Fantastic 5-day tour in Lijiang and Shangri-la
st94an

st94an

Malaysia

Reviewed on March 27 2019

Our tour organizer Riley Guo was friendly, professional, prompt in replying, and did an amazing job helping the 6 of us plan our private tour to Lijiang and Shangri-la.

Our tour guides in Lijiang (Sophie) and Shangri-la (Tenzin Chompel) were friendly and very knowledgeable, with excellent grasp of English. We were especially impressed with Tenzin’s knowledge of the vast Buddhist culture. Our driver for the whole trip, Mr. He, made our entire journey relaxed and comfortable, with his smooth driving.

The highlight of our trip was the visit to the local’s home in Shangri-la – something we never would have experienced if we DIY travelled. We got to see how and where the locals lived, and had “high tea” there, trying local delicacies such as yak butter tea, home-made yoghurt, as well as various pastries. We also enjoyed the impressive outdoors performance in Lijiang, whereby 500 performers from different tribes danced and sang to a captivated audience, to the backdrop of the very impressive snow mountain.

The entire tour was very professional and relaxing. Our tour guides patiently waited as we took our time in enjoying the scenery around us. We also commend them on their excellent photo-taking skills! They recommended us good places to eat outside of our tour, and there were absolutely no hard-selling or forced shopping trips.

I will recommend! Look forward to booking our next trip in China with China Discovery-Day Tour again!

Date of Experience: March 19, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley

See more reviews on Tripadvisor See all reviews from our guests


Amazing Travel Stories

Besides the origin feedback telling their satisfaction about their travel, some customers also nicely shared their travel stories in details. You can read their stories and seek for more inspiration.

  • Couple’s 69 Days Private China Journey
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - Datong - Pingyao - Luoyang - Xian - Jiayuguan ... Chengdu - Yangtze - Zhangjiajie - Yunnan - Guilin... Hangzhou - Shanghai
  • North American English Teachers’ China Trip to Visit Their Students off Internet
    North American English Teachers’ China Trips to Visit Their Students off Internet

    We customized three big group China trips for tens of VIPKid English teachers and their family members to visit Xian, Shanghai, etc. from Beijing and meet their students off Internet in China in 2019!

    • VIPKid Teachers (USA/Canada)
    • (9-21 Days) 2019
    • Beijing - Xian - Shanghai - Suzhou –Shanghai - Hangzhou - Huangshan... Yangtze Cruise...Chengdu - Beijing
  • Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities all around China plus Yangtze Cruise
    Winston's Couple Tour to 9 Cities around China plus Yangtze Cruise

    Winston and his wife have traveled to many world places during the past 21 years and experienced the best vacation this time to explore China's west and east, north and south parts!

    • Winston (USA)
    • (22 Days) 2019.05.17~2019.6.07
    • Beijing - Xian - Lhasa - Chengdu - Guilin - Longsheng - Yangshuo - Chongqing - Yangtze River Cruise - Yichang - Shanghai - Suzhou - Beijing
  • 5 Days Tibet Lhasa Tour
    Warm People, Warm the World - Annual Tibet Trip for Love Sharing

    Jack and their partners would get back to Tibet from the distant USA every year, and until now, they’ve visited Tibet for 6 times. Every time, they had wonderful time enjoying the highlights of Tibet, and helped the blind, brought them hope of life and encouraged them.

    • Jack (USA)
    • (6 Times) 2013~2019
    • Tibet
  • Rachel Grant’s Panda Volunteer Experience in Dujiangyan
    Rachel Grant’s Panda Volunteer Experience in Dujiangyan

    The distinctive black and white animal is a national treasure in China and one of the rarest, most endangered bears in the world. A one-on-one encounter with a giant panda is a bucket list highlight and a must-do when you are in China. The time I spent witnessing such human dedication is truly eye-opening...

    • Panda Volunteer Star: Ms. Rachel Grant (British)
    • Chengdu - Dujiangyan
  • Returning Hometown to Regain Adopted Daughter's Confidence
    Returning Hometown to Regain Adopted Daughter's Confidence

    Lawson's Family had an amazing family China tour with their two adopted daughters from China and touchingly helped their adopted ethnic little girl regain confidence.

    • Lawson (UK)
    • (19 Days) 2018.10.17~2018.11.04
    • Shenzhen - Xiamen - Yongding - Guangzhou - ... - Yangshuo - Guilin - Chengdu - Hangzhou - Shanghai - Suzhou - Shanghai