Anirban Ray

Anirban Ray

India

Reviewed on February 17, 2021

I recently completed a trip to Xiamen organized by China Discovery. I am based in Guangzhou. China Discovery assigned a travel consultant(Mr. Wonder) to me, who designed a tailor-made itinerary suiting my purposes. Mr. Wonder was fantastic, extremely responsive, kind, flexible, and quick, responding quickly to any question or request I had, and going beyond the call of duty to accommodate my needs.

I will plan all my future trips with China Discovery. I highly recommend China Discovery as a travel agency able to arrange your trip!

Mr. Wonder is a wonderful person. I am so impressed with him. Actually I planned a next tour with him for Xian--Harbin in new year and paid advance. But I had to cancel the tour because of increase in restriction. He refunded me all the money.

Date of Experience: February 7, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Harbin, Ice Sculpture Park and Skiing
Michael Young

Michael Young

USA

Reviewed on January 20, 2021

We were a small group planning to go to Harbin in the North of China to visit the Ice Sculpture Park and do three days skiing. The itinerary was carefully chosen by us and arranged by Wendy at China Discovery. Attention to detail and customizing the trip was done really well by the company. Unfortunately due to the covid situation we were unable to travel due to government regulations, but China Discovery refunded all monies without any bother and were extremely apologetic although it was totally out of their control.

I will be using this company next time I travel China due to their "no-fuss" organization and their immediate refund of deposits. This is something that not all companies are so good with and the confidence and knowledge that they are are extremely efficient makes me want to do business with them in the future. Thanks to Wendy for being behind the organization and arrangements.

Date of Experience: January 14, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Winter Vacation to Harbin
Varun V

Varun V

USA

Reviewed on January 17, 2021

Visited Harbin with a friend from the 25th of Dec to 1st Jan. Wanted to experience a "Siberian Winter", and see the Ice and Snow world festival. Have ALWAYS used China Discovery for my domestic tours around the country as they've been FANTASTIC, and this tour was no exception. They arranged a very detailed and well planned 04 day itinerary of the city, including skiing in Yabuli for 01 day. Our guide, Helen, was an absolute DREAM - i cannot recommend her enough for how much she helped us in the tour. This was my first time skiing, and even though I could not speak a word of Mandarin, Helen helped arrange a private tutor and stayed with me while I was learning the ropes. Her food recommendations, especially in Yabuli, helped elevate our travel to this fascinating province.

A solid 9/10 tour - absolutely loved this trip, and will remember it for all the beautiful sights and experiences I had

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
S_Ferdinand

S_Ferdinand

France

Reviewed on January 11, 2021

We use services from China Dicovery to organize a private tour in Harbin and we’ve been very happy by the support brought by the agency. Basically, they managed for us the program following our requirements providing tour guide, hôtel and driver. The agency also ensured everything was doing well when during the tour. Really appreciate and would definitely recommend.

Date of Experience: December 27, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Echo
3 great days in Harbin
Natasa V

Natasa V

Serbia

Reviewed on January 10, 2021

We did 3 days Harbin tour with China Discovery. The agent Tracy provided the best itinerary and took into account all our requirements. Our guide in Harbin, Hilary was a local girl who knew everything about the city! She took us to eat tofu baozi in more than a 100 years old restaurant and oxtail stew cooked in front if us. We got to see all that was possible to see in 3 days. Hilary even walked us to the airport and stayed with us until we were out of view. Warm, kind, helpful and knowledgeable - that’s China Discovery. Highly recommended.

Date of Experience: January 8, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Trip the Harbin Ice Festival
Jenn G

Jenn G

Canada

Reviewed on January 10, 2021

Four friends and I did the Harbin 4 night 3 day tour to go to the Ice Festival. Trip was great. Never a problem. Well organized. Organizer and tour guide both flexible. Hotel was nice (and warm!) and itinerary had enough going on but wasn't too busy or fast moving which was great. We really enjoyed the Tiger park, the ice and snow sculptures, and exploring the Russian aspects of the area. The beer factory didn't have much too it, so that was the only part we'd maybe drop. Guide was flexible for meals - we would tell him what kind of food we were in the mood for and he would offer some suggestions. We had a big, comfortable mini bus. We loved the trip. Highly recommend. Had a great experience with Wendy from China Discovery and will definitely seek her out to help organize future trips. Thank you!

Date of Experience: December 27, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Great Wall/Forbidden Palace/Snow and Ice
U9720FRmartink

U9720FRmartink

UK

Reviewed on January 9, 2021

China Discovery organised our visit to Harbin and Beijing; great hotels, all flights (even the one that was cancelled the day before travel caused no problems and was dealt with efficiently), guides and drivers to pick us up and transport us around, meals (delicious) and all entrance tickets wherever we went. The snow and ice sculptures in Harbin were very impressive (and it was as cold as Tracy from China Discovery kept warning us!) but the highlight was the time in Beijing. Our guide (Kai) was fabulous; knowledgeable, span a great story and illuminated everywhere that we visited. The Forbidden City/Summer Palace were great but the Great Wall was everything that we hoped for. Still lots to see in Beijing and would not hesitate to ask China Discovery to organise our next trip, anywhere in China.

Date of Experience: December 23, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Adventurer678649

Adventurer678649

Brazil

Reviewed on January 6, 2021

My husband and I went to Harbin for New Years and spent 7 days there. This is our 4th tour with China Discovery. Every time has been great. This time was even better. The tour guide (English name: Hillary) was simply fantastic! She is very sweet, attentive, responsible and extremely capable. The driver gentleman was also very good. He is very attentive and drive very well. Our tour planner Lily, has been done all the tour plans and it has been very dedicate, creative and full of positive suggestions, specially attentive to my needs as I always want to go the Sunday Holy Mass and she knows and always make sure, to add it on my itinerary.

We are very happy with China Discovery staff. Even others that we do not even know has been helpful to us. When I call them for any question, they are all very kind and provide the answers right way. These people are what you want for making your trips in China memorable. I am extremely satisfied with them!. For sure we will keep using them for our future trips. THANK YOU.

Date of Experience: December 30, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Lily
Great experiences in both Beijing and Huangshan
Stijn

Stijn

Belgium

Reviewed on January 5, 2021

Second tour we booked with China discovery. First to Huangshan this time to Beijing. All is perfectly arranged and Wendy makes changes anytime needed. Also great sparring partner if you lack ideas for a destination in China. Finally the price and also proposed accommodation is really very correct. Thanks a lot Wendy!!

Date of Experience: December 19, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Daniel

Daniel

Columbia

Reviewed on January 4, 2021

Amazing service and excellent plans. The agent and the guide were very attentive. I would certainly travel with them again.

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Anders

Anders

Sweden

Reviewed on January 4, 2021

Thanks Rita and China Discovery,

First of all thanks Rita.

You got an request and responded fast gave correct info, patiently waited without pushing for response and perfectly arranged the tour for us on short notice.

THANKS

We went from Harbin to Snow Town.

Snow Town is a tourist trap of the worst kind. Only one purpose, get the tourists to pay for it. The only genuine is the snow and the cold.

But I can understand that visitors who have no earlier experience of snow, cold weather and snow activities finds it exotic and exciting.

But for me, once was more than enough.

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Jo-Ann

Jo-Ann

Singapore

Reviewed on January 2, 2021

We found China Discovery online as we were very interested to visit Harbin. Our liaison is Ms Rita Jiang. We wanted a driver and an itinerary but not a tour guide as we like to be on our own on visits to places. Our driver, Mr Yu Li, was the best driver any tourists could have. He was friendly, courteous and reliable.

We visited the famous Harbin Snow and Ice Worlds, Volga Manor (Russian Village), Siberian Tiger Park, the historical Zhongyang Pedestrian Street, and the Heilongjiang Museum.

We enjoyed our visit to the Snow (morning) and Ice (evening) Worlds tremendously. We took a slow stroll through the huge parks enjoying the snow and ice sculptures which were meticulously designed and created. Amazing!

Siberian Tiger Park was fun. We sat in a caged bus and fed chicken pieces to the chubby tigers!

Volga Manor was simply delightful. It is a huge Russian village where we visited houses, churches and walked across a frozen river. Lovely architecture here.

The Heilongjiang Museum was a fun and educating experience, learning about the Russian influence and how Heilongjiang is successful today.

Zhongyang Street was fun. Shopping. Food. Russian cafes and restaurants. Iced lollies. Harbin’s big bread and sausages. Souvenirs. Easily to spend a day and evening here.

Our Harbin trip was very well planned and we are pleased with what we have achieved with Rita’s and Yu Li’s help. It was certainly a memorable experience for us especially in a -25 C winter!!!

Date of Experience: December 29, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Rita
Tiffini

Tiffini

USA

Reviewed on December 30, 2020

Our trip to Harbin was wonderful- from pick up to drop off. Our guides Helen and Wendy were so helpful. I cannot imagine doing a trip without them. Wendy was nurturing and kind. Helen was personable and engaging. Exactly what you need when away from home. Kevin, our driver, was perfect. He was so sweet when helping us with our luggage and getting our doors. He kept the car nice and warm for us. He was the safest driver I’ve ever had in China. Cannot commend them enough. They were gracious with our needs and helped us when we wanted to change things. Each activity was amazing. I loved them all. I would say when traveling decide what things you want to do and prioritize them. So you can spend an appropriate amount of time at each.

Here’s what we found:

Polar Land - 2.5 hours in the morning.

Sun Island- 1.5 - 2 hours. (Right next to Polar Land)

Ice and Snow World (must see in day and night, plus leave time to wait for the slide) - 4 hours.

Volga Manor- 4 hours (again, the slide. Plus this takes an hour to get to)

Sophia Church- 30-45 minutes

Siberian Tiger Park- 2 hours

Central Street- take the time to stroll up and down during the night and day to see the ice sculptures.

There’s a place to pay to play at the end. You can also shop. 4-5 hours during different hours of the day. Plus you must stop and have the icecream at MODERN.

Our hotel the Mecure Hotel Sophia Church was in the perfect location.

Layer up and have a wonderful time in Harbin. This is the perfect tour. The company was very accommodating when we asked to make changes. I’m so grateful.

Date of Experience: December 25, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Echo
Christiane R

Christiane R

USA

Reviewed on December 27, 2020

I was a little scared to spend Christmas in Harbin because of the cold weather. Riley was so helpful, flexible and kind with me, that I decided to take the risk. She provided a car, a driver, the tickets and, when one of the person of our group gave up the trip, she was able to return the tickets with no complains. She was always thinking ahead, reminding me things and giving me the feeling I was safe. I will definitely contact her again for my next trip in China.

Date of Experience: December 23, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Riley
Iwancaesar

Iwancaesar

Indonesia

Reviewed on January 2, 2020

Harbin is more than I’ve expected. amazed of all the things that I’ve experienced in Harbin. especially in Snow Village. its like stepping into a fairytale. my Daughter, Son and Wife very amazed about that. well glad Harbin is my winter wonderland destination in year end 2019.

Im booking China Discovery as my travel tour. from the beginning I contacted. they guide me with fast responses and detail information ( tracy very helpful).

During private tour. Jacky as tour guide well prepare and good arranger of my trip. yif as english professionals translator assist jacky to communicate with me and my family. they were treated us like family. glad to meet them as our tour guide.

The Harbin Tour its no doubt, a good Asian Winter destination with affordable spent

Date of Experience: December 27, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Marvz20ph

Marvz20ph

Philippines

Reviewed on December 23, 2019

Everything was very organized. The travel agent Tracy was very helpful since the day that I was planning my trip until it was finish. She always reply to my emails promptly. I really appreciate the cake as well that they gave during my birthday. She even called my tour guide on that day to personally greet me.

My tour guides Celina and Summer are both nice, cheerful, and can speak good English. They also let me try local food along the way. The driver is also good. I was abit scared on our way to the Snow Town because it is a zigzag road, they explained to me from the start that the drive will be slow for safety because the roads are slippery due to the snow.

Summer was my tour guide on the last day of the trip, due to heavy snow my flight was cancelled and she helped me call the airline to check what other flights will be available. She also called their office to help me book the hotel for 1 more night, last minute. The following morning she came in the hotel very early and she gave me a bread. She said no more time to eat breakfast. She also helped me fix everything in the airport.

This trip is one for the books! I will still book with this company if I will go back to China.

Keep up the good work and thank you for the good service. Much appreciated. :)

Date of Experience: December 17, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Tracy
Booked this 7 days trip from Wonder. He was patient and helpful answering all my queries. Our whole trip was well organized by him. Our driver Mr Xu is a patient and helpful gentleman. He helped with our luggages, helped to look after our small kids and recommending us places of interest. Mr Xu was also a very careful driver. The road to Yabuli and snow city was mostly covered with snow and he drove slowly and carefully. Before going there, i was afraid of meeting a reckless driver and I emphasized this to Wonder and with Mr Xu around, we were in good hands. Most of the morning we were late in coming down from our hotel rooms to meet him because of our kids but he was patient enough to wait for us. I will definitely recommend them to my relatives and friends and will book my trip with them again if i were to go to China.

Booked this 7 days trip from Wonder. He was patient and helpful answering all my queries. Our whole trip was well organized by him. Our driver Mr Xu is a patient and helpful gentleman. He helped with our luggages, helped to look after our small kids and recommending us places of interest. Mr Xu was also a very careful driver. The road to Yabuli and snow city was mostly covered with snow and he drove slowly and carefully. Before going there, i was afraid of meeting a reckless driver and I emphasized this to Wonder and with Mr Xu around, we were in good hands. Most of the morning we were late in coming down from our hotel rooms to meet him because of our kids but he was patient enough to wait for us. I will definitely recommend them to my relatives and friends and will book my trip with them again if i were to go to China.

Singapore

Reviewed on December 17 2019

Booked this 7 days trip from Wonder. He was patient and helpful answering all my queries. Our whole trip was well organized by him. Our driver Mr Xu is a patient and helpful gentleman. He helped with our luggages, helped to look after our small kids and recommending us places of interest. Mr Xu was also a very careful driver. The road to Yabuli and snow city was mostly covered with snow and he drove slowly and carefully. Before going there, i was afraid of meeting a reckless driver and I emphasized this to Wonder and with Mr Xu around, we were in good hands. Most of the morning we were late in coming down from our hotel rooms to meet him because of our kids but he was patient enough to wait for us. I will definitely recommend them to my relatives and friends and will book my trip with them again if i were to go to China.

Date of Experience: November 6, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Wonder
David1990CH

David1990CH

Switzerland

Reviewed on April 7 2019

We wanted to visit some sights in different cities in China. Riley from China Discovery was very patient and competent and helped us plan our trip. She answered all our questions quickly and also helped us process our VISA applications.

This resulted in a 16-day tour during which we visited the following cities: Beijing, Harbin, Chengdu, Lhasa, Zhangjiajie, Yangshuo and Guilin. Riley organized for us the tickets for 6 domestic flights and 2 train trips. In each city we were welcomed by a tour guide and a driver. Everything went smoothly and everything was well organized.

We would like to thank Riley for her patient support and would book our next trip to China with her again.

David

Date of Experience: March 23, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Marianne M

Marianne M

New Zealand

Reviewed on Feburary 27, 2019

We chose a private tour as we wanted a relaxing trip, some time to ourselves, and flexibility. I arranged our 18 day trip through Catherine Liu (China Discovery, based in Chengdu). I made several changes to our itinerary, had many questions and a few concerns; Catherine responded quickly allying our concerns, providing more information, and making the changes requested. We travelled by air, bullet trains and private vans. All our guides were great, heaps of historic and local knowledge.

The Ice & Snow Festival in Harbin was on our bucket list, so expectations were high. Harbin is awesome: very friendly people, great food, stunning scenery, and didn’t feel as cold as we expected (due to the dry air, it felt 10 degrees warmer than it actually was – still cold though). I do recommend visiting the Snow Park towards the end on the day so you can catch the light show, it’s stunning. The second floor of the tourist information centre has some entertaining stuff to look at too.

Beijing was great! I do recommend going in the winter/off-season, as it is much less crowded. Our tour guide Eric was amazing; we loved his sense of humour, entertaining way of telling us about the history & chatty story titbits, and his enthusiasm was contagious. We were always either in awe or laughing. Unfortunately I started to get sick while in Beijing.

Xian was impressive, but unfortunately I got sicker. Catherine had kept in touch throughout, to see how I was, and arranged for me to visit the hospital with our interpreter. That was an experience I won’t forget.

We were so impressed with our tours, interpreters, drivers, and ongoing attention to detail (both pre & during the trip); we asked to meet Catherine when we were in Chengdu to thank her personally. The tour far exceeded our expectations, accommodation was great, and Catherine ensured my request for hotels with comfortable beds was met.

Thanks again to Catherine, our guides and drivers.

Date of Experience: February 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Catherine
Pat H

Pat H

South Africa

Reviewed on January 1, 2019

Thanks Riley for organizing a 8 day tour of Beijing, Xian and Shanghai for my 2 kids who had an amazing time. They learnt so much and were well taken care of by the tour guides and they learnt such a lot of their cultural heritage.Kids loved the personal attention and I appreciated Riley's prompt responses to all the queries I had regarding the tour and organizing things on the go while the kids were on the tour - Thanks Riley!

Date of Experience: December 22, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
905cherylr

905cherylr

Australia

Reviewed on January 1, 2019

An amazing holiday with China Discovery. We stayed at Yabuli and skied for 4 days and enjoyed the local activities in the are. Club med was great and a trip to snow town was great fun. Especially at night with all the lights. We went snow mobiling which was fun for all.

In Harbin for 4 nights we went to both the ice and snow sculptures which was magical. A walk on the iced river where you can see the swimming club take a dip in the icy waters or ride a ice sail boat. Plenty of snowman building to be done and ice skating.

Last but not least we went to the tiger park where we saw them up close and safe as we drove around the large park. One last thing the shopping in pedestrian street is magical all lit up at night and a must do is the hot pot for dinner. Can not recommend Rita and Celina enough for all they did for us. Thank you.

Date of Experience: December 22, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita

See more reviews on Tripadvisor See all reviews from our guests


Amazing Harbin Travel Stories

Here are authentic Harbin travel stories shared by our cherished customers who enjoyed wonderful winter vacation with the fantastic Ice and Snow Festival and the best must-visits. Hope you can get inspired for your planning trips to Harbin! You can also click Customer Travel Stories (2012-2021) to get more China travel ideas or directly contact us to customize a special all-inclusive Harbin travel with China Discovery!