Thomas

Thomas

German

Reviewed on June 20, 2021

Xi'an, Dunhuang and Xinjiang (Turpan, Urumqi, Kashgar)

This is the 4. time we booked a tailored tour with Vivien from China Discovery. The organization from Vivien was perfect again, would have been hard or impossible for us to find out where we need which documents and Covid test. Vivien helped us on short notice adding some attractions in Dunhuang or changing hotel in Turpan (we had chosen a hotel not recommended from the original itinerary).

The highlight of the tour was for sure Xinjiang with its beautiful landscapes, especially the different mountains still covered with snow, the different architecture and culture.

Date of Experience: May 12, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
Xinjiang and Gansu Family Trip
Ciaran C

Ciaran C

Japan

Reviewed on May 18, 2021

Fantastic trip to western China.

Amazing diversity in scenery, people and things to do. Trip very well organized. Amazingly smooth communications with Rita Jiang. Thoroughly recommend this tour agency../p>

Date of Experience: April 2, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
A 16 days trip from Lanzhou to Kashgar in Xinjiang China
Ravindra65

Ravindra65

USA

Reviewed on September, 2019

It was a trip along the old Silk Road in the foot steps of the 7th century monk Xuanzang. We prepared the itinerary approached the agencies to arrange the transport, hotels and guide for our trip. China Discovery offered us the tour the way we were looking for. Ms Riley Guo of CD was vary helpful in finalization of details. We appreciate the arrangements.

Date of Experience: September 10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Marlene H

Marlene H

USA

Reviewed on October 3, 2018

Our group of 8 travel friends was looking for a tour of the Chinese Silk Road. We knew which places we wanted to visit but we could not find any tour offered by a US tour company. After researching on the Internet, we took a chance and chose "China Discovery", based in Chengdu, China. We chose them because they would customize a tour for us and because of their excellent communication via email. I was lucky to have Mr. Wonder Wang respond and that was the beginning of many emails to set up our requested itinerary and work out all the details of which cites would fit into our 20 days schedule. We visited Beijing, Xian, Lanzhou, Jiayuguan,Dunhuang,Turpan, Urumqi, and Kashgar. We traveled by high speed train, by air, and in 35 passenger buses. Our English speaking guides were always waiting for us at each new destination and the bus drivers were great in the crazy Chinese traffic. The tour guides were flexible to make our days more efficient and to meet our needs. The food was very good and the hotels were better than I expected for the Silk Road.

It was a pleasure working with Wonder, it was so easy because he always quickly responded to my emails. He made suggestions on everything such as sleeper trains vs high speed trains, 15 passengers van vs 35 persons bus, hotels, and adjusting the schedule to fit our many requests. My favorite was letting us know that we could upgrade from second class train seats to first class for only $71 per person for all 3 of our high speed train trips.

Date of Experience: September 11, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Orien2010

Orien2010

USA

Reviewed on July 20, 2018

Rita Jiang with China Discovery arranged my solo tour of this western China portion of the historical Silk Road. Starting from Lanzhou to Zhangye,Jiayuguan, Dunhuang, Turpan, Urumqi, and finally Kashgar. The tour guides and drivers were very good with very comfortable 4 star accomodations. I especially liked being able to experience various modes to transportation from high speed train to overnight train, private driver,and some short flights. The arrangements were seemless. The landscapes were varied from snow covered mountains, sand dunes, rivers and lakes, and some very interesting desert topography. Of course, the highlights are the historical sights such as Mogao Grottoes, Jiaohe Ancient City, Bezeklik Thousand Buddha Caves, and Yardang National Park. I was very surprised how these western outpost cities have been transformed into modern cities. Overall, I really enjoyed this trip.

Date of Experience: June 12, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
sehnmrsie

sehnmrsie

USA

Reviewed on October 1, 2016

Rita Jiang with China Discovery arranged my solo tour of this western China portion of the historical Silk Road. Starting from Lanzhou to Zhangye,Jiayuguan, Dunhuang, Turpan, Urumqi, and finally Kashgar. The tour guides and drivers were very good with very comfortable 4 star accomodations. I especially liked being able to experience various modes to transportation from high speed train to overnight train, private driver,and some short flights. The arrangements were seemless. The landscapes were varied from snow covered mountains, sand dunes, rivers and lakes, and some very interesting desert topography. Of course, the highlights are the historical sights such as Mogao Grottoes, Jiaohe Ancient City, Bezeklik Thousand Buddha Caves, and Yardang National Park. I was very surprised how these western outpost cities have been transformed into modern cities. Overall, I really enjoyed this trip.

Date of Experience: October 4, 2016
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita

See more reviews on Tripadvisor See all reviews from our guests


Amazing Xinjiang Travel Stories

Below is real Xinjiang travel stories shared by China Discovery’s delighted clients who enjoyed trips in Urumqi, Turpan, Kashgar, Kanas and other wonderful places of Xinjiang. May the trip experience provide great travel ideas for your future Henan tour. And you can get more useful and interesting travel insight in our Customer Travel Stories (2012-2021) and customize an once-in-a-lifetime travel memory with us!

  • China Tour with China Discovery
    19 China Trips of Vijay’s People - Spreading around Family & Friends of Wonder’s Good Service

    Vijay, his family and friends have enjoyed 19 trips to savore the nature, culture, history, etc. in many great places during 2014-2017 with the great suggestion and service from Wonder.

    • Vijay (India)
    • (3~10 Days) 2014~2018
    • Beijing, Shanghai, Xian, Guilin, Zhangjiajie, Hangzhou, Suzhou, Xinjiang, Harbin…
  • China Silk Road Tour
    Continue Unfinished Silk Road Trip in China after 20 Years

    Mr. Marcin had a very long journey on China’s Silk Road, starting in Lanzhou Gansu Province and 3000 km later ending up at the edge of Taklamakan desert. He crossed endless deserts and rediscovered long forgotten cities. It was a remarkable journey.

    • Marcin (USA)
    • (13 Days) 2019.05.13~2019.05.25
    • Lanzhou - Zhangye - Jiayuguan - Dunhuang - Turpan - Urumqi - Khasgar
  • 15 Days Silk Road Tour
    15 Days to Unveil the Mysterious Ancient Silk Road

    Traveling to the Silk Road is like a dream come true. Monica had an unforgettable time discovering 9 cities from the modern Shanghai all the way northwest to Urumqi in Xinjiang.

    • Monica (Spain)
    • (15 Days) 2019.05.09~2019.05.23
    • Shanghai - Xian - Pingyao - Lanzhou - Zhangye - Jiayuguan - Dunhuang - Turpan - Urumqi - Shanghai
  • 9 Days Memorable Fabulous Xinjiang Photography Trip in 2020
    9 Days Memorable Fabulous Xinjiang Photography Trip in 2020

    Mr. Florian and his friend living in China enjoyed a memorable 9-day Xinjiang photography trip to shoot amazing sightseeing in Hemu, Kanas, Turpan, Urumqi, etc. during Sept. - Oct. in 2020 after Xinjiang's COVID-19 closing!

    • Florian (France)
    • (9 Days) 2020.09.27~2020.10.05
    • Urumqi - Urho - Hemu - Burqin - Turpan...