kumarilm2016

kumarilm2016

Australia

Reviewed on January 19, 2020

China Discovery organised a 13 day China tour for us from 21/12/19 to 3/1/20. Wendy Dan was the consultant.Covered Beijing,Xian,Guilin,Huangshan and Shanghai. Overall, a great tour! and well organised,thanks Wendy!

Andy our guide in Xian was excellent as were the guides in Guilin and Huangshan.

Vehicles provided in general were good.Restaurants in Beijing were bad however the quality improved after we protested.

Hotels were neat and clean(chose all 5star) except in Xian and after we complained ,we were upgraded.

I would definitely recommend ChinaDiscovery tours and would book with them again on my second tour.

We were a family of 4, all adults.

Date of Experience: December,21, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Toni31852

Toni31852

USA

Reviewed on January 7, 2020

It was a great trip. For such a short time, we can visit both beautiful area. Thanks for Jack Li to arrange for us. The tour guide was great for both area, friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend.

Date of Experience: November, 2, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
tjmaa1

tjmaa1

USA

Reviewed on November 14 2019

This was our third China tour managed by Ms. Vivien Li with China Discovery. Every time we just let her know where we wanted to go, and she would take care of everything. Mount Huangshan (Yellow Mountain) is no doubt one of the most beautiful mountains in China. However for us senior travelers, walking up and down the countless stone steps was quite challenging. It was a good arrangement for staying three days and two nights on the mountain, and the Huangshan Xihai Hotel was great. We then visited three remarkable ancient villages that are the best examples of ancient Huizhou-style architecture. The famous Oscar-winner film Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon were filmed there. The hotel Crown Plaza Huangshan Yucheng was great. The morning walk along the Xin"anjiang River by the hotel was so refreshing.

We then finished the rest of the tour from Hangzhou to Shanghai in four days which was quite rushing. We should have allowed for more time.

Date of Experience: October,16, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
MountainRiverSea

MountainRiverSea

Australia

Reviewed on July 25 2019

After researching and reviewing a number of tour companies on the web, we chose China Discovery for a 15 day custom trip to China from mid-June to early July of 2019. This is the China Discovery stationed in Chengdu, China and associated with Chengdu Bamboo International Tours Company. I was nervous about going with a company located in China that I only communicated with through email and that I had never heard of before, but their reviews on Trip Advisor were so strong and the tour agent that worked with me, Wendy Dan, was so responsive and professional that I decided to take a (potentially really big) gamble and sign up with them. The price for the tour was also very reasonable, especially since this was a completely custom tour in which my family of four would visit specific places in Shandong, where most tourists do not go, including a small village where my father was born, and then travel to Huangshan, Zhangjiajie, and Beijing. In fact, we weren’t sure if the village was still there, so Wendy engaged her network of contacts and actually confirmed the village was the right one. I can say now, several weeks after returning back to the U.S., that China Discovery is the real deal – they did what they promised to do, plus more. Our trip involved quite a bit of traveling – several plane flights and train journeys – logistically, China Discovery was excellent. They had a tour guide and driver waiting for us at each new location, and comfortable private, air conditioned van to take us to our hotels and our targeted destinations. Our first two tour guides, Bruce and Ellen in Shandong and Huangshan, were outstanding – very intelligent and articulate guides who pampered us. Bruce was unfailingly attentive during our visits to Jinan, Taishan and the Confucius temple, which were rich cultural experiences, although the best part was visiting the old village. Ellen took us shopping at Huangshan and even bargained down some prices for us on Chinese brushes and inkstones, and then taught my kids some beginning Chinese painting lessons as we watched the sun set from a gorgeous viewpoint. Our tour guides in Zhangjiajie and Beijing were excellent at logistics and walked with us for many miles, including a beautiful hike along the Golden Whip Stream and a truly amazing and memorable hike along the Jinshanling section of the Great Wall. All the tour guides spoke English - the first two better than the second two, but all could communicate effectively in English. The hotels we stayed in were air conditioned and comfortable and in outstanding locations, and the food was good – breakfast was typically ok to good, and lunch was always excellent. The only time we had stomach problems was when we ate some odd food at a restaurant that had not been recommended by one of our tour guides. There were several changes to our itinerary during the trip – one hotel cancelled our rooms and gave them to government officials instead, and a planned train journey was cancelled – these were handled well: the tour guide booked us in a similar substitute hotel near the original one, and Wendy arranged for a plane flight instead of the train ride, which only cost us $60 American dollars more per person. The tour guides checked in frequently with China Discovery and I felt that they were monitoring us to make sure we were ok. They seemed to be sincere, honorable people who were trying their best to deliver their product – which was a great time touring China. There was one incident in particular that we were extremely grateful for – my son lost his passport on the plane during a domestic flight and we only realized this at 4 in the morning when trying to check into the hotel in Beijing. I called Wendy on a Saturday and she contacted the airport and located the missing passport. We were so thankful! Overall, this was a fantastic experience. China was not what I had imagined it to be – getting through customs was easy, we felt safe, and people were very friendly in the smaller towns (less friendly in Beijing, with the least friendly people being the foreign tourists!). Shandong, Huangshan, and Zhangjiajie were great places to visit, as was the Great Wall, as I had mentioned. We were less thrilled with the crowds at the Forbidden Palace and other touristy destinations in Beijing, but it was still very interesting. I was worried about the temperature and the air quality, but both were pretty good for most of the trip. The most important thing was that we felt safe during the entire trip (except during the time my son's passport was lost). Thank you, China Discovery, for a wonderful visit to China that my family will never forget.

Date of Experience: June,19, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
c l

c l

USA

Reviewed on June 2 2019

I know a lot of people usually want to go to China to visit big cities, skyscrapers and nightlights but my main objective was so see the natural beauties of the country. I booked an entire package with China discovery including internal trains/ flights, shuttles, hotels and tours. If you are looking for traveling and not worrying much about planning your travel this is a great agency. I sent them a list of cities and they built a schedule for me. Everything went according to the plan, all pick ups on time and most of the guides on the tours with very good English.

Some of the tours were private and others with groups. The further we went into the country the less people spoke English so I definitely recommend having some kind of translator app for the times when your guide is not with you. Best places for me were Zhangjiajie, Huangshan mountain (spending the night there is amazing) and Guilin (it has it all, nightlife, shopping and a river cruise with amazing views of the mountains). Lyn was my agent with whom I discussed all the arrangements before the trip - I booked it all via email and used pay pal for payment and it was very easy.

Date of Experience: May, 6, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
AmandaM8002

AmandaM8002

Brazil

Reviewed on June 1 2019

I know a lot of people usually want to go to China to visit big cities, skyscrapers and nightlights but my main objective was so see the natural beauties of the country. I booked an entire package with China discovery including internal trains/ flights, shuttles, hotels and tours. If you are looking for traveling and not worrying much about planning your travel this is a great agency. I sent them a list of cities and they built a schedule for me. Everything went according to the plan, all pick ups on time and most of the guides on the tours with very good English.

Some of the tours were private and others with groups. The further we went into the country the less people spoke English so I definitely recommend having some kind of translator app for the times when your guide is not with you. Best places for me were Zhangjiajie, Huangshan mountain (spending the night there is amazing) and Guilin (it has it all, nightlife, shopping and a river cruise with amazing views of the mountains). Lyn was my agent with whom I discussed all the arrangements before the trip - I booked it all via email and used pay pal for payment and it was very easy.

Date of Experience: May, 1, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Lyn
hongkong888

hongkong888

Hong Kong, China

Reviewed on April 26 2019

Actually used the travel consultant to arrange a 4 day trip to Huangshan with 2 nights on the mountain 1 night in the city centre.

Very well organized and special thanks to our travel consultant Livia. Good communication throughout and the tour guide Sophia put great effort to keep us happy and meet our requests.

Would recommend this trip to anyone.

The weather is Huangshan was foggy but this added a new wonderful and romantic atmosphere to the trip !!

Many thanks to their team.

Date of Experience: April,20, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Yanny
LinaLeeAL

LinaLeeAL

Malaysia

Reviewed on April 24 2019

I used China Discovery (based in Chengdu) and our travel consultant was Yanny He to organise a private tour (car, guide, fast train tickets) to Huangshan and nearby villages. I selected this company after comparing with two other companies based on price as the level or response was the same. I found them most reasonable.

I organised my own hotel at Huangshan city and I think the Crowne Plaza was very good base as that’s the only western chain hotel that I am aware off and foreign credit card accepted.

One thing to note that foreign overseas credit cards in general are not accepted in any/most business/shop/ restaurant unless its part of a foreign chain or company. You will need cash for everything in general and that includes eating at the restaurants that the guide will take you to. Even the nice ones.

The booking and quick response was very much appreciated and Yanny’s patience in answering my questions was very nice and clear.

Generally a wonderful tour in terms or booking process, transport, organising, tour guide and tour itself. I paid using PayPal and did not encounter any issues.

I picked up my own fast train tickets from the Shanghai Hongqiao station after I received the reference number from Yanny. It was very easy.

The transport arrangements (car and driver) was polite,prompt, safe and on time each time. Car provide was a multi seater type van with space for luggage at the back. Very useful if you have a bit of luggage.

The tour guide provided (Jacky) was excellent. He is very patient and caring and speaks good English and helped me look after my parents very well making sure to stay and walk their pace while I go ahead on my own to take pictures on Mt. Huangshan. He was also very kind to help my parents with the small luggage on Mt Huangshan until we could pass it to the porter to carry the bag to the hotel. He also knew a lot of Chinese history and of the places we visited and point out places to get good pictures. He made sure everything went smoothly and provided useful tips to make the queue to get on the cable car easier also. We loved the places Jacky took us to for lunch. Food was good and standards were clean.

Note that if you don’t use a bag pack to carry stuff for your overnight stay you can get a porter to help with luggage but it will cost and charge according to weight. I think I t costs us 80RMB roughly for 8kgs.

The Xihai hotel 5 star wing is also good and the food in the hotel we found acceptable taste although it’s true a little bit more expensive than at bottom of mountain. But note that this hotel is a good at least 45 mins - 1 hour or hike up and down a few times to get to and from the Yungu Cable Car. It depends if you prefer more comfortable stay or shorter walk on the return trip to cable car. ....

Besides Huangshan, we also visited Hongcun and Xidi village in one day before the two days trip up and down Mt. Huangshan. Both worth a visit although if you had to choose, I would say you need only do Hongcun for the picturesque views and photos.

Date of Experience: April,18, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Yanny
Greytwo

Greytwo

Australia

Reviewed on Feburary 10, 2019

We have just returned from a 22 day private tour organized by the wonderful Wendy Dan.

We were a little worried about booking and paying for a tour run by a company in another country but Wendy eased all of our fears every step of the way, from her reassuring emails to letting us know every time the money was recieved.As for the tour we could not have had a better time. We saw many sights we had never seen before. Going in the off season was great, although a couple of our expected visits were closed due to the winter and lead up to golden week we did not want for fun filled days. The ques are also short in the off season. Eg 5 minute wait to get on the glass elevator instead of 4 hours.

We have visited so many places there are too many to mention. As this was our fourth trip to china we wanted to see something different. From the stone forrest to the rice field's filled with water, a show at romance park, cable car rides walks along the glass walkway we were not dissapointed. As for our guides we could not have chosen them better. They were all knowledgeable kind and considerate.our stand out guides were Nancy in Dali. Tony in Zhangjiajie and the wonderful Danny in Guilin. We have never smiled so much.

We can still hear Danny screaming in the haunted house. And smiling at us when we joined in we ith the happy dance at the end of the show.

The tour was way beyond our expectations .The cost was less than that of a huge group tour by one of the Aussie tour companies.

If you are thinking of going to China send an email to Chengdu bamboo international tours( the one in Chengdu) you won't be disappointed, from the care that they take to create your itinerary to dropping off a gift to us in Chengdu. Thankyou Wendy for the trip of a lifetime. We wouldnt hesitate in recommending you and this company.

Jo and Carl

Date of Experience: January, 4, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy

See more reviews on Tripadvisor See all reviews from our guests


Amazing Huangshan Travel Stories

Here are selected travel stories shared by our valued customers who visited Huangshan and more stunning places. May these stories ignite your wanderlust and make you pack your bags and go! Or, you can click 2012-2020 Customer Travel Stories for more stunning stories.

  • Annal China Tour
    Travel China with Family and Friends for 3 Consecutive Years

    Mr. Ban's Group travel to China every year since 2017. Their travel path has now covered natural and cultural sites in a dozen of cities around China and their China trip will continue.

    • Mr. Ban's Group (USA)
    • (10-11 Days) 2017~2019
    • Destinations: Chengdu, Xian, Luoyang, Zhangjiajie, Yunnan, Huangshan, Hangzhou, Nanjing, Suzhou, Shanghai
  • 15 Days Shandong China Tour
    Family Trip to Achieve Elder Father’s Root Seeking Dream

    The touching story of Cindy's family China trip to find their hometown and help her elder father find the roots in Shandong with great visits to Zhangjiajie, Hangzhou, Huangshan...

    • Cindy (USA)
    • (15 Days) 2019.06.19~2019.07.03
    • Jinan - Taishan - Qufu - Chengwu - Qufu - Huangshan - Hangzhou - Zhangjiajie - Beijing
  • China Ancient Capitals Tour
    Cultural Immersion Trip in Ancient Capitals of China

    William and his wife traveled to Huangshan and Zhangjiajie with us in 2017. This time they laid more emphasis on culture and history, so hey went to several ancient capitals of China.

    • William (USA)
    • (11 Days) 2018.03.22~2018.04.01
    • Beijing - Taiyuan - Pingyao - ... - Beijing
  • 8 Days Enjoyable Hangzhou Huangshan Tour
    Delightful Trip to Poetic Jiangnan

    It was our first time travelling with China Discovery, and we must say our tour of Hangzhou and Huangshan from 12-19 September 2017 was most enjoyable. For ease of discussion, we have divided our tour into three parts – Hangzhou 12-15, Huangshan 15-18, Hangzhou 18-19 - because the guides were different.

    • CS (Singapore)
    • (8 Days) 2017.09.12~2017.09.19
    • Hangzhou - Huangshan
  • 9 Days China Nature Tour
    Return to Miraculous Nature

    We (a couple of U.S. residence) planned to travel to China. Since I was interested in landscape painting, we choose four well-known places (Great Wall, Guilin, Zhangjiajie, and Yellow Mountain) to visit through Beijing and Shanghai. With a tight schedule, we arranged a private tour...

    • Mr.Kyoung (USA)
    • (9 Days) 2017.05.12~2017.05.20
    • Beijing - Guilin - Zhangjiajie - Huangshan - Shanghai
  • 16 Days First Visit to China
    Long-lasting Memory brought by First Trip to China

    We had so many amazing experiences. All of the cities we visited were much greener than we expected with trees and shrubs planted everywhere, which made the whole environment very pleasant.

    • Ms.Elizabeth (Britain)
    • (16 Days) 2017.04.14~2017.04.29
    • Beijing - Xian - Guilin - Hangzhou - Huangshan - Shanghai - Suzhou