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
MargaritaTse

MargaritaTse

USA

Reviewed on October 27 2019

10 days tour with the group of 6 friends was totally amazing, it was perfect combination of physical activity, information to process and just moments to enjoy. Out of all included and optional activities I want to highlight just two special moments in Xi’an and show on the Li River in Yangshuo.

With basically all-time rain our visit to Xi’an was bright, interesting and full of surprises thanks to our wonderful guide Timo. It started late in the evening when we arrived in the city and was taken to Grand Tang Dynasty Ever-Bright City filled with lights, decoration, different activities, lots of people, some in traditional cloths and etc. And the next day, after seeing the Terracotta warriors, City wall and other place of interests there was another surprise for us. One person in our group had a birthday and what he got as a gift from our tour company was creative, unique and above our best dreams (don’t want to go into details in case somebody else wants to celebrate birthday in Xi’an). The only thing I regret about is we did not tip our wonderful guide enough. Tip recommendation was at the very end of our confirmation letter and none of us bothered to read it to the end until the mid of the tour. We used our best judgment, and as it turned out it was not that good, he deserved much better. And show in Yanhshuo – I have no words to describe it, have never seen anything like that before, definitely worth seeing it even under the rain (theater does not have a roof).

So many great pictures, so many great moments to remember!

Date of Experience: October 11, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Jack
Juliet_Zhuliu

Juliet_Zhuliu

France

Reviewed on October 7 2019

I booked a 3 star Li River cruise for seven people with chinadiscovery during China national hollyday, and it was the best part of the trip! Yangshuo and the Li river are really beautiful, the boat is very comfortable with huge seats, large windows and a rooftop to appreciate the view. Tea is served inside even dough we didn't payed to eat the meal.

I really appreciated the service with china discovery. During our 5 days trip, we encoutered many problems due to the huge number of tourists this period... but with china discovery, I found affordable prices to a luxury cruise I never thought I could afford (I am a student, and it was half the price I saw on every other websites!). As I decided to book the tickets the day before I started to travel with my friends, I wanted to book them really fast, so I called the number on the website and I imediately got someone talking english (which is really appreciable in china). I explained that I was in a hurry, so they arranged my booking in the next hour! Just be aware that there is a reservation fee, but if you are a large group, it is not a problem.

Then I arrived at Guilin (where the cruise started), and I got the contact of a local employee of chinadiscovery. It was a little weird, because she had to give me the tickets in hand the day before the cruise. I don't know why there is no digital version of it? Anyway, it was a problem because I was not available that day (tourist duties) except in the evening, and I got stuck in terrible traffic jam on my way back to the hotel so I thought I would never get my tickets... But the lady was really comprehensive and nice and when I finally arrived around 11:30 pm, I sent her a message and she came from her home to bring me the tickets, really friendly and not pissed off at all! (Thanks again to her!)

So, really kind staff, really good prices, incredible activity, I would for sure come back to them next time!

Date of Experience: October 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Leo
ahiggz

ahiggz

USA

Reviewed on October 1 2019

I have now worked with Vivien Li of China Discovery twice to help plan private tours throughout China.

For the first, she helped coordinate a 7-day trip from Shanghai -> Zhangjiajie -> Guilin -> Yangshuo in February of this year. Despite the cold weather, the trip went off without a hitch, and Vivien was always very responsive. We found the tour guides to be friendly and great English-speakers -- a welcome reprieve from spending most of our days not being able to speak to anyone else in English!

For the second (shorter) trip, we planned a couple of day trip to Yangshuo from Hong Kong, to revisit our favorite hotel from the first trip (Alila Yangshuo). This was a more bare-bones trip consisting mostly of helping us sort out flight/train options and taxi transfers to and from the train station and airport, but Vivien was just as willing to help our group of 4.

Would highly recommend their services to take the stress out of trying to plan your own China trip.

Date of Experience: February 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Gioreg1068

Gioreg1068

Italy

Reviewed on September 9 2019

We booked an 16 days guided trip to China with China Discovery Tour. Tracy Tan was our booking agent. With her, during the months before the departure, we have carefully studied the journey itinerary. Tracy has helped us make the itinerary according to our whishes. She went well above our expectations to make sure that we could have a wonderful experience in China. If you are considering a trip to China we are strongly recommending this agency and of course our agent Tracy! They sure know how to recommend and customise the best tours for any tastes! We started our visit in Shanghai and then visited the main attractions of the south of China. We went on to spend 2 day in Zhangjiajie visiting "Avarar" park and then travelling by train or car visiting Fenghuang town, Guilin/Yangshuo with a beautifull cruise on the Li River, and Kumning city with the Stone Forest. We reached Dali, Lijiang and Shangri-La to finish with a fantastic experience with Pandas in Chengdu. All the guides, who accompanied us, were top quality and spoke almost flawless English and were very knowledgeable. An absolutely unforgettable trip of a lifetime!!! Thank you Tracy and China Discovery Tours for all your dedication and help to make us experience extra special!!!

Date of Experience: July 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Chris G

Chris G

USA

Reviewed on July 3 2019

My husband and I are just back from a wonderful holiday in China. We organized this from Ireland with Wendy at China discovery who helped us put together a fantastic itinerary. Beijing was amazing the palaces Xian ancient city Chengdu was a culinary delight. Guilin had to be our favorite place the natural beauty of the Karst mountains along the li river and of course the rice terraces and the old city of Longsheng. The Yangtze River cruise was spectacular especially Wushan. We ended our amazing trip in Shanghai. The personal guides and drivers in each city we’re always there to greet us from our flights or trains. Each day was packed with so many places of interest to see and delicious lunches. We are missing the lovely time we spent in China so much that we plan to return soon to explore more beautiful places China has to offer.

Date of Experience: May 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Riley
Anthony C

Anthony C

Australia

Reviewed on June 29 2019

My husband and I are just back from a wonderful holiday in China. We organized this from Ireland with Wendy at China discovery who helped us put together a fantastic itinerary. Beijing was amazing the palaces Xian ancient city Chengdu was a culinary delight. Guilin had to be our favorite place the natural beauty of the Karst mountains along the li river and of course the rice terraces and the old city of Longsheng. The Yangtze River cruise was spectacular especially Wushan. We ended our amazing trip in Shanghai. The personal guides and drivers in each city we’re always there to greet us from our flights or trains. Each day was packed with so many places of interest to see and delicious lunches. We are missing the lovely time we spent in China so much that we plan to return soon to explore more beautiful places China has to offer.

Date of Experience: April 26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Traveller88882013

Traveller88882013

Australia

Reviewed on June 28 2019

China Discovery, Chengdu - Travel Consultant Ms Rita Jiang organized this trip for me and my wife. We did not want to travel in a group as we wanted flexibility and comfort. Rita understood our needs and after much discussion, we started our trip on 17th May and ended in HK on 6th June where we spent 4 nights on our own. We stayed in 4 to 5 star international hotels except for two local hotels in the smaller cities. The difference is the level of hotel service in both types of hotels and the breakfast. We were in Sofitel, Intercontinental, Shangri La, Sheraton, Crowne Plaza, Hyatt and even though our hotel nights were booked through China Discovery, I presented my loyalty hotel cards and had upgrades in some of these international hotels.

We were happy with the transportation provided (especially in the big cities) but do not expect good vehicles in the smaller cities. Some of the guides were brilliant but some were not so. This is expected due to tourism in each of the cities. We had flexibility in our tour and also food selection. We were provided with daily breakfast and some lunches but no dinners. This is fine as we could look for the food that we like (apart from just Chinese style food).

The internal flights were spot on and we had our seating always in the first few rows . Some of the train rides were very good (especially Beijing to Xian and Guilin to Hong Kong). The other train rides were not so comfortable. Would suggest requesting for First Class cabin but will cost more - nearly double.

Our guide checked us in for both flights and train rides. It was very easy and smooth. My recommendation is to ensure that you give notice to your receiving guide to hold up a card with your name and to make your luggage different from the rest. Send them a photo so they will know who to look for. We are Australians but we are Chinese looking. So misunderstanding can happen when the guide is receiving us.

Overall, we rate China Discovery, Chengdu - Rita Jiang very highly as she was very responsive to our needs even when we were on tour. She even did some last minute changes for us just to make us comfortable. If we do travel again to China in future, we will contact them again.

Date of Experience: May 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
RagerRayboy

RagerRayboy

USA

Reviewed on June 24 2019

My wife and I recently completed a 22 days’ vacation/excursion in the People’s Republic of China. We arranged this voyage with China Discovery Tour Agency.(May17th-June7th, 2019)

Our journey throughout China included three air flights and four high speed trains.

We visited Beijing, the capital of The People’s Republic of China. Highlights in Beijing, Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, the Great Wall (Mutiny Section), the Sacred Way, wonderful Kungfu Show, and a wonderful dinner of Peiking Roasted Duck at the Iconic Quanjude restaurant. We then traveled 4.5 hours by Fast train to Xian to visit the Terracotta Warriors and Horses excavation site then on to the Ancient City Wall and then in the evening attended a wonderful Tang Palace Dance Show. We then traveled 3 hours by plane to Lhasa, the capital of TIBET. Then from TIBET back to China to the city of Chengdu (2 hours by plane) to visit the Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding and also enjoy the relax atmosphere of the city’s Renmin Park. Then from Chengdu we traveled 1.5 hours by plane to Guilin, the most scenic city in China. We then drove about 2.5 hours to visit one of the most beautiful rice terraces in China…Longji Rice Terrace. What an experience hiking up on the edge of the mountain, including traveling up more than 900 steps in order to arrive at our hotel. Then the next morning more hiking up hill and steps to observe the spectacular view and to get a better understanding of the engineering developed many, many years ago to be able to cultivate rice at that high altitude. Later we visited Huangluo Yao Village and enjoyed a beautiful show by the Village Long Hair People. The following day we traveled back to Guilin and took a very relaxing sightseeing cruise 84 kilometers down the Li River to Yangzhou Town.

That evening we attended an amazing show directed by the world-famous director Mr. Zhang Yimou then the next day we drove back to Guilin and took a fast train (5 hours) to the the city of Chongqing (The largest city in Southwest China) to catch our cruise ship to take a 3 nights 4 days cruise down the Yangtze River, and during the cruise we had 3 shore excursions to visit different historic sites. After our cruise we then went on an all-day tour of the Three Gorge Dam. It is the largest dam in the entire world. After that we traveled by bus to to Yichang and took a fast train the the new city of Shanghai. Shanghai is less than 20 years. In Shanghai we visited the 400 year old Yun Garden, the Shanghai World Financial Center, the Nanjing Road, the famous BUND, Zhujiajiao Water Town, Tianzifang, Suzhou No.1 Silk Factory, and finally we attended an incredible Acrobat Show. Then on June 6thth we traveled back to Beijing by fast train (4.5 hours) and on June 7thth we departed China.

We have traveled to many different places all over the world during the past 21 years and I must say this excursion in China arranged for us by the very efficient, professional, and knowledgeable agent Wendy Dan of China Discovery was truly unbelievable. Simply put, Wendy Dan and all of the drivers and especially our English-speaking guides provided us with services way above our expectations. We indeed experienced a voyage of a lifetime.

During the past 21 years, we have traveled to the Middle East, North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, East Africa, all over the USA and Canada, many places in Central America and South America, Western Europe, Northern Europe, Egypt and throughout the entire Caribbean and we have been fortunate to have a very good experience in each of those many places. China Discovery organized a 22 days’ tour along with its the very proficient, caring, and knowledgeable service providers (especially our private English-speaking tour guides) which has resulted in my wife and I having to tell the World that this trip compares with the best vacation we experienced in all of our travels during the past 21 years. We are very, very impressed with the overall beauty, safety, cleanliness, orderliness, and history we experienced at all of the places we visited. We are still amazed at the considerable level of development China has achieved during the past 35 years. Yes, put a visit to China, planned by China Discovery, on your bucket list.

Finally, my wife and I would like to express again our sincere thank you very much to Candy-Beijing, Maria-Xian, Dorjee-Lhasa, Kevin-Chengdu, Kennedy-Guilin, Charlie-Chongqing, Yichang- , Terry-Shanghai and Tina-Shanghai for your caring and professional service.

Date of Experience: May 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
TJDDevon

TJDDevon

UK

Reviewed on June 18 2019

After 6 days exploring Hong Kong by ourselves we started our guided tour of China on 30th May. We are very well travelled and have always booked independently so this was a first for us to put ourselves in the hands of an online travel agency in China! Wonder Wang from China Discovery (Chengdu) had corresponded with us over a number of months and together we had formulated a tour taking in Guilin, Yangshuo, Xian, Shanghai and finally Beijing. The 4 guides, Smiley, Walender, Frank and Kevin all had very different personalities and that was an extremely interesting aspect of the holiday. They were all friendly, professional, knowledgeable and always on time. The tour was just myself and my husband accompanied by different guides and drivers.

The 2 internal flights and 2 high speed trains worked well and we were taken to the airports/stations and always met with smiling faces. The lunches were varied and we had some great meals although we had to overcome some food challenges when dining by ourselves in the evenings. Additional shows were suggested by the guides and special mention must be made of the show at Yangshuo on the River Li - amazing! The hotels and breakfasts were of a good standard although bathroom facilities in a couple of instances could have been more modern but always spotlessly clean.

The programme was varied and we tweaked it when planning with Wonder’s help. The Great Wall was amazing and we particularly loved Shanghai. We were flexible in order to maximise the time spent in places especially in Beijing.

We were a little skeptical at first booking online with a Chinese travel agency but have no worries China Discovery and Wonder Wang were efficient, professional at all times and we had a great time. China was so much more than we expected and we would not hesitate to recommend China Discovery to others and maybe one day we will return to see the rest of the country. A great holiday!

Date of Experience: May 30, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Awkwardtrip

Awkwardtrip

Australia

Reviewed on June 18 2019

Ms.Lyn wang was very cooperative & professional right from the time of enquiry, booking & arranging the customized China tour for 12 days covering Beijing, Yangtze river cruise, Zhangjiajie & Shanghai. We really appreciate her for organizing the tour in a very professional manner. We were bit apprehensive initially as we booked directly without any tour operator from my country of origin. It was very wonderful & pleasant experience and we really enjoyed every moment of it.

All all tour guides were very professional & cooperative giving all the required info of the tour. Yangtze river cruise by “president No-7” was very good & enjoyed the way they organised.

Zhangjiajie is a must visit place with such a scenic beauty & we feel three days there would have been more justified to enjoy thoroughly such a natural scenic beauty spot. But the only disappointment was the hotel “Wulingyuan Hotel” arranged was close to the hills but the food was really bad & couldn’t eat at all. The least we expected that the breakfast could be to suit overseas travellers, but was really not up to any standard. Suggest you to recommend any other hotels for overseas guests.

In Shanghai, there was much free time left after covering all the listed places as per itinerary & suggest tour guide could provide some local shopping tips in China as in Nanjing road it was all expensive which are otherwise generally available in any other country. Don't miss Bund walk in the evening, the skyline under lights is most delightful to watch /gaze.

Overall it was very nicely organised & we really appreciate your professionalism for well organised tour. I certainly recommend "China discovery" tour operator & happy to avail for any future tours in china.

Date of Experience: April 26, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
AmandaM8002

AmandaM8002

Brazil

Reviewed on June 1 2019

I know a lot of people usually want to go to China to visit big cities, skyscrapers and nightlights but my main objective was so see the natural beauties of the country. I booked an entire package with China discovery including internal trains/ flights, shuttles, hotels and tours. If you are looking for traveling and not worrying much about planning your travel this is a great agency. I sent them a list of cities and they built a schedule for me. Everything went according to the plan, all pick ups on time and most of the guides on the tours with very good English.

Some of the tours were private and others with groups. The further we went into the country the less people spoke English so I definitely recommend having some kind of translator app for the times when your guide is not with you. Best places for me were Zhangjiajie, Huangshan mountain (spending the night there is amazing) and Guilin (it has it all, nightlife, shopping and a river cruise with amazing views of the mountains). Lyn was my agent with whom I discussed all the arrangements before the trip - I booked it all via email and used pay pal for payment and it was very easy.

Date of Experience: May 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Lyn
Alice K

Alice K

USA

Reviewed on May 30 2019

I booked online for "6 Days Guilin In-depth Tour from Hong Kong" for my husband and me. We had our own local tour guide and driver with us for the entire 6 days. Our local guides (Alice and Smiley) both were attentive, helpful and very nice. Scenery at every tour spot was really great and pictures do not do them justice at all. Must visit in person to see the beauty of nature. Only issue with this tour was booking the round-trip high speed train tickets from HK to Guilin. Apparently, somehow there is no tickets available in advance until they are "released". I am the type of person that book cruises a year in advance, plane tickets at least 1/2 year ahead, etc. Not knowing if we had train tickets or not until a few days before flying out from US to HK was maddening. Then not knowing if we have the return train tickets from Guilin to HK (while in Guilin, tour guide made multiple phone calls to her contact in HK office)- no responses until we called Wendy Dan located in Chengdu (my direct contact from online booking) - then the local guide received the call the afternoon before we were to leave Guilin. OMG - personally, I cannot do that ever again. I would rather fly in and out instead of having to deal with the uncertainty of the high speed train ticket system. However, once you get on the high speed train - it was great and 1st class seats are the way to go.

Please note that the train ticket problem was not the travel agent's fault for the way the ticket system works in China, just be aware that there could be some unusual ticketing method. I would definitely book again with China Discovery again if we need personal tours again.

Date of Experience: April 18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Nidhi B

Nidhi B

India

Reviewed on May 20 2019

>My friend and I booked a 4 days, 3 nights tour to Guilin, Yangshuo and Longsheng via China-discovery. Vivien was our trip organizer. She paid attention to every detail in the itinerary - our arrival/departure times in Guilin, vegetarian meal preferences, English speaking guide, changing our hotel booking at the last minute due to change in our train booking etc. The driver and the tour guide (Steven) were patient and accommodating. Steven even shared stories about the local Chinese culture during our commute which was quite interesting too. The hotels booked had good location and served western breakfast.

Overall the tour was overall good. There were some places that we wanted to see but were not included in the original itinerary proposed by China Discovery. On our request, amendments were made to the itinerary.

Places we covered :

Day 1 - Guilin - Elephant reed caves, 4 lakes and 3 river cruise (Note: this cruise was not included in the package but was a good experience.)

Day 2 - Yangshuo - Li river cruise (the highlight of the entire visit to Guilin), bike riding along the 10 mile trail (Note: bike renting was not included in the package), West Street market.

Day 3 - Longsheng - Longji rice terrace

Day 4 - Return from Guilin

I would recommend booking a tour through China Discovery in future.

My only recommendation would be to ask for a 4-star hotel while booking to enjoy more comfortable stay.

Date of Experience: April 19, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Connector740452

Connector740452

USA

Reviewed on May 8 2019

Hello Jack,

We recently got back from our wonderful 19 days trip to China and wanted to take this time to thank you for preparing such an awesome itinerary for us. It was tailored to the places we wanted to visit Beijing, Xian, Lhasa,Tibet, Chengdu, Guilin, Yanshuo, Li River Cruise, Longji, Chongqing Yangtze River cruise, Yichang, Shanghai.

We enjoyed every single day of our tours to the maximum.

The treatment we received from all of our tour guides and drivers was excellent. We were always greeted on time at the airport or train station by our tour guide who promptly introduced themselves and also the driver. Very nice people always wanting to help and explain all the details about the place visited, their culture and traditions.

Hotels were beautiful, very comfortable and centrally located. Staff always ready to help if needed. We were very surprised with the beautiful gift waiting for us when we got to our hotel in Chengdu. I wished we had more time to go visit you in your office and personally thank you.

The very well planned itinerary was carried out to our expectations, never a missed placed to visit, and when it was time for our next destination, our tour guide had everything under control, from taking our bags to getting our tickets and making sure we were in the right place on time.

The Yangtze River cruise was very relaxing, excellent buffet and staff service. Our activity coordinator Rebecca, was great in keeping the activities going and letting us know which sceneries where coming up and what to look for every time. Nightly entertainment was very good also. The tours very very well organized and we really enjoyed them.

We loved every city visited and experienced different Chinese cuisine every placed we went. The restaurants and food was carefully selected always keeping in mind if we were allergic to any food or liked or disliked any hot spices.

We are very happy and it has been an amazing vacation and a learning experience. Will be happy to recommend your company and specially you Jack for all your help, patience and knowledge. We'll be happy to return to China to experience many other beautiful places we didn't get to see this time around.

Thank you very much for everything you did for us.

Idania and Alberto Mesa

Date of Experience: April 15, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Honora M

Honora M

Ireland

Reviewed on May 7 2019

We have just returned from our holiday organized by Jack Li in China Discovery. This amazing tour lasted twenty days and we visited Beijing,Xi’an,Chengdu,Lijiang,Guilin, Yangshuo, Hangzhou and Shanghai. We found China Discovery to be an absolutely reliable tour company,responsible and very attentive. The service was of the highest quality- hotels,guides,drivers and all the restaurants attended and recommended. We have full confidence in recommending China Discovery for anyone needing a stress free holiday in China. In each location the guides were professional,enthusiastic and delighted to give us an insight into their community-history,customs,religions,fauna and flora. In fact each location was a highlight and we have a lifetime of unforgettable memories. We would like to thank Jack Li for customizing our tour and for taking such good care of us. It was a remarkable holiday made possible by the expertise and efficiency of China Discovery and its wonderful team.

Date of Experience: April 7, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Jack
14raj

14raj

USA

Reviewed on May 5 2019

I have to believe I was one of the more difficult customers this organization had to deal with.

The travel agent who dealt with me was Riley Guo. She remained unflappable and provided wonderful service.

I would like to keep this short but it is difficult given the exceptional service.

There were portions of this trip I had arranged, another friend had arranged and the remainder was by Riley.

In all of this when I had difficulties or changes because my friend changed something, Riley helped us without missing a beat. Some of this help did not involve her portion of the trip and she still provided us awesome assistance.

Once in China, she continued to monitor our travel all throughout even after the days her portion of the service concluded and stayed and supported us even late at night when we had language barriers.

Overall, her manager also stood by her when I asked for support or slight accommodations to their normal way of doing business.

Overall, if you want to choose a company for travel arrangements and support while in China, Riley Guo and this company should be a no-brainer!

One other suggestion to China Discovery... Please create other entries in TripAdvisor where people can write your praises like... 'Customized China tours' or 'private travel arrangements within China.' You need to be seen in more places on more good reviews.

Date of Experience: April 14, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Riley
HV10

HV10

UK

Reviewed on May 3 2019

We had a wonderful time in Guilin - all thanks to Riley Guo who organised this tour. I have to say it was a memorable tour as it was well organised and she had chosen the best local guide and a driver for us. There was excellent email communication with Riley. She was very patient as we had to alter our travel plans a few times. she gave us the best quote for the trip (compared with the quote from another leading tour company for the same itinerary). she was in touch via email throughout. she was very polite and very professional throughout.

Our Local guide Steve and driver Mr Young were excellent.Steve was very knowledgeable, polite and spoke very good English (It was a priority). our request for vegetarian food was well catered (had excellent local vegetarian food). Steve was very professional and helpful. He was making sure that we were comfortable throughout our trip. Our flight had got cancelled/rearranged/delayed- we came to know only when Steve checked it the previous evening to plan what time to drop us off to the airport. He immediately contacted his management team and the operator and got correct flight info. He altered the timings for the next day so that we didn't have to spend too much time at the airport.

Reasons for giving 5 stars: this tour was arranged by us via the internet. I was sceptical about the service we may get. we had an excellent local guide, Driver, very good vehicle, well-organised tour.

Before doing Guilin tour (only our family) we did 10 day china tour ( with friends - a group of 10- the tour was organised by a travel agent with a different tour operator). The tour wasn't well organised, vehicles stank of cigarette. we struggled to get vegetarian food. Not all the local guides were good. we still had a good time as we were with friends and enjoyed every bit of China that we visited.

Overall: We had a wonderful time in China. amazing country with wonderful scenery and history. People are very hospitable. I would definitely recommend China Discovery/Riley and Steve.

Date of Experience: April 6, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Tamsin1802

Tamsin1802

Australia

Reviewed on April 27 2019

When researching tours of China we found that China Discovery was the perfect company to book with as we were able to customise our own trip.

We traveled to multiple destinations within China where we had our own personal guides which made the language barrier a breeze as we were able to thoroughly enjoy ourselves with no stress. The guides had excellent English and local knowledge and showed us many things that we would have otherwise missed.

I would not hesitate to recommend China Discovery and our tour coordinator Wing Zeng. She was excellent at planing the whole tour for us, including the internal travel arrangements. I was also very impressed with how she kept in contact with us throughout the entire trip.

When traveling domestically in China, we soon noticed that there were no signs in English at the airports so we were very grateful to have our tour guides assist us with the flight check-ins.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in China and would definitely recommend this company to others.

Date of Experience: April 20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing
David1990CH

David1990CH

Switzerland

Reviewed on April 7 2019

We wanted to visit some sights in different cities in China. Riley from China Discovery was very patient and competent and helped us plan our trip. She answered all our questions quickly and also helped us process our VISA applications.

This resulted in a 16-day tour during which we visited the following cities: Beijing, Harbin, Chengdu, Lhasa, Zhangjiajie, Yangshuo and Guilin. Riley organized for us the tickets for 6 domestic flights and 2 train trips. In each city we were welcomed by a tour guide and a driver. Everything went smoothly and everything was well organized.

We would like to thank Riley for her patient support and would book our next trip to China with her again.

David

Date of Experience: March 23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
smerlo1333

smerlo1333

Australia

Reviewed on March 30 2019

Livia Gu was more than very helpful with putting this trip together for my friend and myself. After a Train trip from Hong Kong to Guilin, the driver, Mr Wang, and our fabulous guide Jennifer collected us from the station and took very good care of us for the next 4 days. A camera left half way up a hill at a restaurant was delivered to our hotel room a short while later, such lovely locals. All was organised perfectly and the service was amazing. The landscape was even more beautiful than what we expected and I was blown away by the friendliness of the locals. Everything was clean as well. Would definitely book any trips with Livia. Thank you so much, Livia and Jennifer

Date of Experience: March 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Livia
Greytwo

Greytwo

Australia

Reviewed on Feburary 10, 2019

We have just returned from a 22 day private tour organized by the wonderful Wendy Dan.

We were a little worried about booking and paying for a tour run by a company in another country but Wendy eased all of our fears every step of the way, from her reassuring emails to letting us know every time the money was recieved.As for the tour we could not have had a better time. We saw many sights we had never seen before. Going in the off season was great, although a couple of our expected visits were closed due to the winter and lead up to golden week we did not want for fun filled days. The ques are also short in the off season. Eg 5 minute wait to get on the glass elevator instead of 4 hours.

We have visited so many places there are too many to mention. As this was our fourth trip to china we wanted to see something different. From the stone forrest to the rice field's filled with water, a show at romance park, cable car rides walks along the glass walkway we were not dissapointed. As for our guides we could not have chosen them better. They were all knowledgeable kind and considerate.our stand out guides were Nancy in Dali. Tony in Zhangjiajie and the wonderful Danny in Guilin. We have never smiled so much.

We can still hear Danny screaming in the haunted house. And smiling at us when we joined in we ith the happy dance at the end of the show.

The tour was way beyond our expectations .The cost was less than that of a huge group tour by one of the Aussie tour companies.

If you are thinking of going to China send an email to Chengdu bamboo international tours( the one in Chengdu) you won't be disappointed, from the care that they take to create your itinerary to dropping off a gift to us in Chengdu. Thankyou Wendy for the trip of a lifetime. We wouldnt hesitate in recommending you and this company.

Jo and Carl

Date of Experience: January 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
599janetl

599janetl

Australia

Reviewed on January 30, 2019

I recently visited Guilin with my 79-year-old parents as a side trip from their visit to my husband and I in Hong Kong, I found them online when looking for high-speed train tickets. This is a reliable and professional tour company, Wing our travel consultant worked with me to get the itinerary right and was very understanding of our needs. Our guide Alice and our driver were amazing across the 4 days, nothing was too much trouble and they went above and beyond to assist my parents who are both a little slow to get around these days but managed. Alice as very knowledgable giving us plenty of interesting information on each of the areas we visited as well as great tips on where to eat and what to do. We felt safe in the vehicle as the driver was excellent, he was also very helpful to my mother. I would recommend this company and I will also be using them again for future visits to other parts of China.

Date of Experience: January 23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wing

See more reviews on Tripadvisor See all reviews from our guests


Amazing Guilin Travel Stories

Here are selected travel stories shared by our valued customers who visited Guilin and more stunning places. May these stories ignite your wanderlust and make you pack your bags and go! If you want to read more interesting stories, click here>

Have a question? Get answers from our travel experts or guests

  • Your Question:
  • Your Name:
  • Your Email:
  • Submit

Start planning your tailor-made holiday to China by contacting one of our specialists. Once enquired, you’ll get a response within 0.5~23.5 hours.

Customize a Trip