Clémentine

Clémentine

France

Reviewed on September 14, 2021

Amazing 10-days trip in end of August organized by Jack in only one day (guides, drivers, hotels & travel permit for restricted area).

My boyfriend and I travelled accompanied with Peima in Qinghai province and Gary in Gansu and Inner Mongolia. Both of them spoke good English, very friendly and caring.

We appreciated their professionalism, insights as locals and personal stories. When the weather wasn’t the best we trusted their planning changes and it was totally worth it.

Our guides also recommended food destinations and lively areas to visit during our free time. We had to take a COVID test in Zhangye, the hospital didn’t have foreigners before but our guide eased the process and made it efficient.

All drivers were very competent, especially the 4x4 sand expert in Badan Jilin desert. We always felt safe.

Mind-blowing landscapes, all destinations were exceptional. All parks are a must see in one’s life, chinese or foreign, we definitely recommend you to explore this part of the Silk Road. Our favorite was Badan Jilin desert but all were amazing.

We were lucky and could avoid the crowds as most recent group trips were cancelled due to recent COVID cases.

Most parks are very protected and allow visitors only in designated locations. One of them also has a limited time per seeing-spot (Yardan geopark in western Gansu). A bit frustrating not to be more free but once witnessing the beauty of the landscape, one can understand the need of protection/restrictions. Every places is still very worth it and the views are unforgettable.

We will definitely contact China Discovery if need of trip planning and have already recommended to our friends since we were so happy!

Date of Experience: August 28, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
menezesines

menezesines

France

Reviewed on August 22, 2021

We did a ten day private custom made tour for our family of four with China Discovery, Lijiang/ Dali in Yunnan, Guilin/Yangshuo in Guangxi and finally Chengdu.

My family along with another friends family spent 11 days during summer holiday visiting the highlights of the old Silk Road in the Gansu and Qinghai provinces. China discovery organised everything for us and was very flexible to adjust the plans to our specific demands. They replied super fast and gave us an excellent price. The tour guide allocated to us was very knowledgable and our driver very cautious. We visited some amazing sites and can across breath taking landscapes. We will definitely keep these amazing memories with us for a very long time specially our nights camping in the desert and all the sandsliding can’t wait for our next adventure with China Discovery!

Date of Experience: July 24, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Faye Chan

Faye Chan

Malaysia

Reviewed on July 7, 2021

First of all, a shout out to our tour organiser - Ms Riley Guo!. We had a memorable private tailor made family tour to Xi-an and Dunhuang. She is bilingual (speaks both English and Chinese). She was quick to response to our enquiries and were always prepared to accommodate our needs and preferences. There is no pushy, hard selling of tour packages and she is always patient to answer all our questions.

I would love also to mention Jacky , our Dunhuang tour guide for 3 days. A lovely and responsible guide that given a chance, i would want to have her again for our future travels.

Well done China Discovery!

Date of Experience: July 28, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Stephen B

Stephen B

USA

Reviewed on June 27, 2021

My wife and I engaged China Discovery to help us navigate our first foray into post COVID-19 travel, and we couldn’t be happier with our decision. Our liaison Johnson’s excellent communication as well as his extensive knowledge of the logistics of cross-country travel were invaluable to us. The accommodations, meals, and sightseeing attractions they organized for us were all of the highest quality. Highly recommended!

Date of Experience: June 15, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Johnson
Kristen D

Kristen D

USA

Reviewed on June 23, 2021

Amazing trip through China. Jack was easier to work with and adjusted my schedule as needed. He was professional and it was worth the money for a tailor made tour. The English speaking tour guides were outstanding and the drivers were safe and cars clean. The accommodations were clean and had good service.

Date of Experience: June 12, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Solo
Tour Customized by: Jack
inboxgp

inboxgp

Italy

Reviewed on June 6, 2021

Excellent experience with China Discovery on our trip to Gansu, Qinghai, and Inner Mongolia. Our contact, Jack, was consistently professional, competent, and flexible to tailor his proposal to our requirements. From meeting our guides, to waving goodby to them, everything ran smoothly. The guides were very knowledgeable, and respectful, providing plenty of geographical, cultural, historical information, without ever forcing them on us whenever we preferred to roam around and just look or take photos. The drivers were careful, and the cars were clean and tidy. The train transfers were arranged to our requirements.

Everything run smoothly, it was a memorable trip, and based on the experience of our travelling party of four, I’m happy to recommend China Discovery.

Date of Experience: May 21, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Friends
Tour Customized by: Jack
Xinjiang and Gansu Family Trip
Ciaran C

Ciaran C

Japan

Reviewed on May 18, 2021

Fantastic trip to western China.

Amazing diversity in scenery, people and things to do. Trip very well organized. Amazingly smooth communications with Rita Jiang. Thoroughly recommend this tour agency../p>

Date of Experience: April 2, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Rita
Harry D

Harry D

UK

Reviewed on April 11, 2021

We booked a day trip in Dunhuang as our time there was short and we didn’t want to waste time on finding taxis, tickets etc for our family of 5. China Discovery was excellent in responding to our request. We had a great local guide and had a wonderful day!

Date of Experience: April 4, 2021
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Jack
Great service - just be very clear with your requirements!
Ananth Nagarajan

Ananth Nagarajan

India

Reviewed on January 3, 2021

We travelled across 3 places over 6 days (Xi'an, Zhangye & Dunhuang).

China Discovery helped arrange all aspects of the trip (travel, stay, food and tour guide) It was overall a wonderful experience. The service was tailored to our specific requirememts (food, flexibility in itenarary etc). They are also very open to feedback at every stage and respond to it well.

Despite some issues (inexperienced tour guide) we faced in one city, we are very glad to recommend China Discovery to other prospective travellers considering a trip in China!

Date of Experience: December 26, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Zeva
Amazing Gansu Experience
陈炳通

陈炳通

Malaysia

Reviewed on November 19, 2020

We thought that traveling during the pandemic would be challenging but with the help of Wendy from China Discovery, everything is possible! She organized our 14 days trip in Gansu province and we had an amazing time there. Everything works perfectly well from preparing all the documents we need, picking us up, driving us from city to city and also arranging our train tickets. She is also very flexible if we want to change our itinerary, her response to our inquiries is very impressive. We totally recommend China Discovery!

Date of Experience: October 7, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Couples
Tour Customized by: Wendy
Scott28

Scott28

UK

Reviewed on October 22, 2020

I contacted China Discovery about a tour in Gansu. I had booked hotels already but wanted day tours and travel between Dunhuang, Zhangye and Lanzhou to be arranged by them if possible. They provided an excellent service from start to finish. Wonder produced a superb itinerary for me and was straight on to helping me arrange and plan the whole trip. All I had to do was agree or disagree and also Wonder was so understanding about my time and was very patient through the booking process and was always available during the trip with updates and so on as well as checking if everything was okay with the drivers. The whole trip when so smoothly, considering it was Golden Week, it was a miracle nothing went wrong but the main reason why was because of Wonder's efficiency and excellent organization, arranging all of the tickets, drivers and travel plans from start to finish. He even managed to get my friend tickets at very short notice and went above and beyond for us to ensure we had a fantastic time. We certainly did, thanks to him for his help and the amazing team at China Discovery.

Date of Experience: September 5, 2020
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
A 16 days trip from Lanzhou to Kashgar in Xinjiang China
Ravindra65

Ravindra65

USA

Reviewed on September, 2019

It was a trip along the old Silk Road in the foot steps of the 7th century monk Xuanzang. We prepared the itinerary approached the agencies to arrange the transport, hotels and guide for our trip. China Discovery offered us the tour the way we were looking for. Ms Riley Guo of CD was vary helpful in finalization of details. We appreciate the arrangements.

Date of Experience: September 10, 2019
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Riley
Marlene H

Marlene H

USA

Reviewed on October 3, 2018

Our group of 8 travel friends was looking for a tour of the Chinese Silk Road. We knew which places we wanted to visit but we could not find any tour offered by a US tour company. After researching on the Internet, we took a chance and chose "China Discovery", based in Chengdu, China. We chose them because they would customize a tour for us and because of their excellent communication via email. I was lucky to have Mr. Wonder Wang respond and that was the beginning of many emails to set up our requested itinerary and work out all the details of which cites would fit into our 20 days schedule. We visited Beijing, Xian, Lanzhou, Jiayuguan,Dunhuang,Turpan, Urumqi, and Kashgar. We traveled by high speed train, by air, and in 35 passenger buses. Our English speaking guides were always waiting for us at each new destination and the bus drivers were great in the crazy Chinese traffic. The tour guides were flexible to make our days more efficient and to meet our needs. The food was very good and the hotels were better than I expected for the Silk Road.

It was a pleasure working with Wonder, it was so easy because he always quickly responded to my emails. He made suggestions on everything such as sleeper trains vs high speed trains, 15 passengers van vs 35 persons bus, hotels, and adjusting the schedule to fit our many requests. My favorite was letting us know that we could upgrade from second class train seats to first class for only $71 per person for all 3 of our high speed train trips.

Date of Experience: September 11, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Wonder
Orien2010

Orien2010

USA

Reviewed on July 20, 2018

Rita Jiang with China Discovery arranged my solo tour of this western China portion of the historical Silk Road. Starting from Lanzhou to Zhangye,Jiayuguan, Dunhuang, Turpan, Urumqi, and finally Kashgar. The tour guides and drivers were very good with very comfortable 4 star accomodations. I especially liked being able to experience various modes to transportation from high speed train to overnight train, private driver,and some short flights. The arrangements were seemless. The landscapes were varied from snow covered mountains, sand dunes, rivers and lakes, and some very interesting desert topography. Of course, the highlights are the historical sights such as Mogao Grottoes, Jiaohe Ancient City, Bezeklik Thousand Buddha Caves, and Yardang National Park. I was very surprised how these western outpost cities have been transformed into modern cities. Overall, I really enjoyed this trip.

Date of Experience: June 12, 2018
Trip Type: Traveled as Families
Tour Customized by: Vivien
sehnmrsie

sehnmrsie

USA

Reviewed on October 1, 2016

Rita Jiang with China Discovery arranged my solo tour of this western China portion of the historical Silk Road. Starting from Lanzhou to Zhangye,Jiayuguan, Dunhuang, Turpan, Urumqi, and finally Kashgar. The tour guides and drivers were very good with very comfortable 4 star accomodations. I especially liked being able to experience various modes to transportation from high speed train to overnight train, private driver,and some short flights. The arrangements were seemless. The landscapes were varied from snow covered mountains, sand dunes, rivers and lakes, and some very interesting desert topography. Of course, the highlights are the historical sights such as Mogao Grottoes, Jiaohe Ancient City, Bezeklik Thousand Buddha Caves, and Yardang National Park. I was very surprised how these western outpost cities have been transformed into modern cities. Overall, I really enjoyed this trip.

Date of Experience: October 4, 2016
Trip Type: Traveled as
Tour Customized by: Rita

See more reviews on Tripadvisor See all reviews from our guests


Amazing Gansu Travel Stories

We selected some Gansu travel stories shared by our valued customers to show you authentic trip experiences in Gansu and the high quality and good value of our tours. From their interesting and memorable travel stories, you may find inspiration of planning an ideal travel, top things to do, best time to visit, best places to stay and eat and other useful travel advices. You can get more inspiring Customer Travel Stories (2012-2021) or contact us directly to start your Gansu travel!

  • 69 Days Private China Tour
    “Only You” - Couple’s Resounding 69 Days Private China Journey

    Elie & Marie has successfully enjoyed their wonderful and romantic 10 week couple's private vacation and experienced a lot of interesting things in 32 destinations around vast China!

    • Elie (Belgium)
    • (69 Days) 2019.09.04~2019.11.11
    • Beijing - Hohhot - Datong - Pingyao - Luoyang - Xian - Jiayuguan ...... Chengdu - Yangtze - Zhangjiajie - Yunnan - Guilin - Xiamen - Hangzhou - Shanghai
  • 15 Days Silk Road Tour
    15 Days to Unveil the Mysterious Ancient Silk Road

    Traveling to the Silk Road is like a dream come true. Monica had an unforgettable time discovering 9 cities from the modern Shanghai all the way northwest to Urumqi in Xinjiang.

    • Monica (Spain)
    • (15 Days) 2019.05.09~2019.05.23
    • Shanghai - Xian - Pingyao - Lanzhou - Zhangye - Jiayuguan - Dunhuang - Turpan - Urumqi - Shanghai
  • 15 Days China Family Tour including Gansu
    15 Days' Diverse China Close-up with Beloved Wife and Boy

    While John was researching, he determined to do a custom tour to include everything he wanted. The towns he chose were Beijing, Xian, Dunhuang, Chengdu... The trip turned out to be both flawless and amazing.

    • John (USA)
    • (15 Days) 2019.07.20~2019.08.3
    • Beijing - Xian - Dunhuang - Chengdu - Guilin - Longsheng - Yangshuo - Shanghai - Suzhou - Shanghai
  • China Gansu Dunhuang Tour
    The Meaning of Travel - 1000 Years of Buddhist Art Visit

    I chose China Discovery the Chengdu based travel agency through the Internet. Right from the initial show of interest, Stephanie Kuang interacted with me throughout. I was truly impressed by her quick responses, professionalism and guidance…

    • Mr. Gautam Sen (India)
    • (14 Days) 2017.04.10~2017.04.23
    • Beijing - Lanzhou - Dunhuang - Xian - Guilin - Yangtze - Shanghai
  • China Silk Road Tour
    Continue Unfinished Silk Road Trip in China after 20 Years

    Mr. Marcin had a very long journey on China’s Silk Road, starting in Lanzhou Gansu Province and 3000 km later ending up at the edge of Taklamakan desert. He crossed endless deserts and rediscovered long forgotten cities. It was a remarkable journey.

    • Marcin (USA)
    • (13 Days) 2019.05.13~2019.05.25
    • Lanzhou - Zhangye - Jiayuguan - Dunhuang - Turpan - Urumqi - Khasgar